“It is the turn of the North” – Shameful! Super Eagles coach selection marred by regional politics

The Super Eagles of Nigeria are currently without a permanent head coach following the exit of Jose Peseiro.

A prominent Nigerian media outlet has stirred up a contentious debate by advocating for what they call the “zoning” or rotation of the Super Eagles coaching role, as reported by Soccernet.ng.

This suggestion proposes that the next coach of the national team should hail from the northern region of Nigeria.

Several names have been floated as potential candidates, including Salisu Yusuf, Babaganaru Mohammed, Abdul Maikaba, and Usman Abdallah.

The backdrop to this discussion is the recent departure of Jose Peseiro, whose contract came to an end. With the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) publicly announcing the vacancy in the coaching position, it seems clear that Peseiro will not be returning to lead the team.

In the interim, names like Finidi George, Emmanuel Amuneke, Sunday Oliseh, and Sia Sia have been circulating as potential successors, with Coach Finidi recently taking charge of the team on a temporary basis.

However, amidst these speculations, there’s a growing concern about the regional politicisation of the coaching role.

Some voices in the media argue that there has been historical underrepresentation of coaches from the northern part of Nigeria in the Super Eagles setup.

They point out that, historically, all twelve indigenous coaches who have led the national team thus far have hailed from the southern region.

This debate has sparked broader questions about whether the selection of the national team’s coach should be based on merit or regional considerations.

Critics of the zoning proposal argue that appointing a coach based solely on their regional background overlooks the crucial factor of merit.

They highlight past administrations, which, regardless of their own regional backgrounds, have appointed coaches whom they believed were best suited for the role.

Ultimately, the central focus should be on selecting the most qualified candidate capable of steering the Super Eagles to success, free from the influence of regional or political factors.

The national team’s success depends on appointing a coach based on their abilities, experience, and vision for the team, rather than on their place of origin.

https://soccernet.ng/2024/03/it-is-the- ... itics.html
Re: “It is the turn of the North” – Shameful! Super Eagles coach selection marred by regional politics

This could be a publication’s attempt to stir up controversy.
It’s not deserving of attention IMHO.

BUT I trust my people to give it fuel, fire up the engine and away we go, running. :roll:
Re: “It is the turn of the North” – Shameful! Super Eagles coach selection marred by regional politics

It won't shock me if this is true. It is probably one of the reasons why some are pushing for a foreign coach. The tribal division and inferiority complex is the driving force behind the WOWO movement. They will even force a Northern coach that is not good enough to be the U20 coach and SE assistant. The politicians know how to divide society while they loot and they have collaborators on this site.

Awa lokan :taunt: :D
Last edited by Kako on Sun Mar 31, 2024 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Why not, why limit the rotation to only the presidency.
You think they dont play soccer in the North?
There should be qualified footballers and coaches from the North.
Damunk dont pretend that you have not said things in line with this in the past.

Finally there is starting to be parity in SE, long may it continue.

Football is about performance. It is a merit based sport.

Damunk wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 4:19 pm This could be a publication’s attempt to stir up controversy.

BUT I trust my people to give it fuel, fire up the engine and away we go, running. :roll:
:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
May your discernment keep growing.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 4:49 pm Football is about performance. It is a merit based sport.
but leadership is not?

Damunk wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 4:19 pm This could be a publication’s attempt to stir up controversy.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: i saw this two days ago and ignored it and shook my head. This is so funny. Some Nigerians aren't serious . smh

COOKING SPOON

Post by COOKING SPOON »

🤣🤣🤣🤣
They seek him here.
They seek him there.
Moderators seek him everywhere.
They seek him at night
And even at noon
That damn elusive cooking spoon

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 4:23 pm It won't shock me if this is true. It is probably one of the reasons why some are pushing for a foreign coach. The tribal division and inferiority complex is the driving force behind the WOWO movement. They will even force a Northern coach that is not good enough to be the U20 coach and SE assistant. The politicians know how to divide society while they loot and they have collaborators on this site.
Obuh and Aigbogun are not from the North. Enough of all this tribalism.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Again, it's not about foreign or local coach, but these side effects of hiring local coaches for the SE. The local coach at all cost brigade must be ecstatic about this.

ANC wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 4:36 pm Why not, why limit the rotation to only the presidency.
You think they dont play soccer in the North?
There should be qualified footballers and coaches from the North.
Damunk dont pretend that you have not said things in line with this in the past.

Finally there is starting to be parity in SE, long may it continue.
Let me assume you are misinformed rather than malicious…

When/where necessary, I stick up for all ethnic groups, including northerners, but will never argue for quota systems.
I hope the difference is clear to you now?
Good.

If we must insist of a local coach, then they have a point.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 5:58 pm If we must insist of a local coach, then they have a point.
No they don't. You people wonder why Nigeria is not developing.

Lolly wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 5:14 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 4:23 pm It won't shock me if this is true. It is probably one of the reasons why some are pushing for a foreign coach. The tribal division and inferiority complex is the driving force behind the WOWO movement. They will even force a Northern coach that is not good enough to be the U20 coach and SE assistant. The politicians know how to divide society while they loot and they have collaborators on this site.
I am talking about Laden Bosso and Salisu. Salisu was in caught red handed taken bribe. They still brought him back. I don't care what region or country you are from. Discrimination is wrong. That zoning crap won't work in football. It is the ultimate merit based sport.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 6:06 pm
Lolly wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 5:58 pm If we must insist of a local coach, then they have a point.
See person discriminating against a white man saying it is the turn of a local coach, complaining about the North insisting it is their turn too. :lol:

1naija wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 5:21 pm Again, it's not about foreign or local coach, but these side effects of hiring local coaches for the SE. The local coach at all cost brigade must be ecstatic about this.
Nigeria coaches are good. And they are technically competent.

Will you shut up there. Who are the ones pushing themselves into positions they are least qualified for??? :curse: :veryangry:

ANC wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 4:54 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 4:49 pm Football is about performance. It is a merit based sport.
but leadership is not?
Leadership is also about merit. Why do you think Nigeria is not developing?

Lolly wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 6:11 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 6:06 pm
See person discriminating against a white man saying it is the turn of a local coach, complaining about the North insisting it is their turn too. :lol:
I will take Jurgen Klopp. I don't want failed journey man mercenary coaches just because they are white.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 6:10 pm
Lolly wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 5:14 pm
I am talking about Laden Bosso and Salisu. Salisu was in caught red handed taken bribe. They still brought him back. I don't care what region or country you are from. Discrimination is wrong. That zoning crap won't work in football. It is the ultimate merit based sport.
But you are the loudest here calling for the “zoning” of the position to a local coach notwithstanding their ability to deliver. So why are you complaining when those who have been discriminated against insist it is their turn now?

Yo complain about Salisu’s crime. And I agree with you. But I hope you are aware that there are people calling for Siasia who was caught in a match fixing scandal to be coach again. Or the crime of a Northerner carries more weight than that of a Southerner?

bret- hart wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 6:13 pm
Will you shut up there. Who are the ones pushing themselves into positions they are least qualified for??? :curse: :veryangry:
Biko, don’t you ever respond to my post in this manner. Gutter boy who lacks home training. No be your fault.