BBC Sport: Friendly Loss Splits Opinions.......

Finidi George: Nigeria's friendly results split opinion on claim for Super Eagles post
https://www.bbc.com/sport/africa/68677830
Published
5 hours ago

By Oluwashina Okeleji
Sports Writer

Amidst the uncertainty following Jose Peseiro's departure as Nigeria coach, this month's friendlies represented an opportunity for erstwhile assistant Finidi George to stake a claim for the national team job.

The Enyimba coach is, according to reports, one of as many as 30 applicants for the Super Eagles role on a full-time basis.

The 52-year-old was placed in charge for games against Ghana and Mali, with the view that a good pair of results would bolster the former international's chances.

The outcomes in Morocco, however, were mixed - with the 2-1 win over the Black Stars followed by a 2-0 defeat by Mali.

Public reaction swung from positive to negative over the space of four days, with critics saying George is not ready for the top job.

However, veteran defender Kenneth Omeruo is keen for the 1994 Africa Cup of Nations winner to be handed the reins.

"One difference is he wants us to play good football and I like that," the 30-year-old told BBC Sport Africa.

"I actually think he knows what he is doing, and he deserves to be given the job."

Choices limited by injuries
Detractors point to the manner in which Mali dominated the contest in Marrakech on Tuesday as proof of George's unsuitability for the role.

His decision-making around selection and substitutions has also been questioned, with many struggling to understand the lack of minutes afforded to players such as Nathan Tella, Fisayo Dele-Bashiru, Umar Sadiq and back-up goalkeepers Olorunleke Ojo and Francis Uzoho.

While these are valid concerns, his defenders have been quick to cite mitigating circumstances.

George only assumed the role a few days before facing Ghana and, while the execution of his tactical ideas has not been perfect, both friendlies were departures from the defence-first approach that held sway in the latter days of Peseiro.

The former Ajax, Real Betis and Ipswich Town winger also had to contend with a number of injuries to key players, as close to half the starting XI from the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations final in February was unavailable, impacting team chemistry and limiting options.

William Troost-Ekong, who was named Most Valuable Player at the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations, was among a host of names unavailable to George

While George has to bear responsibility for his choices he was also dealt a poor hand, having been tasked to lead the Super Eagles with no technical assistance aside from goalkeeping coach Abiodun Baruwa .

It is also not the case that Mali, quarter-finalists at the recent Nations Cup, are a side Nigeria should be embarrassed to lose to.

Perhaps the biggest point in George's favour is that the players have responded well to his coaching.

"The training programs were very good and players were giving 100 percent in training," Omeruo said.

"I think we played very good football [in the] second half (against Mali). We weren't waiting to be attacked. If we converted our chances, we could have done the job."

Former winger George cages strikers
George's decision to start the match against Mali without a focal point in attack, though ultimately futile, could be seen as him seeking to address the inevitable shortfall in midfield against a team which routinely fields four central midfielders.

Natural strikers Sadiq and Cyriel Dessers were surprisingly left on the bench, with George opting for Leicester City's Kelechi Iheanacho in the lead striker role and winger Moses Simon behind him.

Dessers replaced Simon, who was stretchered off injured after 29 minutes, and blasted a great chance over the bar in the 64th minute.

A first-half goal from El Bilal Toure, following a defensive slip by Chidozie Awaziem, and Kamory Doumbia's superb late strike gave the Eagles their first win over Nigeria in almost 49 years.

The decision not to field a recognised striker was a gamble that did not pay off, but the stakes are so high for the Super Eagles that such an error, even in a friendly, is considered by many as indicative of the risk involved in hiring George.

Rangers striker Cyriel Dessers started and scored for Nigeria against Ghana, but was then dropped to the bench when the Super Eagles faced Mali

Having dropped four points at the start of their qualifying campaign for the 2026 World Cup, Nigeria will reconvene in June knowing that maximum points against South Africa and Benin are key to getting back on track in Group C.

Under those circumstances, entrusting the role to George is seen as a leap of faith - one which could make or break the Super Eagles' chances of reaching the finals.

The coach, for his part, has refused to comment on the possibility of getting the job on a permanent basis, declaring himself grateful for the chance to manage the team for two important friendlies.

"I think it was just a few mistakes that cost us the match," George said after the Mali defeat.

"It was not a bad game. Good intensity, we created a couple of chances, but didn't score. And in a game like this, if you make mistakes you will be punished.

"The positives are there for all to see. I am equally grateful for the opportunity to lead this amazing group and my country."

Contenders vying for Nigeria hot seat
Nigeria have been without a coach since February, when Peseiro's contract was not renewed, and George faces varied competition for a place in the Super Eagles dugout.

Among those who have reportedly applied for the vacant post include 1994 African Footballer of the Year, and former Tanzania coach, Emmanuel Amuneke.

Another notable applicant is Ndubuisi Egbo, who in 2020 at KF Tirana became the first African coach to lead a European team to a league title and qualification to the Uefa Champions League or any European competition.

Fast-rising Michael Nsien, coach of the United States Under-19s, threw his hat into the ring and has since won plaudits after speaking about his strategy to improve the three-time African champions.

Meanwhile, Portuguese Toni Conceicao, who led Cameroon to a third place finish at the 2021 Nations Cup tournament on home soil, has also applied to lead the Super Eagles.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: BBC Sport: Friendly Loss Splits Opinions.......

The vultures have surrounded Finidi.

Now there’s a report on OGN that Lookman and a few players were so upset with Finidi for not playing that they refused to shake his hand after the game. If true, we haven’t heard of this kind of dissent in the team for a long long time. Also, it turns out that Finidi didn’t have any assistants for the friendlies. So who were the people he met with in the pic showing them planning for the game?

https://owngoalnigeria.com/2024/03/28/l ... t-to-mali/

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:52 pm The vultures have surrounded Finidi.

Now there’s a report on OGN that Lookman and a few players were so upset with Finidi for not playing that they refused to shake his hand after the game. If true, we haven’t heard of this kind of dissent in the team for a long long time. Also, it turns out that Finidi didn’t have any assistants for the friendlies. So who were the people he met with in the pic showing them planning for the game?

Well, nothing new.

Do you think Moffi and Iheanacho will send flowers thanking Peseiro after the AFCON? :rotf: :rotf:

But, seriously, I do not understand why some players (not Lookman) did not get a single minute in a FRIENDLY game. That just does not make sense to me.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:52 pm The vultures have surrounded Finidi.

That's own goal, I doubt that the Story is true

Enugu II wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:20 pm

Well, nothing new.

Do you think Moffi and Iheanacho will send flowers thanking Peseiro after the AFCON? :rotf: :rotf:

But, seriously, I do not understand why some players (not Lookman) did not get a single minute in a FRIENDLY game. That just does not make sense to me.
It doesn't make sense. Unless he assured the likes of Lookman that they are starters. I don't like dissent from players but these players could've gone on break to recover from nagging injuries or rest and you invite them for two friendlies and don't play them for a minute. That one was a head scratcher for me.
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

A similar report is published on BrilaFM website. People here tend to disparage owngial all the time. But each time there reports end up being true.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

No need for that nonsense. You can still shake his hand and complain in private.

I wish some of the journalists can reach to Finidi and ask him why he didn't use his subs. Its a real head-scratcher.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

I think benching Lookman and Simon for the first game was not polite to say the least. They're part of the 11 that drove the team to the finals just a couple months ago. I can certainly see both getting pissed watching Dressers and Nacho start ahead of them, They're justifies IMHO.

The bottom line is what was the purpose of these 2 friendlies

Was it

To play your strongest team available to get them gelled as much as possible ?

FAIL. Why leave Lookman and Simon on the bench ?

Was it to try new players ?

FAIL. Fisayo, Tella, Yusuf , Sadiq did not get a single second combined.

Was it to see how a team can react to given situations ?

FAIL.

There was no rhyme or reason to what Finidi did and it was pure negligence and downright CRIMINAL with what is at stake in June.

He EASILY fails his test. Self immolation. There isn't much he could have done to completely discredit himself over these 2 matches, yet he chose exactly that.

An utter disaster of a coach.

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:53 pm The bottom line is what was the purpose of these 2 friendlies

Was it

FAIL.

There was no rhyme or reason to what Finidi did and it was pure negligence and downright CRIMINAL with what is at stake in June.

He EASILY fails his test. Self immolation. There isn't much he could have done to completely discredit himself over these 2 matches, yet he chose exactly that.

So what is your Oyinbo pick? Let's hear them. We know you love them.

highbury wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:57 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:53 pm The bottom line is what was the purpose of these 2 friendlies

Was it

FAIL.

Anybody who will not self sabotage.

Anybody who does not operate on sentiments.

We avoid those 2 traits and we are GOOD.

Why do most Nigerian coaches have to PROVE A POINT, by "teaching key players a lesson" "showing them who is boss"

What's with this stupid ego thing ?

Keshi did it

Oliseh did it

And now Finidi.

Just awful man.

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:00 pm
highbury wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:57 pm

Was it

FAIL.

Anybody who will not self sabotage.

Anybody who does not operate on sentiments.

We avoid those 2 traits and we are GOOD.
My relative is White. He coaches U5yr old boys. He will not sabotage and operate on sentiments. Would you support him?
Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

Well, nothing new.

Well, if you really think about it, there is only one rational explanation...
NIGERIAN BADBOY!

Schillachi wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:05 pm

Well, nothing new.

Biko, tell us. I have been searching the internet for answers.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:46 pm I think benching Lookman and Simon for the first game was not polite to say the least. They're part of the 11 that drove the team to the finals just a couple months ago. I can certainly see both getting pissed watching Dressers and Nacho start ahead of them, They're justifies IMHO.
Honestly, the more I think about this, the more enraged I become. Why the tendency to self-destruct? By the way, wasn't Calvin Bassey there? He didn't see a minute. You didn't start Lookman, didn't start Moses against Ghana. Lookman scored against Ghana, yet you left him on the bench against Mali. Moses got injured and you brought in Dessrs instead of Lookman.

We were down and you only used two subs with one of the forced. Is this not a curse? Deep down, I think we really know what's going on. Let's not deceive ourselves here. My suspicion is that Finidi colluded with NFF to showcase specific players for maximum time. I can't find any other rational explanation for these choices...
Last edited by Schillachi on Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
NIGERIAN BADBOY!
Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

Lolly wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:08 pm
Schillachi wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:05 pm

Well, nothing new.

Biko, tell us. I have been searching the internet for answers.
I suspect Finidi colluded with NFF to give certain players maximum playing time. That's the only rational explanation here.
NIGERIAN BADBOY!

Schillachi wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:13 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:46 pm I think benching Lookman and Simon for the first game was not polite to say the least. They're part of the 11 that drove the team to the finals just a couple months ago. I can certainly see both getting pissed watching Dressers and Nacho start ahead of them, They're justifies IMHO.
Honestly, the more I think about this, the more enraged I become. Why the tendency to self-destruct? By the way, wasn't Calvin Bassey there? He didn't see a minute. You didn't start Lookman, didn't start Moses against Ghana. Lookman scored against Ghana, yet you left him on the bench against Mali. Moses got injured and you brought in Dessrs instead of Lookman.

We were down and you only used two subs with one of the forced. Is this not a curse? Deep down, I think we really know what's going on. Let's not deceive ourselves here. My suspicion is that Finidi colluded with NFF to showcase specific players for maximum time. I can't find any other rational explanation for these choices...
Here’s the Brila report. Abi dem too dey lie?

https://www.brila.net/report-group-of-s ... th-finidi/

Lolly wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:22 pm

No need for that nonsense. You can still shake his hand and complain in private.

I wish some of the journalists can reach to Finidi and ask him why he didn't use his subs. Its a real head-scratcher.
Lolly,

TBH, I am disappointed if Lookman shared this with the media. On this, I think it is probably true because his name is specifically mentioned. In Owngoal's conjectured stories it is quite unusual for names to be specified. Thus, this story has legs to it. If it is untrue then Lookman should immediately issue a rebuttal. In fact, even if it is, he is best advised to respond in the media and claim that he was misquoted. Either way , he should never allow his name to be associated with such a complaint and certainly not in the media.

Why do I feel disappointed? Let me also add that I also feel, additionally, sorry for Lookman. A manager is human and I will not be surprised if Finidi begins to treat Lookman differently if and when the former is named full time Manager. At that time, Lookman will regret making this public. Lookman played minutes in both games. Yes, he had become a starter under Peserio after a long period of not being one. But who is he to determine for a Manager who starts and who does not?

I, as well as many others, wonder why players would be invited for these friendlies and not get a single minute of action on the field. But that, by no way, represents Lookman's case. Lookman played in both games and the fact that he did not start is just irrelevant because that is the Manager's decision and not Lookman's. No one has appointed Lookman manager and his complain should be flushed down the toilet and nothing more.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:29 pm

Emir,

This report by Brila is much more sanitized. The one by Owngoal naming Lookman as complaining and talking to the media (with quotes) is far more damaging for the player. If I am Lookman, he better get on this immediately by denying it or at least claiming that he had been misquoted. If not, his career under Finidi or another coach at the NT can be in jeopardy. Better believe it.

That report is very vague.

Enugu II wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:39 pm

Emir,

This report by Brila is much more sanitized. The one by Owngoal naming Lookman as complaining and talking to the media (with quotes) is far more damaging for the player. If I am Lookman, he better get on this immediately by denying it or at least claiming that he had been misquoted. If not, his career under Finidi or another coach at the NT can be in jeopardy. Better believe it.
Let these clowns end Lookmans career.

SE will become a glorified Benin.

Some of you wondered why some wanted nothing to do with a local coach.

Well here you have it.

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:43 pm
Enugu II wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:39 pm

Emir,

Let these clowns end Lookmans career.

SE will become a glorified Benin.

Some of you wondered why some wanted nothing to do with a local coach.

Well here you have it.

Bros,

Lookman does not even dream or come close to what Finidi did in global soccer or does he even come close to what Finidi did in the GWG. Let us be clear on that. Moreover, Finidi has coached both in Europe and Nigeria and has won a league trophy.

Bros, Lookman is easily replaceable. Make no mistake about it. For his sake, I hope Lookman will come out and deny the quote attributed to him. he will be better for it. Football, after all, is not devoid of human relations.