Nigeria vs South Africa (1-1) Ekong, Mokoena 4-2 PK

Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Wed Feb 07, 2024 8:37 pm, edited 10 times in total.

Re: Nigeria vs South Africa: 11AM CT, 6PM Nigerian time

Abeg, not to change the topic but where is Mabululu? :woot:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 11:41 pm Abeg, not to change the topic but where is Mabululu? :woot:
He is teaching Osimhen how to finish :lol: :lol:

danfo driver wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 12:03 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 11:41 pm Abeg, not to change the topic but where is Mabululu? :woot:

Where? Univ of Serengeti?
:laugh:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 12:12 am

Ask Vansilly Eagles :lol: :lol:

I won’t be surprised if we used the 4-3-3 for this game.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 12:12 am

I won’t lie Mabululu scared me a little bit. Them boys with dreads in the African continent were known as ballers back in the days. The likes of Sam Okwaraji(rip) and Cyrille Makanaky & co.

Zaidu out
Osayi Samuel in
Otherwise the libe up is same

Owngoal reporting Pesseiro will stick with the 3-4-3. Zaidu injured. Aina to play left back.

Starting XI :
Stanley Nwabali
Ola Aina
Bright Osayi-Samuel
Semi Ajayi
William Troost-Ekong
Calvin Bassey
Alex Iwobi
Frank Onyeka
Ademola Lookman
Moses Simon
Victor Osimhen

Synopsis wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 1:10 pm Owngoal reporting Pesseiro will stick with the 3-4-3. Zaidu injured. Aina to play left back.

Starting XI :
Stanley Nwabali
Ola Aina
Bright Osayi-Samuel
Semi Ajayi
William Troost-Ekong
Calvin Bassey
Alex Iwobi
Frank Onyeka
Ademola Lookman
Moses Simon
Victor Osimhen
I don’t like what Osai looked like in the last game he played. Why can’t Peseinro play Bruno? Aina is much better on the right.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

Agree with the post on Oseyi. The guy was horrible in the game against CIV I think. Every decision he made was unbelievably poor. I would stick Bassey at Left back and bring in Omeruo at center-back - the same line-up that finished the Cameroon match minus Onuachu.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

I think Oseyi decision hints at Paseiro wanting more attacking options. Omer up in the back three means only Ajayi is confident stepping out and that makes the system much less dynamic.

But it’s a big call. Oseyi was poor against CIV. An afcon semi final is a heck of an arena to redeem yourself.

Lolly wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 1:16 pm
Synopsis wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 1:10 pm Owngoal reporting Pesseiro will stick with the 3-4-3. Zaidu injured. Aina to play left back.

Starting XI :
Stanley Nwabali
Ola Aina
Bright Osayi-Samuel
Semi Ajayi
William Troost-Ekong
Calvin Bassey
Alex Iwobi
Frank Onyeka
Ademola Lookman
Moses Simon
Victor Osimhen
I don’t like what Osai looked like in the last game he played. Why can’t Peseinro play Bruno? Aina is much better on the right.
Yeah, against Guinea-Bissau, Aina was a non-factor at LB and Osai looked lost. Hope things will be different today.

Goalgetter wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 1:27 pm Agree with the post on Oseyi. The guy was horrible in the game against CIV I think. Every decision he made was unbelievably poor. I would stick Bassey at Left back and bring in Omeruo at center-back - the same line-up that finished the Cameroon match minus Onuachu.
There’s no LB in 343, only a LWB. Bassey would not last 30 mins as a LWB.
Last edited by EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA on Wed Feb 07, 2024 3:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Osayi should be fine. His major issue last time out was positioning. Peseiro wants his wingbacks to close up the spaces whenever the opponents get the ball, even if it is close to the halfway line. For some reason, Bright just would not do this and it drove him mental. He would hold his position and that unbalanced the team and made it difficult for his team-mates.

Hopefully this time around he has the memo. Apart from that he is a good player. I look for him to have a great game today.

Goalgetter wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 1:27 pm Agree with the post on Oseyi. The guy was horrible in the game against CIV I think. Every decision he made was unbelievably poor. I would stick Bassey at Left back and bring in Omeruo at center-back - the same line-up that finished the Cameroon match minus Onuachu.
He didnt play against CIV and the whole team was below average against Guinea Bissau.

We have all seen Bright Osayi play for Nigeria and many people were already writing off Aina, because of Bright's fantastic performances. I am not worried about him.

My issues about this is two things:

1. Aina has been head-and-shoulders the best RB in the tournament. Why would you even contemplate moving him to LB. The only time he played LB in this tournament, he was below average. So, why would you self-sabotage? But that is the Nigerian way.

2. if Bruno cannot step in, what is he doing on the team? Why invite a player you do not trust? Or is he another injured player that was taking for the ride?

Question would be can Bassey go up and down for 90 mins..I think Bassey will end up there at some point during the match with Osayi being subbed and Aina moving back to the right…
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

danfo driver wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 3:50 pm
He didnt play against CIV and the whole team was below average against Guinea Bissau.

We have all seen Bright Osayi play for Nigeria and many people were already writing off Aina, because of Bright's fantastic performances. I am not worried about him.

1. Aina has been head-and-shoulders the best RB in the tournament. Why would you even contemplate moving him to LB. The only time he played LB in this tournament, he was below average. So, why would you self-sabotage? But that is the Nigerian way.

2. if Bruno cannot step in, what is he doing on the team? Why invite a player you do not trust? Or is he another injured player that was taking for the ride?
I remember him - He squandered a counter against CIV.. held on to the ball instead of releasing the ball for a free Osimhen. He almost drove Perseiro crazy during his time on the pitch.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

Goalgetter wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 3:56 pm
danfo driver wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 3:50 pm

I remember him - He squandered a counter against CIV.. held on to the ball instead of releasing the ball for a free Osimhen. He almost drove Perseiro crazy during his time on the pitch.
Thats true, he did come in as a sub.

Synopsis wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 12:10 pm I won’t be surprised if we used the 4-3-3 for this game.
I would.

metalalloy wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 4:05 pm
Synopsis wrote: Wed Feb 07, 2024 12:10 pm I won’t be surprised if we used the 4-3-3 for this game.
I would.
We actually play a 3421 on the attack and a 541 defending.
Re: Nigeria vs South Africa (0-0)

jungle-jawara
Re: Nigeria vs South Africa (0-0)

Post by jungle-jawara »

Is it just me, or is it a coincidence that that last you times we were champions, we had none playing captains?
1994- Keshi
2013- Yobo