NFF Prefers Hiring a Foreign Manager......

Is this really a shock? Nope. Since, 1950s, Nigerians have been told multiple times that they are not good enough to manage football. Obviously managing football is so complicated for the Nigerian mind. :rotf: :rotf: They must always be in a position of learning. Yet, the record when a Nigerian handles the team and when a foreigner handles the team is essentially without a different outcome. But the mentality persists..... In my view, any foreign manager hired by this set of NFF leaders MUST demonstratively show that he is significantly better than any other coach. Antonio Canceicao mentioned in this piece is not demonstratively better than multiple Nigerians. His only trump card is that he is European, Are the indigenous coaches who applied for this job simply wasting their time?
SPORTS
NFF Technical Committee Favours Foreign Coach For Super Eagles
https://dailytrust.com/nff-technical-co ... er-eagles/

Sat, 16 Mar 2024 23:27:19 WAT
Indications have emerged that the Technical Committee of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) is favourably disposed to the hiring of another expatriate tactician to replace Jose Peseiro as Super Eagles coach.

Following the vacant position of head coach of the Super Eagles after the expiration of the contract of the former coach, the NFF recently placed an advertorial for interested coaches to apply for the plum job.

Interestingly, over 40 coaches, both local and foreign, are said to have applied for the position that many Nigerian football stakeholders now feel should be occupied by an indigenous coach.

Former Nigerian internationals, Emmanuel Amuneke, Finidi George who served as assistant coach to Peseiro, Daniel Amokachi, Sunday Oliseh, Salisu Yusuf assistant in the days of Gernot Rohr and Sylvanus Okpala are among Nigerian coaches who have applied for the job.

Micheal Nsien, a Nigerian coach who is currently handling the USA U-17 and U-19 national teams, is also in the race for the juicy position.

One-time Indomitable Lions of Cameroon Portuguese coach, Antonio Canceicao is the foreign manager who is said to be highly favoured to land the Super Eagles job.

Nigerian football stakeholders led by a former Green Eagles captain, Chief Segun Odegbami, have said one of the ex-Super Eagles players should be assigned the responsibility of managing the Super Eagles since the country’s over-reliance on foreign technical advisers has not yielded the desired results.

However, an influential member of the NFF Technical Committee who spoke on condition of anonymity has said what the Super Eagles need right now is a sound foreign technical adviser who will not only impact positively on the senior national team but help in developing other aspects of Nigerian football.

He reiterated that there is nothing wrong with hiring a foreign coach, but whoever is coming must be a world-class coach with a track record of achievement as manager of a renowned football nation.

“I have nothing against indigenous coaches, but I will say that the person we need at the moment is a foreign coach with the prerequisite experience to handle the Super Eagles. He must be the type of coach who will come and support in the overall development of our football.

“The Super Eagles as presently constituted are too big for the indigenous coaches that Nigerians are clamouring for. They are not bad coaches, but they are not yet at the level that they can effectively handle the senior national team.

“If you talk to most of my colleagues in the committee, they will tell you the same thing. Most of us are for a foreign coach for the Super Eagles. I believe the NFF will see reason with some of us on this matter,” said the powerful member of the NFF Technical Committee.

It will be recalled that the Technical Committee met recently in Abuja to scrutinise the applications received by the football federation after it advertised the vacant positions of the head coach of the Super Eagles and the Golden Eaglets.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: NFF Prefers Hiring a Foreign Manager......

How do they define a "foreign coach?"

1. white skin?
2. lives and coaches abroad?
3. non-Nigerian with no-Nigerian ancestry?

W need to know which bucket they have placed Egbo and Nsien.

danfo driver wrote: Sun Mar 17, 2024 9:24 pm How do they define a "foreign coach?"

1. white skin?

Not sure how the NFF defines a "foreigner." But if the word is used as it should then anyone without a Nigerian passport or citizenship is by definition a foreigner, coaches will not be an exception.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Off course they want a foreign coach. They are idiots. Lets see who is the next journey man failure they will appoint.

Enugu II wrote: Sun Mar 17, 2024 9:35 pm
danfo driver wrote: Sun Mar 17, 2024 9:24 pm How do they define a "foreign coach?"

1. white skin?

Not sure how the NFF defines a "foreigner." But if the word is used as it should then anyone without a Nigerian passport or citizenship is by definition a foreigner, coaches will not be an exception.
Egbo has an Albanian passport and Nsien has an American passport. I am sure both men can quickly tear their green pali, before you say "shokolokobangoshey!" :lol:

danfo driver wrote: Sun Mar 17, 2024 10:01 pm
Enugu II wrote: Sun Mar 17, 2024 9:35 pm

1. white skin?

Egbo has an Albanian passport and Nsien has an American passport. I am sure both men can quickly tear their green pali, before you say "shokolokobangoshey!" :lol:
Danfo,

But I am certain they are not the only Nigerians with dual citizenship. I believe many of the current players who put on the GWG today are dual citizens as well.

This is what happens when we have a slave leadership. Don't forget Nigeria's former name was slave coast. Clearly, they prefer a foreign coach. Hence the delay in announcing a coach. Ghana have announced theirs. Until the day we have leaders who outrightly reject foreign coaches we will keep having coaches from different European countries raping Nigeria and taking their turns abated by the slave leadership

highbury wrote: Mon Mar 18, 2024 12:36 am This is what happens when we have a slave leadership. Don't forget Nigeria's former name was slave coast. Clearly, they prefer a foreign coach. Hence the delay in announcing a coach. Ghana have announced theirs. Until the day we have leaders who outrightly reject foreign coaches we will keep having coaches from different European countries raping Nigeria and taking their turns abated by the slave leadership
Highbury,

Given the list that has so far become public, NFF will confirm its mentality of Oyibo na Oyibo (translated: Better than Nigerian) that we have always known and witnessed. I believe that the only reason the NFF had not restricted this to only Europeans is simply because of the public push back in Nigeria. However, as the news article clearly shows: The mentality exists within the NFF Board. That mentality, BTW, is abound within this forum. Let me be clear, the mentality within the bound is not always based on perceived superior ability but also based on pecuniary and its opportunity a la the Glenn Hoddle revelation years ago!

Enugu II wrote: Mon Mar 18, 2024 12:44 am
highbury wrote: Mon Mar 18, 2024 12:36 am This is what happens when we have a slave leadership. Don't forget Nigeria's former name was slave coast. Clearly, they prefer a foreign coach. Hence the delay in announcing a coach. Ghana have announced theirs. Until the day we have leaders who outrightly reject foreign coaches we will keep having coaches from different European countries raping Nigeria and taking their turns abated by the slave leadership
Highbury,

Given the list that has so far become public, NFF will confirm its mentality of Oyibo na Oyibo (translated: Better than Nigerian) that we have always known and witnessed. I believe that the only reason the NFF had not restricted this to only Europeans is simply because of the public push back in Nigeria. However, as the news article clearly shows: The mentality exists within the NFF Board. That mentality, BTW, is abound within this forum. Let me be clear, the mentality within the bound is not always based on perceived superior ability but also based on pecuniary and its opportunity a la the Glenn Hoddle revelation years ago!
Agree, the mentality is still prevalent in the forum. Vancity is one. Slave coast is still controlled by forces outside Nigeria. That's why ideas that promote foreign influence is sustained while ideas that promote Nationalism is frowned upon. Nigeria aka slave coast is still in slavery.
OJI

Post by OJI »

Enugu II wrote: Mon Mar 18, 2024 12:44 am
Highbury,

Could it also be that the indigenous coach has ways and means of navigating the football landscape? Navigating to the point of securing above-NFF godfathers to keep pesky irritants away? Indigenous Westerhoff had direct access to the then Vice President's office. Keshi even supposedly involved the DSS to ensure Pinnick, and his goons stayed in their lane.

Could it also be that given the peculiar NFF's salary paying patterns, the indigenous coach would have no choice but to resort to self-dealing conduct that would threaten to kill the goose (SuperEagles) that lays the golden eggs?

Could it also be that the perception that the indigenous coach is (more) susceptible to influences that it would threaten the recruitment of dual-national players? Dual-national players the NFF would have endeavored to make them switch loyalties?

Technical committee waiting for a foreign technical adviser/coach to come and improve our football? Wonderful!

And I can’t believe this statement came out of someone’s mouth. Shocked.
“The Super Eagles as presently constituted are too big for the indigenous coaches that Nigerians are clamouring for. They are not bad coaches, but they are not yet at the level that they can effectively handle the senior national team.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

How come Finidi is the only local league coach in consideration for SE? What about other coaches in the NPFL who are not former players that played abroad? They don’t even get a mention on CE.

This discrimination nonsense got to stop. They are now saying they will not even consider a foreign coach for the U17 team because they prefer indigenous coaches. The people running our football are idiots. Why do you have to discriminate by nationality or where you were born. It is wrong when you do it against Nigerians. It is wrong when you do it to foreigners. If the guy that applied to the U17 team is good, hire him. What difference does it make if he is foreign or local. The reality is the people running our football are un educated people. They are politicians that are used to the divisive nature of NIgerian politics. They use tribalism and religion to divide Nigeria. They are now using the foreign vs indigenous coach nonsense. Another angle to the nonsense is they are lazy. They think a foreign coach can help them get more contacts for friendlies and etc. It will be easier for foreigners to stay in Europe to scout players. There is probably an hidden angle I am not aware of. What you see is the result of having stupid people in charge of Nigeria.

Owngoal is now leaking that Concecao is the favorite because he has only lost 2 games in 24 matches in Africa lol. Looks like they have found their next journey man mercenary coach.

If we had smart people in charge of the NFF. They would come up with a strategy to make more money to be self sufficient. They would manage their resources more wisely. They would improve the local league. They would improve the education of local coaches. They would worry about referees not been invited to regional and international competitions. The idiots are not worried about all of that. They engage in discrimination.