POKEY, YER BOY (BUKAYO SAKA) IS HERE

Showboy
Re: POKEY, YER BOY (BUKAYO SAKA) IS HERE

Post by Showboy »

Dammy wrote: Sat Jun 03, 2023 9:36 pm Saka was received at the Lagos State Governor’s Office today by the Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu.
I am really disappointed with this gesture because those who decided to play for us like Aina, Iwobi, Aribo etc never had this courtesy extended to them.
I expect Ebere Eze to be warmly welcomed by top Nigerian government officials while turning their noses down on the nation! I have no issues with Saka and his likes visiting the country but I have reservations about government officials welcoming them. What message are they sending out?
There’s something wrong and Sanwo-Olu yab big time. 🙈
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Jun 04, 2023 1:19 pm
Damunk wrote: Sun Jun 04, 2023 6:19 am
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Jun 04, 2023 2:58 am Let’s be frank. There’s nothing wrong with Saka visiting Nigeria but it’s not worth making a big deal over. Saka’s visit to Nigeria is no different than Paul McCartney’s visit to the Shrine; just a regular ole celebrity visiting and shouldn’t have any special connotations attached to it❗️

Not everybody comes to Nigeria and pays for 120 kids to have surgery. He wash probably inspired by King Kanu’s Heart Foundation.
Maybe not to you but it’s a big deal to those kids and their families.

The beef is simply because he plays for England.
Ighalo, Oshoala and loads of footballers all got publicity and love for their charity work.
Why the insults to this kid who is the youngest of the lot?
Damunk, come off it. The fact that you think he deserves to be hero worshipped doesn’t imply that that those who don’t share that particular viewpoint are insulting Saka. The reality is that Saka’s allegiance is not to Nigeria so, don’t expect most fans to dote over him the way they would over an Osimhen or even an Ighalo. Harry McGuire, like Saka, is an England star. Should we also rollout the red carpet for him too when he comes visiting❓🤔❗️

TTT,
Are you conveniently ignoring the insults, or genuinely didn’t see them? Scroll up.
Please don’t rig up a straw man, because I have no problem with anyone objecting to his media exposure. But I do have a problem with:
1. Singling him out simply because he chose to bat for England (like both you and I and the majority of his critics here).
2. I have a problem with people positioning their football sentiments above recognising the crucial role of charity work. (I notice you and the rest keep emphasising the ‘football star’ thing. Little or nothing about his ongoing charity work).
3. As for you saying I think he should be ‘hero-worshipped’, I laugh. Really? That’s what you see? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
So what is being done for him or what is he doing that hasn’t been done before and that’s causing so much angst? What about Ighalo? Oshoala? Iheanacho? Ahmed Musa? Mikel Obi? Oparanozie? Shehu Abdullahi?
Do you people need pictures? Was all that “hero-worshipping” too? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

You don’t think all these guys and girls are heroes and heroines to the children whose lives have been transformed by their work?
Dey there.
Like I said, it’s beef becos he “snubbed” Nigeria.
Seems the much-maligned ‘innit’ boys are causing more pain than we ever imagined!
Chai.

Dammy wrote: Sun Jun 04, 2023 7:17 amBro, my point is why is a top government official rolling out the red carpet for him and the same was not done for the likes of Iwobi, Lookman, Aina etc, who cast their lot with us?
I have no problem with him coming to Nigeria and doing charity work but when the die was cast, he turned us down. I’m even hearing he could be meeting up with the President! These privileges were not extended to those who “chose” us!
Did the likes of Lookman, Aina and Iwobi ask to (or someone asked if they could) meet the Gov and were refused?! :blink:
Last edited by Gotti on Sun Jun 04, 2023 8:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Jun 04, 2023 1:19 pmDamunk, come off it. The fact that you think he deserves to be hero worshipped doesn’t imply that that those who don’t share that particular viewpoint are insulting Saka. The reality is that Saka’s allegiance is not to Nigeria so, don’t expect most fans to dote over him the way they would over an Osimhen or even an Ighalo. Harry McGuire, like Saka, is an England star. Should we also rollout the red carpet for him too when he comes visiting❓🤔❗️
Dude, MATURE (and that cannot be overemphasized here) adults can have more than one “allegiance”…

Saka’s senior international football “allegiance” may lie with England, but you don’t pay for surgery for reportedly 120 NIGERIAN kids (out of the about 195 countries in the world) without some significant “allegiance” - something that I am pretty certain that YOU (and most likely most of the Naysayers here and even their families) probably have never done.

Meanwhile, another “reality” is that even the likes of Iwobi, Aina, Lookman, etc., had the same “allegiance” to the same England (or other Oyibo nations) at the junior international levels pretty much until (with the possible exception of Iwobi who was born in Nigeria) it dawned on them that their only (or best) chance of senior international football lay with Nigeria.

Gotti wrote: Sun Jun 04, 2023 7:52 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Jun 04, 2023 1:19 pmDamunk, come off it. The fact that you think he deserves to be hero worshipped doesn’t imply that that those who don’t share that particular viewpoint are insulting Saka. The reality is that Saka’s allegiance is not to Nigeria so, don’t expect most fans to dote over him the way they would over an Osimhen or even an Ighalo. Harry McGuire, like Saka, is an England star. Should we also rollout the red carpet for him too when he comes visiting❓🤔❗️
Dude, MATURE (and that cannot be overemphasized here) adults can have more than one “allegiance”…

Saka’s senior international football “allegiance” may lie with England, but you don’t pay for surgery for reportedly 120 NIGERIAN kids (out of the about 195 countries in the world) without some significant “allegiance” - something that I am pretty certain that YOU (and most likely most of the Naysayers here and even their families) probably have never done.

Meanwhile, another “reality” is that even the likes of Iwobi, Aina, Lookman, etc., had the same “allegiance” to the same England (or other Oyibo nations) at the junior international levels pretty much until (with the possible exception of Iwobi who was born in Nigeria) it dawned on them that their only (or best) chance of senior international football lay with Nigeria.
Keep schooling the agbayas here bro

airwolex wrote: Sun Jun 04, 2023 9:14 pm

Some people refused to be schooled.
They will still come back with some twisted logic to have the last say and ‘win’ the argument.
Allow them, abeg.
The people that really matter in all this are the charity beneficiaries, not some sulking football fans with bruised egos.

Awon agbaya. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Damunk wrote: Sun Jun 04, 2023 10:25 pm

They will still come back with some twisted logic to have the last say and ‘win’ the argument.
Allow them, abeg.
The people that really matter in all this are the charity beneficiaries, not some sulking football fans with bruised egos.

… but isn’t that exactly what you are doing? Doubling down on your illogical position in an effort to win the argument? You know what, you win… and while you’re at it, nominate him for an MON award🤔🤐

You keep harping about charity but you should be aware that lots of Nigerians are the beneficiaries of some individuals’ acts of generosity; often an individual who is a non celebrity and totally unknown. Many of these Nigerians are actually able to keep body, soul and family together as a result of these unheralded acts of generosity. So you must understand that charity, in itself, cannot be the yardstick for putting someone on a pedestal❗️

Allow them, abeg.

Just getting emotional and resorting to insults, that’s very much unlike you!

Nice one by Gov. Sanwo-olu.

Thank you, Saka for visiting and providing for the less fortunate. Lord knows there are countless ways you could've spent your free time. Thank you for coming and giving your TIME.

We will keep celebrating your successes.

We hope that your visit won't be the last.

Next time, bring your friends. Share your experiences.

There's plenty of work... we need all the help we can get.

God bless you!

Cellular wrote: Mon Jun 05, 2023 6:44 pm Nice one by Gov. Sanwo-olu.

Thank you, Saka for visiting and providing for the less fortunate. Lord knows there are countless ways you could've spent your free time. Thank you for coming and giving your TIME.

We will keep celebrating your successes.

We hope that your visit won't be the last.

Next time, bring your friends. Share your experiences.

There's plenty of work... we need all the help we can get.

God bless you!
Amen! :clap:

Dammy wrote: Mon Jun 05, 2023 8:03 am

Allow them, abeg.

Just getting emotional and resorting to insults, that’s very much unlike you!
Sorry. It was not said as an insult; more like a jibe.
If you understand Yoruba you’ll appreciate how friends can call each other agbaya in jest.
Apologies to anyone that feels insulted.
Not my intention.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Jun 05, 2023 4:18 am

Allow them, abeg.

… but isn’t that exactly what you are doing? Doubling down on your illogical position in an effort to win the argument? You know what, you win… and while you’re at it, nominate him for an MON award🤔🤐

You keep harping about charity but you should be aware that lots of Nigerians are the beneficiaries of some individuals’ acts of generosity; often an individual who is a non celebrity and totally unknown. Many of these Nigerians are actually able to keep body, soul and family together as a result of these unheralded acts of generosity. So you must understand that charity, in itself, cannot be the yardstick for putting someone on a pedestal❗️

Oh please.
You still haven’t seen the insults?
What’s your take on that?

It’s a rhetorical question, cos you’d rather not comment, innit?
:taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

All these Arsenal fans!