Page 1 of 2

If We Win AFCON, Who Lifts Cup?

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 6:19 am
by anointed
Ekong or Musa?

I've met Musa before, he's really a nice guy but, for me, it has to be Ekong for all the hard work and leadership on the field. He appears to have become the face of the team. In fact, I have a feeling, Musa will support Ekong to lift the trophy.

It doesn't bode well for Musa who hasn't played a single minute to lift a trophy he hasn't really put in an on-pitch effort for. This is why I think, on the alternative, if we are leading with just a minute left in added time, Musa should be subbed into the game so it can make sense for him to lift the cup.

Dat one go vex some peeps here sha but just playing out possible scenarios in my head.

Most important thing though is for the team to win the cup. Those Ivoriens are far better and more motivated than the ones we met first round

Re: If We Win AFCON, Who Lifts Cup?

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 6:48 am
by Tobi17
Of course it has to be EKONG, why the heck should this even be a subject of discussion? Common now!!!

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 6:54 am
by goke313
You have been on the site for 19 years and still asking stupid questions smh

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 6:56 am
by Lolly
Keshi - 1994
Yobo - 2013

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 7:04 am
by anointed
Lolly wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 6:56 am Keshi - 1994
Yobo - 2013
But Ekong is dreaming of lifting the cup sha and I have a feeling those NFF buffs think differently

https://boldsportsng.com/troost-ekong-d ... h-nigeria/

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 8:09 am
by Lolly
anointed wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 7:04 am
Yobo - 2013
But Ekong is dreaming of lifting the cup sha and I have a feeling those NFF buffs think differently

It is what it is. If we win, Musa would be the one to lift the cup. He will be brought on in the 89th minute for that single purpose. Similar to what Keshi did with Yobo.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 8:12 am
by anointed
Lolly wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 8:09 am
Yobo - 2013

It is what it is. If we win, Musa would be the one to lift the cup. He will be brought on in the 89th minute for that single purpose. Similar to what Keshi did with Yobo.
From another point of view, if that's what we need to lift afcon, let's there be non playing captains in all afcons

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 8:42 am
by truetalk
Who will or who should?

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 9:34 am
by fabio
Some of you are funny, using sentiments.

Those clubs you support, no be the club captain they lift Cup?

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 10:53 am
by airwolex
Ekong won't mind a jot. Musa will lift it. That is the Nigerian way

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 11:02 am
by gochino
Lolly wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 8:09 am
Yobo - 2013

Yobo played the opening game against Burkina fasso and made substitute appearances, Keshi also played a few games in 94. Musa on the other hand, has contributed nothing, so it’s a different case.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 11:53 am
by deanotito
It strikes me as wrong if Ekong doesn’t lift the cup. Unlike Keshi and Yobo, Musa hasn’t played a single minute.

But I guess a captain is a captain and Musa is still the captain

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 11:57 am
by Gboye7777
Shouldn't we just focus on winning? Who cares who lifts the cup? What if there is no cup to lift?

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 1:33 pm
by Lolly
deanotito wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 11:53 am It strikes me as wrong if Ekong doesn’t lift the cup. Unlike Keshi and Yobo, Musa hasn’t played a single minute.

But I guess a captain is a captain and Musa is still the captain
Keshi did not play in the final in 94 but was called up to come and lift the cup thereby denying Eguavoen the chance. Nothing spoil.

Musa would get a few minutes on Sunday if we are ahead with a few minutes to go.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 1:34 pm
by Lolly
Gboye7777 wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 11:57 am Shouldn't we just focus on winning? Who cares who lifts the cup? What if there is no cup to lift?

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 1:35 pm
by Enugu II
Abegi, make de team FIRST win the Cup.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 1:50 pm
by packerland
I feel like I watched a tournament where two players lifted the cup. Maybe it’s in my head 🤔

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 1:51 pm
by mcal
..some people are putting the cart before the horse by making plans on how to chop before we are even certain that the trophy will be ours.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 1:53 pm
by airwolex
mcal wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 1:51 pm ..some people are putting the cart before the horse by making plans on how to chop before we are even certain that the trophy will be ours.
That's why we are Nigerians and a lot of neutrals are against us. The mouth ehn, as if we are playing Sao Tome or something :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 2:08 pm
by Penarity
Gboye7777 wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 11:57 am Shouldn't we just focus on winning? Who cares who lifts the cup? What if there is no cup to lift?
Honesty, the frequency with which these threads are coming up makes me feel very nervous about the final. Folks on this forum always do this. Why?

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 2:09 pm
by Penarity
Enugu II wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 1:35 pm Abegi, make de team FIRST win the Cup.
Thank you, Enugu. Admins are not doing their jobs here, walahi.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 2:11 pm
by Penarity
mcal wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 1:51 pm ..some people are putting the cart before the horse by making plans on how to chop before we are even certain that the trophy will be ours.
I don't like the feeling whenever this happens. We went into the tourney with almost zero expectations from most folks on this forum. All of a sudden, they are opening threads all over the place as if the competition was over.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 2:38 pm
by anointed
Penarity wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 2:09 pm
Enugu II wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 1:35 pm Abegi, make de team FIRST win the Cup.
Thank you, Enugu. Admins are not doing their jobs here, walahi.
You've been appreciating a lot of men here in this comeback of yours.