Salisu Yusuf calls up 16 Foreign based players for U23's vs Guinea - AFCON Qualifier

Far from a perfect list, but it's good to see the likes of Malomo, Divine, Tanimu and Suur getting rewarded for their performances in the NPFL. The Goalkeeping position is the biggest worry here
Last edited by Sunset on Wed Apr 05, 2023 6:15 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Re: Salisu Yusuf calls up 30 players for U23 AFCON Qualifier vs Guinea

No foreign based?

How many paid?

bret- hart wrote: Fri Mar 03, 2023 2:43 pm No foreign based?
Most foreign leagues are active as we speak while the rest (Scandinavia) are in pre-season mode, it wouldn't make any practical sense to release a player just to be in camp, but I'm sure we'll get a couple as these two games fall under the International window

Another Afcon?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Mar 03, 2023 3:26 pm Another Afcon?
Olympics for this one I think

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Mar 03, 2023 6:18 pm
We’re really not a serious people. Here we are in 2023 after having DNQ for the last WC and a talent pool that’s getting smaller.what do we do? We hand over the next generation to $ali$u and Bo$$o. You just can’t make this Shyte up.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Mar 03, 2023 11:11 pm
We’re really not a serious people. Here we are in 2023 after having DNQ for the last WC and a talent pool that’s getting smaller.what do we do? We hand over the next generation to $ali$u and Bo$$o. You just can’t make this Shyte up.
We are the only country that does this nonsense, recycling garbage everytime, you can't tell we can't find serious coaches across Nigeria in a nation of almost 200 million football crazy people, it's simply unacceptable.

Tobi17 wrote: Sat Mar 04, 2023 12:20 am
We are the only country that does this nonsense, recycling garbage everytime, you can't tell we can't find serious coaches across Nigeria in a nation of almost 200 million football crazy people, it's simply unacceptable.
Nah…some folks here think those two are the best thing since slice bread because they know the local players very well. At this point I’m starting to think these corrupt coaches give kickbacks to the people that employ them. We can’t be serious!! Smh

Maybe they actually are the best we have?
Cos as much as we have many real followers of the game here, nobody is able to demonstrate who all these great local coaches are.
If we are lucky, names are named but little or nothing to back up the claims of competence.

packerland wrote: Sat Mar 04, 2023 4:44 pm
Nah…some folks here think those two are the best thing since slice bread because they know the local players very well. At this point I’m starting to think these corrupt coaches give kickbacks to the people that employ them. We can’t be serious!! Smh
We really should be spoilt for choice with local coaches but for some reason we’re not.
I don’t think corruption explains it.
One day we will tell ourselves the truth.

So apparently Ahmed Jimoh is 20 even though he has been active for over a decade now? :boo:

Sunset wrote: Sun Mar 05, 2023 1:40 am So apparently Ahmed Jimoh is 20 even though he has been active for over a decade now? :boo:
Kai :laugh: :rotf:

Just looking at the team that faced Tanzania in the previous round (excluding the FB players), it's quite odd that the duo of Ibrahim Yahaya & Dominion Ohaka were good enough to start for the U23's but didn't make the U20 AFCON squad and are now not even considered for this squad that has a number of unknown players

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Mar 05, 2023 1:43 am
Sunset wrote: Sun Mar 05, 2023 1:40 am So apparently Ahmed Jimoh is 20 even though he has been active for over a decade now? :boo:

Kai...see ojoro. :laugh:

I'm gonna have to call onku Sunset out on this and ask for evidence . Kai... :rotf:

You need to see other pics of him without the clean shave.
Alarming.
What type of background evidence do these coaches even ask for sef?

Sunset wrote: Sun Mar 05, 2023 1:56 am Just looking at the team that faced Tanzania in the previous round (excluding the FB players), it's quite odd that the duo of Ibrahim Yahaya & Dominion Ohaka were good enough to start for the U23's but didn't make the U20 AFCON squad and are now not even considered for this squad that has a number of unknown players
Bros, do you know if the Bameyi in that U23 squad who was on the bench in the match and the one currently playing for the U20 in Egypt are different people? By some strange coincidence, they both play for the same Yum Yum club.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Damunk wrote: Sun Mar 05, 2023 8:13 am
You need to see other pics of him without the clean shave.
Alarming.
What type of background evidence do these coaches even ask for sef?
I don’t believe those coaches are ignorant. They’ve been involved in Nigerian football for many years and have contacts in the same field.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

https://www.transfermarkt.com/ahmed-jim ... ler/680723

Ahmed Jimoh this dude do not look 20 and he must be called out

Lolly wrote: Sun Mar 05, 2023 1:55 pm
Sunset wrote: Sun Mar 05, 2023 1:56 am Just looking at the team that faced Tanzania in the previous round (excluding the FB players), it's quite odd that the duo of Ibrahim Yahaya & Dominion Ohaka were good enough to start for the U23's but didn't make the U20 AFCON squad and are now not even considered for this squad that has a number of unknown players
Bros, do you know if the Bameyi in that U23 squad who was on the bench in the match and the one currently playing for the U20 in Egypt are different people? By some strange coincidence, they both play for the same Yum Yum club.
It's the same guy, he also played the friendly vs Costa Rica

Sunset wrote: Sun Mar 05, 2023 3:08 pm
So why the change of name from Calocho to David?

Lolly wrote: Sun Mar 05, 2023 3:40 pm
Sunset wrote: Sun Mar 05, 2023 3:08 pm
So why the change of name from Calocho to David?
Daniel's his first name, Kalocho is the middle name.

https://images.cafonline.com/image/uplo ... cwqsm3.pdf