Ejuke showcases Okocha-like ability in Belgium: Time to replace subpar Chukwueze?

Ejuke did not make Nigeria’s AFCON squad, but he has been balling for Antwerp all season

Super Eagles forward Chidera Ejuke has been having a brilliant campaign for Belgium Jupiler League side Royal Antwerp and is showing signs of the nimble-footed forward that set the Russian League alight two seasons ago.
Soccernet.ng reports that the 26-year-old forward has registered three goals and three assists in 19 league games for Antwerp. Ejuke has also registered 2.6 assists per game for Antwerp.

In Antwerp’s last Jupiler League game against St. Truiden, the Nigerian forward had a goal and an assist to help his side to victory.

With the level that Ejuke is playing at, he clearly deserves to be in the Super Eagles squad. AC Milan star Samuel Chukwueze, who has struggled with form but constantly picked for the national team, needs to take a backseat because he has hardly offered anything in recent years. This season, Chukwueze has only managed one assist in 15 Serie A appearances. Even his dribbling, which he is famed for, has been low this season, as he has only made 0.8 dribbles per game.

From all indications, Ejuke has the upper hand, and his form has been on the uptrend. If he continues with his performance, there is a high chance that Antwerp will try to sign him permanently. But if Antwerp do not sign him, Ejuke will be sure to have many suitors.

Chukwueze’s future, on the other hand, is in the balance. If he continues like this, Milan could decide to send him out on loan, or he could be sold if he does not perform next season.

The next Super Eagles coach is unknown, but one thing that could show if the next coach really knows his onions is the Chukwueze or Ejuke decision.

https://soccernet.ng/2024/03/ejuke-show ... wueze.html
Re: Ejuke showcases Okocha-like ability in Belgium: Time to replace subpar Chukwueze?

Still trying to understand where the disconnect has been with this guy. He’s pure skill and ability and SE needs him…
Re: Ejuke showcases Okocha-like ability in Belgium: Time to replace subpar Chukwueze?

maceo4 wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 9:10 pm Still trying to understand where the disconnect has been with this guy. He’s pure skill and ability and SE needs him…
He's still just getting back to his best after that knee injury he suffered last season.

The guy is an absolute 5 star skiller, glad he's back to his best after those injuries he suffered.

He always had the ability but now he’s passing more!

Stupendous talent

Can he please please be converted to a midfielder?
Abeg. We desperately need creativity in the midfield.

Can he hold the ball for as long as he needs to?
Can he create something out of nothing?
Can he look up and spot the opportunity?
Can he deliver that killer pass?

If the answer to all questions is yes, then he is the missing piece…

He was sorely missed at the AFCON

Damunk wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 10:17 pm Can he please please be converted to a midfielder?

His end product is still inconsistent. I'd concert him to a WB but I doubt he has the lungs for that position. If you play him in the middle as a AM then you better have 3 mf behind him because he has a tendency to lose the ball when he tries to do too much.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 10:55 pm
Damunk wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 10:17 pm Can he please please be converted to a midfielder?

His end product is still inconsistent. I'd concert him to a WB but I doubt he has the lungs for that position. If you play him in the middle as a AM then you better have 3 mf behind him because he has a tendency to lose the ball when he tries to do too much.
does ZAIDU have beginning product talk less end product

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

It appears that his end product is better. But again you can't really make a good assessment based on a minute video. The issue I had with him is end product and poor decision making and unnecessary dribbles. If he cuts that out, he will be GREAT
eyan

Post by eyan »

I don't care if he has Okocha's ability or not but as long he can somersault, he should be in the team 😀.

iworo wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 8:51 pm Ejuke showcases Okocha-like ability in Belgium: Time to replace subpar Chukwueze?

Ejuke did not make Nigeria’s AFCON squad, but he has been balling for Antwerp all season

Super Eagles forward Chidera Ejuke has been having a brilliant campaign for Belgium Jupiler League side Royal Antwerp and is showing signs of the nimble-footed forward that set the Russian League alight two seasons ago.
Soccernet.ng reports that the 26-year-old forward has registered three goals and three assists in 19 league games for Antwerp. Ejuke has also registered 2.6 assists per game for Antwerp.

In Antwerp’s last Jupiler League game against St. Truiden, the Nigerian forward had a goal and an assist to help his side to victory.

With the level that Ejuke is playing at, he clearly deserves to be in the Super Eagles squad. AC Milan star Samuel Chukwueze, who has struggled with form but constantly picked for the national team, needs to take a backseat because he has hardly offered anything in recent years. This season, Chukwueze has only managed one assist in 15 Serie A appearances. Even his dribbling, which he is famed for, has been low this season, as he has only made 0.8 dribbles per game.

From all indications, Ejuke has the upper hand, and his form has been on the uptrend. If he continues with his performance, there is a high chance that Antwerp will try to sign him permanently. But if Antwerp do not sign him, Ejuke will be sure to have many suitors.

Chukwueze’s future, on the other hand, is in the balance. If he continues like this, Milan could decide to send him out on loan, or he could be sold if he does not perform next season.

The next Super Eagles coach is unknown, but one thing that could show if the next coach really knows his onions is the Chukwueze or Ejuke decision.

https://soccernet.ng/2024/03/ejuke-show ... wueze.html
oboy , I just screamed, oh boy what a playter, seems to be back to his best. We better call him back :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Impressive “freestyle” footballing. Before casting the dye, lest one forget, Chukwueze too has a YouTube compilation worthy accolade. Drag backs, stepovers, lollipops, Jolly Ranchers. Both, on their day, are talented entertainers. From an actual “footballing” point of view, is there any difference in end product?
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

Coach wrote: Wed Mar 06, 2024 8:11 am Impressive “freestyle” footballing. Before casting the dye, lest one forget, Chukwueze too has a YouTube compilation worthy accolade. Drag backs, stepovers, lollipops, Jolly Ranchers. Both, on their day, are talented entertainers. From an actual “footballing” point of view, is there any difference in end product?
Chukwueze has nothing on this Ujuke guy man. Chukwueze is so predictable and one dimensional. Ejuke is very unpredictable when on the ball. No defender wants a player like that.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

Goalgetter wrote: Wed Mar 06, 2024 11:48 am
Coach wrote: Wed Mar 06, 2024 8:11 am Impressive “freestyle” footballing. Before casting the dye, lest one forget, Chukwueze too has a YouTube compilation worthy accolade. Drag backs, stepovers, lollipops, Jolly Ranchers. Both, on their day, are talented entertainers. From an actual “footballing” point of view, is there any difference in end product?
Chukwueze has nothing on this Ujuke guy man. Chukwueze is so predictable and one dimensional. Ejuke is very unpredictable when on the ball. No defender wants a player like that.
I wonder whether it is that very unpredictability than managers have a problem with. Okocha probably had similar problems earlier in his career.
Sometimes unpredictability confuses not just the opposition, but even teammates. :rotf:

Someone like Ejuke needs time for his SE teammates to ‘get’ him. It’s not going to happen over a few days and a few games.
They need to be patient with him.

The guy has been improving on his use of the ball. And it appears his club has also found his right position, he drops deep a lot to pick up the ball.

He needs to be back in the mix. But I won't jettison Chukwueze yet.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Unlike the ball-juggling star he is compared to, his main issue is whether he can release
the ball on time and accurately. Until his ball-juggling can fit into team agenda, he will
be just another entertainer. The video evidence shows that he lingers too much on the ball,
and that is not what most coaches appreciate.

I am liking what I am seeing but Chukwueze was doing similar in a better league. Let's not be too hasty in writing him off

maceo4 wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 9:10 pm Still trying to understand where the disconnect has been with this guy. He’s pure skill and ability and SE needs him…
I'm still trying to understand the first 2 sentences of the article.

"Soccernet.ng reports that the 26-year-old forward has registered three goals and three assists in 19 league games for Antwerp. Ejuke has also registered 2.6 assists per game for Antwerp."

Goalgetter wrote: Wed Mar 06, 2024 11:48 am
Easy there… be careful you don’t choke on the hype… after all we’ve all seen Ejuke up close and personal… with the SuperEagles🤔❗️

@Damunk, the art of dribbling has the unrehearsed, impromptu at its heart. As entertaining as this is for the audience, most managers/coaches keep a wide berth from such players. The impromptu adds an element of chaos in age where order is the demand. Anthony, Mudryk, Adama Traore; Newcastle cutting Saint-Maxim loose, the lists are stocked with Gods of YouTube shorts.

Nowadays, end product is above and beyond all else. Bukayo Saka seldom does any of these YouTube party tricks, 23 goal involvements. If it’s not producing goals or assists, it’s pointless.

Coach wrote: Thu Mar 07, 2024 1:37 pm @Damunk, the art of dribbling has the unrehearsed, impromptu at its heart. As entertaining as this is for the audience, most managers/coaches keep a wide berth from such players. The impromptu adds an element of chaos in age where order is the demand. Anthony, Mudryk, Adama Traore; Newcastle cutting Saint-Maxim loose, the lists are stocked with Gods of YouTube shorts.

Nowadays, end product is above and beyond all else. Bukayo Saka seldom does any of these YouTube party tricks, 23 goal involvements. If it’s not producing goals or assists, it’s pointless.
Coach just like time for your archaic English has since expired

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."