Report emerges on NFF involvement in Super Eagles Player selection

Re: Report emerges on NFF involvement in Super Eagles Player selecti

Wow! This new NFF is a scandal. :shock:
The list makes more sense now, looks like Peseiro picked only players he’s comfortable playing and no new players. The 4 players picked by Nff are those that will not play. Musa, 2 goalies and Bamiye. I think Pesseiro played it safe by sticking with what he knows. Under these circumstances it’ll be difficult for him to pick Ebuehi, Akpom and others he’s yet to work with. Bonke’ s invitation and rejection is evidence that Peseiro likely decided to go with 4mf instead of accepting a MF the Nff proposed.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Mar 18, 2023 11:17 pm Wow! This new NFF is a scandal. :shock:
The list makes more sense now, looks like Peseiro picked only players he’s comfortable playing and no new players. The 4 players picked by Nff are those that will not play. Musa, 2 goalies and Bamiye. I think Pesseiro played it safe by sticking with what he knows. Under these circumstances it’ll be difficult for him to pick Ebuehi, Akpom and others he’s yet to work with. Bonke’ s invitation and rejection is evidence that Peseiro likely decided to go with 4mf instead of accepting a MF the Nff proposed.
So you sef see am... shocking I tell you

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 1:50 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Mar 18, 2023 11:17 pm Wow! This new NFF is a scandal. :shock:
This thread should be a sticky but mods are too sleepy on CE.

This is an unprecedented power grab by the new Nff chair and an assault on our football. Never before have we seen such a brazen power grab played out in public even though we’ve always had issues with nff. VE wrote that we’ll soon be begging for Pinnick to return and he’s right. The crooks couldn’t find any other waty to cut costs than to interfere with player selection. They essentially blocked the introduction of new players to SE, they also blocked new FB players that want to play for us like Adarabioyo, Akpom and others. Unfortunately, Pesseiro has no choice because they owe him money too. Kudos to Colin Udoh for exposing them. This is scandalous!
Re: Report emerges on NFF involvement in Super Eagles Player selection

I don’t believe the report. The NFF can’t possibly be that stupid… not to mention that they would be blatantly sabotaging the national interest❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 4:56 am I don’t believe the report. The NFF can’t possibly be that stupid… not to mention that they would be blatantly sabotaging the national interest❗️

It was was written by Colin Udoh and published by ESPN dude, it’s the gold standard in SE reporting . If you don’t believe it then you shouldn’t believe anything else to read, including a calendar.
Last edited by EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA on Sun Mar 19, 2023 6:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 4:56 am I don’t believe the report. The NFF can’t possibly be that stupid… not to mention that they would be blatantly sabotaging the national interest❗️

You don’t believe it, or is it you don’t want to believe it? :lol:

The report is a bitter pill to swallow by anyone, but make we see.
In my view, this is the beginnings of the ‘quota system’ we have been fighting all this while. I suspect you’d be more inclined to raise your eyebrows if your boy Iheanacho was one of those sacrificed for a YumYum-type player.
That SE list left me baffled.

But Colin Udo is one of our best football reporters for generations and he’s not going to soil his reputation by concocting stories from his toilet seat.
Victor Osimhen selected for Nigeria's AFCON qualifiers but controversy surrounds Super Eagles squad

Colin Udoh
Special to ESPN

Jose Peseiro's first Nigeria squad for a competitive game under the leadership of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) president Ibrahim Musa Gusau has provided an inkling into the direction of the new board while also stirring selection controversies.

Peseiro named a 23-man Super Eagles squad for the second time in a row under the new leadership, after the international friendly against Portugal in November. That was the first game for the A team after the NFF elections in September.

Peseiro had previously consistently named 25-man squads, composed mostly of Europe-based players, but a senior member of the NFF board told ESPN that the coach was now under direction to call-up no more than 20 players from Europe, and the remainder must come from the domestic league

"We cannot afford to invite so many players from Europe any more because we need to be very judicious in our use of the limited funds we have," the board member said. "Peseiro can call as many players as he wants, but only 20 can come from abroad. If he needs any more, he should get them from the local league."

That restriction has seen the Portuguese name three players from the domestic league, including two goalkeepers and a defender from the under-20 team. Going forward, this is expected to be the norm, with local players expected to become more prominent in future squad selections

"The president wants to make sure that the local league players are recognized in the Super Eagles, and this will be one way to help strengthen the league and make it more attractive," the board member said.

The selection choices have seen the coach come under fire, however.

Goalkeeper Kingsley Aniagboso of Nigerian second-division club Giant Brillars was called up ahead of a host of Nigeria Premier League players, but his selection is not as controversial as that of Daniel Bameiyi. The under-20 defender has not had the best of the last year. Originally called up to the Olympic team, his performance in the first leg against Tanzania was so insipid that he was dropped for the return leg. Bameiyi was then named Nigeria captain for the CAF Under-20 AFCON, but he was largely anonymous during the tournament. Like Aniagboso, the defender's club has also raised concerns: he plays for Yum Yum FC, an academy outside the Nigerian league system.

Controversy also surrounds Peseiro's foreign-based call ups, with nine of the 23 players from the squad that faced Portugal not selected this time. Among the biggest casualties are vice-captain William Troost-Ekong, goalkeeper Maduka Okoye, in-and-out defender Tyronne Ebuehi, midfielder Peter Etebo, and forward Emmanuel Dennis.

Among the replacements, returning captain Ahmed Musa played barely 16 minutes of club football in March. Joe Aribo has not played in five games for Southampton and has been training with the under-23s. Paul Onuachu is barely any better. Wilfred Ndidi, once one of the most reliable players for both club and country, has seen very restricted appearances this season, starting just once in Leicester City's past five games and not making it onto the pitch in two. Defender Kenneth Omeruo has only just returned from injury.

The exclusion of in-form Gift Organ has only served to exacerbate the situation, especially after the forward scored the fastest hat trick in European competition in the UEFA Conference League a day after the list was announced.

Nigeria, who lead their Africa Cup of Nations qualifying group with six points from six, after their defeats of Sierra Leone and Sao Tome e Principe, face a double header against second-placed Guinea-Bissau, who are on four points. The first game is played in Abuja on March 24, with the second three days later in Bissau.

Nigeria Super Eagles Squad

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus), Victor Sochima (Rivers United), Kingsley Aniagboso (Giant Brillars)

Defenders: Semi Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England), Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce, Turkey), Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany), Kenneth Omeruo (Leganes, Spain), Calvin Bassey (Ajax Amsterdam, Netherlands), Daniel Bameyi (YumYum FC), Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal), Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Frank Onyeka (Brentford, England), Alex Iwobi (Everton, England), Joe Aribo (Southampton, England)

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England), Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal, Spain), Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France), Ademola Lookman (Atalanta, Italy), Terem Moffi (Nice, France), Victor Osimhen (Napoli, Italy), Paul Onuachu (Southampton FC, England)

https://africa.espn.com/football/nigeri ... gles-squad

So the excuses are no money for the SE ...smh

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 2:19 am

This is an unprecedented power grab by the new Nff chair and an assault on our football. Never before have we seen such a brazen power grab played out in public even though we’ve always had issues with nff. VE wrote that we’ll soon be begging for Pinnick to return and he’s right. The crooks couldn’t find any other waty to cut costs than to interfere with player selection. They essentially blocked the introduction of new players to SE, they also blocked new FB players that want to play for us like Adarabioyo, Akpom and others. Unfortunately, Pesseiro has no choice because they owe him money too. Kudos to Colin Udoh for exposing them. This is scandalous!
But Pesseiro was still the one that invited the players so why blame NFF! They only told him to invite 20 FB players. They did not ask him to invite 'rubbish players ' that you all are complaining about.

And IF Pesseiro thinks that the instruction from NFF is unprofessional then he should have resign as a TRUE professional.

This is ALL on Pesseiro

Thunder fire these crooks

They will pocket the money they "save" from not calling up 3 or 4 foreign players.

Our football is heading to a dark place.

wanaj0 wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 7:18 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 2:19 am

But Pesseiro was still the one that invited the players so why blame NFF! They only told him to invite 20 FB players. They did not ask him to invite 'rubbish players ' that you all are complaining about.

And IF Pesseiro thinks that the instruction from NFF is unprofessional then he should have resign as a TRUE professional.

This is ALL on Pesseiro
Are u serious? You’re missing the point.

I don’t necessarily have a problem with a quota system to help improve the local league as Brazil does a similar thing, but you have to give those 3-4 spots to the best in the local league rather than some yum yum fc no name. Crazy stuff…but hey this is Naija…

maceo4 wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 9:20 am I don’t necessarily have a problem with a quota system to help improve the local league as Brazil does a similar thing, but you have to give those 3-4 spots to the best in the local league rather than some yum yum fc no name. Crazy stuff…but hey this is Naija…
According to the report it was the Coach that scouted and invited the home based players! So instead of this is Naija we should say this is Pesseiro :)
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

Only deluded folks would expect the Eagles to be an island of excellence or meritocracy in the general junk and rot that is Nigeria. Anyway, no be today e start. It will get worse. For your individual and collective sanity, learn to detach yourselves. Hope for the deluded best when we line up and move on when the inevitable disappointment props up.
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 6:00 am

It was was written by Colin Udoh and published by ESPN dude, it’s the gold standard in SE reporting . If you don’t believe it then you shouldn’t believe anything else to read, including a calendar.
Speculation doesn’t carry more weight just because it it is presented by a popular journalist. This isn’t the first time, nor will it be the last, that the SuperEagles invitation list has been controversial due to unexpected inclusions and exclusions. Throughout the history of the NFF, and that goes back to the days of the NFA, there’s been ample evidence of occasional interference in the selection process by parties with a vested interest but that doesn’t rise to the level of an overt NFF plan to usurp or control the invitation and selection process. The report presented no factual or concrete evidence to support the theory❗️

I need to adopt another country to root for. This is getting ridiculous. So, where is equity in the team selection? Invite your best players period. They will tell him to select only 20 players but what they won’t report is how many of those 20 foreign players were forced on the coach and didn’t get reported. Afterall Musa & Shehu are considered foreign players.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 3:41 pm

Speculation doesn’t carry more weight just because it it is presented by a popular journalist. This isn’t the first time, nor will it be the last, that the SuperEagles invitation list has been controversial due to unexpected inclusions and exclusions. Throughout the history of the NFF, and that goes back to the days of the NFA, there’s been ample evidence of occasional interference in the selection process by parties with a vested interest but that doesn’t rise to the level of an overt NFF plan to usurp or control the invitation and selection process. The report presented no factual or concrete evidence to support the theory❗️

TTK,

I don’t get you sometimes. Colin has genuine connection in the NFF. He gets paid by ESPN and won’t jeopardize his career & reputation just to put false information out there. In fact, sometimes I think he’s too lenient when reporting NFF mago mago.
Last edited by packerland on Sun Mar 19, 2023 3:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

What's really surprising is that a lot of ya'll are surprised by this report or do we forget how our previous NFF president went on Tv to boast about imposing Ahmed Musa on our coach. Who can forget that Abba Bichi dude in our U17

Sunset wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 3:48 pm What's really surprising is that a lot of ya'll are surprised by this report or do we forget how our previous NFF president went on Tv to boast about imposing Ahmed Musa on our coach. Who can forget that Abba Bichi dude in our U17
Those are facts but people like TTK will still make excuses for them. I think Salisu is corrupt and should be fired but I’m not a fan of the NFF inviting players for him…alas the recent case of inviting Gift Orban.

packerland wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 3:48 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 3:41 pm

TTK,

I don’t get you sometimes. Colin has genuine connection in the NFF. He gets paid by ESPN and won’t jeopardize his career & reputation just to put false information out there. In fact, sometimes I think he’s too lenient when reporting NFF mago mago.
I agree with you totally

Damunk wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 6:49 am

In my view, this is the beginnings of the ‘quota system’ we have been fighting all this while. I suspect you’d be more inclined to raise your eyebrows if your boy Iheanacho was one of those sacrificed for a YumYum-type player.

But Colin Udo is one of our best football reporters for generations and he’s not going to soil his reputation by concocting stories from his toilet seat.
Victor Osimhen selected for Nigeria's AFCON qualifiers but controversy surrounds Super Eagles squad

Colin Udoh
Special to ESPN

Jose Peseiro's first Nigeria squad for a competitive game under the leadership of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) president Ibrahim Musa Gusau has provided an inkling into the direction of the new board while also stirring selection controversies.

Peseiro named a 23-man Super Eagles squad for the second time in a row under the new leadership, after the international friendly against Portugal in November. That was the first game for the A team after the NFF elections in September.

Peseiro had previously consistently named 25-man squads, composed mostly of Europe-based players, but a senior member of the NFF board told ESPN that the coach was now under direction to call-up no more than 20 players from Europe, and the remainder must come from the domestic league

"We cannot afford to invite so many players from Europe any more because we need to be very judicious in our use of the limited funds we have," the board member said. "Peseiro can call as many players as he wants, but only 20 can come from abroad. If he needs any more, he should get them from the local league."

That restriction has seen the Portuguese name three players from the domestic league, including two goalkeepers and a defender from the under-20 team. Going forward, this is expected to be the norm, with local players expected to become more prominent in future squad selections

"The president wants to make sure that the local league players are recognized in the Super Eagles, and this will be one way to help strengthen the league and make it more attractive," the board member said.

Goalkeeper Kingsley Aniagboso of Nigerian second-division club Giant Brillars was called up ahead of a host of Nigeria Premier League players, but his selection is not as controversial as that of Daniel Bameiyi. The under-20 defender has not had the best of the last year. Originally called up to the Olympic team, his performance in the first leg against Tanzania was so insipid that he was dropped for the return leg. Bameiyi was then named Nigeria captain for the CAF Under-20 AFCON, but he was largely anonymous during the tournament. Like Aniagboso, the defender's club has also raised concerns: he plays for Yum Yum FC, an academy outside the Nigerian league system.

Controversy also surrounds Peseiro's foreign-based call ups, with nine of the 23 players from the squad that faced Portugal not selected this time. Among the biggest casualties are vice-captain William Troost-Ekong, goalkeeper Maduka Okoye, in-and-out defender Tyronne Ebuehi, midfielder Peter Etebo, and forward Emmanuel Dennis.

Among the replacements, returning captain Ahmed Musa played barely 16 minutes of club football in March. Joe Aribo has not played in five games for Southampton and has been training with the under-23s. Paul Onuachu is barely any better. Wilfred Ndidi, once one of the most reliable players for both club and country, has seen very restricted appearances this season, starting just once in Leicester City's past five games and not making it onto the pitch in two. Defender Kenneth Omeruo has only just returned from injury.

The exclusion of in-form Gift Organ has only served to exacerbate the situation, especially after the forward scored the fastest hat trick in European competition in the UEFA Conference League a day after the list was announced.

Nigeria, who lead their Africa Cup of Nations qualifying group with six points from six, after their defeats of Sierra Leone and Sao Tome e Principe, face a double header against second-placed Guinea-Bissau, who are on four points. The first game is played in Abuja on March 24, with the second three days later in Bissau.

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus), Victor Sochima (Rivers United), Kingsley Aniagboso (Giant Brillars)

Defenders: Semi Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England), Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce, Turkey), Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany), Kenneth Omeruo (Leganes, Spain), Calvin Bassey (Ajax Amsterdam, Netherlands), Daniel Bameyi (YumYum FC), Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal), Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Frank Onyeka (Brentford, England), Alex Iwobi (Everton, England), Joe Aribo (Southampton, England)

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England), Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal, Spain), Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France), Ademola Lookman (Atalanta, Italy), Terem Moffi (Nice, France), Victor Osimhen (Napoli, Italy), Paul Onuachu (Southampton FC, England)

See my response to KONGI, the fake emir. Why is it surprising to anyone that players like Ekong, who haven’t been exactly stellar in recent memory, have been dropped to take a look at other options? The home based contingent is no more than a token contribution to the practice squad and shouldn’t be that big a deal. It’s a question of where you’d prefer the passive members of the squad to come from; some obscure team in Europe or Asia, or from close to home🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 3:57 pm
Damunk wrote: Sun Mar 19, 2023 6:49 am

Colin Udoh
Special to ESPN

See my response to kongi. Why is it surprising to anyone that players like Ekong, who haven’t been exactly stellar in recent memory, have been dropped to take a look at other options? The home based contingent is no more than a token contribution to the practice squad and shouldn’t be that big a deal. It’s a question of where you’d prefer the passive members of the squad to come from; some obscure team in Europe or Asia, or from close to home🤔❗️

I think someone said Ekong is out injured for the rest of the season. If we are going by form, then a lot of players on that list would be replaced.
OJI

Post by OJI »

Why invite 26 foreign based player when ...

1) not all will be or have a chance at playing.
2) there will be increased disaffection by the players, and ill will to the NFF, and coach.
3) there is difficulty in securing players from their clubs.
4) one is a selecting player struggling to establish/maintain/secure their position in their team.

So apart from financial considerations, it is in line with the new NFF leadership to refocus attention on the local league. Naturally, the homebased players are going to fall within the discretionary powers of the NFF/coach. It forces the coach to be prepared to scout the local league or be given names. We must remember Pinnick/Rohr avoided the local league, and looked at local players with disdain.

Nigerian Football is NOT only about the foreign based players.

The major thought process should be why the the top 18 players shouldn't be able to beat the opposing team - Guinea Bissau - easily.