We need to talk about Osimhen guys

Re: We need to talk about Osimhen guys

Vic scored in the first match, won the match winning penalty in the second match and forced the match winning own goal in the third game.
I don’t know what you’re whining about!
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

airwolex wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 8:47 pm
Naija fan wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 8:45 pm The problem is not VO. The problem is the lack of quantity and lack of quality of in the passes directed towards him. He is by far the best passer on the team and he cannot pass to himself.
Yes and No.

I think Vic is sensational and our build up could be better, but he is getting good chances. He needs to bury them. He should have scored the Aina square ball today. The Aina throw in against CIV and the Iwobi through ball in the first game. Not even counting the half chances.

He can't really complain about the service although I agree that it could be better.
Point well taken. I do think, however, that we need a better build up from midfield to get him and the other strikers better passes.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 8:40 pm
danfo driver wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 8:33 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 8:29 pm not another daft thread from this clueless OP
:rotf: :woot:
it is obvious the dude is trying so hard wanting to be the next bushboy. have you heard him speak during the zoom meetings? men i just shake my head. dude has zero ball sense
Tobi is Tobi. What else can one say :oops:

Naija fan wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 8:45 pm The problem is not VO. The problem is the lack of quantity and lack of quality of in the passes directed towards him. He is by far the best passer on the team and he cannot pass to himself. The other thing missing on this team is our not attempting long distance shots - the type we have seen Oliseh and Okocha take in the past. Sometimes you need to take some of these shots to keep the defense and goalie honest. Every once in a while they go in.
So how do you excuse the miss against EQ from Iwobi's defence splitting pass? Or the miss against CIV from Chukwueze's pass?

Osimhen has not been playing well lately, for club and country. I think he is just trying too hard to justify his star status. He needs to go back to how he used to play at Lille.

He is still a great player and the best we have but he has to start making it count with goals. That is why he is on the pitch.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

I won't overreact about Osimhen but if he doesn't start scoring starting in the next game, we're getting dumped out of this competition.

Dammy wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 8:54 pm Vic scored in the first match, won the match winning penalty in the second match and forced the match winning own goal in the third game.
I don’t know what you’re whining about!
The ones he missed and they count. One of the reasons we ended up second in the table behind EQ.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Why blame any single SE player when any thinking person can note that most of these guys
do not show the same professionalism in GWG as at their various clubs. Anyone disputing what
I'm stating can not argue that if the same players performed the way they do in GWG at their clubs,
they will suggest they be invited to camp. Our players are simply lacking the discipline and pride
needed for national duty. A national team camp is no place for jankara trash-talks or revival
sing-alongs. We see camp practice videos with players acting as if they are at a pick-up game, and
just joking around, and this carries on to match situations.
At this level, if players can be excused for not being able to shoot at goal, make easy passes, or
make quick precise decisions, why lament about bad match showings and results? We are complicit
in the SE failures by indulging gross indiscipline and lack of focus by our heroes. We are reaping what we sow.

ikemba

Post by ikemba »

Tobi17 wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 8:11 pm Even Chelsea fans are beginning to get worried about the guy, the "overhyped" and "one season wonder" narrative is already flying around on Twitter
It is not chelsea fans. It is you and bushboy .

As a whole they are all just missing chances. Very funny because lesser profile players have been more clinical. That Nsue is looking like Harry Kane.

Moses had a great chance and he decided to dribble the goalie. Aina had a good chance but skied the ball.

As a whole they seem goal shy. They need to all collectively relax.

I still have full confidence in him. He has missed a few but anyone who does not see how much he tries is a hater. Those were not easy headers today and the good thing is he is not shying away from them. The goals will come.
But wow, Spanish Div 3 player from EQG has 5 goals in Afcon. My what a story and nice thumping of IVC!
delisyomie don

Post by delisyomie don »

airwolex wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 9:23 pm As a whole they are all just missing chances. Very funny because lesser profile players have been more clinical. That Nsue is looking like Harry Kane.

Moses had a great chance and he decided to dribble the goalie. Aina had a good chance but skied the ball.

Oshimen forgot his scoring boot at Italy hopefully he will discover his scoring mojo at the knock stages if not we better defend well if we can not score.
thanks

He is fine. Just needs to calm down.

He is fine. He is putting himself where he needs to be. Has been involved in all our goals .

It's a good thing we finished second in the group and will not stay at this stadium. Our shots-on-target stats have been dismal in this competition so far. I know EG has been scoring tons of goals, but maybe a new pitch is what we need.

airwolex wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 9:23 pm As a whole they are all just missing chances. Very funny because lesser profile players have been more clinical. That Nsue is looking like Harry Kane.

Strikers do not always have to score, but at least they should be hitting the target. How else do you score if you can't even hit the target? Right now, Osimhen can't even hit a shot on target apart from the goal he scored. In fact, the whole strike force has been dismal in that department.
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

We are scoring well below the average of where we should given the quality of our strike force. I am just glad that we were able to advance given our poor offensive performance so far. The law of averages dictates that we will eventually revert back to the mean and these guys will start putting away these chances.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

Nsue has 5 goals playing the EXACT same opposition.

Let that sink in. A 34yr old striker who plays in division 3, has 4 more goals than than the 25yr old APOY playing against the EXACT same teams.

And the APOY has had several chances.

I won't say anything more than that.
Last edited by bushboy on Mon Jan 22, 2024 10:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bushboy wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 10:05 pm Nsue has 5 goals playing the EXACT same opposition.

Let that sink in. A 34yr old striker who plays in division 2, has 4 more goals than than the 25yr old APOY playing against the EXACT same teams.

e pain? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

bushboy wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 10:05 pm Nsue has 5 goals playing the EXACT same opposition.

Let that sink in. A 34yr old striker who plays in division 2, has 4 more goals than than the 25yr old APOY playing against the EXACT same teams.

Salenko scored more in 3 than Romario scored in 7 in 1994. Osimhen has been involved in the 3 goals that gave us 7 points

I just hope he starts getting the rub of the green. We cant win AFCON with only 1 goal from him.

Osimhen is not our problem. He was involved in all 3 goals we got. It's the other forwards we need to worry about. Teams will start double teaming Osimhen in the next round, and so far our forwards have not shown they can produce a single goal.

1naija wrote: Mon Jan 22, 2024 10:20 pm Osimhen is not our problem. He was involved in all 3 goals we got. It's the other forwards we need to worry about. Teams will start double teaming Osimhen in the next round, and so far our forwards have not shown they can produce a single goal.
Notice that Osimhen was also involved in the disallowed goals. He's our most dangerous player right now.

I think this tournament has exposed why having a plethora of strikers isn't a flex anymore, I want us to stop gassing up ourselves over how stacked we are in attack cause we definitely aren't seeing the results...our much vilified defence ironically is the department carrying us so far in this tournament.