Maduka Okoye Should start against Benin

He’s a good keeper.
He needs that start and performance to build his National team confidence back.
Good for competition so Nwabili knows his spot is up for grabs at any moment, nothing wrong with healthy competition for the Goalkeeping position.

Nwabili has been outstanding, don’t get me wrong, but i don’t see the harm in starting him (Maduka) against Benin.
Last edited by Babalawo on Sun Jun 09, 2024 7:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Maduka Okoye Should start against Benin

Is this a joke?

Okoye need to come to camp early and earn back his spot. No one is going to give him the starting spot. Benin republic is a must win game. You play Nwababli. I think you are joking.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Jun 09, 2024 7:15 pm Is this a joke?
Do I look like BigPokey to you?
tedder89

Post by tedder89 »

In a crucial WC qualifier, away from home??

The incumbent no 1 hasn’t put a foot (glove) wrong yet you suggest replacing him with a goalie who the last time he made a mistake decided he didn’t want to be selected for 18 months ……?

He hasn’t shown he can handle the pressure and criticism that comes with playing in goal for Naija; Stanley on the other hand looks unflappable

Babalawo wrote: Sun Jun 09, 2024 7:09 pm He’s a good keeper.
Good for competition so Nwabili knows his spot is up for grabs at any moment, nothing wrong with healthy competition for the Goalkeeping position.

Nwabili has been outstanding, don’t get me wrong, but i don’t see the harm in starting him against Benin.
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB

Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.

tedder89 wrote: Sun Jun 09, 2024 7:21 pm In a crucial WC qualifier, away from home??

The incumbent no 1 hasn’t put a foot (glove) wrong yet you suggest replacing him with a goalie who the last time he made a mistake decided he didn’t want to be selected for 18 months ……?

He hasn’t shown he can handle the pressure and criticism that comes with playing in goal for Naija; Stanley on the other hand looks unflappable

Nwabili has been outstanding, don’t get me wrong, but i don’t see the harm in starting him against Benin.
He had passport problems.

And was the last person to arrive camp, late Wednesday night. Had only one training session with the team. Okoye is a good GK. He needs to bide his time. Come to camp early and earn the trust of the coach. It would be foolish for any coach to bench Nwababli and play Okoye. If he does that and Okoye makes a mistake. The same fans will crucify Finidi and ask for his sack.

tedder89 wrote: Sun Jun 09, 2024 7:21 pm In a crucial WC qualifier, away from home??

Okoye never decided on his own to stay out for 18 months. Why are we rewriting history?

Nwabali is needed for this game. He saved us against SA. I trust him more than I would trust Okoye. At least for now.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
tedder89

Post by tedder89 »

Babalawo wrote: Sun Jun 09, 2024 7:38 pm

Okoye never decided on his own to stay out for 18 months. Why are we rewriting history?
My recollection is that there were reports after the blunder against Tunisia in 2022 he was affected by the criticism and didn’t want to be selected

The passport issues are a relatively recent development as far as I know
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB

Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.

The level,of delulu on SE is concerning. A grown azz man woke up today and thought Okoye starting would be a good idea. :shock: I’m Okoye’s No 1 booster on CE and I wouldn’t wish that on him. Nwabali is your No 1 tomorrow.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Jun 09, 2024 8:06 pm The level,of delulu on SE is concerning. A grown azz man woke up today and thought Okoye starting would be a good idea. :shock: I’m Okoye’s No 1 booster on CE and I wouldn’t wish that on him. Nwabali is your No 1 tomorrow.
Okoye could have saved that goal yesterday; it was a very cheap goal and no one seem to be talking about it because nwabali no doubt is good. Everyone clearly saw the goal scorer picking his way toward the left frank because he had no where else to shoot so what was nwabali doing all that time ? Picking his nose ? He saw where the ball was gonna come from

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote: Sun Jun 09, 2024 8:19 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Jun 09, 2024 8:06 pm The level,of delulu on SE is concerning. A grown azz man woke up today and thought Okoye starting would be a good idea. :shock: I’m Okoye’s No 1 booster on CE and I wouldn’t wish that on him. Nwabali is your No 1 tomorrow.
Okoye could have saved that goal yesterday; it was a very cheap goal and no one seem to be talking about it because nwabali no doubt is good. Everyone clearly saw the goal scorer picking his way toward the left frank because he had no where else to shoot so what was nwabali doing all that time ? Picking his nose ? He saw where the ball was gonna come from
Sssshhhhh…..don’t say it out load. :|

This is Kongist level of stupidity. When ohenhen points out how dumb your post is then something is wrong somewhere.

Finidi should pick the team. Because this same fans will be the first to crucify him if Okoye makes a blunder. They will say why would you change your GK for the game against Benin republic. I am already not happy with the selection of Iwobi. Playing some one that comes to camp one day before SA game will cause long term problems for the coach.

Bros, to suggest that Okoye should start a critical WCQ game to boost his confidence is just SHOCKING. BTW, this is a very important game and there is no room to begin to build someone's confidence. This is an important game to win. It is not a friendly.

This suggestion can only make sense if Nwabali was messing up. Nothing more.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Ok, so apart from the mistake against Tunisia, what exactly has Maduka done to become Public Enemy number 1?

Nwabali is good but I PERSONALLY think Maduka is better.
I mean if we can’t make the change against ALMIGHTY Benin Republic then who else?

bret- hart wrote: Sun Jun 09, 2024 9:01 pm This is Kongist level of stupidity. When ohenhen points out how dumb your post is then something is wrong somewhere.
Negro be quiet!

We are all entitled to our opinions.

Babalawo wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 1:29 am Ok, so apart from the mistake against Tunisia, what exactly has Maduka done to become Public Enemy number 1?

Nwabali is good but I PERSONALLY think Maduka is better.
I mean if we can’t make the change against ALMIGHTY Benin Republic then who else?
Why are people so wicked? You just want to bring chaos into the goal keeping department after years of chaos. Just for personal reasons you want Okoye even though by your own admission Nwabali hasn't put a foot wrong .

Nwabili has been outstanding, don’t get me wrong, but i don’t see the harm in starting him (Maduka) against Benin.
Your Highness, how did you manufacture this idea?
This is the type of mindset that continue to hamper our general progress.
I guess if you had thought about this deeply you would have realized that
seeking change for the sake of it only hampers progress.

It will not make a difference

joao wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 2:03 am

Your Highness, how did you manufacture this idea?
This is the type of mindset that continue to hamper our general progress.
I guess if you had thought about this deeply you would have realized that
seeking change for the sake of it only hampers progress.
Idea was manufactured based on the fact that one mistake is not enough to throw away the baby and the bath water!

If SE fans were Manchester United Fans people like Onana would have been sold into slavery after his first one or two howlers!

We forget Keepers are like the rest of the 10 man outfield players and are prone to mistakes once in a while. Maduka made ONE mistake and he was nailed on the cross! Common guys!

We are playing Benin Republic for F! Sake! Give the man the opportunity to lay claim to his rightful position as SE’ #1. We saw how good he was for Udinesse this season. Why are we all acting like scared Puss!es?

Like BigPokey Rightly said “Football is Entertainment” it’s not a do or die affair.

I see they have convinced you too that weed is just herb. Don't listen to Bret Fart. It is not just herbs. It's drug, and will will make you post jagbajantis like this.