Peseiro v Iheanacho?.......Is there credence?

AFCON 2023: Why has creative forward Kelechi Iheanacho not played since Nigeria’s draw against Zimbabwe?
https://soccernet.ng/2024/01/afcon-2023 ... babwe.html
Ayomide Oguntimehin by Ayomide Oguntimehin 14 hours ago in AFCON, News, NewsNow, Nigeria, This Week, Top 1
Kelechi Iheanacho

The Super Eagles first team has been without Kelechi Iheanacho since the start of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations campaign

Leicester City forward Kelechi Iheanacho’s absence from the Super Eagles team during the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations has raised concerns in the football community, Soccernet.ng reports.

Nigeria, having played three group stage games against Côte d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, and Guinea-Bissau, has not utilised the creative skills of Iheanacho—creating 41 chances, with 14 on target and only three goals scored in their last three group stage games.

It is important to note that the last five matches the prolific forward has participated in for the Nigerian national team, he has scored three goals and provided two assists, making him a significant player in the team.

However, we learned that heated exchanges between Iheanacho and coach Peseiro may be the reason for his limited playing time, causing him to miss the team’s last four matches.

Reports indicate that Peseiro, in asserting his coaching authority, may be prioritizing his stance over goal-scoring concerns, potentially affecting the team’s performance.

Iheanacho, initially included in the 25-man squad despite an injury, has recovered quickly and made himself available for selection in crucial games against Equatorial Guinea and Côte d’Ivoire.

During the Guinea-Bissau match, where Nigeria only managed an own goal, Iheanacho was reportedly asked to play but declined due to the limited remaining time.

However, during the post-game interviews, the usual happy Iheanacho appeared unhappy, avoiding media interactions in the mixed zone.

Despite declaring fitness and showcasing good performance in training, the mystery surrounding Iheanacho’s exclusion from the first team since the tournament’s start remains.

It’s advised that Peseiro prioritizes the team’s success over personal issues with the England-based player as collective effort is crucial for a victorious campaign that would uplift the entire nation.

The 2013 AFCON champions has been slated to tackle Cameroon on Saturday for their Round of 16 clash, all eyes will be on Peseiro’s list to see if Iheanacho’s professionalism will be employed.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Peseiro v Iheanacho?.......Is there credence?

This doofus of a coach is willing to risk not playing his most prolific goal scorer because of his useless little ego, may God help him if we fail to win tomorrow.

AFCON 2023: Jose Peseiro opens up on Kelechi Iheanacho’s lack of game time
https://soccernet.ng/2024/01/afcon-2023 ... -time.html
Kelvin Omachonu by Kelvin Omachonu 37 mins ago in AFCON, News, NewsNow, Nigeria, This Week, Top 0
AFCON 2023: Jose Peseiro opens up on Kelechi Iheanacho’s lack of game time

Iheanacho has been on the bench since the start of the AFCON, and there have been talks that there may be some discord between him and the coaching staff

Super Eagles coach Jose Peseiro has stated that Leicester City star Kelechi Iheanacho has not gotten minutes at the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations because he resumed camp late.

Iheanacho has been a regular for Nigeria over the years, and he was expected to play an important role in the team in the team. However, it has not turned out that way, as Iheanacho has not featured in any of Nigeria’s games so far at the AFCON.

The 27-year-old Leicester City man struggled with injuries just before the AFCON started, which made him miss the Super Eagles training camp in Abu Dhabi. Nonetheless, he resumed camp just in time for the competition.

Still, Iheanacho has watched all of Nigeria’s games from the sidelines. Due to this, questions have been raised, and ahead of the round of 16 clash against Cameroon Soccernet.ng asked Peseiro about Iheanacho’s situation.

The Portuguese tactician then went on to clarify Iheanacho’s situation.

“If I had issues with Kelechi, he wouldn’t come; he would have stayed at home. Kelechi had an injury before the start of the AFCON, he arrived late, and he started to work with us late,” Peseiro said.

“But we believe so much in Kelechi. He is going to play, and he is going to score.”

For Iheanacho to play in the AFCON, coach Jose Peseiro may have to tweak his 3-4-3 setup. The current formation only allows for two natural midfielders and three natural attackers. Obviously, Osimhen can not be benched for Iheanacho. Also, Iheanacho can play from the wing.

Peseiro may have to revert to his usual 4-4-2 formation or play a 4-3-3, which will see Iheanacho operate from the top of the midfield.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

If Peseiro likes his job, he will find some role for him.

Nigeria is bereft of players with intelligence. Iheanacho is one of the few intelligent players we have. Peseiro doesn't exactly have a choice.

Even Conte that hated Mikel...still became a pragmatist when he was desperate.

Beef or no beef, it makes no difference whatsoever. Unless Jose is a moron, Iheanacho must factor in.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Jan 26, 2024 8:16 pm This doofus of a coach is willing to risk not playing his most prolific goal scorer because of his useless little ego, may God help him if we fail to win tomorrow.
Tobi

Peseiro's point is that Kelechi arrived late. I guess this also applies to Terem Moffi who has been AWOL on the field thus far.

However, if the coach is giving those reasons, I wish the journalists asked him why Onuachu who also arrived late was used? Why was Onuachu treated differently?

EII,

Just curious, based on our current setup, where would he play as a starter?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Fri Jan 26, 2024 8:35 pm EII,

Can’t he replace Samu?

Nacho is intelligent and a goal scorer.

But he is lazy.

I would not start him, especially against the Plantian brothers.

And in this heat and humidity ?

Hell no.

Bring him on as an impact sub if needed.

maceo4 wrote: Fri Jan 26, 2024 8:37 pm

Can’t he replace Samu?

Not in the role either Samu or Lookman currently plays, without destroying the tactical balance of the team...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Jan 26, 2024 8:38 pm Nacho is intelligent and a goal scorer.

But he is lazy.

I would not start him, especially against the Plantian brothers.

And in this heat and humidity ?

Hell no.

Bring him on as an impact sub if needed.
I agree for the most part, he’s not ‘lazy’ per se, will do his task to his best ability but he’s just not so gifted defensively. But he will have to be a sub to get acclimatized.

Why should he replace Samu?

Can’t he replace Samu?

1naija wrote: Fri Jan 26, 2024 9:58 pm Why should he replace Samu?

Can’t he replace Samu?
Who do you think?

txj wrote: Fri Jan 26, 2024 8:44 pm

Can’t he replace Samu?
If we had 11 Maradona's, some fans will insist that we play them all at the same time.. :blink:

Not in the role either Samu or Lookman currently plays, without destroying the tactical balance of the team...

Can’t he replace Samu?

If we had 11 Maradona's, some fans will insist that we play them all at the same time.. :blink:
onovo

Post by onovo »

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Jan 26, 2024 8:16 pm This doofus of a coach is willing to risk not playing his most prolific goal scorer because of his useless little ego, may God help him if we fail to win tomorrow.
Iheanacho is very lazy ! He could end up been a liability to the midfield. I would rather stick with Samu/Simon whom would put in the work to support the midfield and backline.

Not this “Iheanacho is Lazy” nonsense today again!

Mr Shows wrote: Fri Jan 26, 2024 10:32 pm

Can’t he replace Samu?

I’m not sure I get your comment, so having Kelechi come in for the last 15 mins replacing Samu is akin to playing 11 maradonas? Do you not realize our attack is not clicking and we need to try other players in attacking roles if we need to score goals? Or you are cool with hoping and praying we get an own goal or a PK?
icee

Post by icee »

The only way I see Nacho getting game time tommorrow is pulling Iwobi on the right flank like he did for Everton. Benching the less precise Samu and Moses. And then plugging Nacho to the middle. Nacho has IQ and can pass but...while he is not lazy he doesn't have a track record of "workhorse" games. Recall, when PiZERO wants to be compact, Iwobi plays deep. Iwobi is a bonafide workhorse (minus the first game in the heat). Iwobi has fought these kinds of battle several times for Everton. With the Plantain folks, you need tenacity against them. Alhassan will then need to be fully fit and have his work cut out for him to coordinate with Nacho in the middle

Just open mout gbao gbaooo without checking facts. Pesseiro said Nacho will play tomorrow during the press conference today. He wasn’t fit during the group stages, he’s just been cleared for full training. What’s so hard to understand ?

Tobi17,

Are you sure the content of this article is true? To be certain, I think we should hold our fires, or comments for now until we know more

I do not think that is the issue. It is about getting a minute.

Personally, while he is our most clinical player, he is one of those that does not often give 100% effort. I would not start him, bottomline.
olumide

Post by olumide »

Is this anything more than rumor and innuendo? Kelechi was included in the squad despite being in injury recovery when the team was selected. Was he even considered fit to start in the first two matches? He's a senior player and has generally played better than Chukwueze or Simon in recent times, so I see how he could be upset at the coach not finding time for him against GB, but that does not mean there is a rift. If Peseiro wants to keep the winning team from the CIV match and have KI as an an option off the bench, it is not a problem.

Enugu II wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 12:06 am

I do not think that is the issue. It is about getting a minute.

Personally, while he is our most clinical player, he is one of those that does not often give 100% effort. I would not start him, bottomline.
And if he is to play, he should play upfield (support striker); you do not want someone constantly losing possession in the middle of the field, leaving the team vulnerable to counterattacks due to his poor first touch.