It is time for the NFF to launch Operation Columbus

It is time for the Nigerian Football Federation to launch Operation Columbus - An audacious attempt to win North America 2026 with an ambitious roadmap that looks something like this

[1] First and foremost, the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) needs the presidency on board. We are not a European nation where football is self-financing and is run professionally. If we want to succeed we need President Tinubu aboard

[2] We need to urgently recruit a world class coach like say Herve Renard, Jose Mourinho, Jurgen Klopp, Zinadinr Zidane, etc

[3] President Tinubu needs to put together a consortium of sponsors who will meet all the financial obligations of this project. As happened in the US after the bombing of Pearl Harbour, the likes of Dangote, Otedola, Adenuga, Rabiu, Elumelu, Alakija, Onyema, Chukwuma, Ibeto, etc all need to be invited to Aso Rock and signed up to the project

[4] We then need to start the process of filling in the gaps in our squad. Two years is a long time in football and several of our current crop will be past their best come 2026

[5] One player we desperately need to woo is Michael Olise. This team desperately needs a genuine playmaker. This young man, who is currently being sought by Liverpool and Man United is still available as he is yet to play senior football for anyone else

[6] We have some good centrebacks but we desperately need to woo Tosin Adarabioyo. Apart from the fact that he is younger than the 30 year olds Ekong, Ajayi and Omeruo, we need his pace. Today, South Africa showed us that even Bassey is not quick, so reinforcements are desperately needed

[7] Personally, I want to see us revert to a 3-5-2 formation as it allows us to play to our natural strengths of pace and flair

[8] This 3-4-3 formation has shown that we do not have enough talent in the wingback positions. Not enough crosses are coming in from out wide, so clearly more talent scouting needs to be done

[9] Stanley Nwabali has proven that if we search hard, we can stumble upon good goalkeepers. More scouting needs to be done to uncover at least more keeper of such quality

[10] We then need to start a sensitisation campaign as to win the World Cup, we need to believe we can do it. How about coming up with a slogan that sounds like this: Operation Columbus to win the World Cup - A Task That Must Be Done
Re: It is time for the NFF to launch Operation Columbus

Ayo Akinfe wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 4:43 am

[4] We then need to start the process of filling in the gaps in our squad. Two years is a long time in football and several of our current crop will be past their best come 2026
Uncle Ayo, we have another AFCON next year (2025). So, we do not have 2 years, but 11 months to fill in the gaps.

We need don’t Dangote . Danfo conductor trainee has already volunteered to finance the Nff.
Last edited by EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA on Thu Feb 08, 2024 6:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Ayo Akinfe wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 4:43 am It is time for the Nigerian Football Federation to launch Operation Columbus - An audacious attempt to win North America 2026 with an ambitious roadmap that looks something like this

[2] We need to urgently recruit a world class coach like say Herve Renard, Jose Mourinho, Jurgen Klopp, Zinadinr Zidane, etc

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: over 30 years and you still insist on ignoring reality.

metalalloy wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 5:03 am
Ayo Akinfe wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 4:43 am It is time for the Nigerian Football Federation to launch Operation Columbus - An audacious attempt to win North America 2026 with an ambitious roadmap that looks something like this

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: over 30 years and you still insist on ignoring reality.
whats the point of reality when you can dream? :rotf:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 4:58 am We don’t Dangote . Danfo conductor trainee has already volunteered to finance the Nff.
They can add the 300k I want to give them to the 7m we will win on Sunday, by God's grace. Thats sufficient to help prepare us for the next 2 years. Then imagine we go to Morocco and win another 7m next year. Thats 14.3m for the next 2 years to prepare us for the World Cup.

But Alas, you guys voted for a drug dealer whose sycophant friends have infiltrated government. Every single penny from that 7m is going to a group of persons' bank accounts.

[1] First and foremost, the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) needs the presidency on board. We are not a European nation where football is self-financing and is run professionally. If we want to succeed we need President Tinubu aboard

[3] President Tinubu needs to put together a consortium of sponsors who will meet all the financial obligations of this project. As happened in the US after the bombing of Pearl Harbour, the likes of Dangote, Otedola, Adenuga, Rabiu, Elumelu, Alakija, Onyema, Chukwuma, Ibeto, etc all need to be invited to Aso Rock and signed up to the project

[5] One player we desperately need to woo is Michael Olise. This team desperately needs a genuine playmaker. This young man, who is currently being sought by Liverpool and Man United is still available as he is yet to play senior football for anyone else

[6] We have some good centrebacks but we desperately need to woo Tosin Adarabioyo. Apart from the fact that he is younger than the 30 year olds Ekong, Ajayi and Omeruo, we need his pace. Today, South Africa showed us that even Bassey is not quick, so reinforcements are desperately needed

[7] Personally, I want to see us revert to a 3-5-2 formation as it allows us to play to our natural strengths of pace and flair

[8] This 3-4-3 formation has shown that we do not have enough talent in the wingback positions. Not enough crosses are coming in from out wide, so clearly more talent scouting needs to be done

[9] Stanley Nwabali has proven that if we search hard, we can stumble upon good goalkeepers. More scouting needs to be done to uncover at least more keeper of such quality

[10] We then need to start a sensitisation campaign as to win the World Cup, we need to believe we can do it. How about coming up with a slogan that sounds like this: Operation Columbus to win the World Cup - A Task That Must Be Done
I agree with you totally. I’m sure the FG has seen how football unites the country like nothing else despite the economic hardship.
The King of Morocco has given support to the national team and the results were evident in the last World Cup. He even speaks directly to dual nationality players and their families to convince them to play for Morocco. Tinubu or at the very least, the Sports Minister must be involved in speaking to our dual nationality players.
GEJ set up a similar group headed by the then Rivers State Governor, Rotimi Amaechi, which provided support for the SE in the WCQs for the 2010 World Cup
Last edited by Dammy on Thu Feb 08, 2024 6:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

I stopped reading after seeing Herve Reynard.

goke313

Post by goke313 »

Agree - we need to treat the Super Eagles like a corporation (100% performance + revenue driven)

Ayo, everything you said made sense but it all falls apart at 3……

You want to generate money for corrupt individuals?

I could see Tosin playing for us soon. Igo Ogbu and Gabriel Osho are two others we need at CB too.

Benjamin Fredrick and Abel Ogwuche from the U20 are two others we should keep an eye on

So, are we now an American state or city that we should operating Colombus? Why not Operation Wazobia, Awa Lo Kan, Na Mu Ne, Anyi Wan Ko Lu.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

This is symptomatic of the cluelessness that afflicts Nigerians; misplaced priorities.

Given the state of affairs in our country, football ought to be one of the last items on our list of priorities and our resources should be channeled to more important things like lifting all of our citizens out of the abject poverty they find themselves in today.

What we need to do, as a matter of life and death, is recruit a world class President, a world class National Assembly and a world class Judiciary and start to address our sorry state of affairs… only then should we turn our attention to football; not for the singular and extravagant purpose of hiring Herve Renard, Jose Mourinho, Jurgen Klopp, Zinadine Zidane or any other imaginary oyibo savior but for the practical and noble
purpose of developing our grassroots football from the ground up, just like other countries do🤔❗️

Last edited by TonyTheTigerKiller on Thu Feb 08, 2024 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

You know!!! Ayo no dey greet. That's why I love his Facebook page. I be laughing for days

jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

jungle-jawara wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 9:24 am

You know!!! Ayo no dey greet. That's why I love his Facebook page. I be laughing for days

You know!!! Ayo no dey greet. That's why I love his Facebook page. I be laughing for days :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

jungle-jawara wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 9:31 am
jungle-jawara wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 9:24 am

You know!!! Ayo no dey gree. That's why I love his Facebook page. I be laughing for days :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

...and this is why our country will continue to sink.
Government money, aka Tinubu's free handout, is not accountable for.
We are thieves and not professional enough to invite major investors.
Nigeria is home to the so called richest man in Africa, but yet to pony support to the one singular sporting event in land.
We have a mind set of "wrongs", damn the consequences.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 8:54 am

This is symptomatic of the cluelessness that afflicts Nigerians; misplaced priorities.

Given the state of affairs in our country, football ought to be one of the last items on our list of priorities and our resources should be channeled to more important thing like lifting all of our citizens out of the abject poverty they find themselves in today.

What we need to do, as a matter of life and death, is recruit a world class President, a world class National Assembly and a world class Judiciary and start to address our sorry state of affairs… only then should we turn our attention to football; not for the singular and extravagant purpose of hiring Herve Renard, Jose Mourinho, Jurgen Klopp, Zinadine Zidane or any other imaginary oyibo savior but for the practical and noble
purpose of developing our grassroots football from the ground up, just like other countries do🤔❗️

...I have actually met real life Nigerians that reason as such.
Seeing stuff like this on the social media you'll think it's a joke, but there are people working day and night to sabotage Nigeria by grifting themselves with those extravagant proposals.

Dammy wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 6:21 am

I agree with you totally. I’m sure the FG has seen how football unites the country like nothing else despite the economic hardship.
The King of Morocco has given support to the national team and the results were evident in the last World Cup. He even speaks directly to dual nationality players and their families to convince them to play for Morocco. Tinubu or at the very least, the Sports Minister must be involved in speaking to our dual nationality players.
GEJ set up a similar group headed by the then Rivers State Governor, Rotimi Amaechi, which provided support for the SE in the WCQs for the 2010 World Cup

[1] In 2006, the Ivorian Civil War stopped as soon as the Elephants qualified for the World Cup
[2] Football was the only thing the Taliban could not ban in Afghanistan
[3] In 1969, El Salvador and Honduras fought a 100 day war over a football match

For a complex, diverse developing nation like Nigeria, football is central to out national development as it a glue that can hold so much together. Just imagine what lifting the World Cup would do for the Nigerian "feel good factor."

I can see it leading to an automatic 10% GDP growth rate. It would also attract some investors who maybe had no plans to visit Nigeria previously.

anointed wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 8:19 am

So, are we now an American state or city that we should operating Colombus? Why not Operation Wazobia, Awa Lo Kan, Na Mu Ne, Anyi Wan Ko Lu.
Colombus conquered the Americas. That is exactly what we are planing to do. Don't you get the gist?

olu wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 8:08 am I could see Tosin playing for us soon. Igo Ogbu and Gabriel Osho are two others we need at CB too.

Benjamin Fredrick and Abel Ogwuche from the U20 are two others we should keep an eye on
We have already lost Andrew Omobamidele to Ireland. With Tosin, things are looking up as he tweeted a few weeks ago that he may play for Nigeria.

Ayo Akinfe wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 12:12 pm
anointed wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 8:19 am

Colombus conquered the Americas. That is exactly what we are planing to do. Don't you get the gist?
Why not Operation Amerigo, Amerigo Vespucci being the man America is named after?

But, pray, tell, who or what did Colombus conquer in America? Is this not much like the tales that Mungo Park discovered the source of River Niger?

Yeah, we can plan but let's not start by pitching colonial-sounding names that means nothing Nigerians. Oh, I forgot, this might be an extension of your romance with foreign coaches.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Ayo Akinfe wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 12:10 pm
Dammy wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 6:21 am

[1] In 2006, the Ivorian Civil War stopped as soon as the Elephants qualified for the World Cup
[2] Football was the only thing the Taliban could not ban in Afghanistan
[3] In 1969, El Salvador and Honduras fought a 100 day war over a football match

For a complex, diverse developing nation like Nigeria, football is central to out national development as it a glue that can hold so much together. Just imagine what lifting the World Cup would do for the Nigerian "feel good factor."

I can see it leading to an automatic 10% GDP growth rate. It would also attract some investors who maybe had no plans to visit Nigeria previously.
100-hour war