Nigeria vs Cameroon (2-0) Lookman x2 Hangs, Our Osimhen, Bassey assists) FT

Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Sat Jan 27, 2024 10:50 pm, edited 10 times in total.

Re: Nigeria vs Cameroon (2pm CT, 9pm Nigerian Time )

hopefully he calls our game

4-0 win if Onana is in goal, with Rigobert learning his lesson he will be on the bench again. So Naija win 3-1, I believe Oshimen comes to life in this game.
Last edited by Benedict Iroha on Sat Jan 27, 2024 3:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Quietly, slowly but surely, Pesseiro is changing SE into a more defensive team than we’ve witnessed in a long time. If he succeeds he would’ve changed the dna of our football to resemble that or more pragmatic countries like Croatia. All he needs now is for the supposed high octane offense to begin to click. Imho, he’s closer to it than we think.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 3:52 am Quietly, slowly but surely, Pesseiro is changing SE into a more defensive team than we’ve witnessed in a long time. If he succeeds he would’ve changed the dna of our football to resemble that or more pragmatic countries like Croatia. All he needs now is for the supposed high octane offense to begin to click. Imho, he’s closer to it than we think.
Your assessment is based on what exactly, three games?

I hope tomorrow, our players will slot the ball into Cameroon's net with ease while our defense holds as in the past in this tournament

ANC wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 4:27 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 3:52 am Quietly, slowly but surely, Pesseiro is changing SE into a more defensive team than we’ve witnessed in a long time. If he succeeds he would’ve changed the dna of our football to resemble that or more pragmatic countries like Croatia. All he needs now is for the supposed high octane offense to begin to click. Imho, he’s closer to it than we think.
Yes. In 3 games we have one of the best defenses and created 13 big chances, more than any other team. All that needs to happen is for the defense to remain solid and chance conversion to increase. If we score just 30% of our big chances we’ll be unstoppable in Africa.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 4:37 am
Yes. In 3 games we have one of the best defenses and created 13 big chances, more than any other team. All that needs to happen is for the defense to remain solid and chance conversion to increase. If we score just 30% of our big chances we’ll be unstoppable in Africa.

Just Africa?

Benedict Iroha wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 3:35 am 4-0 win if Onana is in goal, with Rigobert learning his lesson he will be on the bench again. So Naija win 3-1, I believe Oshimen comes to life in this game.
Hope so, but it will be tough.

This Cameroonian side got 4 points in a tough World Cup group with Brazil, Switzerland and Serbia and, yes, they beat Brazil.

This was just over a year ago. They were in the game against Senegal until the end, and were inches away from equalizing twice. Toko-Ekambi and Abubakar are accomplished AFCON scorers, and of course we all know Zambo-Anguissa from Napoli.

Let's also not forget that Onana and Ondoa are much better than the GKs we have sitting behind Nwabili.

I know we can win, and I hope we do, but anyone underestimating this Cameroonian side is not serious. They believe they can beat us and win this AFCON.

We have the better side (even with key players like Ndidi missing) and we have partially solved the big weakness we've had in tight games for the last 5 or 6 years with Akpeyi, Uzoho, Okoye and co. We still need to test out the likes of Okonkwo and Christian Nwoke.

Kpom.

You have said it all.

We create more chances than ANY other team, while at the same time remaining defensively solid.

Maybe Peseiro is indeed on to something.

Forwards just need to finish.

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 5:04 am
Kpom.

You have said it all.

We create more chances than ANY other team, while at the same time remaining defensively solid.

Maybe Peseiro is indeed on to something.

Forwards just need to finish.
Imho, the main culprits are Chukwueze and Simon holding on to the ball too long. Reason I believe starting Nacho and Lookman can be the solution. We have to score because we cannot out grind Cameroun.

There’re reports that the SE practiced using Osihmen as a false 9 while having Lookman and the other winger take turns in occupying the central position. I don’t know if it’ll work but if it does it’s sure to destabilize the Cameroun defense.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 8:09 am There’re reports that the SE practiced using Osihmen as a false 9 while having Lookman and the other winger take turns in occupying the central position. I don’t know if it’ll work but if it does it’s sure to destabilize the Cameroun defense.
Wonderful idea but why make this public?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 8:09 am There’re reports that the SE practiced using Osihmen as a false 9 while having Lookman and the other winger take turns in occupying the central position. I don’t know if it’ll work but if it does it’s sure to destabilize the Cameroun defense.
Osimhen as a false 9 doesn’t help our offense. What team ever plays it’s best finishers as false 9s❓🤔❗️

Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

ANC wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 8:13 am
Wonderful idea but why make this public?
I was just thinking the same thing. If this is true, some of the journalists covering the team need to understand that not everything you see in practice is meant for public consumption.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 1:09 pm
Osimhen as a false 9 doesn’t help our offense. What team ever plays it’s best finishers as false 9s❓🤔❗️

Harry Kane

Lineup,is the same team that started v CIV. Chukwueze dropped

https://owngoalnigeria.com/2024/01/27/s ... e-changes/

Nwabili

Ajayi
Ekong
Bassey

Aina
Onyeka
Iwobi
Zaidu

Lookman
Vic
Simon
Thelastoneleft

Post by Thelastoneleft »

Dear Super Eagles, I want you to know that 8.000.000 Ambazonians will be rooting and cheering for you today. Please, don't disappoint us. Finish the job!

Thelastoneleft wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 3:20 pm Dear Super Eagles, I want you to know that 8.000.000 Ambazonians will be rooting and cheering for you today. Please, don't disappoint us. Finish the job!
Where da heck is Amberzon? Abi Amazon don buy country? :woot:

Big George Elokobi has just pulled off a blinder, 2-1 vs Ipswich at Portman Road. Maidstone deep in the trenches of the FA Cup. Splendid display. Has just given a rallying call for Cameroon.

Thelastoneleft wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 3:20 pm Dear Super Eagles, I want you to know that 8.000.000 Ambazonians will be rooting and cheering for you today. Please, don't disappoint us. Finish the job!
I feel your sentiment Bro, but the aggressive restructuring needed in Cameroon (and Nigeria) cannot be done on the football field. Ambazonia really got messed up by the UN (and France), because they never really accepted to join Cameroon.

These Europeans did us bad. Took the country from Germany and handed it to England after WW2, and tricked them into accepting to be an autonomous region affiliated with Cameroon, to please France.

Back to the matter on ground, Go Super Eagles!

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 3:26 pm
Where da heck is Amberzon? Abi Amazon don buy country? :woot:
Baba Ibadan, Liberty Stadium is not the biggest stadium in the World, and Cocoa House is not the tallest building in the World as well. There are things going on and places to know beyond Ibadan.

ANC wrote: Sat Jan 27, 2024 4:49 am

Just Africa?
Yes naw, aahhhh! We have to start from somewhere