Why have our last two foreign coaches been defensive?

First Rohr, now Peseiro. My take is that they fundamentally mistrust the capabilities of Nigerian midfield and attacking players AND they are unwilling to take the risk of building an attacking team because they think going that way will generate a lot of bad results that will get them fired. Peseiro must have been spooked by the 4-0 losses to both Portugal and Mexico early in his tenure.

So they take the "safety first" approach to keep their job. Defense. Also what is it with Portuguese coaches and defensive football? Mourinho, Peseiro ....

Re: Why have our last two foreign coaches been defensive?

This also explains why they call up relatively fewer midfield players. Calling up more midfield players will shift the balance of the team to a more attacking one, which is not what they want.

Scipio Africanus wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 9:12 am First Rohr, now Peseiro. My take is that they fundamentally mistrust the capabilities of Nigerian midfield and attacking players AND they are unwilling to take the risk of building an attacking team because they think going that way will generate a lot of bad results that will get them fired. Peseiro must have been spooked by the 4-0 losses to both Portugal and Mexico early in his tenure.

So they take the "safety first" approach to keep their job. Defense. Also what is it with Portuguese coaches and defensive football? Mourinho, Peseiro ....
You can add Fernando Santos to that list. Rohr and Peseiro are good managers for a certain type of team. And it is important that we also know how to play defensive when needed. But the problem is the " no risk, safety first" approach that they try to use as a default. It will never work in Nigeria.
chuks69

Post by chuks69 »

Peserio was very attacking when he took the Super Eagles job, but at Afcon decided to go defesive oh...
afc##

A slight correction to my first post. I don't think Peseiro was coach when we lost 4-0 to Mexico, but that result must have been in the back of his mind when we lost 4-0 to Portugal.

aruako1 wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 9:36 am
Scipio Africanus wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 9:12 am First Rohr, now Peseiro. My take is that they fundamentally mistrust the capabilities of Nigerian midfield and attacking players AND they are unwilling to take the risk of building an attacking team because they think going that way will generate a lot of bad results that will get them fired. Peseiro must have been spooked by the 4-0 losses to both Portugal and Mexico early in his tenure.

You can add Fernando Santos to that list. Rohr and Peseiro are good managers for a certain type of team. And it is important that we also know how to play defensive when needed. But the problem is the " no risk, safety first" approach that they try to use as a default. It will never work in Nigeria.
Exactly. When hiring for positions, most organizations look for a cultural fit as well. It seems the NFF does not take this part seriously. Defensive football can get you good results for a while but you will eventually be found out by teams that play football.

sabb

Post by sabb »

Both of them can't handle the pressure that comes with handling a so called big team. If they did property scouting we would not be afraid of the ball but the ṢE has been contoured to just wait and watch instead of imprint their style no matter the team they play.

The difference between the ṢE and any other team in the Afcon was exposure and experience. Otherwise they would have been back home quicker. The ṢE is so tentative, timid and reactive as a team, the boys are talented but making them believe that sitting and absorbing pressure is the best way is hindering them mehn.

We all saw the home based vs Mexico, yes they chopped 4 but they never lied down and played attacking toe to toe football but exposure and experience was their downfall.

The ṢE needs that belief again otherwise we gonna be watching this drab displays again, mehn am disappointed. Can't even make a case for the loss yesterday.
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

May be the players are not as good as the fans think?
Last edited by bamenda boy on Tue Feb 13, 2024 12:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

bamenda boy wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 2:51 pm May be the players are but as good as the fans think?
Their clubs tell us they are good. They know better than you and me

bamenda boy wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 2:51 pm May be the players are but as good as the fans think?
we know they are miles ahead of Cameroon they've beaten the crap out of Cameroon in 3 straight games. keep losing sleep over Nigeria, don't go and question your FA chairman and coach Song

With all our attacking might the best we’ve ever done at the WC is a 2nd rd exit. In Africa we’ve only won 3 Afcons though we have a quarter of the population in Africa. Sometimes you just have to do things a little different to get a different result.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 3:14 pm

With all our attacking might the best we’ve ever done at the WC is a 2nd rd exit. In Africa we’ve only won 3 Afcons though we have a quarter of the population in Africa. Sometimes you just have to do things a little different to get a different result.
You have a very strong point there. I think Peseiro's defensive tactics got us to the finals. CIV were just better.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 3:07 pm
we know they are miles ahead of Cameroon they've beaten the crap out of Cameroon in 3 straight games. keep losing sleep over Nigeria, don't go and question your FA chairman and coach Song
Where is the video you posted of Paseiro’s after game press conference in which he explained why he changed tactics for AFCON?
I think it was after one of the group games.
Folks on EN need to watch it.

Peseiro didn't start like this, remember.

In fact he made a point of wanting to play attacking football. He kept saying it.

So what went wrong ?

Well we actually played pretty well at times but the results just never went our way.

We also had Uzoho in goal, who cost us a few matches.

Fast forward to our first match against EG, where we played a 433, and our most attacking display in which we created more chances than any other match.

Osimehm was useless that day. Completely useless for a world class striker.

We let in a cheap goal despite completely controlling the match an limiting EG to virtually nothing.

Peseiro got scared, and with the host CIV up next, he realized the easiest way to get a result was to park the bus. So we did and we won. He then realized the easiest way to meet the objectives the NFF set for him (semi final) was to park the bus.

In a way the NFF are to blame. By mandating the semi final and leaving him no job security they forced him to try and achieve that goal by THE EASIEST WAY necessary.

So be careful what you wish for.

If Peseiro would have just gone with 352 as opposed to 343.

He could have kept the same defensive structure, bit the team would also be much more effective in attack.

Huge blunder that he never once thought to change. Very poor.

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 4:27 pm Peseiro didn't start like this, remember.

In fact he made a point of wanting to play attacking football. He kept saying it.

So what went wrong ?

Well we actually played pretty well at times but the results just never went our way.

Fast forward to our first match against EG, where we played a 433, and our most attacking display in which we created more chances than any other match.

We let in a cheap goal despite completely controlling the match an limiting EG to virtually nothing.

Peseiro got scared, and with the host CIV up next, he realized the easiest way to get a result was to park the bus. So we did and we won. He then realized the easiest way to meet the objectives the NFF set for him (semi final) was to park the bus.

In a way the NFF are to blame. By mandating the semi final and leaving him no job security they forced him to try and achieve that goal by THE EASIEST WAY necessary.

Exactly my point. Now let's look at the facts with a cold eye. I think we overachieved by getting to the final. Before the AFCON, did you expect that we would reach the final? I didn't.

Scipio Africanus wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 4:38 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 4:27 pm Peseiro didn't start like this, remember.

So what went wrong ?

Exactly my point. Now let's look at the facts with a cold eye. I think we overachieved by getting to the final. Before the AFCON, did you expect that we would reach the final? I didn't.
We overachieved based on the results we were getting prior to the tournament. Also factoring that we thought Uzoho would be in goal.

But we could have won this if Peseiro wasn't using cowardly tactics and if he played a proper formation with a proper midfield.

I warned against the "if it ain't broke" mentality.

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 4:47 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 4:38 pm

So what went wrong ?

We overachieved based on the results we were getting prior to the tournament. Also factoring that we thought Uzoho would be in goal.

But we could have won this if Peseiro wasn't using cowardly tactics and if he played a proper formation with a proper midfield.

I warned against the "if it ain't broke" mentality.
What formations were we using when we were getting those bad results?

bamenda boy wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 2:51 pm May be the players are as good as the fans think?
Thanks bamenda.
Our best players are defenders, and most of our offensive players are overhyped and selfish.
In an era of quick coordinated possession football, you can't have attacking players with bad
first-touch control of the ball, inaccurate passes, and worse loving to linger on the ball. At the
national team level these are not things the coach should be bothered with. Thus tactically the
coaches probably felt that defending and hoping to get a goal is best suited for the talents at
hand.

Yeah, we got to the final but how?
(1 - 1), (1 - 0), (1 - 0), (2 - 0), (1 - 0), (Penalties)
All these are nail-biters, and only an unrealistic fan would see our attack as a threat to any team.

Peserio, does not have the offensive formula to execute on the offensive front. When I saw Osimhen
in the six-yard box assisting on corner kicks I new something was wrong. Having too many players defending
is why when we finally get the ball our counter is slow and deliberate, which allows the opposition to regroup.
Osimhen needs to be upfront and ready for through balls whenever we gain possession.

OJI

Post by OJI »

OP Thanks for this thread.
3 issues at play.

No journeyman coach will emphasize the midfield or an attack-first tactical organization.
Let us acknowledge the subterranean issues at work. If most Nigerian players abroad are NOT in the attacking midfield role in their clubs , what makes one think a foreign-born national team coach subjected to off-field political, and job security dynamics will initiate that experiment ? The follow-up issue is why are foreign clubs NOT selecting Naijas overwhelming in that position as opposed to the recent trend of being the current flavor in town for attacking options.

Could it be stereotypes, and racial bias in play? Decision making, quick thinking, etc. The American NFL went thru an era before teams were comfortable with black quarterbacks.

Could it be in an attacking midfield role, there is a loss of control by the coach in executing his preferred pattern when the freewheeling Naija could execute infinite amount of plays? The loss of control NOT acceptable with his identity, and image he or she wants to project?

Could the freeform, and creative demands of the role come into conflict with a controlling coach when Monday morning quarterback/post match review sessions come up?

Could it possible given the complexity of getting a team to gel in an attacking mode which is infinitely more complex to set up than a instructional, defensive posture, a coach has to sacrifice one over the other? Afterall, most opposition teams don't a have lethal strike force as in the Romario/Bebeto partnership of Brazil WC 94?

Could the data indicating most goals come from set plays - corner kicks, freekicks - inform, and force a reaction to be set play aware - defensively strong?

Could the European view of executing a match be at conflict with the Nigerian football identity? Do you realize Nigeria struggled against Scandinavian countries at major tournaments? Could the clash of philosophies not be evidently apparent when we play those Scandinavian countries? These countries do not have attacking flair, and/or imagination but collectively strong in team organization, and support?

Peseiro as a forward.
What should amaze us is Peserio claims to have played as a forward in his football playing days. Either he doesn't rate the forwards Naija has as per club pedigree, or his style, and preferred forward does not exist in his player pool. He then would NOT focus on that part of tactics. One would assume based on his playing style, he would favor what he was comfortable with. It ultimately again comes down to what appears to be a conventional wisdom. No nation has won the WC with a foreign coach.

Issue with the goalie position.
The struggles with the goalie position has reinforced the defense first approach. Play the aging, and slower CD closer to the goalie. The side effect is this ensures a wider space in the midfield with Osimhen all the way, isolated up front or him playing closer to the center circle. To compensate, the midfielders have to, in turn, play closer to the last defensive line as opposed to being evenly balanced between the last line (involving the CB) and the top striker.

OJI wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 7:03 pm OP Thanks for this thread.
3 issues at play.

No journeyman coach will emphasize the midfield or an attack-first tactical organization.
Let us acknowledge the subterranean issues at work. If most Nigerian players abroad are NOT in the attacking midfield role in their clubs , what makes one think a foreign-born national team coach subjected to off-field political, and job security dynamics will initiate that experiment ? The follow-up issue is why are foreign clubs NOT selecting Naijas overwhelming in that position as opposed to the recent trend of being the current flavor in town for attacking options.

Could it be stereotypes, and racial bias in play? Decision making, quick thinking, etc. The American NFL went thru an era before teams were comfortable with black quarterbacks.

Could it be in an attacking midfield role, there is a loss of control by the coach in executing his preferred pattern when the freewheeling Naija could execute infinite amount of plays? The loss of control NOT acceptable with his identity, and image he or she wants to project?

Could the freeform, and creative demands of the role come into conflict with a controlling coach when Monday morning quarterback/post match review sessions come up?

Could it possible given the complexity of getting a team to gel in an attacking mode which is infinitely more complex to set up than a instructional, defensive posture, a coach has to sacrifice one over the other? Afterall, most opposition teams don't a have lethal strike force as in the Romario/Bebeto partnership of Brazil WC 94?

Could the data indicating most goals come from set plays - corner kicks, freekicks - inform, and force a reaction to be set play aware - defensively strong?

Could the European view of executing a match be at conflict with the Nigerian football identity? Do you realize Nigeria struggled against Scandinavian countries at major tournaments? Could the clash of philosophies not be evidently apparent when we play those Scandinavian countries? These countries do not have attacking flair, and/or imagination but collectively strong in team organization, and support?

Peseiro as a forward.
What should amaze us is Peserio claims to have played as a forward in his football playing days. Either he doesn't rate the forwards Naija has as per club pedigree, or his style, and preferred forward does not exist in his player pool. He then would NOT focus on that part of tactics. One would assume based on his playing style, he would favor what he was comfortable with. It ultimately again comes down to what appears to be a conventional wisdom. No nation has won the WC with a foreign coach.

Issue with the goalie position.
The struggles with the goalie position has reinforced the defense first approach. Play the aging, and slower CD closer to the goalie. The side effect is this ensures a wider space in the midfield with Osimhen all the way, isolated up front or him playing closer to the center circle. To compensate, the midfielders have to, in turn, play closer to the last defensive line as opposed to being evenly balanced between the last line (involving the CB) and the top striker.
You have elaborated on the issue with much more eloquence than I could ever muster. Kudos! Your points about the lack of Nigerian attacking midfield talent at the top tier of the game overseas is well noted as well as the possible racial thinking among European coaches influencing such an outcome. European clubs often go for African defenders or forwards, not attacking midfielders, who perhaps more than any other position on the field, carry the responsibility to implement the offensive tactical desires of the coach on the field. I don't think we are at that point yet where the typical European coach, with their job on the line, will trust African midfielders with such responsibilities. Hence European coaches in European leagues will generally not buy African attacking midfielders.

When European coaches, especially those with a defensive mindset, come to Africa to coach national teams, they can't avoid using African midfielders, so they use them as little as possible. European coaches don't leave their mindset in Europe when they come to Africa. This might be the explanation for calling up more defenders and forwards(the same positions they prefer to put Africans in in European clubs) for the African national teams they coach, than attacking midfielders(the position they don't trust Africans with).

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 3:07 pm
It's not a comparison against Cameroon. How long would it take for you to realize most of us don't give a darn about that $#% hole country called Cameruin?
Iwuanacho( sp) that everyone was forcing on people's throat prove how shitty he is. You guys almost killed that coach for giving Sanusi?( the left) back playing time. The one game he was taken out, we saw disaster.
Chukwueze that most of you don't allow someone to drink water here was nothing to write home about.
The issue was not the coaching. Nigeria has the most solid defense I have seen in the ANC since the 02 Cameruin team.
Osihmen is world class but Africa doesn't care where you play.
The likes of Salah and Co look pretty average.
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"
bunda

Post by bunda »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 3:14 pm

THANK YOU -WE HAVE MASSIVELY UNDERACHIEVED AT THE AFCON
At this rate we will be seen as chokers in the AFCON final -this eventually MAY become a mental hurdle the longer it goes on
we need to break the AFCON drought and catch Ghana and Cameroun tally!