If NFF HAVE to pick a foreign coach, we should go for an Argentine coach

Re: If NFF HAVE to pick a foreign coach, we should go for an Argentine coach

Bell wrote: Mon Mar 04, 2024 9:19 am TO PUT IT MILDLY...

...I'm stunned that this kind of thinking has a place in educated Nigeria, which this board is supposed to be.
You should have stopped at the word "stunned", because you are clearly not thinking.

@Africanus, whilst one can understand, in part, the point being made, it’s too simplistic an argument. There is no certainty of style attached to ethnic origin, nationality or patrilineage. The joga bonita of one Brazilian, is bonkers, buffoonery to another. For every Bielsa, there’s a Cuper, for every Klopp there’s a Vogts. Being Argentinian guarantees no more than beef and Malbec, annything else is a matter of opinion.

As has been said times over, the emphasis on place of origin shows a certain antiquity to our logic, as if the feet were stuck in the mud whilst wading in the water centuries past. In time, powerful processors with more RAM than a Fulani fry up, will sit in dugouts, with algorithms and computations driving in game decisions. Man, in that instance, will be no more than the ventriloquist’s doll.

Before anything, competence and that a composite of relevant experiences, qualification, vision, innovation, knowledge, leadership. Whether Argentinian or Afghan, Dutch or from a distant galaxy, it’s irrelevant. Competent or incompetent, all the rest is conjecture.

As has been

Coach wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 1:13 pm @Africanus, whilst one can understand, in part, the point being made, it’s too simplistic an argument. There is no certainty of style attached to ethnic origin, nationality or patrilineage. The joga bonita of one Brazilian, is bonkers, buffoonery to another. For every Bielsa, there’s a Cuper, for every Klopp there’s a Vogts. Being Argentinian guarantees no more than beef and Malbec, annything else is a matter of opinion.

As has been said times over, the emphasis on place of origin shows a certain antiquity to our logic, as if the feet were stuck in the mud whilst wading in the water centuries past. In time, powerful processors with more RAM than a Fulani fry up, will sit in dugouts, with algorithms and computations driving in game decisions. Man, in that instance, will be no more than the ventriloquist’s doll.

Before anything, competence and that a composite of relevant experiences, qualification, vision, innovation, knowledge, leadership. Whether Argentinian or Afghan, Dutch or from a distant galaxy, it’s irrelevant. Competent or incompetent, all the rest is conjecture.

As has been
The general interpretation of my post is simplistic.

Of course there are different kinds of coaches from different nationalities. Focus on the essence of the point being made. Look, almost every country makes good beer, but if you want to drink really good beer, you cannot go wrong by drinking German beer.

Similarly, if you are looking to play attacking football with skillful players, you can't go wrong by looking for an Argentine coach with an attacking mindset. After all Diego "El Cholo" Simeone is Argentine, and he makes Mourinho look like Pep.

On the other hand if the nationality of coaches is a non factor, why is no one rushing to hire English coaches?
Last edited by Scipio Africanus on Tue Mar 05, 2024 2:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

danfo driver wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 2:51 pm :lol:
How you like that big win by Arsenal yesterday? :thumbs: If Liverpool draw City on Saturday like I expect, then Arsenal will go top :thumbs: by beating Brentford :woot: :woot: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

We will hire a white man whether you like it or not :woot: :rotf: :rotf: He might even look like the white man that fired you 23 years ago from your white shoe law firm job, which you got via Affirmative Action :rotf: :rotf: :woot: :woot: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Marcelo Bielsa!

Ayo Akinfe wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 3:38 pm Marcelo Bielsa!

Other worthy mentions:

Diego Simeone
Mauricio Pochettino
Jorge Sampaoli

Bielsa? When last did one see a Nigerian side run around a pitch, talk less of doing so for the full ninety. Bielsa? Absolutely not. He’d be in the dock for manslaughter before half-time.

Ehen!! :thumbs: Now we is tawking!! :thumbs: :thumbs:

Coach wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 4:13 pm Bielsa? When last did one see a Nigerian side run around a pitch, talk less of doing so for the full ninety. Bielsa? Absolutely not. He’d be in the dock for manslaughter before half-time.
:laugh: They’ll survive. WAI part two. May the spirit of Idiagbon rejoice! :tic:

Ayo Akinfe wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 3:40 pm

Other worthy mentions:

Diego Simeone
Mauricio Pochettino
Jorge Sampaoli
Another option is also Santiago Solari. He has bounced around the Middle East for a while. He is currently Real’s director of football

Just imagine the way Bielsa would get the likes of Onyeka, Ndidi, Onyeadika, Iwobi, Aina, Yusuf, Osayi-Samuel, etc, running around non-stop for 90 minutes. They would steam their opponents to the point whereby games would be over by half time.

@Scipio, re: they will survive. No they won’t. Sorry, Bielsa-ball is at the bonkers end of the energy expenditure spectrum. Sprints, kilometres per ninety, there’s no comparison or evidence to suggest compatibility. That demand would leave bodies strewed across the training pitch.

There has not been a Nigeria side, in recollection, that comes close to the intensity Bielsa demands. Even at the final of a continental competition, laziness, lethargy, the usual pedestrianism. Bielsa is not for Nigeria and Nigeria not for Bielsa.
Agbako

Post by Agbako »

Year 2024. The most educated illiterates on planet earth are still searching for a white skin man to lead them? Is Slavery really eternal for some?

After witnessing a young black coach from Ivory Coast with no prior experience helped resurrect his country already considered dead in a tournament they hosted and comes out Champions. A clear indication again that the blackman is the smartest in all ramification of life. But some still consider themselves inferior. Please don't stop at Nat. Coach. Employ a white skin guy to come and raise your kids in your house...while at it?

Agbako wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 8:59 pm Year 2024. The most educated illiterates on planet earth are still searching for a white skin man to lead them? Is Slavery really eternal for some?

After witnessing a young black coach from Ivory Coast with no prior experience helped resurrect his country already considered dead in a tournament they hosted and comes out Champions. A clear indication again that the blackman is the smartest in all ramification of life. But some still consider themselves inferior. Please don't stop at Nat. Coach. Employ a white skin guy to come and raise your kids in your house...while at it?
I see you are OK with writing in the white man’s language(English) and using his inventions(the computer and the internet). Best man for the job. If you don’t like it go and cry in the corner, and don’t forget to do so in your native language. :laugh:

Coach wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 7:55 pm @Scipio, re: they will survive. No they won’t. Sorry, Bielsa-ball is at the bonkers end of the energy expenditure spectrum. Sprints, kilometres per ninety, there’s no comparison or evidence to suggest compatibility. That demand would leave bodies strewed across the training pitch.

There has not been a Nigeria side, in recollection, that comes close to the intensity Bielsa demands. Even at the final of a continental competition, laziness, lethargy, the usual pedestrianism. Bielsa is not for Nigeria and Nigeria not for Bielsa.
No pain, no gain. Pack on four 21 kg plates on each side of the squat bar. 6 reps minimum, thighs slightly below horizontal at the deepest point.

Never will dinner taste better.

Ayo Akinfe wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 7:52 pm Just imagine the way Bielsa would get the likes of Onyeka, Ndidi, Onyeadika, Iwobi, Aina, Yusuf, Osayi-Samuel, etc, running around non-stop for 90 minutes. They would steam their opponents to the point whereby games would be over by half time.
Argentina won the WC in 2022 largely by outworking their opponents.

@AA, imagine what? There’s a reason no Nigeria team, in recollection, has ever buzzed around like the Duracell energy bunny on Molly, they can’t do it. One cannot simply wake up and add an extra 2-3KM on top of their ninety minutes. If Bielsa went anywhere near that squad, he’d be serving no less than 15 on good behaviour for manslaughter.

Sorry, Nigerian football is far too pedestrian, slow motion, far too mosey on down, Marcelo’s madness would be pure kamikaze. That’s not to say slow motion should be the way, rather to highlight the incompatibility. Rewatch the most recent AfCON and ask yourself, is there evidence to suggest the gear stick could be slipped into 6 from kick-off to final whistle. Absolutely not.

Dont mind Africanus, after his massacre of the Carthaginians, he’s been looking for more mahogany firewood.

FYI, during his time in the Yorkshire dales, Leeds had the highest sprint output in…the world of football. That’s sprints alone, both with and without the ball. Most high intensity sprints? Most distance covered? Leeds United, by a country 10 miles. Absolutely incompatible.
Agbako

Post by Agbako »

Scipio Africanus wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 9:21 pm
Agbako wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 8:59 pm Year 2024. The most educated illiterates on planet earth are still searching for a white skin man to lead them? Is Slavery really eternal for some?

I see you are OK with writing in the white man’s language(English) and using his inventions(the computer and the internet). Best man for the job. If you don’t like it go and cry in the corner, and don’t forget to do so in your native language. :laugh:
Since ya brain and anus are linked together. I pray which language do you prefer to be insulted in. I will gladly obliged clown. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT...

...if you had hope for Africa, skip most of the posts here because they could depress you into inaction. Further depressing is that these are coming from those who are supposedly exposed having lived outside Nigeria, went to school, worked and lived with these "intelligent" people. Yet they won't accept the soft challenge of developing local skills even in an area as inconsequential as football.