Report emerges on NFF involvement in Super Eagles Player selection

Re: Report emerges on NFF involvement in Super Eagles Player selection

OJI wrote: Mon Mar 20, 2023 4:44 am Why invite 26 foreign based player when ...

1) not all will be or have a chance at playing.
2) there will be increased disaffection by the players, and ill will to the NFF, and coach.
3) there is difficulty in securing players from their clubs.
4) one is a selecting player struggling to establish/maintain/secure their position in their team.

So apart from financial considerations, it is in line with the new NFF leadership to refocus attention on the local league. Naturally, the homebased players are going to fall within the discretionary powers of the NFF/coach. It forces the coach to be prepared to scout the local league or be given names. We must remember Pinnick/Rohr avoided the local league, and looked at local players with disdain.

Nigerian Football is NOT only about the foreign based players.

The major thought process should be why the the top 18 players shouldn't be able to beat the opposing team - Guinea Bissau - easily.
You do have a point here, but tbh, even the FB players named are controversial.
Musa, Onuachu, Ajayi are all deadweights in my opinion with better options waiting to be invited into the fold.
As for the two local goalkeepers, apparently they are not even NPFL level.
BAP

Post by BAP »

1) not all will be or have a chance at playing. Is there any team in the world where all have a chance of playing ?
2) there will be increased disaffection by the players, and ill will to the NFF, and coach. AND YOU DONT THINK THERE WILL BE AN FB VS HB DIVIDE IN CAMP
4) one is a selecting player struggling to establish/maintain/secure their position in their team.

So apart from financial considerations, it is in line with the new NFF leadership to refocus attention on the local league. Naturally, the homebased players are going to fall within the discretionary powers of the NFF/coach. It forces the coach to be prepared to scout the local league or be given names. We must remember Pinnick/Rohr avoided the local league, and looked at local players with disdain.

The major thought process should be why the the top 18 players shouldn't be able to beat the opposing team - Guinea Bissau - easily.
The Super Eagles is not the local league ..

Including Home based players quota on the National Team does absolutely NOTHING for the national league
OJI

Post by OJI »

BAP wrote: Mon Mar 20, 2023 7:49 pm

1) not all will be or have a chance at playing. Is there any team in the world where all have a chance of playing ?
2) there will be increased disaffection by the players, and ill will to the NFF, and coach. AND YOU DONT THINK THERE WILL BE AN FB VS HB DIVIDE IN CAMP

Including Home based players quota on the National Team does absolutely NOTHING for the national league
It motivates the home based based players. At the very minimum, they know that 2 to 4 players will be invited at any friendly or competitive fixture.
Don't make the assumption that all positions are competently filled by foreign based players. With Nigeria's 1,400 players abroad, how come we struggle to get a decent attacking midfielder? The average foreign based player is a either a defender, defensive midfielder or striker. Very top teams in serious leagues have given a Nigerian a free, attacking midfielder role.

I see the same idiotic arguments being thrown about.

Why do we defend this nonsense.

Instead of following the successful models of Senegal, Algeria, Morocco, we are going back to the stone age.

Stone age methods will bring you stone age results.

Bet on it.

OJI wrote: Mon Mar 20, 2023 8:30 pm

It motivates the home based based players. At the very minimum, they know that 2 to 4 players will be invited at any friendly or competitive fixture.
Don't make the assumption that all positions are competently filled by foreign based players. With Nigeria's 1,400 players abroad, how come we struggle to get a decent attacking midfielder? The average foreign based player is a either a defender, defensive midfielder or striker. Very top teams in serious leagues have given a Nigerian a free, attacking midfielder role.
:rotf: It does not motivate anyone. The league is poor not because the players ain’t motivated but because the league ain’t organised.

Any player worth their salt leaves ASAP.

All the foreign based ain’t born abroad!!!

If ur good, u will find ur way abroad to a league that will pay for ur services…THIS IS A JOB NOT A HOBBY FOR THESE PLAYERS…

If u limit the coach to 20 players then he won’t invite any player not known to him, he will stick with what he knows….he can’t invite Tosin, Destiny and Kingsley only to find that they can’t hack the pressure….better stick with the devil u know….

Peseiro ain’t scouting local leagues, Nigeria is not safe security wise…u want this guy to go to Aba or Kaduna to watch a match….will u?

U want a successful senior team, u hire a competent coach and leave him do the job
Or
End up with a scenario like that of Conte and Tottenham

BAP

Post by BAP »

It motivates the home based based players. At the very minimum, they know that 2 to 4 players will be invited at any friendly or competitive fixture. Yeah it motivates them to bribe their way into the NT so they can be scouted by foreign teams
Don't make the assumption that all positions are competently filled by foreign based players. With Nigeria's 1,400 players abroad, how come we struggle to get a decent attacking midfielder? The average foreign based player is a either a defender, defensive midfielder or striker. Very top teams in serious leagues have given a Nigerian a free, attacking midfielder role. Not sure what to make of this and how its relevant to the discussion at hand

Long and short of it the national team is where you utilize the best finished products we have to win championships not where we go to develop leagues or motivate players

Enyi wrote: Mon Mar 20, 2023 9:20 pm

:rotf: It does not motivate anyone. The league is poor not because the players ain’t motivated but because the league ain’t organised.

If ur good, u will find ur way abroad to a league that will pay for ur services…THIS IS A JOB NOT A HOBBY FOR THESE PLAYERS…

If u limit the coach to 20 players then he won’t invite any player not known to him, he will stick with what he knows….he can’t invite Tosin, Destiny and Kingsley only to find that they can’t hack the pressure….better stick with the devil u know….

Peseiro ain’t scouting local leagues, Nigeria is not safe security wise…u want this guy to go to Aba or Kaduna to watch a match….will u?

U want a successful senior team, u hire a competent coach and leave him do the job
Or
Enyi, check your inbox.
Re: Report emerges on NFF involvement in Super Eagles Player selecti

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Mar 18, 2023 11:17 pm Wow! This new NFF is a scandal. :shock:
The list makes more sense now, looks like Peseiro picked only players he’s comfortable playing and no new players. The 4 players picked by Nff are those that will not play. Musa, 2 goalies and Bamiye. I think Pesseiro played it safe by sticking with what he knows. Under these circumstances it’ll be difficult for him to pick Ebuehi, Akpom and others he’s yet to work with. Bonke’ s invitation and rejection is evidence that Peseiro likely decided to go with 4mf instead of accepting a MF the Nff proposed.
Damunk wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 6:49 amYou don’t believe it, or is it you don’t want to believe it? :lol:

The report is a bitter pill to swallow by anyone, but make we see.
In my view, this is the beginnings of the ‘quota system’ we have been fighting all this while. I suspect you’d be more inclined to raise your eyebrows if your boy Iheanacho was one of those sacrificed for a YumYum-type player.
That SE list left me baffled.

But Colin Udo is one of our best football reporters for generations and he’s not going to soil his reputation by concocting stories from his toilet seat.
wanaj0 wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 7:18 amBut Pesseiro was still the one that invited the players so why blame NFF! They only told him to invite 20 FB players. They did not ask him to invite 'rubbish players ' that you all are complaining about.

And IF Pesseiro thinks that the instruction from NFF is unprofessional then he should have resign as a TRUE professional.

This is ALL on Pesseiro

@WANAJO, abegi don’t mind the Usual WOWO Suspects twisting themselves like pretzels to absolve their Oyibo coach…smh
>

BAP wrote: Mon Mar 20, 2023 9:21 pm Long and short of it the national team is where you utilize the best finished products we have to win championships not where we go to develop leagues or motivate players
Plain and simple fact turned to rocket science for some. :rotf:

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Mar 20, 2023 9:12 pm I see the same idiotic arguments being thrown about.

Instead of following the successful models of Senegal, Algeria, Morocco, we are going back to the stone age.

Bet on it.
How many of those successful models you referenced went for a 'foreign coach' like Pesseiro?

wanaj0 wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 8:28 am
vancity eagle wrote: Mon Mar 20, 2023 9:12 pm I see the same idiotic arguments being thrown about.

Bet on it.
How many of those successful models you referenced went for a 'foreign coach' like Pesseiro?
Don't hold your breath waiting for an answer. You’ll be gravely disappointed❗️

Enyi wrote: Mon Mar 20, 2023 9:20 pm

Or

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 2:59 pm

Bet on it.

I’m all in on hiring a competent local coach but if all we are going to get is the likes of Salisu and the incompetent Bosso then let’s continue with the mercenaries. At this point, I think our best option is to pony up the money and hire a top foreign coach or get a coach from another African country.

Bet on it.
You think it's simply a matter of foreign vs local coach.

Which of those coaches ignored the midfield ?

Which of those coaches called up only 4 midfielders ?

Which of those coaches ignored in form players ?

Which of those coaches forced crappy homebased players on the team?

Which of those coaches turned the national team into an agency business to market players ?

Which of those coaches did not go after as many foreign born players as they could ?

Which of those coaches had quotas of hb players forced on them ?

Please tell.

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 4:47 pm

Bet on it.

Which of those coaches turned the national team into an agency business to market players ?

Which of those coaches did not go after as many foreign born players as they could ?

Please tell.
You wanted their model. So I ask when last did any of them had a foreign coach?

packerland wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 4:07 pm

Bet on it.

I’m all in on hiring a competent local coach but if all we are going to get is the likes of Salisu and the incompetent Bosso then let’s continue with the mercenaries. At this point, I think our best option is to pony up the money and hire a top foreign coach or get a coach from another African country.
oh my goodness, here we go again with another made up and poor response. Weren't you the same person telling lies about Dele Ali? My goodness packerland, try as much as possible to research so you don't get labelled as a parrot of false news
viewtopic.php?f=30&t=309601&start=46

wanaj0 wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 7:52 pm

Bet on it.

Please tell.
Are you really that daft?

So just simply plugging in any domestic coach is how those teams succeeded ?

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 10:09 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 7:52 pm

Bet on it.

Please tell.
Are you really that daft?

You are getting better! At least you did not wish me dead!

What a despicable human being

Damunk wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 8:01 am
BAP wrote: Mon Mar 20, 2023 9:21 pm Long and short of it the national team is where you utilize the best finished products we have to win championships not where we go to develop leagues or motivate players
Er…the last time SE team that actually WON any “championship” (AFCON 2013) had several HB players… :woot:

Meanwhile, how many HB players were in the AFCON 2019 squad that lost to the likes of Madagascar? How many HB players were in the 2021 AFCON squad that couldn’t even achieve ‘golden bronze’? Or in the squad that flopped in the WC 2022 playoffs? The notion that any and all HB players are automatically not among “the best finished products we have to win championships” (whatever such a nebulous phrase actually translates into) is frankly obtuse.

Nonetheless, that’s not even necessarily relevant, since the NFF’s reported (or alleged) directive is merely that no more than 20 FB players should be invited for this tie, as a COST-SAVING measure. Given that only 18 players are going to be on the match day squad anyway, the coach should have even MORE than enough (ie, 18) so-called “best finished products” available to him (even if the only recent ‘finish’ involving some of these guys is their association with regular first team football).

Finish ko, varnish ni! :roll:

wanaj0 wrote: Wed Mar 22, 2023 2:36 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 10:09 pmAre you really that daft?

You are getting better! At least you did not wish me dead!

What a despicable human being
@WANAJO, you’d be well-counseled to ignore the attention whore…
He’s jumped off Cote D’Ivoire’s richard onto the latest shiny new trinket.
>

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 7:59 pm
packerland wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 4:07 pm

Bet on it.

oh my goodness, here we go again with another made up and poor response. Weren't you the same person telling lies about Dele Ali? My goodness packerland, try as much as possible to research so you don't get labelled as a parrot of false news
viewtopic.php?f=30&t=309601&start=46
Imma start ignoring you and your bff. At this point you seem to enjoy trolling. Research what? You need me to provide proof that Salisu is corrupt or that Bosso is a bad coach? Gtfo....we can talk Dele in the Dele Alli thread.

Gotti wrote: Wed Mar 22, 2023 4:36 pm
Er…the last time SE team that actually WON any “championship” (AFCON 2013) had several HB players… :woot:

Meanwhile, how many HB players were in the AFCON 2019 squad that lost to the likes of Madagascar? How many HB players were in the 2021 AFCON squad that couldn’t even achieve ‘golden bronze’? Or in the squad that flopped in the WC 2022 playoffs? The notion that any and all HB players are automatically not among “the best finished products we have to win championships” (whatever such a nebulous phrase actually translates into) is frankly obtuse.

Nonetheless, that’s not even necessarily relevant, since the NFF’s reported (or alleged) directive is merely that no more than 20 FB players should be invited for this tie, as a COST-SAVING measure. Given that only 18 players are going to be on the match day squad anyway, the coach should have even MORE than enough (ie, 18) so-called “best finished products” available to him (even if the only recent ‘finish’ involving some of these guys is their association with regular first team football).

Varnish ko, foolish in.
Are you disagreeing with BAP’s point or not? Because this your rant na foolish man’s rant.
Are you coming or going?
:roll: :roll: :roll:
BAP

Post by BAP »

Damunk wrote: Wed Mar 22, 2023 8:52 pm
Gotti wrote: Wed Mar 22, 2023 4:36 pm

Varnish ko, foolish in.
Are you disagreeing with BAP’s point or not? Because this your rant na foolish man’s rant.
Are you coming or going?
:roll: :roll: :roll:
Me sef I dey wonder .. which kin Shayo post be this ? :mrgreen:
Gotti can argue with himself sha :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: