It is April 7th, the NFF still have not named a coach for the SE

When will the new coach start to work on South Africa and Benin which is about 2 months away. IF they do name a foreign journey man coach. Imagine that journey man coach first game is against South Africa in Nigeria in front of all that pressure. He has never worked with the players before. That would be his first game. Some will say what about Otto Addo of Ghana during WC qualification. Nigeria didn't lose both games to Ghana. Nigeria should have qualified if nor for Maduka Oko ye blunder.

Nigeria remaining fixtures
Nigeria vs South Africa
Benin vs Nigeria
Nigeria vs Zimbabwe
Rwanda vs Nigeria
Nigeria vs Rwanda
Lesotho vs Nigeria
NIgeria vs Benin
South Africa vs Nigeria

8 games left, it is doable but you have to start getting 3 points. Can't afford draws. Also need to implement your system. It is going to take time for any new coach to implement his system.

Afcon ended in February. The NFF have not paid for a coach in March and now in April. They received 5 million dollars for finishing second at Afcon. Egypt and Algeria that fired their coach after Afcon, have new managers in place. So are they trying to save money.

They need to hire a coach today. That coach needs to get to work immediately. Schedule a friendly for the new coach or keep Finidi. I prefer they keep Finidi.

Re: It is April 7th, the NFF still have not named a coach for the SE

Nff is in serious financial trouble, they owe way more than the $5m they received for Afcon, even 10B that was supposed to be paid by the govt is yet to be remitted to the nff. Players and coaches are still owed for 23 games dating back to 2021, means they still owe Rohr and his assistants too.

As far as the new coach is concerned, I think they’ve decided to wing it, fake it till you make it. Finidi is the interim coach as of now. For the next WCQ they might say ok, it’s Finidi and Eguavoen. If they win the 2 games then it’ll be Finidi and Eguavoen or Aminike as permanent. If they don’t win, the Nff will rush hiring a FC by hurriedly arranging interviews.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2024 7:47 pm Nff is in serious financial trouble, they owe way more than the $5m they received for Afcon, even 10B that was supposed to be paid by the govt is yet to be remitted to the nff. Players and coaches are still owed for 23 games dating back to 2021, means they still owe Rohr and his assistants too.

As far as the new coach is concerned, I think they’ve decided to wing it, fake it till you make it. Finidi is the interim coach as of now. For the next WCQ they might say ok, it’s Finidi and Eguavoen. If they win the 2 games then it’ll be Finidi and Eguavoen or Aminike as permanent. If they don’t win, the Nff will rush hiring a FC by hurriedly arranging interviews.
They should agree to an independent audit of their accounts. Lets see how they are managing resources. We still don't know how much they got from the Nike deal and etc.

Kai….those of us that battered Pinnick till he resigned need to tender an apology. This Gbesau guy is out of his depth.
delisyomie don

Post by delisyomie don »

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2024 6:51 pm When will the new coach start to work on South Africa and Benin which is about 2 months away. IF they do name a foreign journey man coach. Imagine that journey man coach first game is against South Africa in Nigeria in front of all that pressure. He has never worked with the players before. That would be his first game. Some will say what about Otto Addo of Ghana during WC qualification. Nigeria didn't lose both games to Ghana. Nigeria should have qualified if nor for Maduka Oko ye blunder.

Nigeria vs South Africa
Benin vs Nigeria
Nigeria vs Zimbabwe
Rwanda vs Nigeria
Nigeria vs Rwanda
Lesotho vs Nigeria
NIgeria vs Benin
South Africa vs Nigeria

8 games left, it is doable but you have to start getting 3 points. Can't afford draws. Also need to implement your system. It is going to take time for any new coach to implement his system.

Afcon ended in February. The NFF have not paid for a coach in March and now in April. They received 5 million dollars for finishing second at Afcon. Egypt and Algeria that fired their coach after Afcon, have new managers in place. So are they trying to save money.

They need to hire a coach today. That coach needs to get to work immediately. Schedule a friendly for the new coach or keep Finidi. I prefer they keep Finidi.

sorry? is it not maduake okoye blunder?? uzho
thanks

Minnick is for Finidi

delisyomie don wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2024 8:48 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2024 6:51 pm When will the new coach start to work on South Africa and Benin which is about 2 months away. IF they do name a foreign journey man coach. Imagine that journey man coach first game is against South Africa in Nigeria in front of all that pressure. He has never worked with the players before. That would be his first game. Some will say what about Otto Addo of Ghana during WC qualification. Nigeria didn't lose both games to Ghana. Nigeria should have qualified if nor for Maduka Oko ye blunder.

Nigeria vs South Africa
Benin vs Nigeria
Nigeria vs Zimbabwe
Rwanda vs Nigeria
Nigeria vs Rwanda
Lesotho vs Nigeria
NIgeria vs Benin
South Africa vs Nigeria

sorry? is it not maduake okoye blunder?? uzho
You are right. It was Uzoho. Okoye made the blunder at Afcon costing us in the knockout round against Tunisia.

They should name Finidi the coach. Appoint a solid backroom staff. They need to start preparing. Sout Africa will be coming to win in Nigeria. And it is doable. If the likes of Guinea Bissau can do. And the mighty Siera Leone can come back to tie a game 4-4 in NIgeria. South Africa will fancy their chances. They are looking at Nigeria as a team in dis array. They will fancy their chances. But But But. If Nigeria is up for the game, South Africa can't win in Nigeria. The only team that can beat Nigeria in Nigeria is Nigeria.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2024 10:21 pm Minnick is for Finidi

The King of WOWO.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2024 11:47 pm

The King of WOWO.
Didn’t he first hire an indigenous coach? I think it’s the experience he had with that one who was supposed to be the best of the best that made change tune…Blame that coach for ruining it for the rest…

maceo4 wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 12:09 am

The King of WOWO.
Didn’t he first hire an indigenous coach? I think it’s the experience he had with that one who was supposed to be the best of the best that made change tune…Blame that coach for ruining it for the rest…
Did you listen to the interview?
The guy didn't support Oliseh, frustrated him out. Then went on to hire journey men foreign coaches.

maceo4 wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 12:09 am

The King of WOWO.
Mace

There is a lot to unpack from this interview. However, let's start from your point that Amaju hired Oliseh. Let that not deceive you. Amaju dud not want an indigenous manager and he was pretty much open about it at the time. I have mentioned several times that he said that clearly to a few us [some of others are on CE] that Oliseh was never his candidate. He wanted some guys from Europe. Never forget that he worked hard in pushing out Keshi prior to that time. In any case, Oliseh was the candidate of another top NFF official and it was that guy who persuaded Pinnick to give Oliseh a chance.

Thus, for me, it is a bombshell to listen to this clip. He, Pinnick, has come around completely on this issue. It is of epic proportion to hear him on this video talk up a Nigerian manager. To state the least, I am stunned. Totally unexpected, given his long history on matters like this. I wonder what happened? Was it the Fae phenomenon which he referred to? Or what else has led him to this?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

The day you take Pinnick 's statement with a grain of salt is the day you attain wisdom.
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2024 11:29 pm They should name Finidi the coach. Appoint a solid backroom staff. They need to start preparing. Sout Africa will be coming to win in Nigeria. And it is doable. If the likes of Guinea Bissau can do. And the mighty Siera Leone can come back to tie a game 4-4 in NIgeria. South Africa will fancy their chances. They are looking at Nigeria as a team in dis array. They will fancy their chances. But But But. If Nigeria is up for the game, South Africa can't win in Nigeria. The only team that can beat Nigeria in Nigeria is Nigeria.

You bet Hugo Broos is coming to Nigeria for a win! You can take that to the bank! Didn’t they beat a full strength Nigeria 2-0 in Uyo just a couple of years ago? They are even more solid now and more confident.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2024 7:47 pm Nff is in serious financial trouble, they owe way more than the $5m they received for Afcon, even 10B that was supposed to be paid by the govt is yet to be remitted to the nff. Players and coaches are still owed for 23 games dating back to 2021, means they still owe Rohr and his assistants too.

How do you know this?

If true, it means we might as well forget about WC 2026.

Goalgetter wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 7:50 am
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2024 11:29 pm They should name Finidi the coach. Appoint a solid backroom staff. They need to start preparing. Sout Africa will be coming to win in Nigeria. And it is doable. If the likes of Guinea Bissau can do. And the mighty Siera Leone can come back to tie a game 4-4 in NIgeria. South Africa will fancy their chances. They are looking at Nigeria as a team in dis array. They will fancy their chances. But But But. If Nigeria is up for the game, South Africa can't win in Nigeria. The only team that can beat Nigeria in Nigeria is Nigeria.

You bet Hugo Broos is coming to Nigeria for a win! You can take that to the bank! Didn’t they beat a full strength Nigeria 2-0 in Uyo just a couple of years ago? They are even more solid now and more confident.
Incorrect. The Nigerian squad was seriously understrength. This was in 2017 actually for the 2019 AFCON qualifiers. We were missing players like Ighalo, Mikel, Oyibo wall and Victor Moses. These players returned for the World Cup qualifiers against Cameroon month's later and they say the rest is history.

Orion wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 8:10 am

How do you know this?

Here

https://scorenigeria.com.ng/why-super-e ... d-bonuses/
OJI

Post by OJI »

Orion wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 8:10 am

How do you know this?

Facts. Are you aware a special payment to resolve outstanding debts was approved By Tinubu before the AFCON? Yes, debts dating that long.

Approved funds is something. Releasing it is another thing else.

They need to open up their books for an audit. Tinubu was wrong to just write a check without asking for reforms. I suspect there is gross mismanagement of resources. What steps are they taking to improve revenue and reduce costs?

Enugu II wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 3:42 am
Mace

There is a lot to unpack from this interview. However, let's start from your point that Amaju hired Oliseh. Let that not deceive you. Amaju dud not want an indigenous manager and he was pretty much open about it at the time. I have mentioned several times that he said that clearly to a few us [some of others are on CE] that Oliseh was never his candidate. He wanted some guys from Europe. Never forget that he worked hard in pushing out Keshi prior to that time. In any case, Oliseh was the candidate of another top NFF official and it was that guy who persuaded Pinnick to give Oliseh a chance.

Thus, for me, it is a bombshell to listen to this clip. He, Pinnick, has come around completely on this issue. It is of epic proportion to hear him on this video talk up a Nigerian manager. To state the least, I am stunned. Totally unexpected, given his long history on matters like this. I wonder what happened? Was it the Fae phenomenon which he referred to? Or what else has led him to this?
Has he really come around?

This is a man that has TOTAL disdain for local coaches when he was at the helm both as Commissioner of Sports in Delta state and as President of NFF.

His philosophy is to both get players and coaches from the foreign ranks. I am glad he mentioned Faye... talking about if they mentioned a thousand coaches to coach CIV that Faye would not be in the running. That is him.

He even alluded to the fact he rather not go into why he doesn't like local coaches.

But he is pretending to have come around. Put him in charge... he will revert back to his norm.