26 WCQ - Have we fumbled?

We’re still in it but we have less than 90 days before the next game and the 2nd game is a week after that. We host SA then travel to Benin. 2 huge games with massive massive implications. We have to get 6pts from both games to remain relevant in the standings. A loss in any of the 2k games would be fatal.

We have 2 friendlies coming up that could be useless if a new coach has no impact. The new coach will essentially start his reign with 2 of the biggest games he will ever have. Any dropped pts could mean the end of him. I’m really starting to suspect that we might have fumbled the WC . Hugo Brooks ain’t no dummy. He knows a draw is all he needs to put us in panic mode vs Benin.

We really haven’t helped our cause by delaying the appointment of a new coach. We might be in bigger trouble than we suspect.
Re: 26 WCQ - Have we fumbled?

Given the slowness of NFF to appoint somebody, It looks the like Finito will be Eguavoen'ed. We will be clapping for him after the friendlies, and NFF will be hi-fiving each other having found a good and inexpensive coach. Only for all to fall flat into a trap set by Gernot Rohr and the Sundowns boys.

greg wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 4:33 am Given the slowness of NFF to appoint somebody, It looks the like Finito will be Eguavoen'ed. We will be clapping for him after the friendlies, and NFF will be hi-fiving each other having found a good and inexpensive coach. Only for all to fall flat into a trap set by Gernot Rohr and the Sundowns boys.
Well that’s not a fare gone conclusion,when the NFF is involved failure is too far away.
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

The logic behind hiring a coach after wasting the two friendlies has to be the dumbest move ever. NFF wants a foreign coach based on inside report and do not plan to make Finidi the longterm coach for the qualifiers. But yet, they have Finidi managing the two friendlies. Just let that shitzs sink in? The NFF does not deserve to qaulify for the worldcup and it will likely not happen.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

Goalgetter wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 10:49 am The logic behind hiring a coach after wasting the two friendlies has to be the dumbest move ever. NFF wants a foreign coach based on inside report and do not plan to make Finidi the longterm coach for the qualifiers. But yet, they have Finidi managing the two friendlies. Just let that shitzs sink in? The NFF does not deserve to qaulify for the worldcup and it will likely not happen.
Nff depends on player brilliance to win games not any kind or organization or coaching. In the end , the likes of Osihmen will take the blame if we don't qualify while the same Nff continues running the show

Goalgetter wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 10:49 am The logic behind hiring a coach after wasting the two friendlies has to be the dumbest move ever. NFF wants a foreign coach based on inside report and do not plan to make Finidi the longterm coach for the qualifiers. But yet, they have Finidi managing the two friendlies. Just let that shitzs sink in? The NFF does not deserve to qaulify for the worldcup and it will likely not happen.
I recently watched a man that was a former memher of the NFF and Gombe FA. The guy said a Nigerian coach can't handle the Eagles because there are so many Nigerians from the Diaspora in the team. That is the kind of people running our football.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 6:21 pm
I recently watched a man that was a former memher of the NFF and Gombe FA. The guy said a Nigerian coach can't handle the Eagles because there are so many Nigerians from the Diaspora in the team. That is the kind of people running our football.

Do you have a link to where you watched this? I am really curious what he was trying to articulate. I definitely agree with you that if one considers the worst-case scenario of what he said where he is articulating only his jaundiced opinion, it is an appalling and saddening mindset to have in our football or really any management. If one however considers the best-case scenario where he may have been articulating what he has observed rather than his opinion, then it places the problem and thus solution in other areas.

theDunamis wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 6:34 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 6:21 pm

Do you have a link to where you watched this? I am really curious what he was trying to articulate. I definitely agree with you that if one considers the worst-case scenario of what he said where he is articulating only his jaundiced opinion, it is an appalling and saddening mindset to have in our football or really any management. If one however considers the best-case scenario where he may have been articulating what he has observed rather than his opinion, then it places the problem and thus solution in other areas.
Colo mentality is real. Some one need to ask him how many players from the Diaspora play for Senegal and his Cisse an indigenous coach?

Still shaking my head. No wonder Nigeria football or Nigeria in general is in a bad state.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 8:52 pmColo mentality is real. Some one need to ask him how many players from the Diaspora play for Senegal and his Cisse an indigenous coach?

Still shaking my head. No wonder Nigeria football or Nigeria in general is in a bad state.

Thanks ohenhen. An appalling and saddening mindset to have in our management whatever the source.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 9:46 pm We’re still in it but we have less than 90 days before the next game and the 2nd game is a week after that. We host SA then travel to Benin. 2 huge games with massive massive implications. We have to get 6pts from both games to remain relevant in the standings. A loss in any of the 2k games would be fatal.

We have 2 friendlies coming up that could be useless if a new coach has no impact. The new coach will essentially start his reign with 2 of the biggest games he will ever have. Any dropped pts could mean the end of him. I’m really starting to suspect that we might have fumbled the WC . Hugo Brooks ain’t no dummy. He knows a draw is all he needs to put us in panic mode vs Benin.

We really haven’t helped our cause by delaying the appointment of a new coach. We might be in bigger trouble than we suspect.
...we have abundant of coaches waiting, in Nigeria, (sans the wrong skin color?).
All of them know these players from day one.
A new oyinbo journey man will come in to learn their names, their slangs, how they talk, etc
na we dey shoot ourselves for foot all the time, so won't be surprised if we drop points, or not qualify.