4 Nigerian clubs in the Viareggio Youth Cup (74th edition) - Beyond Limits win it [1st African team to win it]

Re: 4 Nigerian clubs to compete in this years Viareggio Youth Cup (74th edition) in Italy

Aren’t some of these kids repping out there in Italy good enough for the Nigeria U20 squad, instead of these Yum-Yum veterans refusing to move on and up?
Nigerian teen Hafiz powers Ojodu City to Italian Cup semis with back-to-back hattricks
Ibrahim Hafiz is the Viareggio Cup top scorer with 9 goals. (Photo Credit: Ojodu City/X)

Ojodu City FC takes the Viareggio Cup by storm, thanks to sensational striker Ibrahim Hafiz!

Nigerian third-division club Ojodu City FC have pulled off a major shock at the prestigious Viareggio Cup youth tournament in Italy by reaching the semifinals in their debut appearance.

Pulse Sports Nigeria reports that the unheralded club, founded just two years ago in 2022, have defied the odds at the tournament dominated by academy teams of Europe's elite clubs.

Spearheaded by young striker Ibrahim Hafiz, Ojodu City have announced themselves on the global stage. Hafiz has been a revelation, scoring an astonishing nine goals in six matches.

The teenage phenom grabbed headlines with back-to-back hat tricks in the Viareggio Cup. But it was his most recent treble that will live long in the memory - a clinical three-goal haul that powered Ojodu City to a stunning 4-0 demolition of storied Hungarian club Honved Budapest in the quarterfinals.

Back-to-back hattrick hero, Ibrahim Hafiz celebrates with his teammates.

By booking their place in the last four, Ojodu City have now reached the last four in their debut at the Viareggio Cup. They now stand on the cusp of even greater things in the semi-finals as they look to continue their fairy tale run.

Ojodu City's remarkable impact puts Nigerian football on the map in Italy, they are now just two matches away from the unthinkable alongside two other Nigerian sides, Beyond Limits and Mavlon.

https://www.pulsesports.ug/football/sto ... 9293442007
Re: 4 Nigerian clubs to compete in this years Viareggio Youth Cup (74th edition) in Italy

👆🏿Teams in the Italy tournament are well represented in the U20. It is also good to see that some NPFL clubs are represented as well🤔❗️

sabb

Post by sabb »

It is Nigeria vs Congo in the U18 final, the African teams have repped very well
Beyond Limits vs Centre National Brazzaville at 2pm uk time
Lets go Beyond Limits
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Feb 24, 2024 9:09 pm 👆🏿Teams in the Italy tournament are well represented in the U20. It is also good to see that some NPFL clubs are represented as well🤔❗️

Nice to know! :thumb:
Re: 4 Nigerian clubs in the Viareggio Youth Cup (74th edition) - Beyond Limits win it [1st African team to win it]

This guy is really paying his dues and working his way up to greater things.
You can tell he’s ambitious.
:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
Re: 4 Nigerian clubs in the Viareggio Youth Cup (74th edition) - Beyond Limits win it [1st African team to win it]

Damunk wrote: Wed Feb 28, 2024 6:08 am This guy is really paying his dues and working his way up to greater things.
He looks the part. I don’t mind a guy like this getting a shot instead of all these recycled coaches getting multiple opportunities with nothing to show for.

packerland wrote: Wed Feb 28, 2024 11:04 am
Damunk wrote: Wed Feb 28, 2024 6:08 am This guy is really paying his dues and working his way up to greater things.
He looks the part. I don’t mind a guy like this getting a shot instead of all these recycled coaches getting multiple opportunities with nothing to show for.
I’m telling you!
He can start with the u20s which is a team with very limited success by Nigerian youth standards.
Depending on how well he does, he can continue to work his way up.

Hopefully there are more like him ready to do the hard work.

You can just tell that this kind of guy already has medium and long term, self-development plans.

How come no one is talking about the talented coach, Olumide, who has won coach of the tournament back to back? That's the type of coach we should be looking at for the U17 and U21 teams.

gochino wrote: Wed Feb 28, 2024 2:59 pm How come no one is talking about the talented coach, Olumide, who has won coach of the tournament back to back? That's the type of coach we should be looking at for the U17 and U21 teams.
Who said we’re not?

Check above. ^^^
Check this thread.
Check twitter sef.
kendo

Post by kendo »

Anyone that can fry 3 sets of plantain without putting any in their mouth can keep a secret.

Looks like Victor Boniface's former team might be signing the topscorer of this years edition