Well Written Article!!

If you don't like the article, please look within yourself. This is an excellently written article by the Mathemical himself.

https://www.completesports.com/finidi-g ... -odegbami/
Re: Well Written Article!!

highbury wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 7:30 am If you don't like the article, please look within yourself. This is an excellently written article by the Mathemical himself.

Highbury

Thanks for sharing. It brings to the fore some of the key points that we make here on CE.

For me, one gets a shock that Nigeria seeks a return to colonialism. This is in various aspects of the country's existence and not just football. Today, Nigerians beat there chests and are elated to tell you that "my child is in a school where Oyibo is the Principal." Atiku was seeking to be President yet at his American University he bar's Nigerians from ever leading the School. This is a fact but sadly it is not unique in Nigeria.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

highbury wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 7:30 am If you don't like the article, please look within yourself. This is an excellently written article by the Mathemical himself.

We should hire based on the fit for the team, not nationality or race. The late Maurice Cooremans was white, but as local as you could get. We shouldn't ban "white" coaches. What we need to do is to stop the double standards that exist when we hire foreign v local managers. Hiring a white person doesn't automatically mean a disadvantage for locals. Father Slattery did more for our football than many black Nigerians. If we got Wenger or Mourinho, two coaches known to go out of their way to support black players, would you say they are not good for our football?

There is a thin line between wanting our own (very good) and xenophobia (very bad). Let us not cross that line.
Babadee

Post by Babadee »

It’s very poorly written if you ask me.

If this is published worldwide it can be labeled as racist

Football in Europe is more advanced than African football. So also coaching

Odewingie said correctly Nigerian coaches end up to become agents.

Keshi who was Nigeria model coach was collecting bribe to field players.

Babadee wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 10:17 am

You are a prime example of the reason why Odegbami has felt the need to write the article. Did you just take Odemwingie's word for it when he accused Kanu's wife of wooing him? Why have you not sent your evidence of corruption to the authorities? Any evidence of corruption from Finidi you can share with us?

You talk about racism but you also tar all Nigerian coaches with the same brush

Please follow the rules on CE, including, but not limited -

- proper topic ("Well written Article!" does not tell us what the article is about)
- posting a link without posting the entire story.

Do you guys break these rules on purpose?

aruako1 wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 9:58 am

We should hire based on the fit for the team, not nationality or race. The late Maurice Cooremans was white, but as local as you could get. We shouldn't ban "white" coaches. What we need to do is to stop the double standards that exist when we hire foreign v local managers. Hiring a white person doesn't automatically mean a disadvantage for locals. Father Slattery did more for our football than many black Nigerians. If we got Wenger or Mourinho, two coaches known to go out of their way to support black players, would you say they are not good for our football?

There is a thin line between wanting our own (very good) and xenophobia (very bad). Let us not cross that line.
Honestly, it's hard to say whether Wenger or Mourinho would have succeeded in Nigeria. Comparing them is like creating a false equivalency. These guys worked under excellent conditions and organization in Europe, which they wouldn't have in Nigeria. The clubs they coached had the money to buy players of their interest, which wouldn't be the case in Nigeria. Berti Vogts had already won the World Cup, the Bundesliga, and other titles in Europe before he took the position as coach of the Super Eagles. With him, Nigeria only reached the Quarter Finals at AFCON. Nevertheless, I respect your opinion.

Babadee wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 10:17 am

It's your opinion if you say it was poorly written. I believe it was well written. Odemwingie made a claim that Nigerian coaches end up collecting bribes. While that may be true in some instances, it does not mean the majority do. Similarly, I could say Nigerian people are murderers, but while that might be true for some, the majority aren't.There was never any evidence that Keshi collected bribes. I realize that the proponents of a foreign coach (most of them) engage in racketeering whenever a foreign coach is hired. These people make a lot of profit with a foreign coach, which they can't with a local coach. They forcefully try to push the narrative that a local coach is corrupt and collects bribes when, in reality, these people are just projecting their own deeds onto another local coach. Again, this is not to deny that corruption can occur.

mods no content on the thread, please lock it , highbury is now following jette1 who post links only

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 3:55 pm mods no content on the thread, please lock it , highbury is now following jette1 who post links only
Na to fight and attack you sabi :roll:

highbury wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 2:43 pm

Honestly, it's hard to say whether Wenger or Mourinho would have succeeded in Nigeria. Comparing them is like creating a false equivalency. These guys worked under excellent conditions and organization in Europe, which they wouldn't have in Nigeria. The clubs they coached had the money to buy players of their interest, which wouldn't be the case in Nigeria. Berti Vogts had already won the World Cup, the Bundesliga, and other titles in Europe before he took the position as coach of the Super Eagles. With him, Nigeria only reached the Quarter Finals at AFCON. Nevertheless, I respect your opinion.
I agree with you that the conditions are not the same for Wenger or Mourinho. I'm just pointing out the fact that there are foreign managers that will genuinely want to improve the local game.

...our problem is the organization. Not the coaches, local or foreign, and definitely not the players.
Nigerian football is poorly poorly managed from the top, period or is it full stop!
If we have a well oiled, and patriotic leadership running the NFA, we will not have problem recruiting competent coaches locally before venturing outside.
I suspect they will frustrate Finidi, and the naysayers will say, 'look, I told you so, we should have got the Wengers or Mourinhos of Europe, or some obscured named person all because he is well different color'.

These black panthers who don't want oyibo coaching SE cannot make an argument for a Nigerian based on merit to save their pathetic lifes. They use slavery, colonial mentality, white supremacy, everything but the quality of their preferred Nigerian coach..

These same bigots are on the world football forum dropping their pants and taking it down yonder for their oyibo team.Not for Eyimba, kano pillars or Bendel Ins. For their favorite oyibo team they want the best in the world to coach them.

mcal wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 4:59 pm

...our problem is the organization. Not the coaches, local or foreign, and definitely not the players.
Nigerian football is poorly poorly managed from the top, period or is it full stop!
If we have a well oiled, and patriotic leadership running the NFA, we will not have problem recruiting competent coaches locally before venturing outside.
I suspect they will frustrate Finidi, and the naysayers will say, 'look, I told you so, we should have got the Wengers or Mourinhos of Europe, or some obscured named person all because he is well different color'.
I agree with you here

Kpom to the kwem. The only other thing I would add is that our coaches are just a symptom of the root cause which is a poorly structured and managed system. As such it is very unfair to compare coaches that are products of better organizations to the ones Nigeria produces. With the whole history lesson he's narrating it even seems like Odegbami will be ok with a coach from Ghana or Togo too. So I'm actually unsure if he's being a pro Nigerian or pro black coach.
Agbako

Post by Agbako »

You Niggas are a poor sorry for a human being.... For anyone of you to come here and try to disparage a truth we all know about some of our Local Coaches that has tarnished and damage their image as coaches in Nigeria. Corrupt entities of taking bribes for fielding players and doubling as players Agents.

Which of these is not true? Do we need an ex player to re iterate it?

So even after we watched on video a National Coach caught red handed accepting money from Agents?
After one of our best Coaches was banned for life later reduced to 5 yrs for corruption as a coach?
Late Keshi almost fist fighting Adebayo by the team boss for not allowing him to be his Agent?

Waoooo... whats wrong with you peeps....?

You come here to be writing rubbish? Kai.. we are wicked souls .. no wonder progress is so far from some.

I love a Local Coach with all my heart who can come and give back his knowledge to his country,, doing it with integrity while getting paid his salary...
ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

An article is bereft of common sense or any intellect whatsoever, riddled with subtle racism. It is not surprising considering that some of our people resort to racist, supremacist, arrogant, lame, and senseless terms such as "colonial mentality", "slave mentality" and "WOWO" whenever they lack useful terms to back up their usual illogical submissions. Some of the people shouting these terms are hiding in the lands of the so-called "slaves" and dishing out their hateful comments against their "slaves". These people have continued to propagate these views although they get their pay from their colonial or slave masters. It is utterly concerning and hypocritical that some people who claim to be educated continue to propagate these disgraceful views. I am not aware that any of them have resigned from their daily work provided for them by the “slave masters” since they continue to harbor such resentments.

The thing is, Nigeria needs to have a coach that is at the level of coaching or higher than what majority of our players get at their clubs. It makes zero sense to just hire any coach who operates at a significantly lower level than what they get. It does not matter whether he is Nigerian or not. At the moment, I am not aware of any Nigerian-born coach who is coaching at any level in England, Italy, Germany, France or in any top league in the world where majority of our players play.

Odegbami has been on this local coach and colonial mentality nonsense for a long time. He was on the neck of Rhor until he was fired. He got his wish and that decision led Nigeria to the worst AFCON performance in close to 40 years plus our world cup non qualification. Less than 2 years later, we have forgotten, and the vultures are gathered again to devour what is left of the little pride we restore from last AFCON (with a slave master coach). For these people, it does not matter whether Nigeria qualifies or does well. They are more interested in seeing a local coach at the helm of affairs without any clear justification, at all cost. As far as they are concerned, this selfish behavior is considered patriotic- Nigeria can fail as long as the local coach is there. To them, passionate Nigerian fans crying for SE’s success does not matter as long as the local coach is there. Who did this to black Africans?
ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 5:18 pm These black panthers who don't want oyibo coaching SE cannot make an argument for a Nigerian based on merit to save their pathetic lifes. They use slavery, colonial mentality, white supremacy, everything but the quality of their preferred Nigerian coach..

These same bigots are on the world football forum dropping their pants and taking it down yonder for their oyibo team.Not for Eyimba, kano pillars or Bendel Ins. For their favorite oyibo team they want the best in the world to coach them.
True talk!

Agbako wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 6:58 pm You Niggas are a poor sorry for a human being.... For anyone of you to come here and try to disparage a truth we all know about some of our Local Coaches that has tarnished and damage their image as coaches in Nigeria. Corrupt entities of taking bribes for fielding players and doubling as players Agents.

So even after we watched on video a National Coach caught red handed accepting money from Agents?
After one of our best Coaches was banned for life later reduced to 5 yrs for corruption as a coach?
Late Keshi almost fist fighting Adebayo by the team boss for not allowing him to be his Agent?

You come here to be writing rubbish? Kai.. we are wicked souls .. no wonder progress is so far from some.

I love a Local Coach with all my heart who can come and give back his knowledge to his country,, doing it with integrity while getting paid his salary...
You nailed all the points perfectly. Disregard their opinions. When people are driven by bias and prejudice under the guise of nationalism, they tend to overlook factual evidence.

Agbako wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 6:58 pm You Niggas are a poor sorry for a human being.... For anyone of you to come here and try to disparage a truth we all know about some of our Local Coaches that has tarnished and damage their image as coaches in Nigeria. Corrupt entities of taking bribes for fielding players and doubling as players Agents.

Did anyone dispute the fact that SOME local coaches are corrupt? I didn't see it here - even Highbury (as pro local coach as he is) admitted it. What people like me will not accept is when some of you tar ALL local coaches with the same brush.

Football is a corrupt game. Many of the agents that give the bribes are white are they not? Have you called all white people in the game corrupt? Great British coaches like George Graham and Brian Clough were known to take bribes and there were serious allegations against Alex Ferguson and Sam Allardyce (there are many more) - does that make English coaches corrupt?

Guardiola was banned for drug use while playing in Italy (it was overturned) - were all Spaniards and Italians called cheats? What about the Juventus Calciopoli scandal? Is everyone in Italian football a cheat?

But you all are prepared to declare Finidi and every other coach corrupt because some Nigerian coaches have taken bribes.

I'M SORRY BUT I HAVE TO DISAGREE WITH YOU

To suggest that racism is a motivation in people calling for the coach of the SE comes close to being a strawman or cheap shot. You look all over Nigeria and you see non-indigenes of all races - Europeans, Asians, S. Americans going about their lives undisturbed. They are in education, construction, health, media, transportation, etc, and nobody is calling for them to be sent back home. The only criticism you sometimes hear is that Nigerians give preferential treatment to non-Nigerians.

Are you personally aware of occasions in which Nigerians have demonstrated racism? If not, why all this talk of xenophobia? As a an unrepentant advocate of Nigerian coaches let me make you this offer: show me a qualified white or Asian Nigerian and I'll push his candidacy as coach for the SE. Balogun, Ekong, Plumptre and some others have some Nigerian in them but are also white, and I have no problem if they wish to become a Nigerian coach someday. They have paid their dues and are invested in the country. Waldrum is white but I've also advocated his retention because of special circumstances. There is a possibility of reverse racism here because it is Nigerians whose candidacies are being unfairly considered.

In many countries in the world - Africa, Europe, Asia, S. America, Australia - you can't be the head of the nation, or even be appointed to certain sensitive positions, if you are not born in that country or in some cases a citizen. Is that xenophobia?

The fact is that if people don't want you they can make up all kinds of excuses. Decades ago, you could hardly find a black QB in American football, college or pros. Not surprisingly, they came up with all sorts of excuses - the mental requirement of the position is such that blacks may not be able to master it. Moreover, they claimed, some of the players may not want to take instructions from a black QB. FF to today and blacks are thriving at both levels. THEY FINALLY GOT THEIR CHANCE. Unfortunately, that same war is being fought in the NFL with regards to coaching but even there progress is being made.

The fact is that, after decades of relying on foreign coaches, when are Nigerians going to take off the training wheels and say I'm able to do this by myself? It sends a terribe message to the world about the ability and mentality of Nigerians when, during international tournaments, in front of a world stage, Nigeria is led ALWAYS by a foreigner. When Amodu qualified Nigeria for SA 2010 that alone gave him the right to lead the team to SA. But such is the mentality of the NFA that the the symbolism of allowing a black man lead the team to apartheid SA, a system Nigeria strenuously opposed than most was lost on them.

What is so complicated about football that Nigerians can't handle? When did football become so life & death that it cannot be left to a Nigerian even if it means failure, initially? Where Nigeria should be leading other African countries, it is following grudgingly. That's why I wasn't unhappy when Nigeria was not present at the last WC because it would have been the only African entrant led by a foreigner. This is bigger than football.

Wenger? Mourinho? They are acceptable because they are supportive of blacks? I don't even want to comment on that. But the thinking that Nigeria is only a great coach away from some spectacular tournament performance is totally misplaced. Coaches are important and some are better than others (as in any human endeavor) but, let's not kid ourselves, you win because you have the talent, not because you have great coaches. Nobody is going to make Nigeria favorites to win USA/Mexico/Canada even if they have Wenger and Mourinho together coaching them because what limits Nigeria is talent primarily.

The sooner Nigeria starts using Nigerian coaches, the sooner they'll have a competent cadre. So for my money, it's Nigerian coaches all the way. Some say they simply want excellence, like you can achieve excellence when some else is doing it for you. And you soon will run out of money and experience no growth if you outsource everything .
Last edited by Bell on Sun May 05, 2024 1:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Enugu II wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 7:58 am

Highbury

Thanks for sharing. It brings to the fore some of the key points that we make here on CE.

For me, one gets a shock that Nigeria seeks a return to colonialism. This is in various aspects of the country's existence and not just football. Today, Nigerians beat there chests and are elated to tell you that "my child is in a school where Oyibo is the Principal." Atiku was seeking to be President yet at his American University he bar's Nigerians from ever leading the School. This is a fact but sadly it is not unique in Nigeria.

CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT?

See highlighted above. It's like the Biblical Jewish Christians seeking to return to Judaism.

SOME HERE MAY BE ABLE TO QUICKLY ANSWER THIS

How often has the Federation fired a foreign coach (I can remember only Bonfrere). How often has it extended a Nigerian coach? The answer could be telling.