WHY Michael Nsien could possibly become the COMPROMISE CANDIDATE.......

Michael Nsien is an American coach who has coached both men and boys’ football in America may be trend up in the imaginary no-holds barred fight for national Manager of the Super Eagles. His parents are Nigerians, and it matters.
We know that there is an increasingly entrenched divide within the NFF Board on who next should manage the Super Eagles. The increasing media leaks that include kite flying to test the public “waters” and the use of stooges to boost or damage key figures will be even more ramped up in the coming days. That always is the way it is in this death-wise struggle for who should be the next Manager of Nigeria. https://www.afrik-foot.com/en-ng/next-n ... head-coachThe Dankaro House in Abuja must be a beehive with the undergirded campaigns.

Michael Nsien: Compromise candidate?

Finidi George, the erstwhile Assistant to departed Manager Jose Peseiro was given the chance to manage the team on interim basis, over two games, against Top-10 African teams. He won one game but lost the next. That very loss has given the foreign manager-bloc [https://newtelegraphng.com/eagles-job-a ... -collapse/]within the NFF a chance to fight back and the bloc will take it and massage it. Those who have entrenched for a local coach have suffered a setback but they have a trump card still. Make no mistake about it.

What is that trump card, you ask?
There is the issue of depleting NFF coffers, the “hammer” held by a Sports Minister, and there is a reminder that finding a successful foreign manager is not an easy one. We will get reminders of Johaness Bonfrere’s failure on the way to the 2002 World Cup when disastrous capitulations in Monrovia and Freetown had to be rescued with little to spare by the late Shuaibu Amodu. But if all else fails, there is always the option of Michael Nsen.

Michael Nsien will be and is the compromise. Michael Nsien is born to Nigerian parents, speaks like the revered “foreigner” that is always worshipped. :rotf: Importantly, he has overseen the development of youths in America, a country ranked 13 by FIFA. Nigeria’s rank? No. 28 by FIFA. Michael Nsien fits the part. Those entrenched for the local coach will accept him and those baying for a foreign coach will take the bait. Importantly, he will fit the wage scale and eye the job as a veritable stepping stone for something bigger in the future just the way previous managers have done.

Just, my tuppence.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: WHY Michael Nsien could possibly become the COMPROMISE CANDIDATE.......

Nsien would do so much better…

Too big a gamble to take. He is an unknown quantity!

The Locos are in a state of panic after the Mali game. What is a compromise candidate and what is being compromised
?

Enugu II wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:32 am Michael Nsien is an American coach who has coached both men and boys’ football in America may be trend up in the imaginary no-holds barred fight for national Manager of the Super Eagles. His parents are Nigerians, and it matters.
We know that there is an increasingly entrenched divide within the NFF Board on who next should manage the Super Eagles. The increasing media leaks that include kite flying to test the public “waters” and the use of stooges to boost or damage key figures will be even more ramped up in the coming days. That always is the way it is in this death-wise struggle for who should be the next Manager of Nigeria. https://www.afrik-foot.com/en-ng/next-n ... head-coachThe Dankaro House in Abuja must be a beehive with the undergirded campaigns.

Finidi George, the erstwhile Assistant to departed Manager Jose Peseiro was given the chance to manage the team on interim basis, over two games, against Top-10 African teams. He won one game but lost the next. That very loss has given the foreign manager-bloc [https://newtelegraphng.com/eagles-job-a ... -collapse/]within the NFF a chance to fight back and the bloc will take it and massage it. Those who have entrenched for a local coach have suffered a setback but they have a trump card still. Make no mistake about it.

There is the issue of depleting NFF coffers, the “hammer” held by a Sports Minister, and there is a reminder that finding a successful foreign manager is not an easy one. We will get reminders of Johaness Bonfrere’s failure on the way to the 2002 World Cup when disastrous capitulations in Monrovia and Freetown had to be rescued with little to spare by the late Shuaibu Amodu. But if all else fails, there is always the option of Michael Nsen.

Michael Nsien will be and is the compromise. Michael Nsien is born to Nigerian parents, speaks like the revered “foreigner” that is always worshipped. :rotf: Importantly, he has overseen the development of youths in America, a country ranked 13 by FIFA. Nigeria’s rank? No. 28 by FIFA. Michael Nsien fits the part. Those entrenched for the local coach will accept him and those baying for a foreign coach will take the bait. Importantly, he will fit the wage scale and eye the job as a veritable stepping stone for something bigger in the future just the way previous managers have done.

Just, my tuppence.
What has he won as a manager? It’s not enough saying he coaches US youth teams.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:52 am
Enugu II wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:32 am Michael Nsien is an American coach who has coached both men and boys’ football in America may be trend up in the imaginary no-holds barred fight for national Manager of the Super Eagles. His parents are Nigerians, and it matters.

Just, my tuppence.
Lolly,

You do not appear to know much about these candidates. Nsien has coached men's teams and not just youth teams. Well, here is an extract:

On December 7, 2018, Nsien was named the full-time head coach of Tulsa. In his three seasons as the full-time head coach, Nsien has compiled a record of 28W-31L-22D, while leading FC Tulsa to back-to-back USL Championship Playoff berths in 2020 and 2021. Under his leadership, the 2020 and 2021 seasons were the best in Tulsa’s six-year USL Championship history as the club made the Playoffs twice, compiled a franchise-best seven match unbeaten streak and had the club’s best-ever defense in 2020, and then boasted the club’s best record in franchise history and most points earned in a single season in 2021.

Nsien currently holds USSF “Pro” and his UEFA “A” coaching licenses. In December of 2020, Nsien became the first African American coach to earn his USSF Pro License. He has spent time learning the coaching profession with historic European clubs Benfica, Liverpool, Manchester United, and Manchester City at their respected academies. --- https://www.fctulsa.com/news/2021/01/05 ... ead-coach/
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Why are people pushing this dude? Is the US U19 that dominant in the world.

1naija wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:38 pm Why are people pushing this dude? Is the US U19 that dominant in the world.
Nope. But they receive the rather infamous "football education" that local Nigerian coaches are not able to impart ( :rotf: :rotf:)

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:46 am The Locos are in a state of panic after the Mali game. What is a compromise candidate and what is being compromised
?
A compromised candidate is one that has been Salisued by agents or the NFF.

He is a good candidate for the U20 team.

Nigerians are delusional. This WOWO problem is bigger than I expected. They now want a guy in the MLS over Finidi George.

fledy

Post by fledy »

Michael Nsien will be a great choice to coach the SE! This guy is legit! Understands the game, can develop a the SE brand and make into something special. Michael is brilliant & knows what it takes to get SE where it needs to be. I am a bit biased 'cos I know him very well.

What football education? Can you be more specific?
Enugu II wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:39 pm
1naija wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:38 pm Why are people pushing this dude? Is the US U19 that dominant in the world.
Nope. But they receive the rather infamous "football education" that local Nigerian coaches are not able to impart ( :rotf: :rotf:)

Enugu II wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:25 pm

Just, my tuppence.
Lolly,

You do not appear to know much about these candidates. Nsien has coached men's teams and not just youth teams. Well, here is an extract:

On December 7, 2018, Nsien was named the full-time head coach of Tulsa. In his three seasons as the full-time head coach, Nsien has compiled a record of 28W-31L-22D, while leading FC Tulsa to back-to-back USL Championship Playoff berths in 2020 and 2021. Under his leadership, the 2020 and 2021 seasons were the best in Tulsa’s six-year USL Championship history as the club made the Playoffs twice, compiled a franchise-best seven match unbeaten streak and had the club’s best-ever defense in 2020, and then boasted the club’s best record in franchise history and most points earned in a single season in 2021.

Nsien currently holds USSF “Pro” and his UEFA “A” coaching licenses. In December of 2020, Nsien became the first African American coach to earn his USSF Pro License. He has spent time learning the coaching profession with historic European clubs Benfica, Liverpool, Manchester United, and Manchester City at their respected academies. --- https://www.fctulsa.com/news/2021/01/05 ... ead-coach/
So his biggest appointment to date is still coaching the US youth teams? Coaching in USL is like coaching an amateur club in Europe.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Our NFF and most of us fans are too impatient with tracking the performance of coaches in sports.
How was it concluded after two friendlies and a 50% record, that Finidi is the right or wrong coach
for the SE? Emotions, I would say, and that should not be used to determine success in an
endeavor with endless probabilities, like football.

No matter who we choose to coach the SE, we should allow for at least ten matches, with no
interfering his decisions, under his guide to determine if he fits the position. On this some might
say, 'we don't have time, as the 2026 World Cup qualifiers are around the corner'. I would like to
counter with, 'what happened when we missed the one in Qatar? Did our passion for the game die?

It's been said that 'Rome wasn't built in a day', but 'funny' Nigerians want a coach that comes
to the job with the trophies in hand. We need to adopt a mind of building and preparing
for success, and not pretend we can buy it.

I have a problem with his statement about the MLS. That is a red flag for me. But you never know. I would like to see him start out as the U20 coach/assistant SE coach.

ohenhen1 wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:16 pm I have a problem with his statement about the MLS. That is a red flag for me. But you never know. I would like to see him start out as the U20 coach/assistant SE coach.
So a simple statement by Nsien is a red flag ?

But a statement followed by absolute clueless decisions and complete lack of foresight by Finidi is not ?

You are showing yourself to be the most clueless and biased forumer BY FAR.

fledy wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:20 pm Michael Nsien will be a great choice to coach the SE! This guy is legit! Understands the game, can develop a the SE brand and make into something special. Michael is brilliant & knows what it takes to get SE where it needs to be. I am a bit biased 'cos I know him very well.
Why is he not coaching the US national team?

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:26 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:16 pm I have a problem with his statement about the MLS. That is a red flag for me. But you never know. I would like to see him start out as the U20 coach/assistant SE coach.
So a simple statement by Nsien is a red flag ?

But a statement followed by absolute clueless decisions and complete lack of foresight by Finidi is not ?

You are showing yourself to be the most clueless and biased forumer BY FAR.
i watched the interview. It had that American arrogant tone to it. It bothered me. But i am not going judge him based on that. Lets see what he can do. Certainly not as head coach of the SE for now. He doesn't have the senior team experience. He is the U19 coach of the US. Also will not automatically give him a job. Every one must interview.

Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

Just, my tuppence.
I couldn't agree more...
NIGERIAN BADBOY!

He is my 4th choice -

Egbo
Pisto
Goncalves
Nsien

I dont want ANY member of the Class of '94 anywhere near our SE. That cursed poison chalice filled with lazy, hangers on, who know nothing about football, should never get anywhere near our team again. We are done! I dont want to see any of them coaching the SE. Let them go and get a darn job! There are many clubs out there. The SE is NOT their birthright.

Enugu II wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:25 pm

Just, my tuppence.
Lolly,

Good CV in America, but they won't respect him in Naija.

wanaj0 wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:40 pm
fledy wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:20 pm Michael Nsien will be a great choice to coach the SE! This guy is legit! Understands the game, can develop a the SE brand and make into something special. Michael is brilliant & knows what it takes to get SE where it needs to be. I am a bit biased 'cos I know him very well.
Why is he not coaching the US national team?
wanajO,

So if na you dey coach USA national team, you will leave that and downgrade to coach Nigeria? you got to be kidding! No way!!!