Finidi George to Rivers United (Rstv in Port Harcourt

Re: Finidi George to Rivers United (Rstv in Port Harcourt

Fonito signs two years contract with Rivers United

Here; https://www.instagram.com/p/C893UioNfLj ... hzZzllbw==

It makes sense. I called it. Rivers got a lot of resources. 3 million Naira a month in Nigeria is good money.

Trus me. Finidi is not doing this for the money. He invested the money he made during his playing days well. He has properties all over Port Harcourt that is making him money. He even sold the house he built in GRA II Port Harcout for over a N100 million, back when Naira was about N150 : $1 to the OPM pastor. You can tell he lives a simple life, so he doesn't need to show off. I see this as a better move for Nigeria than he coaching a bunch of average players that have been in relegation battles most of their careers.
ohenhen1 wrote: Wed Jul 03, 2024 4:48 pm It makes sense. I called it. Rivers got a lot of resources. 3 million Naira a month in Nigeria is good money.

If we had smart people running our football. They would take advantage of this news to promote the league. The NPFL is losing money due to stupid people running it. That league can be a a major revenue earner. Still think privatization is the future. Maybe they can start with shared ownership. Government can own a percentage. Community can own the rest.

Congrats to the man and a good move. Hope he can prove his doubters wrong and show that the SE disaster was just a slip-up.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Congrats to him and good luck!

He is someone I wanted to coach the SE badly. Unfortunately after his position as assistant to Peseiro, I was absolutely against him coaching us because Peseiro's first 12 months with us was horrible.

danfo driver wrote: Wed Jul 03, 2024 10:26 pm Congrats to him and good luck!

He is someone I wanted to coach the SE badly. Unfortunately after his position as assistant to Peseiro, I was absolutely against him coaching us because Peseiro's first 12 months with us was horrible.
Spot on! Really wanted him to succeed as SE coach, but proved otherwise. Still wish him the best at Rivers United. I'm impressed to see him bounce back and move forward right away. I like him personally.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Well done coach, glad to see you smiling, enjoying your life. The mistake you made was accepting the SE job. They set you up for failure. 2 months preparation to build a new team. Players not coming to camp on time. Not having a full compliment of assistants. Assistants not under contract. They have not settled past bonuses and etc.

The argument now is should you have stayed as an assitant and collect 5 million Naira a month or go to Rivers United and collect 3 million Naira. In my opinion, you made the right choice. Money is not everything. They looked at you in the face and lied to you or didn't have the courtesy to tell you that you have been demoted. You made the right decision to quit. That is an unprofessional bad working environment. It will only get worse not better. Better to quit.

You will be boss at Rivers Utd. Rivers utd got a good youth setup and lots of oil money resources. If you had stayed with the SE. You will be dealing with nuckleheads in the NFF and players like Osimhen insulting you. Fans insulting you. WOWO wanting a white man to come and boss you. Basically you would have been doing nothing as an assistant.

I will be watching your games, wish you the best coach.

Cally wrote: Wed Jul 03, 2024 10:35 pm
danfo driver wrote: Wed Jul 03, 2024 10:26 pm Congrats to him and good luck!

Spot on! Really wanted him to succeed as SE coach, but proved otherwise. Still wish him the best at Rivers United. I'm impressed to see him bounce back and move forward right away. I like him personally.
The packaging and promotion of the league is just as reliant on the coaches as it is the players and teams.
With Finidi and Amuneke in the mix, alongside a few other emerging names, they can give the NPFL a new breath of life.
Finidi might have been in the headlines recently for the ‘wrong’ reasons, but in my opinion his profile has grown even bigger.
Congrats to him.
That was just a blip and he will be back.

Congrats. He found his level!

Just like you have been at your level for the past 20years.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Jul 04, 2024 4:18 am Congrats. He found his level!

Lolly wrote: Wed Jul 03, 2024 10:14 pm Congrats to the man and a good move. Hope he can prove his doubters wrong and show that the SE disaster was just a slip-up.
The only disaster was allowing Finidi to leave. Our only chance, an extremely slim one at that, of making it to the World Cup now is to win the intercontinental playoff. A foreign coach has 0 chance of overtaking the leaders 🤔❗️

Lolly wrote: Wed Jul 03, 2024 10:14 pm Congrats to the man and a good move. Hope he can prove his doubters wrong and show that the SE disaster was just a slip-up.
AFTER 2 matches?

He was not my choice for SE coach but IF a coach is a disaster after TWO matches then your recruitment process is terrible.

This is good for him. I wish him well.

NOW...they're all coming out wishing him well when they wouldn't even give him a real chance to prove himself. How's a coach who didn't know how to substitute, or who fights with his players, as maliciously alleged, all of a sudden fit for this new job? Hypocrites, hypocrites, hypocrites.

Bum @$$ coach coaching a bum @$$ team. They deserve each other. Next up is relegation.

bret- hart wrote: Sat Jul 06, 2024 4:16 am Bum @$$ coach coaching a bum @$$ team. They deserve each other. Next up is relegation.
We all know Rivers United is trash . They finished mid table

You noticed it too?
Bell wrote: Sat Jul 06, 2024 4:09 am NOW...they're all coming out wishing him well when they wouldn't even give him a real chance to prove himself. How's a coach who didn't know how to substitute, or who fights with his players, as maliciously alleged, all of a sudden fit for this new job? Hypocrites, hypocrites, hypocrites.