Nigeria vs Angola (1-0) Lookman x1, Moses assist FT

Re: Nigeria vs Angola (1-0) Lookman x1, Moses assist FT

Congratulations to the Super Eagles. We move on...

Goldleaf wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 7:53 pm To be honest, Angola was poor and un-inventive lacking any creativity.
SE was better them on all accounts and knew what to do with the ball when we had it,
Their star names Dala and Mabululu were missing.
With us playing so deep especially in the 2nd half with no pressure on the ball, a clever side would have taken us to the cleaners. You just need good movement and a pass behind the back 4.
No be una fault. Na Nwabali cause am! If he had not made those fantastic saves you will not be saying what you are saying.
seyiblack

Post by seyiblack »

Abeg, all the negative energy before the event, particularly those that said they would stay away because they didn't like us camping in Dubai, do not accept the coach or his selection, we need you keep away. We don't need that energy now.
Support our boys regardless of coach, ethnicity of players and pure jealousy.
davidbam14
Re: Nigeria vs Angola (1-0) Lookman x1, Moses assist 2H

Post by davidbam14 »

danfo driver wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 7:47 pm Glad to be in the Semis. But two things --

- very poorly managed game
- this game once again highlights the importance of picking your squad on merit
- this game once again highlights the fact that our players need to learn humility when they play smaller teams. They need to prosecute the game with the same discipline. Very disappointing.
thank God we won but i'm not sure about our coach anymore, the angolan coach understands tactics. If the angolan coach was in charge of nigeria how good we'll be.

airwolex wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 7:50 pm Good win. That wasn't easy at all
No one said any of the matches is going to be easy and hence the fear. Thus, we move on to play/fight our next opponent
Elexus

Post by Elexus »

Eagles had an off day today. A lot of misplaced passes in the final third, an uncharacteristic blunder in the defense exposing Nawabali to the tender mercy of the Angolan forward. Aina's blunder led to the first corner in the first half, and again Nwabali bailed Nigeria out.

I think this was our toughest game so far.
Thank God for the Left side goal post, I had already covered my face in disappointment from the defenders!

I think it’s going to be a Nigeria Vs Cape Verde Semi Final.

davidbam14 wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:01 pm
danfo driver wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 7:47 pm Glad to be in the Semis. But two things --

- this game once again highlights the fact that our players need to learn humility when they play smaller teams. They need to prosecute the game with the same discipline. Very disappointing.
thank God we won but i'm not sure about our coach anymore, the angolan coach understands tactics. If the angolan coach was in charge of nigeria how good we'll be.
Tales by moonlight. You are giving the losing coach credit. Wetin man no go see for this forum...smdh

seyiblack wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:01 pm Abeg, all the negative energy before the event, particularly those that said they would stay away because they didn't like us camping in Dubai, do not accept the coach or his selection, we need you keep away. We don't need that energy now.
Kpom Kwem!

tolahs

Post by tolahs »

The coach left a few players on the pitch too long - early in the 2nd half Iwobi was giving the ball away a lot, a bit later Victor was bending over after any sprint. Hope he doesn't have a serious injury. Trust the subs more.
Our 1st half was a blue print for an ambitious team - Iwobi's short & quick passes, our wide forwards on the front foot was good to see.
We sat back too deep in the 2nd - we needed fresh legs.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.

felarey wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 7:50 pm :clap: :clap: :clap: Job done! On to the next one....still wondering why Osimhen wasn't allowed to go rest and why it was worth playing with 10 men while a goal up and injury time??? Eniwe, I'm grateful, semis here we come! :D

Especially in those conditions...

He needs to use his squad better. If he doesn't trust them then you have to question why he took them in the first place...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Goldleaf wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 7:53 pm To be honest, Angola was poor and un-inventive lacking any creativity.
SE was better them on all accounts and knew what to do with the ball when we had it,
With us playing so deep especially in the 2nd half with no pressure on the ball, a clever side would have taken us to the cleaners. You just need good movement and a pass behind the back 4.
They were "poor" because we defended very well as a team and were disciplined pretty much the entire game.
seyiblack

Post by seyiblack »

wanaj0 wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:00 pm
No be una fault. Na Nwabali cause am! If he had not made those fantastic saves you will not be saying what you are saying.
Nwabali did his job. Doesn't mean Nigeria was not the better team all around. An Angola win today would have been injustice based on the 90-mins of play. Nigeria should have won with a wider margin.

Robbynice wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:03 pm

Tales by moonlight. You are giving the losing coach credit. Wetin man no go see for this forum...smdh
must you respond to everybody?
seyiblack

Post by seyiblack »

tolahs wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:05 pm The coach left a few players on the pitch too long - early in the 2nd half Iwobi was giving the ball away a lot, a bit later Victor was bending over after any sprint. Hope he doesn't have a serious injury. Trust the subs more.
Our 1st half was a blue print for an ambitious team - Iwobi's short & quick passes, our wide forwards on the front foot was good to see.
We sat back too deep in the 2nd - we needed fresh legs.
Iwobi was tired. I thought the subs were timely.
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

txj wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:05 pm
felarey wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 7:50 pm :clap: :clap: :clap: Job done! On to the next one....still wondering why Osimhen wasn't allowed to go rest and why it was worth playing with 10 men while a goal up and injury time??? Eniwe, I'm grateful, semis here we come! :D

Especially in those conditions...

He needs to use his squad better. If he doesn't trust them then you have to question why he took them in the first place...
:thumbs:
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

Angola is by no means poor and un-inventive or lacking creativity. Angola is a very good team that ran into, arguably, the best defense in the tournament. Good defenses have a way of making the other team look bad. Credit goes to our defense and not that Angola is lacks creativity
Last edited by Naija fan on Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."
seyiblack

Post by seyiblack »

Elexus wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:02 pm Eagles had an off day today. A lot of misplaced passes in the final third, an uncharacteristic blunder in the defense exposing Nawabali to the tender mercy of the Angolan forward. Aina's blunder led to the first corner in the first half, and again Nwabali bailed Nigeria out.
Only explanation for this comment is you watching the game under tension. A goalie is meant to "bail" out his team.
Last edited by seyiblack on Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

This was our toughest match of the AFCON. Kudos to the SE for their defensive discipline.
The boys were totally knackered after the game. Matches against Angola have always been tight
Last edited by Dammy on Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Story. The same Angola Coach who couldn't make any adjustments over 100mins of football to create any quality chances on target? Our coach may not be the best but based on tournament performances, he has been managing these games very well against the so called better coaches.... shebi Angola hasn't lost in 10 games until today?
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

green4life wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:06 pm
They were "poor" because we defended very well as a team and were disciplined pretty much the entire game.
Uncle God bless you but better still, they were poor because we made them look poor. For a team that many of us had accused of not being imaginative before this AFCON, the Eagles have been remarkably disciplined, hardworking and shown swagger when they've had to. Na we slack before....Angola no be our gang. Well done to the team
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.

green4life wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:10 pm

Story. The same Angola Coach who couldn't make any adjustments over 100mins of football to create any quality chances on target? Our coach may not be the best but based on tournament performances, he has been managing these games very well against the so called better coaches.... shebi Angola hasn't lost in 10 games until today?
Baba you yourself see am. It is one thing if you don't like Peseiro but to say the losing team coach would do better...Haba! We no dey fear God for this place sha...smdh

seyiblack

Post by seyiblack »

hestonap wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:12 pm
green4life wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:06 pm
Uncle God bless you but better still, they were poor because we made them look poor. For a team that many of us had accused of not being imaginative before this AFCON, the Eagles have been remarkably disciplined, hardworking and shown swagger when they've had to. Na we slack before....Angola no be our gang. Well done to the team
It is common sense. It is not a coincidence that Angola that has been scoring sexy goals till today all of a sudden looked "poor".