Nigeria Federation admits failing to pay coaches for several months

https://www.bbc.com/sport/africa/65722275
The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) says delays in paying several of its national team coaches are "nothing to be proud of".

Some of the missing salary payments date back over a year and those affected include Jose Peseiro, head coach of the men's senior side, and Ladan Bosso who is currently leading the male Under-20 team at the World Cup in Argentina where they have reached the second round. It is understood Bosso has only received three months' salary in the past 15 months.

Meanwhile, with the Women's World Cup in Australia and New Zealand less than two months away, Super Falcons coach Randy Waldrum is owed more than $100,000, including bonuses from last year's Women's Africa Cup of Nations (Wafcon).

Why do African teams threaten strike action?
"The NFF has been facing huge financial challenges and there is an ongoing effort to resolve all the issues relating to unpaid wages," Ademola Olajire, the NFF's director of communications, told BBC Sport Africa.

"It is unfortunately not something to be proud of and the new board of the federation is working hard to resolve the problems."

Ibrahim Gusau, who replaced former NFF president Amaju Pinnick in September, inherited some of the debts from his predecessor and has been appealing to players and officials for patience, meaning the coaches are yet to make an official complaint.

Corruption case against NFF dropped
Nigeria federation boss Pinnick blames investigations for on-pitch failures
Former NFF vice president hits back after house seized
Gusau has made contact with sponsors in a bid to encourage them to settle long-standing debts but the federation, which receives part of its income from the government, also owes outstanding bonuses to players including members of both the senior men's and women's sides.

The most recent missing payments to Super Eagles players date back to 2021 while the Super Falcons squad boycotted training before their 2022 Wafcon third-place play-off against Zambia over the non-payment of both bonuses and allowances.

Likewise, members of the U20 squad, who face hosts Argentina in their last-16 tie on Wednesday, are also owed qualifying bonuses and tournament allowances.

ADVERTISEMENT

One senior Super Eagle, who did not want to be named, said: "We understand the financial situation affecting the NFF.

"The new president recently spoke to the captain (Ahmed Musa) and other senior players about our outstanding bonuses.

"He has been speaking to some of the sponsors and sports ministry but we just hope that it will be sorted out as promised.

Nigeria squad still waiting for Wafcon bonuses
Afcon 2019: Nigeria players 'owed bonuses and allowances'
Nigeria settle 2013 Confederation Cup bonus dispute
It is not the first time Nigeria coaches have seen their wages go unpaid.

The list of those impacted is lengthy and includes Augustine Eguavoen, Samson Siasia, Sunday Oliseh, Gernot Rohr, Florence Omagbemi and the late Stephen Keshi.

The NFF says it is working to settle the current arrears.

Re: Nigeria Federation admits failing to pay coaches for several months

But is the NFF run by the government? :rotf:

Eaglezbeak wrote: Thu Jun 01, 2023 7:15 am But is the NFF run by the government? :rotf:
NFF is independent when it comes to embezzling funds.

But when it comes to paying their commitments, they look to the government.

The number one issue during NFF elections should be how to be financially independent.

But...

Cellular wrote: Thu Jun 01, 2023 5:49 pm
Eaglezbeak wrote: Thu Jun 01, 2023 7:15 am But is the NFF run by the government? :rotf:

The number one issue during NFF elections should be how to be financially independent.

But...
We know local coaches are corrupt that's why they continue to work without pay.

How come the non corrupt foreign coaches continue to work without pay! I thought they will just resign and go get another job considering how in hot demand they are! :boo:

Number ONE issue is for NFF to live within its means. They need to cut their coat according to their cloth. They need to prioritize what they do and tournaments that participate in.
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

But...
as-is, is there enough private funds out there to fund the NFF. I don't see it.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

And yet we want the best out of our players and coaches under such circumstances
delisyomie don

Post by delisyomie don »

wanaj0 wrote: Fri Jun 02, 2023 9:24 am

But...
We know local coaches are corrupt that's why they continue to work without pay.

How come the non corrupt foreign coaches continue to work without pay! I thought they will just resign and go get another job considering how in hot demand they are! :boo:

Number ONE issue is for NFF to live within its means. They need to cut their coat according to their cloth. They need to prioritize what they do and tournaments that participate in.
oyinbo coaches are wise ones because they always signed contracts and they will always get paid by fifa order even when they don't get paid straight away.
thanks