Nigeria vs South Africa (1-1) Ekong, Mokoena 4-2 PK

Re: Nigeria vs South Africa (1-1) Ekong, Mokoena 4-2 PK

mutiman wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:52 pm I want to confess, I'm just watching the penalties now. My heart couldn't bear the stress anymore.
Woman wrapper :rotf: :taunt:

You guys are forgetting the dangerous free kick that he conceded for no reason. That alone could have cost us the lead....

And saying the mistake just came from nowhere.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Mr. Piffington wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:49 pm
metalalloy wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:41 pm
Mr. Piffington wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:38 pm Thank goodness. Those commentators were too biased and super annoying. They thought they were playing Cape Verde.
BEst move i've done is watch games in Arabic transmission. Pure bliss.
So I've heard, I'll look out for it next time. I can't stand biased commentary, there's something unprofessional about it. Everything the South Africans do well received disproportionate praise, everything the Nigerians did well it was the South Africans could do better at stopping it. They spent the game telling us SA would be at an advantage if they go to penalties because of their experience with Cabo Verde, when the Nigerians won they said penalties are a game of luck. Where do they get these people from?
The South African team believed the hype about how they are good at penalties. They seemed to be playing for penalties in extra time. E clear dem for eye. But I am deeply impressed with the penalties we took against a supposedly great penalty stopper. Up Naija! :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

ohsee wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:49 pm My people, tell me, why is Nwabali playing in South Africa? Is he not good enough for Europe? He has really impressed me. But what do I know about footie? Can the exparts here explanate to me why he is still in SA?
Its a process. Many European teams do not scout directly in Nigeria

Yusuf must not play in a midfield 2.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Hopefully DRC wins, think DRC would be a better opponent to have in the finals.
We don't want all those Ivorians supporters breathing down the boys and referee's neck.
Re: Nigeria vs South Africa (1-1) Ekong, Mokoena ET

danfo driver wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:53 pm
Enyi wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:49 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:44 pm
tolahs wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:42 pm I should celebrate but i feel a numbness like someone who just left jail.
You ave obviously never been to jail
U sound like a guy that’s experienced in going to jail :tic:
He certainly has experience in being banned. :lol: :lol: He will never forget what I did to him. :lol:
:woot: :woot: :woot: :woot: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

delisyomie don

Post by delisyomie don »

fabio wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:41 pm
Mr. Piffington wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:38 pm Thank goodness. Those commentators were too biased and super annoying. They thought they were playing Cape Verde.
He said penalty was a lottery, after they lost.
yeah, he was very biased prefer Amokachi was neutral in all his commentary.
thanks

I’m so glad my feed cut during my flight, when we landed it was already PKs and I got to witness the brilliance of Nwabali and Kelechi finally getting his glory at this comp!

ohsee wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:49 pm My people, tell me, why is Nwabali playing in South Africa? Is he not good enough for Europe? He has really impressed me. But what do I know about footie? Can the exparts here explanate to me why he is still in SA?
African ‘keepers in Africa hardly get a look-in in Europe and therefore have to be exceptional.
Keepers are two-a-penny in Europe competing for a highly specialised 1-in-11 position.

Nwabali says he’s “happy” in SA, but rumours are that some European scouts are looking at him.

Chai.
This was an ordeal!!!

I pray for the safety of all Nigerians in SA right now.
mutiman

Post by mutiman »

Tbite wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:54 pm You guys are forgetting the dangerous free kick that he conceded for no reason. That alone could have cost us the lead....

He gave away the penalty and also conceded a few freekicks. But he also brought much needed energy to the midfield and increased the tempo of our game with his quicker release of the ball, so it was a mixed performance. Sometimes it's difficult to adjust to the game as a substitute.

soothsayer wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:55 pm Hopefully DRC wins, think DRC would be a better opponent to have in the finals.
We don't want all those Ivorians supporters breathing down the boys and referee's neck.
I prefer CIV.
We have their number.
DRC, I no know.
Unknown quantity with everything to prove…
Hmmmm…..
Re: Nigeria vs South Africa (1-1) Ekong, Mokoena ET

ohsee wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:45 pm
Odas wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 7:53 pm
ohsee wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 7:51 pm If this goes to penalties, we will lose. Very frustrating going from apparently being 2:0 up to almost losing the game.
I am so scared, to be honest. I need to get out here. My heart is beating too fast at moment
I wuz wrong! :biggrin: And I am very happy to be wrong. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: When did we learn how to take penarity like dis? :thumbs:
We won? Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeyyyy!!!!!

Damunk wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 9:02 pm
soothsayer wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:55 pm Hopefully DRC wins, think DRC would be a better opponent to have in the finals.
I prefer CIV.
We have their number.
DRC, I no know.
Hmmmm…..
Kai, we won, eh? Chei, I tank God-ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

...as an alternative the money is good in SA, so I heard.

ohsee wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:54 pm
Mr. Piffington wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:49 pm
metalalloy wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:41 pm
BEst move i've done is watch games in Arabic transmission. Pure bliss.
So I've heard, I'll look out for it next time. I can't stand biased commentary, there's something unprofessional about it. Everything the South Africans do well received disproportionate praise, everything the Nigerians did well it was the South Africans could do better at stopping it. They spent the game telling us SA would be at an advantage if they go to penalties because of their experience with Cabo Verde, when the Nigerians won they said penalties are a game of luck. Where do they get these people from?
The South African team believed the hype about how they are good at penalties. They seemed to be playing for penalties in extra time. E clear dem for eye. But I am deeply impressed with the penalties we took against a supposedly great penalty stopper. Up Naija! :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
Same here. It's been a while I felt that way about the SE.

Damunk wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:58 pm
African ‘keepers in Africa hardly get a look-in in Europe and therefore have to be exceptional.
Keepers are two-a-penny in Europe competing for a highly specialised 1-in-11 position.

Nwabali says he’s “happy” in SA, but rumours are that some European scouts are looking at him.

Chai.
This was an ordeal!!!

I pray for the safety of all Nigerians in SA right now.
My brother, I join you and kneel in prayer for their safety too.

mutiman wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 9:00 pm
Tbite wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:54 pm You guys are forgetting the dangerous free kick that he conceded for no reason. That alone could have cost us the lead....

He gave away the penalty and also conceded a few freekicks. But he also brought much needed energy to the midfield and increased the tempo of our game with his quicker release of the ball, so it was a mixed performance. Sometimes it's difficult to adjust to the game as a substitute.
Unless they are sour losers, else our people in South Africa should be fine, I think

We will be ready for either team. At this stage, there is no weak or strong team, as we just found out. All either team needs to do is come up with the right counter strategy like SA did, and it will be a dog fight.
Damunk wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 9:02 pm
I prefer CIV.
We have their number.
DRC, I no know.
Hmmmm…..

Nwabali, like many of his home (or African) based peers, is playing far beneath his station mostly due to a lack of exposure. While it is probable that he will move to Europe after AFCON, I doubt that it will be to a really top team. That is the unfair burden on African born players. They have to prove themselves over and over to get any considerations. In case you haven’t noticed, there are more top class players in this AFCON than there are in most European leagues; and the majority of them are home based🤔❗️

Even if we won, my heart is still beating heavily. I was REALLY scared for us