Kelechi Nwakali…

Re: Kelechi Nwakali…

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Aug 20, 2023 4:21 pm If it is true that his work rate is not up to par, then it might be worth having him in a midfield trio, where the other 2 put in a shift. At the very least Nwakali should be a bench option.
Stop making obvious statements lol… :taunt:

But seriously, his passing and dead balls are needed, he doesn’t have the engine but can be a deep lying playmaker for us. He better get another invite soon…

maceo4 wrote: Sun Aug 20, 2023 5:54 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Sun Aug 20, 2023 4:21 pm If it is true that his work rate is not up to par, then it might be worth having him in a midfield trio, where the other 2 put in a shift. At the very least Nwakali should be a bench option.

But seriously, his passing and dead balls are needed, he doesn’t have the engine but can be a deep lying playmaker for us. He better get another invite soon…

Not all CM have to have a high work rate or work like a dog in MF to have an impact. Nwakali’s claim to fame was never his work rate, it was his ability to create and control the game from deep and in the middle of the field. Nwakali is a replacement for Mikel in MF, we do not have another player in the ranks foreign born or not that has his set of skills in MF.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Aug 20, 2023 6:11 pm

Not all CM have to have a high work rate or work like a dog in MF to have an impact. Nwakali’s claim to fame was never his work rate, it was his ability to create and control the game from deep and in the middle of the field. Nwakali is a replacement for Mikel in MF, we do not have another player in the ranks foreign born or not that has his set of skills in MF.
Did you watch him at the U20s World Cup?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Sun Aug 20, 2023 6:35 pm

No. But I watched him in the U17 WC. He didn’t have a high work rate then either.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Aug 20, 2023 6:40 pm

No. But I watched him in the U17 WC. He didn’t have a high work rate then either.
Sorry, I meant U23 AFCON. He didn’t “control the game from deep and the middle of the field”.

The guy is good on the ball but doesn’t cover much ground which means the team would be playing one short. Let’s see if playing regularly at a decent level would help him improve in that area.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Damunk wrote: Thu Aug 17, 2023 10:00 am There must be a reason Nwakali who as the world's MVP (Golden ball) couldn't have had a better start to his professional career, is still struggling 8 years later.
It cant just be down to bad luck.
I quote myself.
Are we saying all the clubs he’s been playing for never recognized his “deep playmaking abilities”, his “great passing skills” and his “phenomenal set piece ability”?

Either they’ve all missed the glaringly obvious or we are holding onto an eight year pipe dream.
Let’s hope it’s the former.

WE ARE VERY READY TO EAT HUMBLE PIE.
WITH ALL PLEASURE SEF.

Lolly wrote: Sun Aug 20, 2023 6:44 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Aug 20, 2023 6:40 pm

Sorry, I meant U23 AFCON. He didn’t “control the game from deep and the middle of the field”.

The guy is good on the ball but doesn’t cover much ground which means the team would be playing one short. Let’s see if playing regularly at a decent level would help him improve in that area.
He shouldn’t even had played in that tournament and the team was coached by fraud Salisu.
Not to answer your question with a question, did u watch him at the last Afcon? He obviously improved from his u23 Afcon performance quite a lot.

Damunk wrote: Sun Aug 20, 2023 6:49 pm
Damunk wrote: Thu Aug 17, 2023 10:00 am There must be a reason Nwakali who as the world's MVP (Golden ball) couldn't have had a better start to his professional career, is still struggling 8 years later.
I quote myself.
Are we saying all the clubs he’s been playing for never recognized his “deep playmaking abilities”, his “great passing skills” and his “phenomenal set piece ability”?

Either they’ve all missed the glaringly obvious or we are holding onto an eight year pipe dream.

WITH ALL PLEASURE SEF.
Seconded. I will gladly eat the pie if the hype holds up. Maybe I am just different but it is all about the data and it just sparse except U-17 highlights. After 8 years I am waiting to see the evidence of “best dead ball specialist”, the “best deep lying playmaker”, these should show up as assists or goals abi? Nice assist yesterday but he did turn the ball over that led to second goal for SC Braga.
Overall, it looks like he is having a good a season but it is early days. Team not helping him though, two weeks in a row playing with 10 men. Overall, if he keeps it up should be called up. He has 4 caps so far and needs quite a few games to see if all the hype is justified. Just show me the data and I will shut up.

Its like most here have refused to address the elephant in the room regarding Nwakali.
The sad truth is the guy is not good enough, but most folks here don't want to accept that.
Clubs want a play who bursts his guts for 90 mins and this guy has demonstrated over the past 8 yrs that he simply cannot do that. Over the same timeline, the likes of Osimhen and Chukwueze have progressed to become world class - he hasn't and is not even anywhere close to that.
Nonetheless, good luck to the lad and wish him well.
I quote myself.

WITH ALL PLEASURE SEF.

Otitokoro wrote: Sun Aug 20, 2023 8:29 pm Its like most here have refused to address the elephant in the room regarding Nwakali.
The sad truth is the guy is not good enough, but most folks here don't want to accept that.
Clubs want a play who bursts his guts for 90 mins and this guy has demonstrated over the past 8 yrs that he simply cannot do that. Over the same timeline, the likes of Osimhen and Chukwueze have progressed to become world class - he hasn't and is not even anywhere close to that.
I quote myself.

WITH ALL PLEASURE SEF.
Hater :taunt:

You guys can see his beautiful set pieces here vs Guinea Bissau:

maceo4 wrote: Sun Aug 20, 2023 9:06 pm
Otitokoro wrote: Sun Aug 20, 2023 8:29 pm Its like most here have refused to address the elephant in the room regarding Nwakali.
I quote myself.

WITH ALL PLEASURE SEF.
Hater :taunt:

You guys can see his beautiful set pieces here vs Guinea Bissau:

Great highlights of the much maligned Moses Simon :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I quote myself.

WITH ALL PLEASURE SEF.
Thank you, only in CE is this guy’s talent glaring…. Manager after Msnager, team after Team…the boy has failed to settle but for SE, he is the Zidane that we are all waiting for.

We should bring back Eguavoen as coach. If for nothing else, for his goal celebration. Not since Shakes Mashaba have I seen such great goal celebration by a coach.

Mbok, how are you? :D
1naija wrote: Tue Sep 12, 2023 7:06 pm We should bring back Eguavoen as coach. If for nothing else, for his goal celebration. Not since Shakes Mashaba have I seen such great goal celebration by a coach.

Nwakali isn't the 2nd coming of Okocha. He's not even as good as Mikel. That being said, I do believe he's good enough to be in the SE squad. I think he offers more offensively than Onyeka and Onyedika. I would take him over those two.

Sunset wrote: Tue Sep 12, 2023 6:38 pm
hmmmm, ok, we need to keep an eye on him

olu wrote: Tue Sep 12, 2023 8:00 pm Nwakali isn't the 2nd coming of Okocha. He's not even as good as Mikel. That being said, I do believe he's good enough to be in the SE squad. I think he offers more offensively than Onyeka and Onyedika. I would take him over those two.
Ok. Don’t see it personally but ok.
Onyeka is a true modern midfielder battler and Onyedika is developing as a good protector of the back four.
Nwakali was last really good as a youth international.
I’m frankly puzzled why CE remains obsessed about him. We may as well pine for Musa Yahaya.

Nwakali still has a place in the midfield, a midfield of Nwakali, Onyeka, Onyedika, Ndidi, Iwobi, Aribo, the Bashiru brothers + one or two U20 boys (Daga, Tochukwu Nnadi) should be solid enough in depth and quality ahead of the AFCON...

olu wrote: Tue Sep 12, 2023 8:00 pm Nwakali isn't the 2nd coming of Okocha. He's not even as good as Mikel. That being said, I do believe he's good enough to be in the SE squad. I think he offers more offensively than Onyeka and Onyedika. I would take him over those two.
It’s funny you picked those three to make a comparison, IMO you really can’t do that as they’d more likely complement each other than be like for like given the different strengths to their game

Nwakali - Ball retention/distribution
Onyeka - high intensity/a willing runner
Onyedika - defensive stability

Not to mention it would make up for their respective weaknesses.
Babadee

Post by Babadee »

The way some ppl are so fascinated with this Nwakali. I think his peak was youth days. There are players like dat . they were ballers in youth and U20 but real mens football they are behind. If he was that good he would have been in a La Liga team . See Chukwueze,Umar etc

Babadee wrote: Tue Sep 12, 2023 10:31 pm The way some ppl are so fascinated with this Nwakali. I think his peak was youth days. There are players like dat . they were ballers in youth and U20 but real mens football they are behind. If he was that good he would have been in a La Liga team . See Chukwueze,Umar etc
The very few times Nwakali has played for the NT he has always delivered (his AFCON performance was particularly impressive),.not every player has the luck of having a great club career as we've seen with several players in the NT that didn't have the most glamorous club careers but always delivered for the GWG.

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Sep 12, 2023 10:45 pm
Babadee wrote: Tue Sep 12, 2023 10:31 pm The way some ppl are so fascinated with this Nwakali. I think his peak was youth days. There are players like dat . they were ballers in youth and U20 but real mens football they are behind. If he was that good he would have been in a La Liga team . See Chukwueze,Umar etc
The very few times Nwakali has played for the NT he has always delivered (his AFCON performance was particularly impressive),.not every player has the luck of having a great club career as we've seen with several players in the NT that didn't have the most glamorous club careers but always delivered for the GWG.
We dont like to do the right thing in Nigeria. Invite Nwakali, Fisayo and Ifeanyi and we will cook. Piss-ero needs to beef up the midfield if he wants to win the AFCON.