Is this the best S.E team since 1994?

Some say this team will lift the trophy if they continue to play well.
Last edited by Field Marshall Ogolo on Sun Jan 28, 2024 5:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
A criminal trial is not a search for truth. Science is a search for truth. Alan Dershowitz
Re: Is this the best S.E team since 1994?

In terms of entertaining football: 1994, no generation comes close

in terms of organization and grit: this current team is shaping up to be up there so far, better in that aspect than the '94 generation.
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

It is clearly the best DEFENSIVE minded Nigerian team I have seen. If we can complement the defensive effort with some goals, the sky is the limit for this team.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

abeg make we hear word...

No 1996, 1998, 2000, 2004, 2013 teams are better.

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Jan 28, 2024 1:04 am In terms of entertaining football: 1994, no generation comes close

in terms of organization and grit: this current team is shaping up to be up there so far, better in that aspect than the '94 generation.
Did you watch the 2013 team play against Drogba?

Naija fan wrote: Sun Jan 28, 2024 3:30 am It is clearly the best DEFENSIVE minded Nigerian team I have seen. If we can complement the defensive effort with some goals, the sky is the limit for this team.
With Osimhen spearheading the attack, I think this Naija team can go places they've never been before.
A criminal trial is not a search for truth. Science is a search for truth. Alan Dershowitz

metalalloy wrote: Sun Jan 28, 2024 3:54 am abeg make we hear word...
I no no-oooooo! Every taim, 1994 team, 1994 team. I say wetin dem [1994 team] do sef, aaah aaaaah!

Field Marshall Ogolo wrote: Sun Jan 28, 2024 4:02 am
Naija fan wrote: Sun Jan 28, 2024 3:30 am It is clearly the best DEFENSIVE minded Nigerian team I have seen. If we can complement the defensive effort with some goals, the sky is the limit for this team.
With Osimhen spearheading the attack, I think this Naija team can go places they've never been before.
Field Marshall Ogolo,

Na you dey tok dis kain tin, abi sombodi steal your handle? I jus ask becos I dey surprise say you go fit praise awa team like you dey do naw

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Jan 28, 2024 3:59 am No 1996, 1998, 2000, 2004, 2013 teams are better.
Yes we know you don't like the coach.
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

It’s not the best defensive minded team. If we go by statistics and not visual flair, believe it or not, it has created more changes than the 1994 team.

In the group stages, our shots vs shot on goal target was less than 15%. Yesterday it was above 99%. Iwobi and Lookman’s free kick ruined the stat.

What this team
Is is not defensive, it is ORGANIZED and tactically disciplined. This is our most organized team in Nigerian history.

Free kicks
Set pieces
Pressing
Team defense

You name it.
camex

Post by camex »

I agree
Gboye7777

Post by Gboye7777 »

Odas wrote: Sun Jan 28, 2024 5:54 am
Field Marshall Ogolo,

Na you dey tok dis kain tin, abi sombodi steal your handle? I jus ask becos I dey surprise say you go fit praise awa team like you dey do naw
The thought also crossed my mind

Gboye7777 wrote: Sun Jan 28, 2024 10:17 am
Odas wrote: Sun Jan 28, 2024 5:54 am
Field Marshall Ogolo,

The thought also crossed my mind

I think I know the mod playing with my handle! :P
Last edited by Field Marshall Ogolo on Mon Jan 29, 2024 2:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Babadee

Post by Babadee »

Field Marshall Ogolo wrote: Sun Jan 28, 2024 12:38 am Some say this team will lift the trophy if they continue to play well.
It’s too early to think this team will win or if it’s as good as 94.

As good as 94 were they had to play penalties.

I can’t count how many times SE has crashed out of nations cup due to penalties
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

Babadee wrote: Mon Jan 29, 2024 11:25 am
Field Marshall Ogolo wrote: Sun Jan 28, 2024 12:38 am Some say this team will lift the trophy if they continue to play well.
It’s too early to think this team will win or if it’s as good as 94.

As good as 94 were they had to play penalties.

I can’t count how many times SE has crashed out of nations cup due to penalties
How about once - against Tunisia in the semis in 2004 when we crashed out. One loss against Cameron in the final in 2000, not sure that counts as crashing out.

We beat Egypt, Algeria, Ivory Coast, Zambia, in knockout phases via penalties in 1984, 1988, 1994 and 2020.

Truly one penalty loss in knockout stages as against 4 penalty wins at the same. Not sure there is another team with a better statistical return at the Knick stage via penalties. Stand happy to be corrected.

Not a bad return if you ask me and certainly countable.
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.

Indeed failure is an Orphan.

The SE have suddenly turned fan favorites after months of stinking up the joint with Paseiro.
Babadee

Post by Babadee »

Penalties are a game of luck if everything is equal. A good team can lose to a bad team becos of penalties.

It is too early to place this set of SE. But they have progressed nicely. Peseiro's defensive strategy is working especially with the high press starting from Osimhen and Lookman upfront. The defensive trio of Ajayi, Ekong (he has been mercurial) and Bassey is solid and Frank Onyeka is maturing seamlessly into a great DM.

Angola will be another test.
You can control your choice, but not necessarily the consequences