The Okoye dilemma

He was once a keeper who dreamed of playing for Nigeria at a very young age, his dream came true when he got his chance early in his career. Unfortunately, he was at fault for a goal at Afcon and made some costly errors which lead to some unpleasant experiences with SE fans. He went back to Holland and acquitted himself very well leading to a move to Watford where he found games hard to come by. Today, he’s the No 2 goalie for Udinese. If he keeps performing well as he has in recent cup games, he’ll likely be our best option if we qualify for the WC. No other Nigerian goalie is playing at a higher level, if history is a guide, it’s unlikely that a Nigerian goalie will be starting in a top 5 league in the next 2yrs though it’s possible.

The Dilemma
It appears that his post Afcon experience has so traumatized him that he has chosen to stay away from the team. What to do now? Should we leave him to sink or swim by ignoring him or do we patch things up with him now with the hope that he’ll return to SE?

Let’s face the facts. It’s a joke that we list 6 goalies for Afcon and he’s not 1 of them. This is a very important issue because a Nigerian international class goalie is much harder to find in Nigeria than an Airbus A380 at MMA. Which way is up on this issue?
Re: The Okoye dilemma

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 3:23 pm He was once a keeper who dreamed of playing for Nigeria at a very young age, his dream came true when he got his chance early in his career. Unfortunately, he was at fault for a goal at Afcon and made some costly errors which lead to some unpleasant experiences with SE fans. He went back to Holland and acquitted himself very well leading to a move to Watford where he found games hard to come by. Today, he’s the No 2 goalie for Udinese. If he keeps performing well as he has in recent cup games, he’ll likely be our best option if we qualify for the WC. No other Nigerian goalie is playing at a higher level, if history is a guide, it’s unlikely that a Nigerian goalie will be starting in a top 5 league in the next 2yrs though it’s possible.

The Dilemma
It appears that his post Afcon experience has so traumatized him that he has chosen to stay away from the team. What to do now? Should we leave him to sink or swim by ignoring him or do we patch things up with him now with the hope that he’ll return to SE?

Let’s face the facts. It’s a joke that we list 6 goalies for Afcon and he’s not 1 of them. This is a very important issue because a Nigerian international class goalie is much harder to find in Nigeria than an Airbus A380 at MMA. Which way is up on this issue?
Nobody is saying that the fans are right but as a footballer you can't survive with this type of weak mentality. Fans will always be over emotional, you can't change that. Watch the documentary on Netflix and see what the fans did to Beckham after that red card in the 98 world cup, this is nothing compared to that. Even Saka was racially abused after missing a penalty. None of these players quit the national team.

gochino wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 4:21 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 3:23 pm He was once a keeper who dreamed of playing for Nigeria at a very young age, his dream came true when he got his chance early in his career. Unfortunately, he was at fault for a goal at Afcon and made some costly errors which lead to some unpleasant experiences with SE fans. He went back to Holland and acquitted himself very well leading to a move to Watford where he found games hard to come by. Today, he’s the No 2 goalie for Udinese. If he keeps performing well as he has in recent cup games, he’ll likely be our best option if we qualify for the WC. No other Nigerian goalie is playing at a higher level, if history is a guide, it’s unlikely that a Nigerian goalie will be starting in a top 5 league in the next 2yrs though it’s possible.

The Dilemma

Nobody is saying that the fans are right but as a footballer you can't survive with this type of weak mentality. Fans will always be over emotional, you can't change that. Watch the documentary on Netflix and see what the fans did to Beckham after that red card in the 98 world cup, this is nothing compared to that. Even Saka was racially abused after missing a penalty. None of these players quit the national team.

True! But we don’t have the luxuries England has. The goalie that willl be in goal if we qualify for the WC is likely already playing pro football. Okoye is at the top of the known list as of today.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 4:25 pm

The Dilemma

True! But we don’t have the luxuries England has. The goalie that willl be in goal if we qualify for the WC is likely already playing pro football. Okoye is at the top of the known list as of today.
That's why we have serious goal keeping issues. How can you say a keeper that has kept only once in over a year should be number one on the list? We should stop setting up these young guys to fail.There at least 5 active Nigerian goalies in Europe alone. Goal keeping has to do with sharp reflexes and if you don't play regularly, it shows big time!

gochino wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 4:39 pm

The Dilemma

That's why we have serious goal keeping issues. How can you say a keeper that has kept only once in over a year should be number one on the list? We should stop setting up these young guys to fail.There at least 5 active Nigerian goalies in Europe alone. Goal keeping has to do with sharp reflexes and if you don't play regularly, it shows big time!
I’m not saying he should be No 1 but it’s joke to say he’s not worthy of a slot on the Afcon prelim list. Btw, you have to be a good goalie to be No 2 at Udinese or any Top 5 league for that matter and you have to be ready at the drop of a dime. If they’re No 1 gets injured the No 2 is the one trusted to man the post. Which Nigerian goalie is good enough for that?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 4:57 pm

The Dilemma

I’m not saying he should be No 1 but it’s joke to say he’s not worthy of a slot on the Afcon prelim list. Btw, you have to be a good goalie to be No 2 at Udinese or any Top 5 league for that matter and you have to be ready at the drop of a dime. If they’re No 1 gets injured the No 2 is the one trusted to man the post. Which Nigerian goalie is good enough for that?
Is he playing regularly? No.Look, we need an active goalie, or else we will be seeing "uzoish" mistakes again. He doesn't need to be Buffon, just one that plays regularly and Okoye doesn't, so he won't be missed at all.

gochino wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 5:21 pm

The Dilemma

Is he playing regularly? No.Look, we need an active goalie, or else we will be seeing "uzoish" mistakes again. He doesn't need to be Buffon, just one that plays regularly and Okoye doesn't, so he won't be missed at all.
Other names have been mentioned that actually play in Europe are rated highly in their league and are willing to play for us. Shouldn’t the clamor be why we are not taking a look at them rather than crying for someone who is not actually playing right now?

maceo4 wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 6:16 pm

The Dilemma

Other names have been mentioned that actually play in Europe are rated highly in their league and are willing to play for us. Shouldn’t the clamor be why we are not taking a look at them rather than crying for someone who is not actually playing right now?
Playing in Europe is not good enough,it’s why we always end up with baskets. There’s a difference between playing for a top 10 SerievA team and toiling in Sweden at 30yrs old. Atubolu, the other top prospect doesn’t seem interested.

He’s one of six best keepers. He’s certainly better than Uzoho.
But if it’s his decision to stay away (I don’t know that this is the case), there’s nothing else to talk about. We move forward.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 6:38 pm
maceo4 wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 6:16 pm

Playing in Europe is not good enough,it’s why we always end up with baskets. There’s a difference between playing for a top 10 SerievA team and toiling in Sweden at 30yrs old. Atubolu, the other top prospect doesn’t seem interested.
How do you know until you give them a chance? I guess you’d rather take the home based and South Africa ones but Sweden???? Hell to the naw….

What kind of nonsense post is this? How can a grown man be traumatized because of criticism? Okoye is not the 1st player to be trashed by his own fans. The likes of Saka, Beckham, Messi etc all went thru the same thing and the not only rose to the challenge but they became the cornerstones to their NTs. Okoye's constant ducking of NT call ups tells me he is unreliable and metally weak and honestly he should not be considered again for a callup. We need players who are soldiers who we can rely on when the going gets tough not a wannabe GQ model that lacks the mental toughness to get thru rough times.

In short i will take Uzoho over him sef. Uzoho with all the insults continues to move and i wont be surprised if he proves us wrong in January.

Our GK pool post AFCON should be as follows

Adeleye
Rasheed
Aniagboso
Okonkwo
Kingdom Osayi
Chris Nwoke
Abiodun Akande
Ovie Ejeheri

If this is how he feels. He should be banned from the national team. Goalkeepers got to be thick skin.

Obasogie and Osayi are the two I am watchibg.

I am shocked by this belief in statements made here that only playing in Europe counts. I just shake my head. They do play football in Africa and there is a pro league in Nigeria. Nigeria can find goalies both at home and any where playing at top level and week in and week out. This ridiculous restriction to Europe has brought us Uzoho and Okoye along with dire results. It is time to move off that rubbish and focus on a goalie playing at pro league wherever as long as they are playing competitively on a regular basis. This nonsense about inviting reserves should stop especially at the most critical position on the field.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 11:25 pm I am shocked by this belief in statements made here that only playing in Europe counts. I just shake my head. They do play football in Africa and there is a pro league in Nigeria. Nigeria can find goalies both at home and any where playing at top level and week in and week out. This ridiculous restriction to Europe has brought us Uzoho and Okoye along with dire results. It is time to move off that rubbish and focus on a goalie playing at pro league wherever as long as they are playing competitively on a regular basis. This nonsense about inviting reserves should stop especially at the most critical position on the field.

You still don't know what levels are!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 11:32 pm
Enugu II wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 11:25 pm I am shocked by this belief in statements made here that only playing in Europe counts. I just shake my head. They do play football in Africa and there is a pro league in Nigeria. Nigeria can find goalies both at home and any where playing at top level and week in and week out. This ridiculous restriction to Europe has brought us Uzoho and Okoye along with dire results. It is time to move off that rubbish and focus on a goalie playing at pro league wherever as long as they are playing competitively on a regular basis. This nonsense about inviting reserves should stop especially at the most critical position on the field.

Please take it easy on our dear uncle. Remember he also thinks that what a player did last year should be used to determine the player of the year award this year. :lol: :lol: :lol:

For all the levels, what happened against Lesotho level or CAR level? Think about that and the hyped issue of levels. Yes, I don't believe on any rubbish level cooked up behind computers. I believe in actual on the field output.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

bret- hart wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 10:32 pm What kind of nonsense post is this? How can a grown man be traumatized because of criticism? Okoye is not the 1st player to be trashed by his own fans. The likes of Saka, Beckham, Messi etc all went thru the same thing and the not only rose to the challenge but they became the cornerstones to their NTs. Okoye's constant ducking of NT call ups tells me he is unreliable and metally weak and honestly he should not be considered again for a callup. We need players who are soldiers who we can rely on when the going gets tough not a wannabe GQ model that lacks the mental toughness to get thru rough times.

In short i will take Uzoho over him sef. Uzoho with all the insults continues to move and i wont be surprised if he proves us wrong in January.

Our GK pool post AFCON should be as follows

Adeleye
Rasheed
Aniagboso
Okonkwo
Kingdom Osayi
Chris Nwoke
Abiodun Akande
Ovie Ejeheri
“Mentally weak”? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Guy, it seems you don’t have enough understanding of mental health issues otherwise you wouldn’t be making pronouncements like “mentally weak”.
Sometimes people fence themselves off from stressors they know might affect their mental health negatively.
We don’t know for sure but don’t go judging a man’s decision to keep himself sane.
If he feels he needs to stay away, then let him be.
The David Beckham you refer to went into a depression. He eventually bounced back.
Even Messi that you mentioned suffered for years from panic attacks and would start vomiting before big games.
Were they “mentally weak”?

Okoye is doing his thing in Italy and for whatever reason has given Nigeria a miss at least for now.
I’d rather not speculate but we all gave our theories as to what that reason might be.

Not sure whether you’re one of the millions who have written him off anyway, so weytin consign una with Okoye again?
I think he’ll be back, but sometimes people need to do things their own way in their own time.

For all the levels, what happened against Lesotho level or CAR level? Think about that and the hyped issue of levels. Yes, I don't believe on any rubbish level cooked up behind computers. I believe in actual on the field output.

If Okoye and Uzoho constitute your level, don't you think it gets to LOL?

If Okoye and Uzoho constitute your level, don't you think it gets to LOL? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 10:57 pm If this is how he feels. He should be banned from the national team. Goalkeepers got to be thick skin.
Remember that since Rufai retired we’ve had a perpetual GK crisis except for the times Vince was in goal. In 98 we rushed Rufai back because Ike was injured, in 2018 Uzoho was fast tracked because Ikeme became ill. Vince saved us for so long we forgot about the GK crisis. All I’m saying is that we should bevon good terms with all our goalies because we might need them if we qualify for the WC . OKOYE is likely upset that the Nff made no attempt to protect him, he was thrown to the wolves as we usually do to our players.

Earlier this year, I saw Okoye at the Amsterdam airport. He looked pretty dejected. While I can’t say for sure the reason, he didn’t cut a happy picture. Maybe it was a missed flight but it honestly didn’t look that way. He was just staring angrily at his phone

I also feel a little indifferent to a keeper who lets Twitter loudmouths drive him out of the national team. I mean, common. You’re a public figure. You’ve got to be able to deal with some of this stuff

deanotito wrote: Wed Dec 20, 2023 3:14 am Earlier this year, I saw Okoye at the Amsterdam airport. He looked pretty dejected. While I can’t say for sure the reason, he didn’t cut a happy picture. Maybe it was a missed flight but it honestly didn’t look that way. He was just staring angrily at his phone

I also feel a little indifferent to a keeper who lets Twitter loudmouths drive him out of the national team. I mean, common. You’re a public figure. You’ve got to be able to deal with some of this stuff
He was scrolling through CE