Page 12 of 13

Re: Guinea Bissau vs Nigeria (0-1) Simon FT

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:08 pm
by txj
Onyeka brought a LOT of industry to MF today and worked well with Iwobi

Its clear Ndidi no longer has the legs...

Re: Guinea Bissau vs Nigeria (0-1) Simon

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:10 pm
by metalalloy
Cellular wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:03 pm
metalalloy wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 6:59 pm Lot of work to do man.. .
Yeah. But the team looked and played better today.

We still need competition in a lot of places.

Agreed. The performance today was def better than what we got in Abuja.

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:10 pm
by olumide
The main difference in this match to the last one, was that Nigeria came out playing with aggression and didn't allow GB to settle, which led to them being less comfortable and making more errors. Hopefully the lesson is learned in that regard, the lethargic start to the first half is the main reason for the loss of Friday, imo. In terms of performance, nothing much has changed, tbh. It was still incredibly wasteful and disconnected. Over the course of two games, we've seen a bunch of talented forwards: Osimhen, Samu, Lookman, Iheanacho, Moffi, Onuachu, Simon and none of them have played well. How that is possible, I am not sure, but definitely it is an issue of coaching. Credit to Iwobi for carrying that midfield for two matches and Osayi-Samuel for great energy and running. Omeruo and Ajayi were much more assured than Bassey and Akpougma, both of whom have looked better at fullback for Nigeria, tbh.

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:11 pm
by Cellular
felarey wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:04 pm What a match, just nonsense experience all round. Out of form players, shooting blanks, clownish executions then a tech issue shuts off the feed till injury time, only to get back and get more underwhelming show. Think I've wasted valuable mins.
That's just too harsh.
The team showed improvement. Victor could have been a bit more clinical but overall a good shift by the team.
His position should not be given to him. But based on his club form, he deserved to be starting and playing major minutes.

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:14 pm
by Cellular
txj wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:08 pm Onyeka brought a LOT of industry to MF today and worked well with Iwobi

I won't go that far.
He is still recovering from injury that typically takes a full calendar year to heal properly.

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:19 pm
by felarey
The players should be watching eachother at their clubs (I hope). At times Iwobi makes or seeks to make a pass and his mates are trying to decide whether to run or not, something that's bread and butter for him at club. Osimhen suffered the most from this, it's like they just get to know eachother when they come to the national team. Making moves when the chance is already gone.

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:20 pm
by txj
Cellular wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:14 pm
txj wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:08 pm Onyeka brought a LOT of industry to MF today and worked well with Iwobi

I won't go that far.
He is still recovering from injury that typically takes a full calendar year to heal properly.

I've seen enough football in the modern days (as opposed to 1naijas) to know his legs are gone

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:21 pm
by felarey
Cellular wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:11 pm
felarey wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:04 pm What a match, just nonsense experience all round. Out of form players, shooting blanks, clownish executions then a tech issue shuts off the feed till injury time, only to get back and get more underwhelming show. Think I've wasted valuable mins.
That's just too harsh.
The team showed improvement. Victor could have been a bit more clinical but overall a good shift by the team.
His position should not be given to him. But based on his club form, he deserved to be starting and playing major minutes.
Harsh? Did you enjoy this game? I didn't. I don't expect them to play like a club team but it does feel like a collection of stars than a team.

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:23 pm
by oscar52
I like Onyeka game, how a midfielder should hustle and play. Still not sure of Uzoho.

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:34 pm
by TonyTheTigerKiller

Not really. The match stats were almost identical. The big difference between today’s game and the Abuja game is that we won courtesy of a silly tackle in the box by a GB defender. We need to be a lot sharper in front of goal. We should have won both games by a bundle❗️

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:52 pm
by aruako1
For an Africa away qualifier, I'm happy with the result. We need more work and more players tried out in midfield. The team will gell.

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 8:03 pm
by 1naija
ATF Jacob, I have Awoof Supersports!
txj wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:20 pm
Cellular wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:14 pm

I won't go that far.

I've seen enough football in the modern days (as opposed to 1naijas) to know his legs are gone

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 8:11 pm
by Gotti

Sorry bro, but the team pretty much looked and played the SAME…
We were just as fortunate to win today as we were unfortunate to lose last Friday.

We collect the 3 points and move on! :clap:

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 8:41 pm
Gotti wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 8:11 pm

We were just as fortunate to win today as we were unfortunate to lose last Friday.

actually we lost because you opened the game thread. Have you noticed 98.2% of all SE game threads you do open , results in a loss or draw. Just pulling up the stats

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 8:44 pm
by maceo4

Abeg told them, and it was Osayi being our best player again that took matters into his own hands…

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 8:46 pm
by maceo4
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 8:41 pm

actually we lost because you opened the game thread. Have you noticed 98.2% of all SE game threads you do open , results in a loss or draw. Just pulling up the stats
Fabu 😝😝

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 8:48 pm
maceo4 wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 8:46 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 8:41 pm

Fabu 😝😝
Do a search or pay attention when any Nigeria team plays, be it the U20, 17s23s and Falcons. Gotti has a very "jinx" record all over CE

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 8:52 pm
by txj

I would disagree with that. Tactically, the team was much more balanced in play and squeezed the lines much, much better, which pretty much eliminated the counterattacking opportunities you saw in the first game.

But in the final third, I fully agree that we looked and played much the same.

The 2nd game IMO changed b/c we used players who were more in form and/or hardworking- Moffi, Onyeka; including the CDs, although their job was made much easier by the CMs...

Still maintain Peseiro is a clown.

Its nearly 1yr since he's been on the job and there he still is monkeying around with players whose times are well past it in international football:

Musa
Ndidi
Omeruo
Ajayi
Kelechi
Uzoho
Ekong
Shehu
Awaziem

He's not a serious manager...

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 9:12 pm
by mcal
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 7:06 pm It’s good that we won otherwise vancity would have been in here talking his usual nonsense. Thank God for His small mercies❗️

...yep, Musa this Musa that. Has he mentioned him today since we won?

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 9:13 pm
by bret- hart
We could have won by like 4 goals if Chukwueze hadn't left his brain in Abuja. :curse:

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 9:17 pm
by mcal
...so if not for that penalty match for end in draw, since GB were playing for draw.
A GB player momentarily lost his sense and committed that foul in the box, else they were all tactically playing well, denying Osihmen, causing him to be offside numerous times, and their goalie very determined in stopping 1v1.

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 9:18 pm
by maceo4
bret- hart wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 9:13 pm We could have won by like 4 goals if Chukwueze hadn't left his brain in Abuja. :curse:
As if he wasn’t brainless in Abuja…

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 10:53 pm
Thank God I didnt watch the match, and concentrated on more productive things.