Full AFCON Provisional List

The Squad
THE FULL PROVISIONAL LIST

Goalkeepers
1. Francis Uzoho
2. Adebayo Adeleye
3. Ojo Olorunleke
4. Stanley Nwabali
5. Amas Obasogie
6. Christian Nwoke

Defenders
1. Ola Aina
2. Bright Osayi-Samuel
3. Tyronne Ebuehi
4. Jamilu Collins
5. Zaidu Sanusi
6. Bruno Onyemaechi
7. William Troost-Ekong
8. Semi Ajayi
9. Calvin Bassey
10. Kenneth Omeruo
11. Kevin Akpoguma
12. Chidozie Awaziem
13. Jordan Torunarigha

Midfielders
1. Wilfred Ndidi
2. Frank Onyeka
3. Joe Aribo
4. Alex Iwobi
5. Alhassan Yusuf
6. Fisayo Dele-Bashiru
7. Raphael Onyedika Nwadike
8. Kelechi Nwakali

Attackers
1. Victor Osimhen
2. Victor Boniface
3. Terem Moffi
4. Umar Sadiq
5. Ahmed Musa
6. Paul Onuachu
7. Cyriel Dessers
8. Ademola Lookman
9. Nathan Tella
10. Moses Simon
11. Emmanuel Dennis
12. Samuel Chukwueze
13. Kelechi Iheanacho

https://aclsports.com/aclsports-exclusi ... onal-list/
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Re: Full AFCON Provisional List

Ahmed Musa is back
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

WTF is Emmanuel Dennis doing on the list? My goodness Pisseiro really needs to be taken out fast, this fat pig even bent over for Musa? Useless list!!!!!

Tobi17 wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 11:36 am WTF is Emmanuel Dennis doing on the list? My goodness Pisseiro really needs to be taken out fast, this fat pig even bent over for Musa? Useless list!!!!!
It’s just a provisional list that would be trimmed down to 23

We have become a very average team. Only Osimhen, Iwobi, Moses, Chukwueze, and Ndidi are credible players on the team.

1naija wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 11:57 am We have become a very average team. Only Osimhen, Iwobi, Moses, Chukwueze, and Ndidi are credible players on the team.
So Chukwueze is credible but Lookman who is doing better in the same league and has performed better for Nigeria in recent games is not?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

No Okoye…

No Orban, . This list ger as e be

Babadee

Post by Babadee »

anointed wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 11:24 am
The Squad

Goalkeepers
1. Francis Uzoho
2. Adebayo Adeleye
3. Ojo Olorunleke
4. Stanley Nwabali
5. Amas Obasogie
6. Christian Nwoke

Defenders
1. Ola Aina
2. Bright Osayi-Samuel
3. Tyronne Ebuehi
4. Jamilu Collins
5. Zaidu Sanusi
6. Bruno Onyemaechi
7. William Troost-Ekong
8. Semi Ajayi
9. Calvin Bassey
10. Kenneth Omeruo
11. Kevin Akpoguma
12. Chidozie Awaziem
13. Jordan Torunarigha

Midfielders
1. Wilfred Ndidi
2. Frank Onyeka
3. Joe Aribo
4. Alex Iwobi
5. Alhassan Yusuf
6. Fisayo Dele-Bashiru
8. Kelechi Nwakali

Attackers
1. Victor Osimhen
2. Victor Boniface
3. Terem Moffi
4. Umar Sadiq
5. Ahmed Musa
6. Paul Onuachu
7. Cyriel Dessers
8. Ademola Lookman
9. Nathan Tella
10. Moses Simon
11. Emmanuel Dennis
12. Samuel Chukwueze
13. Kelechi Iheanacho

Terem moffi hamstring injury I doubt he makes it

Final Afcon list according to OWN, looks credible. Musa is going to Afcon.

https://owngoalnigeria.com/2023/12/18/e ... next-year/

There are only 5 places to fight for on this team. And 3 of those are keepers. So in reality, only two more outfielders can join the dead certs:

Ola Aina
Bright Osayi-Samuel
Jamilu Collins
Zaidu Sanusi
Bruno Onyemaechi
Semi Ajayi
Calvin Bassey
Kenneth Omeruo

Wilfred Ndidi
Frank Onyeka
Alex Iwobi

Victor Osimhen
Victor Boniface
Ademola Lookman
Nathan Tella
Moses Simon
Samuel Chukwueze
Kelechi Iheanacho

My suspicion is Aribo will get a shirt and one other midfielder. I can’t see how you fit Sadiq and/or Moffi in this side although they might sneak in. The rest are on that long-list so we can say we have a long-list and as reserves in case of injury.

If it’s 27 instead of 23, I think you’ll see two of those midfielders plus Sadiq and one other (if Moffi is injured)

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 1:09 pm Final Afcon list according to OWN, looks credible. Musa is going to Afcon.

Joke list
trae_z

Post by trae_z »

anointed wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 11:24 am
The Squad

Goalkeepers
1. Francis Uzoho
2. Adebayo Adeleye
3. Ojo Olorunleke
4. Stanley Nwabali
5. Amas Obasogie
6. Christian Nwoke

Defenders
1. Ola Aina
2. Bright Osayi-Samuel
3. Tyronne Ebuehi
4. Jamilu Collins
5. Zaidu Sanusi
6. Bruno Onyemaechi
7. William Troost-Ekong
8. Semi Ajayi
9. Calvin Bassey
10. Kenneth Omeruo
11. Kevin Akpoguma
12. Chidozie Awaziem
13. Jordan Torunarigha

Midfielders
1. Wilfred Ndidi
2. Frank Onyeka
3. Joe Aribo
4. Alex Iwobi
5. Alhassan Yusuf
6. Fisayo Dele-Bashiru
8. Kelechi Nwakali

Attackers
1. Victor Osimhen
2. Victor Boniface
3. Terem Moffi
4. Umar Sadiq
5. Ahmed Musa
6. Paul Onuachu
7. Cyriel Dessers
8. Ademola Lookman
9. Nathan Tella
10. Moses Simon
11. Emmanuel Dennis
12. Samuel Chukwueze
13. Kelechi Iheanacho

For Goalkeepers would definitely be

1. Francis Uzoho
2. Adebayo Adeleye
3. Stanley Nwabali

I would cap squad at 23 and not waste money unnecessarily.
Yes 23 is must and extra 4 is optional according to CAF

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 1:09 pm Final Afcon list according to OWN, looks credible. Musa is going to Afcon.

It’s not credible because CAF allows for a 23 man squad and not 27

Dammy wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 1:27 pm

Correct but note that 27 is not unusual because there is a list of four or so players that actually travel and used for late window replacement of an injured squad player.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

How did Lookman perform better for Nigeria than Chukwueze when Chukwueze was injured? Besides, my point is that the entire list is filled with nothing but average players.
Lolly wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 12:01 pm
1naija wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 11:57 am We have become a very average team. Only Osimhen, Iwobi, Moses, Chukwueze, and Ndidi are credible players on the team.
So Chukwueze is credible but Lookman who is doing better in the same league and has performed better for Nigeria in recent games is not?

...standby watch commence, some go go wacko :rotf: :rotf:

Dennis and Musa? 😆 Dropped cOrban for those 2 deadweights Naija

mcal wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 1:56 pm

...standby watch commence, some go go wacko :rotf: :rotf:
[/quote

Mods need to set up a triage unit once VE and Tobi Wonder get this news. :laugh:
Last edited by EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA on Mon Dec 18, 2023 2:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Una dey complain, una don forget say we get fake coach. Passeiro is our caoch, let that sink in

Babadee

Post by Babadee »

CAF website said 27

One of the highlights of the countdown to the kickoff of the TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations Cote d’Ivoire 2023 is the submission of provisional squads by the 24 Participating Member Associations (PMAs).

According to the Regulations of the tournament, each Member Association qualified for the final tournament are to submit a provisional list of no more than 55 players no later than 14 December 2023.

In a related development, the CAF Organising Committee of the TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations has announced that the final squads for the Final Tournament will comprise of 27 players, from the initial 23 from previous events.

The registration of the four additional players on the final list of is only an option and not an obligation.

The deadline for the submission of the final squads for the tournament is 3 January 2023, exactly ten (10) days to the opening match.

However, only 23 players will be available for selection for each match during the tournament.

Also, a player in the final squad can only be replaced after a serious injury no less than 24-hours before the team’s first match following the approval of the medical certificate by the CAF Medical Committee.

The final tournament will take place from 13 January to 11 February 2024 in the Ivorian cities of Abidjan, Bouake, Korhogo, San Pedro and Yamoussoukr

Babadee wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 3:15 pm

CAF website said 27

One of the highlights of the countdown to the kickoff of the TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations Cote d’Ivoire 2023 is the submission of provisional squads by the 24 Participating Member Associations (PMAs).

According to the Regulations of the tournament, each Member Association qualified for the final tournament are to submit a provisional list of no more than 55 players no later than 14 December 2023.

In a related development, the CAF Organising Committee of the TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations has announced that the final squads for the Final Tournament will comprise of 27 players, from the initial 23 from previous events.

The registration of the four additional players on the final list of is only an option and not an obligation.

The deadline for the submission of the final squads for the tournament is 3 January 2023, exactly ten (10) days to the opening match.

However, only 23 players will be available for selection for each match during the tournament.

Also, a player in the final squad can only be replaced after a serious injury no less than 24-hours before the team’s first match following the approval of the medical certificate by the CAF Medical Committee.

The final tournament will take place from 13 January to 11 February 2024 in the Ivorian cities of Abidjan, Bouake, Korhogo, San Pedro and Yamoussoukr
Angola released a 23 man squad yesterday

Decent list. The 2 main surprises to me are the inclusion of Musa and Dennis.

Musa is past his prime, Dennis has talent but is unpredictable. With Chuwkueze not yet in form and Tella getting limited minutes at Bayer, would have liked to see another option on the wings such as Ejuke or Onyekuru. Lookman can play on the wings but is better as a support striker, and playing Iheanacho on the right is not ideal.

Not too suprised with Orban's exclusion. We have plenty of other quality forwards.

Peseiro must include 6 or 7 midfielders in the final squad to give it balance. I have my doubts on whether he'll do that.

Not sure about the credibility of the final 27 reported on Owngoal. Will wait for something more official.
Last edited by olu on Mon Dec 18, 2023 4:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.