Ivory Coast vs Nigeria (0-1 ) Ekong FT

Elexus
Re: Ivory Coast vs Nigeria (0-1 ) Ekong FT

Post by Elexus »

Aina played his best-ever game in a Nigerian shirt today. He was tireless, eager to get on to the ball, and did not put a foot wrong. Why has he not been a regular? I am always comfortable whenever I see him and Awaziem in a Nigerian defence, no offense to the starters today. They did well too, but please render to Caesar's what is Caesar's.

tolahs wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:59 pm After our goal, we conceded half pitch in territory - very disturbing move. No build up play - we had several chances on the counter but our guys chose hero_ball over passing to someone else.
Cry harder! If only your Arsenal can win big games like this, then you will know what it means to go to hostile territory, in hostile weather and play against a crowd of people who got a public holiday from their government to come to the stadium. Did you see who and where we were playing????!! :roll:

Enyi wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:53 pm I think the GK number one debate is over….Nwabili oozes confidence
Hmm! Wait till the keeper makes one mistake and they will demand for his head in a HOT-steaming-POT :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
sabb

Post by sabb »

airwolex wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:01 pm Defending was great but boy, these attackers do not know what to do on a break.
they need to go watch their friendly vs argentina to revive us of moments like dat, anyway we win sha so :D
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

Tobi17 wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:59 pm The irony of our tournament is that our much heralded attack might be our biggest disappointment while our vilified defence will carry us through the murky waters...
THIS.

Odas wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:00 pm
theDunamis wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:55 pm Osimhen just won Man of the Match the very same way Messi won the last Ballon d'Or.
Meaning, please? :) :) :) :)

Well, his smarts at staying down probably got the foul reviewed and led to

truetalk wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:14 pm
theDunamis wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:55 pm Osimhen just won Man of the Match the very same way Messi won the last Ballon d'Or.

Well, his smarts at staying down probably got the foul reviewed and led to the penalty

SylverEagles wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:03 pm The last two times we won the cup, we beat Ivory Coast on the way.

Just saying...
And had a coach that everyone was doubting.

And began the tournament with a draw against a weaker side.

truetalk wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:15 pm
truetalk wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:14 pm
Well, his smarts at staying down probably got the foul reviewed and led to the penalty
Thx, Chief! I just wanted to be sure.
Re: Ivory Coast vs Nigeria (0-1 ) Ekong

I forgot Osayi-Samuel could be another option on the wings. He's a winger converted to a RB

Bassey, Aina and that dude Onyeka were immense today
But Lookman Ademola has been the standout nigerian player at this tournament
Ivorycoast are a poor side though

Onyeka was impressive as well.

airwolex wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:29 pm Onyeka was impressive as well.
lol you criticized Iwobi but said Onyeka was impressive … hey please chief I’m not trying to start a fight … I’m a little baffled
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

smartbrother wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:26 pm Bassey, Aina and that dude Onyeka were immense today
I have no issue with your other commentary, but Ivory Coast are a NOT a poor side. They played very well today but ran into a very well organized SE defensive line. It will not surprise me if they make it to the final. Perhaps a rematch with the SE.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."
oglex30

Post by oglex30 »

Great game my Super Eagles. Excellent game by all the players and coach. That defense I hail them, very compact and tight.

Sleaky72 wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:31 pm
airwolex wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:29 pm Onyeka was impressive as well.
lol you criticized Iwobi but said Onyeka was impressive … hey please chief I’m not trying to start a fight … I’m a little baffled
I am an Iwobi fan, I don't know what he is supposed to be doing in games. Sorry, I will count him as one of the poorer performers today.

Odas wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:12 pm
Enyi wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:53 pm I think the GK number one debate is over….Nwabili oozes confidence
Hmm! Wait till the keeper makes one mistake and they will demand for his head in a HOT-steaming-POT :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
That’s the Nigerian way.. :biggrin: but until then Nwabili got it

smartbrother wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:26 pm Bassey, Aina and that dude Onyeka were immense today
Lookman brought Atlanta form with him…I think Samu is on it as well…

Credit to where credit is due ….Peseiro surprised me today… a well marshalled team…

This match counts the CIV coach of ever coming close to SE

Re: Ivory Coast vs Nigeria (0-1 ) Ekong

bamenda boy wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:09 pm Osihmen is smart! If he had not stayed down there would not have been a review!
I tell you.

That is high football IQ right there. :thumb: :thumb:

I wish the coach would have the guts to bench APOY and start Moffi. Osimhen is just not up to par so far. The narrative used to be he doesn't get service. But in the first 2 games, he has been fed enough times to have 5 goals!!! He is just not "him"

txj wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:52 pm That was some tactical organization...

I think they only had one shot on goal from a Zaidu miscue
Not according to the stats they showed on TV.
According to the stats, they outplayed us. :D

Cellular wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 9:10 pm
txj wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:52 pm That was some tactical organization...

I think they only had one shot on goal from a Zaidu miscue
Not according to the stats they showed on TV.
According to the stats, they outplayed us. :D

:D :D

in fairness to those statisticians the xG is quite lopsided in favor of Nigeria

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

I tellya.

When you have a goalie that oozes confidence the confidence revibrates down the entire backline.
He looks assured.