Landon Emenalo (Mike Emenalo's 16 Year Old Son)

Re: Landon Emenalo (Mike Emenalo's 16 Year Old Son)

https://www.standard.co.uk/sport/footba ... 33746.html
Chelsea: Michael Emenalo's son, Landon, getting fast-tracked in academy
The young midfielder is get fast-tracked in Chelsea's academy and could make his Under-21s debut this week.

Landon Emenalo, son of former Chelsea technical director Michael, last week trained with Mauricio Pochettino's first-team squad on his sixteenth birthday ahead of a possible Under-21s debut tonight.

The midfielder is highly thought of at the club and is getting a major push in his development. He will on Monday night be part of Mark Robinson’s squad for the Premier League Cup match against Colchester United.

The versatile left-footer can play as a holding midfielder, in a box-to-box role, or as an attacking no10. He has even occasionally lined up at left-back.

The London-born youngster has previously played in both the England and United States youth teams, scoring in his last call up for the Young Lions.

His mother’s country of birth is the USA and he is also eligible to play for Nigeria just like his father.

His dad, Michael Emenalo, earned 14 caps for Nigeria in a career that saw him play at the 1994 World Cup and across seven different countries.

Since his retirement, Michael Emenalo was Chelsea's transfer chief before taking a similar role at Monaco. Most recently he was appointed director of football at the Saudi Pro League as the game grows in the Gulf state.

His older son Sebastian Emenalo, 17, is a promising basketball player.

Won’t be anywhere near SE…..

USA don hammer.

I understand him not being our Technical Director but his son not even considering Nigeria is somehow.

..we are a pariah, wash our dirty linen in public, and will be last in consideration.

packerland wrote: Thu Jan 25, 2024 1:20 pm I understand him not being our Technical Director but his son not even considering Nigeria is somehow.
Have we approached him? In fact, did we know he existed before yesterday?

danfo driver wrote: Thu Jan 25, 2024 3:08 pm
packerland wrote: Thu Jan 25, 2024 1:20 pm I understand him not being our Technical Director but his son not even considering Nigeria is somehow.
His dad is an ex-Nigerian international who played at the World Cup. The kid has already played for England and USA youth teams according to the article. He doesn't need an invitation card with a bow to consider us. The union has to be mutual too. His dad and his agent can put it out there and let the recruiting war begin. Nigeria will approach him formally and let's see the excuse.

packerland wrote: Thu Jan 25, 2024 4:29 pm
His dad is an ex-Nigerian international who played at the World Cup. The kid has already played for England and USA youth teams according to the article. He doesn't need an invitation card with a bow to consider us. The union has to be mutual too. His dad and his agent can put it out there and let the recruiting war begin. Nigeria will approach him formally and let's see the excuse.
Is it worth financially recruiting this kid at youth level?

His Mom is an American and he is English. Yet, the Americans and the English approached him.

But you, you do not want to do work. You want things to fall right on your lap like manna from heaven. And you guys blame Nigerian government for being lazy and lacking innovation or strategy, when the citizenry is the same? Continue to sit there and be waiting for Landon, a 16 year old child, to come and meet you and beg. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

kalani JR wrote: Thu Jan 25, 2024 4:30 pm
Nah. That's why I said his people should be the one sending messages to us if we have a chance.

Great news for father and son.
Our NFF needs to get their acts together. First start is to develop the local talents and league
instead of chasing after other peoples' finished products. If we have any pride, we should stop
begging for players. Otherwise we should also beg for great administrators.

packerland wrote: Thu Jan 25, 2024 4:49 pm
Nah. That's why I said his people should be the one sending messages to us if we have a chance.
Yeah it's gonna take him actually wanting to play for Nigeria for us to get him. Makes little sense to be spending much time or money in recruitment and travel for a kid that is not even guaranteed to make it at top level.

kalani JR wrote: Thu Jan 25, 2024 8:02 pm
Yeah it's gonna take him actually wanting to play for Nigeria for us to get him. Makes little sense to be spending much time or money in recruitment and travel for a kid that is not even guaranteed to make it at top level.
Where should we spend the money? In buying Pinnick a home in North London? You do realize that he bought a home close to his beloved Arsenal right? With our money?

Where else? on flying NFF members abroad for shopping? Because you do realize that the money you are desperate to save is NOT going to be used for the things you think it should be used for, but more so to enrich NFF members and their cronies, right?

danfo driver wrote: Thu Jan 25, 2024 8:18 pm
kalani JR wrote: Thu Jan 25, 2024 8:02 pm
Where should we spend the money? In buying Pinnick a home in North London? You do realize that he bought a home close to his beloved Arsenal right? With our money?

Where else? on flying NFF members abroad for shopping? Because you do realize that the money you are desperate to save is NOT going to be used for the things you think it should be used for, but more so to enrich NFF members and their cronies, right?
Personally I want them to spend the money on integrating me into the Mama Calabar caucus, supposedly they have new instagram girls this year.
proclaimjesus02

Post by proclaimjesus02 »

Have we stopped owing players their bonuses?

It is nice to know that the kid is doing well. Of course, Nigeria may attempt to recruit him for the youth teams but ultimately, he and his family shall decide what is best for the lad. Whichever one he decides should be okay as long as it helps him in achieving success.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

joao wrote: Thu Jan 25, 2024 4:56 pm Great news for father and son.
Our NFF needs to get their acts together. First start is to develop the local talents and league
instead of chasing after other peoples' finished products. If we have any pride, we should stop
begging for players. Otherwise we should also beg for great administrators.
He's not a finished product.

jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

danfo driver wrote: Thu Jan 25, 2024 4:48 pm
His Mom is an American and he is English. Yet, the Americans and the English approached him.

But you, you do not want to do work. You want things to fall right on your lap like manna from heaven. And you guys blame Nigerian government for being lazy and lacking innovation or strategy, when the citizenry is the same? Continue to sit there and be waiting for Landon, a 16 year old child, to come and meet you and beg. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
This one, I do not understand. Are you saying the federation is not supposed to approach him? That he is supposed to approach the federation? If that's the case, we go wait tire. The guy has signed by an English premiership club at his age, so to an extent, he should be that good. Also for him to play youth football for these two nations, his progression in the game would have been monitored by both nations. So if Nigeria wants to grab them young from overseas, we have to do something better than those who are grooming him. When was the last time you heard of a Japanese FA coming to poach one of our boys in Ajegunle? It's almost impossible, we have first dips cos he harnessed his skills in Nigeria so also the countries of his birth
jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

danfo driver wrote: Thu Jan 25, 2024 4:48 pm

This one, I do not understand. Are you saying the federation is not supposed to approach him? That he is supposed to approach the federation? If that's the case, we go wait tire. The guy has signed by an English premiership club at his age, so to an extent, he should be that good. Also for him to play youth football for these two nations, his progression in the game would have been monitored by both nations. So if Nigeria wants to grab them young from overseas, we have to do something better than those who are grooming him. When was the last time you heard of a Japanese FA coming to poach one of our boys in Ajegunle? It's almost impossible, we have first dips cos he harnessed his skills in Nigeria so also the countries of his birth