Do you really care who the coach is

..or whether he is foreign or local, if we are winning? I don't and can't imagine any of you caring either, unless you ain't got a job for real, for real.

And don't give me that nonsense about we need to develop local coaches, because none of you give a rat's azz about them.

If you do, state your reason(s).
Re: Do you really care who the coach is

me i do not . Just get one competent individual(tactically sound) who can organize our backline, and finish our chances. We have a good core of players

1naija wrote: Fri Apr 26, 2024 10:59 pm ..or whether he is foreign or local, if we are winning? I don't and can't imagine any of you caring either, unless you ain't got a job for real, for real.

And don't give me that nonsense about we need to develop local coaches, because none of you give a rat's azz about them.

Win AFCON or I dear say WC…..the coach becomes a god.

No one cares who the coach is as long as he restore SE to its rightfulplace

I don’t want another failed journey man mercenary coach,

1naija wrote: Fri Apr 26, 2024 10:59 pm ..or whether he is foreign or local, if we are winning? I don't and can't imagine any of you caring either, unless you ain't got a job for real, for real.

Suggesting indifference would be naive in my own opinion. We're well aware of how NFF and players view and treat coaches that are respected.

Respect isn't bestowed freely, it's earned through a display of competence, fairness, empathy, and genuine investment in team well-being, success and development.

Hence, the pertinent question arises, do any of the local coaches being interviewed exhibit even a modicum of these qualities to warrant support or a degree of autonomy from NFF, or to earn respect from the players?

Read the question again. The key words are "if we are winning"..
iworo wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 12:30 am

Suggesting indifference would be naive in my own opinion. We're well aware of how NFF and players view and treat coaches that are respected.

Respect isn't bestowed freely, it's earned through a display of competence, fairness, empathy, and genuine investment in team well-being, success and development.

Hence, the pertinent question arises, do any of the local coaches being interviewed exhibit even a modicum of these qualities to warrant support or a degree of autonomy from NFF, or to earn respect from the players?

1naija wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 2:18 am Read the question again. The key words are "if we are winning"..
iworo wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 12:30 am

My bad, you’re right. I missed the “winning” part.
donadoni

Post by donadoni »

We just need someone to do 3 things:

1. Find 2-3 formations that work well for us in different match situations and given our current team

2. Invite the best 23 players that fit those systems and put the best fit 11 on the field at any given time

3. Stick with this consistently over a period of time so our team gets comfortable with it

End of story.

Me, I really don't care.
But apparently, there’s something seriously wrong with me for that.
Something about my self-esteem… :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Damunk wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 5:52 am Me, I really don't care.
The thing that’s seriously wrong with you and other WOWOs is that you don’t have a problem with journeymen coaches. As much as I believe it really won’t do us any good, most people won’t have an issue with, say, a Pep Guardiola but the likes of Guardiola are well beyond the reach of the NFF and journeymen coaches are absolutely detrimental to Nigerian football🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 6:48 am
The thing that’s seriously wrong with you and other WOWOs is that you don’t have a problem with journeymen coaches. As much as I believe it really won’t do us any good, most people won’t have an issue with, say, a Pep Guardiola but the likes of Guardiola are well beyond the reach of the NFF and journeymen coaches are absolutely detrimental to Nigerian football🤔❗️

:glare:
And the problem with WOWOORs like you is that you are incapable of hearing anything but your own voices in your own exclusive echo chamber.
“You don’t have a problem with journeyman coaches” is typical of you tone-deaf WOWOORs.

If you really know the meaning of ‘journeyman’ then you in particular would have a big problem with someone like Amuneke.
With all due respect to Amuneke as a player, as a coach he is not even a journeyman.
He hasn’t had a job in three years, and counting!

Shebi a journeyman by definition dey get work upandan, but just isn’t a Pep Guardiola (to use your extreme, unrealistic example).
You black panthers are confused. :rotf:

Damunk wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 7:54 am

And the problem with WOWOORs like you is that you are incapable of hearing anything but your own voices in your own echo chamber.
“You don’t have a problem with journeyman coaches” is typical of you tone-deaf WOWOORs.

If you really know the meaning of ‘journeyman’ then you in particular would have a problem with Amuneke.
With all due respect tomAmuneke as a player, as a coach he is not even a journeyman.

Shebi a journeyman dey get work upandan, but just isn’t a Pep Guardiola (to use your extreme example).
What else is new, parrot Damunk? Your issue isn’t just with Amuneke. Only an oyibo will do for you. Well, you’re about to be gravely disappointed and I for one won’t mind seeing you cry in your soup🤐❗️

Cheers

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 8:07 am

And the problem with WOWOORs like you is that you are incapable of hearing anything but your own voices in your own echo chamber.

If you really know the meaning of ‘journeyman’ then you in particular would have a problem with Amuneke.
With all due respect tomAmuneke as a player, as a coach he is not even a journeyman.

Shebi a journeyman dey get work upandan, but just isn’t a Pep Guardiola (to use your extreme example).
What else is new, parrot Damunk? Your issue isn’t just with Amuneke. Only an oyibo will do for you. Well, you’re about to be gravely disappointed and I for one won’t mind seeing you cry in your soup🤐❗️

Cheers
Sorry mate, you’re not very bright.
It’s obvious from how you debate. Address issue, you no fit.
No substance. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Damunk wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 8:16 am

Cheers
See this mumu. How “bright” can you be if you have to steal lines from bigpokey❓🤔🤣❗️

So why would it bother you if the journeyman white coach is winning and playing good football?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 8:37 am

Cheers
See this mumu. How “bright” can you be if you have to steal lines from bigpokey❓🤔🤣❗️

Leave him out of it. Weytin he do you?

This won’t be the fist time I don dey show you up.
Because we show you small respect strictly out of courtesy doesn’t necessarily mean you actually deserve it.
Don’t fool yourself.

Nor be today you dey attract insult from all and sundry in this place. :rotf:

Lolly wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 9:00 am

So why would it bother you if the journeyman white coach is winning and playing good football?
Name one journeyman who has had Nigeria playing good football🤔❗️

Damunk wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 12:12 pm

Cheers

Because we show you small respect strictly out of courtesy doesn’t necessarily mean you actually deserve it.
Don’t fool yourself.

Insults are the mark of people bereft of ideas. You aren’t showing up anyone but yourself🤔❗️

Cheers

He didn’t read the question.
But watch him twist and turn as always. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 1:59 pm
Damunk wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 12:12 pm

Cheers

Don’t fool yourself.

Insults are the mark of people bereft of ideas. You aren’t showing up anyone but yourself🤔❗️

Cheers
I agree totally.
So why do you do it?
And more importantly, why do you attract so much of it?

As an elder on this forum it shouldn’t be happening to you so often. :idea:

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 1:57 pm

Name one journeyman who has had Nigeria playing good football🤔❗️

You left out "winning"? :sneaky:

Otto Gloria
Westerhoff
Bonfere
Rohr (2016-2018)

While at it, name one local coach that had the Super Eagles playing good football.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

I care about a coach that is dedicated to the team and understands African football. In the long term I want more local managers to coach the Super Eagles because it will inspire more coaches. But my main concern is that local and foreign managers are treated equally and with respect when coaching the Super Eagles.

aruako1 wrote: Sat Apr 27, 2024 4:07 pm

I care about a coach that is dedicated to the team and understands African football. In the long term I want more local managers to coach the Super Eagles because it will inspire more coaches. But my main concern is that local and foreign managers are treated equally and with respect when coaching the Super Eagles.
I believe you meant to say that local and foreign managers are NOT treated equally or with the same level of respect when coaching the Super Eagles. As mentioned earlier, respect isn't given freely; it must be earned through demonstrating competence, fairness, empathy, and genuine dedication to the team's well-being, success, and development.

The criterion for a European coach to have a good understanding of African football is no longer as relevant, as many African players now play in Europe, blending both African and European styles that most European coaches are familiar with.