Kudos to CAF Presidet, Dr. Patrice Motsepe

Expanding the AFCON to enable East African countries to qualify has been a masterstroke. East African countries put up a good fight in the group stage to try to prove they belong in the tournament. This made the tournament entertaining eventhough they were quickly put in their place by West African and North African countries. Unfortunately, he will have to change the rule to allow every country in Africa qualify before Kenya and Uganda can qualify.

His greatest accomplishment so far is organizing the best AFCON ever. This is by far the best AFCON ever. He just needs to work on ensuring the stadiums are full for every game going forward. This will be one of the best tournaments in the world once we get the stadium full and expand the TV coverage to enable the rest of the world to see the games.

So Kudos to him.
Re: Kudos to CAF Presidet, Dr. Patrice Motsepe

1naija wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 5:35 am Unfortunately, he will have to change the rule to allow every country in Africa qualify before Kenya and Uganda can qualify.
Uncle don come with mathematical-like feints and jabs. Kenyanians amd Ugandanese don suffer here.

With the expansions, will Ghana ever make it out of AFCON group stage again?

kali

Post by kali »

They should give away half of the seats in group games by tying it into sponsors products such as drinks, Telco recharge, etc. Fill the stadiums, let the atmosphere be charged up.

Adding total distance run over 90 minutes as a qualification criteria could favour the Kembois and Cheptegais. With the advent of statistic and data in sport, football in particular, ‘tis only a matter of time before this becomes suitable criteria to determine competition.

In their latest outing, Kenya’s goalkeeper is said to have covered the equivalent of two and a half steeplechases. Quite astonishing. Final score Kenya 0 - Beirut Polytechnic 4
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

Coach wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 12:05 pm Adding total distance run over 90 minutes as a qualification criteria could favour the Kembois and Cheptegais. With the advent of statistic and data in sport, football in particular, ‘tis only a matter of time before this becomes suitable criteria to determine competition.

In their latest outing, Kenya’s goalkeeper is said to have covered the equivalent of two and a half steeplechases. Quite astonishing. Final score Kenya 0 - Beirut Polytechnic 4
Agbaya lol
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.
Showboy

Post by Showboy »

Ogolo & Kabalega will hear of this … 🤣🤣🤣
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)

Showboy wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 6:20 am Ogolo & Kabalega will hear of this … 🤣🤣🤣
Those two will be on sabbatical if SE win this cup. They've been gradually fading as we have progressed. Could be a long time for they and the Ghanaians to wait for the next SE misstep.
Showboy

Post by Showboy »

greg wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 8:26 am
Showboy wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 6:20 am Ogolo & Kabalega will hear of this … 🤣🤣🤣
Those two will be on sabbatical if SE win this cup. They've been gradually fading as we have progressed. Could be a long time for they and the Ghanaians to wait for the next SE misstep.
Them too aren't going anywhere. They have no horse in the race so no tension.
Their style is - haba bros your horse don fall down ndo :tic: :biggrin:
Rinse and repeat.
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)

YemiBrazil wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 8:18 am
1naija wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 5:35 am Unfortunately, he will have to change the rule to allow every country in Africa qualify before Kenya and Uganda can qualify.
Uncle don come with mathematical-like feints and jabs. Kenyanians amd Ugandanese don suffer here.

With the expansions, will Ghana ever make it out of AFCON group stage again?
I thought I was the only one that saw that
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

So Kudos to him.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Na wa-oo! 1Naija, no let the Kenyans and Ugandans see dis tin wey you write-ooo, hmm

hestonap wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 1:09 pm
Coach wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 12:05 pm Adding total distance run over 90 minutes as a qualification criteria could favour the Kembois and Cheptegais. With the advent of statistic and data in sport, football in particular, ‘tis only a matter of time before this becomes suitable criteria to determine competition.

Agbaya lol
I don't know what 'Coach' is saying, either.

Coach! When you have time, can you provide a detailed match report of the Beirut Poly game? I am very interested!! Thank you!!
kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

1naija wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 5:35 am Expanding the AFCON to enable East African countries to qualify has been a masterstroke. East African countries put up a good fight in the group stage to try to prove they belong in the tournament. This made the tournament entertaining eventhough they were quickly put in their place by West African and North African countries. Unfortunately, he will have to change the rule to allow every country in Africa qualify before Kenya and Uganda can qualify.

His greatest accomplishment so far is organizing the best AFCON ever. This is by far the best AFCON ever. He just needs to work on ensuring the stadiums are full for every game going forward. This will be one of the best tournaments in the world once we get the stadium full and expand the TV coverage to enable the rest of the world to see the games.

So Kudos to him.
:evil: :twisted:
it is a cool thing to increase participation from 16 to 24 nations out of a total of 55 African nations. This ensures that almost 1 out of 2 countries are in the tournament.... with the likes of Cape Verde, Guinea Bissau being a bright spot of new fearless comptitive countries !! :thumbs:
Gboye7777

Post by Gboye7777 »

kash n' karry wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 7:27 pm
1naija wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 5:35 am Expanding the AFCON to enable East African countries to qualify has been a masterstroke. East African countries put up a good fight in the group stage to try to prove they belong in the tournament. This made the tournament entertaining eventhough they were quickly put in their place by West African and North African countries. Unfortunately, he will have to change the rule to allow every country in Africa qualify before Kenya and Uganda can qualify.

So Kudos to him.
:evil: :twisted:
it is a cool thing to increase participation from 16 to 24 nations out of a total of 55 African nations. This ensures that almost 1 out of 2 countries are in the tournament.... with the likes of Cape Verde, Guinea Bissau being a bright spot of new fearless comptitive countries !! :thumbs:
And Equatorial Guinea

So Kudos to him.
This is his job, not cutting corners like all you MAGA trolls

So Kudos to him.
1naija,

Our resident Kenyans including Kabalega have asked me to wire de slap wey dey below make im injure you..... So, therefore....

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

So Kudos to him.
@Ogolo, are you going to let them get away with this? :lol:

There are a lot of revisionists on this thread.

FYI, Uganda qualified for two consecutive AFCONS before the expansion. :thumbs: :thumbs:
And the likes of Cape Verde, E. Guinea were qualifying before the expansion.

Motsepe is doing a good job. The football has improved. Until the last couple of rounds, the officiating has been good. :thumb:
I remember during Hayatou’s last years, the officials were led by a Senegalese who favored Francophones with a couple of bad Nigerians, probably after Amos Adamu (remember him?) pulled strings.

May Motsepe not follow in the footsteps of Tessema, Hayaotu.

Credit to Ivory Coast too for providing 6 stadia with few empty seats compared to the previous AFCONS. With no shenanigans like in Cameroon :thumbs:
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Not according to Maroc. They claim that he is hell bent on doing everything rig the aaFCON in favor of his nation. Hopefully, that has no coincidence with the choice of refs and hopefully this is not related to the food poisoning incident. We don’t need Hayatou 2.0.

nzeogwu wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 3:04 pm Not according to Maroc. They claim that he is hell bent on doing everything rig the aaFCON in favor of his nation. Hopefully, that has no coincidence with the choice of refs and hopefully this is not related to the food poisoning incident. We don’t need Hayatou 2.0.
nzeogwu

Don't tell me you buy into those beer parlor stories. While most of Africa claim that CAF has rigged many things to favor Morocco (My own rumors), here comes Morocco crying because they were eliminated. Did you not watch Morocco lose that game. Were they rigged out? Imagine Morocco which dropped the ball, at the last minute, of hosting an AFCON and then came back to be awarded several rights to host not just AFCON but also WAFCON! Bros, I am not batting an eyelid for that cry.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics