How do you overcome the low block when

You don’t have the players with the ability to make quick passes in tight spaces to move the defense?

Cyber coaches abeg, pls, help explain how this can be done. The low block is being used to devastating effect in Africa and teams don’t seem to have an answer for it. I just watched Mali use it to clip SA after scoring, we all know of our own struggles with the tactic.

When you don’t have the technically skilled players, particularly in MF, what is the best strategy? For example, what if a team like SE playing GB were to just concede possession to GB in exchange for not having to face the low block all the time. Would that be more effective than keeping possession and opening the defense to counters when you can’t beat the low block? Abeg, expert explain pls.
Re: How do you overcome the low block when

A few things:
1. Stretch the pitch. Wingers or wing-back playing literally along the side line. The defending team either has to come out and defend thereby leaving gaps, or sit back and invite crosses. It follows that you need you best crossers and ideally good headers of the ball. I think that’s what’s behind the Onuachu invite.

2. Play with 2 up front, and have both playing on the shoulder of the central halves. They have to be able to play with their backs to goal. Both of our Victors are good at this as is Awoniyi, Moffi, Nacho and Onuachu, not so much. But Moffi is the best of that lot.

3. Vary your approach. Mix long and short, forward and lateral. Try and get them to lose their shape and use your overloads when they appear. Try and have these at the back post and work on getting crosses into those areas from a variety of positions.

4. Use your fast-breaks. Low block teams do attack and that’s when they’re most vulnerable. So be super clear on your outlets and the three passes that get you into the opponent’s box in 15 secs or less (ideally under 10).

5. Be patient. Low blocks are physically and mentally exhausting and at some point, your opponent will make a mistake.

Look for a penalty to destabilize them.

Cross the ball into the box and look for headers.

waka-man wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 11:21 pm A few things:
1. Stretch the pitch. Wingers or wing-back playing literally along the side line. The defending team either has to come out and defend thereby leaving gaps, or sit back and invite crosses. It follows that you need you best crossers and ideally good headers of the ball. I think that’s what’s behind the Onuachu invite.

2. Play with 2 up front, and have both playing on the shoulder of the central halves. They have to be able to play with their backs to goal. Both of our Victors are good at this as is Awoniyi, Moffi, Nacho and Onuachu, not so much. But Moffi is the best of that lot.

3. Vary your approach. Mix long and short, forward and lateral. Try and get them to lose their shape and use your overloads when they appear. Try and have these at the back post and work on getting crosses into those areas from a variety of positions.

4. Use your fast-breaks. Low block teams do attack and that’s when they’re most vulnerable. So be super clear on your outlets and the three passes that get you into the opponent’s box in 15 secs or less (ideally under 10).

5. Be patient. Low blocks are physically and mentally exhausting and at some point, your opponent will make a mistake.
But we've seen the SE and others try the wing approach but more often than not, they get crowded out and lose possession.
I haven't really seen much of the long ball tactic, I'd assume you good long range passers for that. I'm starting to believe that a 352 with emphasis on the mf and no wingers might be ideal.i think WB might be best to stretch the field than wingers.

Ask Arsenal how well that has worked for them.

I think your points 3 and 4 are the most viable.

Get tall players, long balls into the 18, knock it down and get good shooters, keep shooting , one ball will most def deflect .

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 11:00 pm You don’t have the players with the ability to make quick passes in tight spaces to move the defense?

Cyber coaches abeg, pls, help explain how this can be done. The low block is being used to devastating effect in Africa and teams don’t seem to have an answer for it. I just watched Mali use it to clip SA after scoring, we all know of our own struggles with the tactic.

When you don’t have the technically skilled players, particularly in MF, what is the best strategy? For example, what if a team like SE playing GB were to just concede possession to GB in exchange for not having to face the low block all the time. Would that be more effective than keeping possession and opening the defense to counters when you can’t beat the low block? Abeg, expert explain pls.
There is no need to complicate things. You overcome the low block by taking your chances. No matter how low on the block the opponent plays, you will get your chances. You just have to make it count. Score and they will come out. It is really as simple as that.

Scipio Africanus wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2024 12:07 am

Ask Arsenal how well that has worked for them.

I think your points 3 and 4 are the most viable.
Doesn’t work for Arsenal because they really don’t have a striker. We do.
Emir’s point is actually more relevant to us: we don’t have the great wide players or full backs.

This is how to beat a low block.

Choose high IQ players.

Choose midfielders who can shoot.

Make sure the attack is dynamic. Penetration from the wings AND the middle.

You need players like

Iheanacho, Lookman, Boniface, Nwakali, Iwobi

You need to avoid players like

Chukwueze, Simon, Musa

Also aerial attacks form a part of the dynamic attack so

Osimehn, Onuachu

Players who hustle and can ause turnovers as well so

Yusuf

Also defenders who can get forward, both lateral and central defenders. The opposing box needs to be overloaded with our players, even defenders.

:rotf: :rotf: This guy, you sound like you dey smoke Igbo well well. Nwakali and Boniface? You do realize they are not on Ivory Coast right?
vancity eagle wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2024 6:28 am This is how to beat a low block.

Choose high IQ players.

You need players like

Chukwueze, Simon, Musa

Osimehn, Onuachu

Yusuf

Also defenders who can get forward, both lateral and central defenders. The opposing box needs to be overloaded with our players, even defenders.

1naija wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2024 6:34 am :rotf: :rotf: This guy, you sound like you dey smoke Igbo well well. Nwakali and Boniface? You do realize they are not on Ivory Coast right?

Choose high IQ players.

You need players like

Chukwueze, Simon, Musa

Osimehn, Onuachu

Yusuf

I am talking in general terms, not necessarily about this afcon.

Since we often play low blocks, especially in WCQ a smart coach would bring in players like Nwakali, guys who can add to our creativity.

Cul de sac dancers should be left out.

Encourage players to use their skill, find and occupy spaces, try to draw players out through attempts of them winning the ball. Switch play constantly and when they defend narrowly get wingers to run in behind them, encourage them to beat their man. Keeping possession and moving the ball around lots wears them out as low block requires long periods of concentration.

But you will also give up lots of space behind and vulnerable to counter, fast forwards and strikers that hold the ball. The current Man Utd struggle against the low block cos while they got players that can break them down, they're very vulnerable to counter attacks. Long balls don’t work as a good low block has limited space between the lines including btw goalie and defenders.

Let’s give it up to the master of the low block, Diego Simone (no one does it better), followed by Mourinho, Conte and other merchants like the guy at Burnley, Dyche?

The low block is effective in Ivory Coast because of the hot weather. It is difficult for the big teams to play quick football without getting exhausted due to the heat. Example South Africa and Tunisia who were beaten.

Games should have been scheduled for the evening and the pitches should be watered at the beginning & during half time.

Also the refs have been very poor example the ref for the Nigeria vs EG allowed a lot of bad tackles on Nigerian players go free.

Finally the importance of set plays against the low block cannot be over emphasized. Nigeria simply do not practice set plays and don’t have a specialist free kick taker. Corner kicks are never exploited and only two players in the starting 11 are good in the air (Oshimen & Ajayi). Free kicks outside the box are always wasted by Moses Simon. Free kicks along with normal training are meant to be practiced. The same rule applies to corner kicks. We do not have any routine for corner kicks. The team doesn’t have any winger that can deliver the ball into the box from wide positions. Both Chukweze & Simon are inverted so they come inside with the ball. They need to switch wings to be able to cross the ball with their natural foot. Again the team plays too slow and don’t move the ball quick enough.

Quite a few goals have already come from pressing. The Guinea and Mali come to mind. We tried it a bit against EQG with moderate success. I think we should do it more, a lot of African teams have issues passing the ball from behind.
Agbako

Post by Agbako »

Well Emir Kogi. You got some good soccer tactical points from various peeps above.... Respect to All.

But as a Coach. Let me give you real ANSWER.. "Street Soccer" Thats our African and Brazillian Freestyle Soccer.

I dont care which formation you bring. If we deh play set in those days and you know ya team loose, you no go see field again that day. Then dis n dat tactics go sidon for house. We play to win .. Kapish?

Go ask the Technical Crew of Holland at the 2005 Youth World Cup. Siasia team comprising of M Obi n Co brought Street Football to limelight. Our 1994 dubbed "most Entertaining team in the World" at that also brought Street Soccer to the world.

Thanks and have a Blessed Day

I saw a post Highbury made to you, asing you certain questions. Seems your reputation precedes you. Very very sad. :oops: :oops:
1naija wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2024 6:34 am :rotf: :rotf: This guy, you sound like you dey smoke Igbo well well. Nwakali and Boniface? You do realize they are not on Ivory Coast right?

Choose high IQ players.

You need players like

Chukwueze, Simon, Musa

Osimehn, Onuachu

Yusuf

Agbako wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2024 4:46 pm Well Emir Kogi. You got some good soccer tactical points from various peeps above.... Respect to All.

But as a Coach. Let me give you real ANSWER.. "Street Soccer" Thats our African and Brazillian Freestyle Soccer.

I dont care which formation you bring. If we deh play set in those days and you know ya team loose, you no go see field again that day. Then dis n dat tactics go sidon for house. We play to win .. Kapish?

Go ask the Technical Crew of Holland at the 2005 Youth World Cup. Siasia team comprising of M Obi n Co brought Street Football to limelight. Our 1994 dubbed "most Entertaining team in the World" at that also brought Street Soccer to the world.

Thanks and have a Blessed Day
So why dat awa "street soccer" no come win di cup? :laugh:

Overloads all over the attacking third.

We have the players. The problem is the coach not selecting the right players. Got to be quick in transition and move the ball side to side quickly.