John Obi Mikel has his say: African football, Chelsea’s season & Osimhen future
Re: John Obi Mikel has his say: African football, Chelsea’s season & Osimhen future
for me Mikel needs to be involved in running our football.. bobo just exposed those FA folks
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Re: John Obi Mikel has his say: African football, Chelsea’s season & Osimhen future
A cerebral player.Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Thu Aug 15, 2024 6:32 pm for me Mikel needs to be involved in running our football.. bobo just exposed those FA folks
Dont know if he will do well with managing players and imparting knowledge.
Glad to see he is still involved in the game, especially his affiliation with football academies.
yeapCellular wrote: ↑Thu Aug 15, 2024 7:46 pmA cerebral player.Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Thu Aug 15, 2024 6:32 pm for me Mikel needs to be involved in running our football.. bobo just exposed those FA folks
Dont know if he will do well with managing players and imparting knowledge.
Glad to see he is still involved in the game, especially his affiliation with football academies.
Mikel finished the Nff without calling names or pointing fingers, all with a smile on his face. It’s really a shame when you see the likes of Mikel and JJ in a studio and Gbesau running the Nff.
This is dedicated to all those saying he didn't sponsor the olympic U23 team

So what happened to the $250k that Yemi Idowu gave Siasia that was meant to be for a chartered flight for the team?
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
I don’t know about that, the team was completely abandoned, they didn’t even have money to feed, Siasia and Edafe had to go about begging rich Nigerians in diaspora for funds. A complete disgrace! Your question should be what happened to the allocated funds by the Government/ NFA and who was responsible?
Too many questions remain unanswered.gochino wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 9:13 amI don’t know about that, the team was completely abandoned, they didn’t even have money to feed, Siasia and Edafe had to go about begging rich Nigerians in diaspora for funds. A complete disgrace! Your question should be what happened to the allocated funds by the Government/ NFA and who was responsible?
But we know Yemi Idowu gave the team $250,000 towards the hiring of a chartered plane to transport the team to Brazil. Siasia and the team rejected the plane for being too small and eventually one Yinka Adejube who worked for Delta brokered a deal with Delta to take the team to Brazil.
Mikel is lying. He didn’t pay for any flight. He only paid something towards their feeding and accommodation while they were in Atlanta.
since you followed the corrupt FA to chop the money , how the heck do you claim or know Mikel is lying. Did you see who dropped the payments for the flights etc?Lolly wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 1:02 pmToo many questions remain unanswered.gochino wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 9:13 amI don’t know about that, the team was completely abandoned, they didn’t even have money to feed, Siasia and Edafe had to go about begging rich Nigerians in diaspora for funds. A complete disgrace! Your question should be what happened to the allocated funds by the Government/ NFA and who was responsible?
But we know Yemi Idowu gave the team $250,000 towards the hiring of a chartered plane to transport the team to Brazil. Siasia and the team rejected the plane for being too small and eventually one Yinka Adejube who worked for Delta brokered a deal with Delta to take the team to Brazil.
Mikel is lying. He didn’t pay for any flight. He only paid something towards their feeding and accommodation while they were in Atlanta.
Since you can’t use your brain, I will help you. Siasia already told the whole world who paid for the plane and which plane took them to Brazil.Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 1:36 pmsince you followed the corrupt FA to chop the money , how the heck do you claim or know Mikel is lying. Did you see who dropped the payments for the flights etc?Lolly wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 1:02 pmToo many questions remain unanswered.gochino wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 9:13 amI don’t know about that, the team was completely abandoned, they didn’t even have money to feed, Siasia and Edafe had to go about begging rich Nigerians in diaspora for funds. A complete disgrace! Your question should be what happened to the allocated funds by the Government/ NFA and who was responsible?
https://www.vanguardngr.com/2016/08/rio ... sment/amp/
Rio 2016: Delta Airline saves Nigeria embarrassment
Nigerian Olympic Football Team led by Coach Samson Siasia, arriving Manaus, on Thursday.
By Patrick Omorodion with CNN report
Contrary to reports that the presidency could have bailed out the U-23 football team stranded in Atlanta, USA by sending a presidential jet to ferry the team to Brazil, the CNN yesterday reported how American airline, Delta Airline assisted the team and saved Nigeria from an embarrassment
of missing their opening game against Japan early this morning.
Nigerian Olympic Football Team led by Coach Samson Siasia, arriving Manaus, on Thursday.
According to the CNN, the airline which has its headquarters in Atlanta were touched by a video posted by the Nigeria football Federation, NFF of the historic moment 20 years ago in Atlanta on August 3, 1996, captioned: “Our Dream Team won gold in the football event of the Atlanta Olympic games #20YearsAgoInAtlanta.”
The airline, it was reported, is temporarily picking up the bills of the charter flight, with an understanding that the NFF will pay them back later. The unfortunate incident, it was gathered was caused by a payment mix-up between the sports ministry and a charter airline firm. The ministry, unlike the usual practice, decided to deal directly with the charter firm instead of appointing an agency which knows the terrain.
“The Nigerian Olympic football team were stranded at the airport and almost not going to make their match against Japan,” said Reese McCranie, director of policy and communications for Hartsfield International Airport in Atlanta. The airport decided to work with Delta to make sure the team made its match on time, he told CNN.
Shockingly too, the Delta airline, it was reported, was not only picking the bill of flying the team from Atlanta to Manaus, venue of their match against Japan but also had to put them in a hotel in Atlanta after they were left stranded at the airport.
Stressing that their decision to help the U-23 team out of their predicament came down to a moment’s notice, Delta airline spokesman Anthony Black said, “This is a special occasion, not only because it’s the Olympics.
Exactly 20 years ago, on this day, the Nigerian football team needed a miracle to beat Argentina to win the gold medal in Atlanta at the Olympics. Today, we are happy to help them with another miracle.”
An elated team coach, Samson Siasia who told Delta airline that they chose to train in Atlanta because of the gold they won there 20 years ago expressed his happiness at being in Atlanta and foreshadowed the team’s difficulty in getting on a flight.
“Well, we are here [Atlanta], that’s a good thing … we are having struggles here and there like every federation but the [Nigerian Football] Federation is behind us to make sure we are prepared well to the Olympics,” he said.
Aware the team will arrive only a couple of hours to the opening match, Siasia said the flight on Delta airline makes the players happy because they “will have more leg room and they will be able to sleep on their way to Manaus.”
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Mikel paid the bills and then some.Lolly wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 5:02 pmSince you can’t use your brain, I will help you. Siasia already told the whole world who paid for the plane and which plane took them to Brazil.Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 1:36 pmsince you followed the corrupt FA to chop the money , how the heck do you claim or know Mikel is lying. Did you see who dropped the payments for the flights etc?Lolly wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 1:02 pmToo many questions remain unanswered.gochino wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 9:13 amI don’t know about that, the team was completely abandoned, they didn’t even have money to feed, Siasia and Edafe had to go about begging rich Nigerians in diaspora for funds. A complete disgrace! Your question should be what happened to the allocated funds by the Government/ NFA and who was responsible?
Contrary to reports that the presidency could have bailed out the U-23 football team stranded in Atlanta, USA by sending a presidential jet to ferry the team to Brazil, the CNN yesterday reported how American airline, Delta Airline assisted the team and saved Nigeria from an embarrassment
According to the CNN, the airline which has its headquarters in Atlanta were touched by a video posted by the Nigeria football Federation, NFF of the historic moment 20 years ago in Atlanta on August 3, 1996, captioned: “Our Dream Team won gold in the football event of the Atlanta Olympic games #20YearsAgoInAtlanta.”
The airline, it was reported, is temporarily picking up the bills of the charter flight, with an understanding that the NFF will pay them back later. The unfortunate incident, it was gathered was caused by a payment mix-up between the sports ministry and a charter airline firm. The ministry, unlike the usual practice, decided to deal directly with the charter firm instead of appointing an agency which knows the terrain.
“The Nigerian Olympic football team were stranded at the airport and almost not going to make their match against Japan,” said Reese McCranie, director of policy and communications for Hartsfield International Airport in Atlanta. The airport decided to work with Delta to make sure the team made its match on time, he told CNN.
Shockingly too, the Delta airline, it was reported, was not only picking the bill of flying the team from Atlanta to Manaus, venue of their match against Japan but also had to put them in a hotel in Atlanta after they were left stranded at the airport.
Stressing that their decision to help the U-23 team out of their predicament came down to a moment’s notice, Delta airline spokesman Anthony Black said, “This is a special occasion, not only because it’s the Olympics.
Exactly 20 years ago, on this day, the Nigerian football team needed a miracle to beat Argentina to win the gold medal in Atlanta at the Olympics. Today, we are happy to help them with another miracle.”
An elated team coach, Samson Siasia who told Delta airline that they chose to train in Atlanta because of the gold they won there 20 years ago expressed his happiness at being in Atlanta and foreshadowed the team’s difficulty in getting on a flight.
“Well, we are here [Atlanta], that’s a good thing … we are having struggles here and there like every federation but the [Nigerian Football] Federation is behind us to make sure we are prepared well to the Olympics,” he said.
Aware the team will arrive only a couple of hours to the opening match, Siasia said the flight on Delta airline makes the players happy because they “will have more leg room and they will be able to sleep on their way to Manaus.”
He was the guarantor for the flight. The $250K allegedly given by Yemi was pocketed by the NFF. Same way they pocketed money from the Presidency and NOC.
Mikel did not pay for the flight. He paid accommodation and feeding for some of the days they overstayed in Atlanta while waiting for the flights to be sorted out. And Yemi’s money was not picketed. They used it to balance some of Delta’s bill but it was not enough to cover all. And they refused to refund him his money.Cellular wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 5:22 pmMikel paid the bills and then some.Lolly wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 5:02 pmSince you can’t use your brain, I will help you. Siasia already told the whole world who paid for the plane and which plane took them to Brazil.Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 1:36 pmsince you followed the corrupt FA to chop the money , how the heck do you claim or know Mikel is lying. Did you see who dropped the payments for the flights etc?Lolly wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 1:02 pmToo many questions remain unanswered.gochino wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 9:13 amI don’t know about that, the team was completely abandoned, they didn’t even have money to feed, Siasia and Edafe had to go about begging rich Nigerians in diaspora for funds. A complete disgrace! Your question should be what happened to the allocated funds by the Government/ NFA and who was responsible?
He was the guarantor for the flight. The $250K allegedly given by Yemi was pocketed by the NFF. Same way they pocketed money from the Presidency and NOC.
You probably didn’t know that he initially paid for a chartered plane that Siasia and the team refused to board. Then the money was refunded and then used to settle some of Delta’s bill. Mikel never paid for any flight.
lolly just making stuff up...smh
Listen to Siasia’s interview.
And I know one of the guys in Atlanta who was involved in the negotiations.
you should learn and research, by the way, Mikel has many gigs,
Lolly isn’t making anything up, his details are accurate.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Lolly, you are an enabler of corruption, pure and simple. Show me where any NFF or NOC official refuted Mikel’s claimLolly wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 1:02 pmToo many questions remain unanswered.gochino wrote: ↑Sat Aug 17, 2024 9:13 amI don’t know about that, the team was completely abandoned, they didn’t even have money to feed, Siasia and Edafe had to go about begging rich Nigerians in diaspora for funds. A complete disgrace! Your question should be what happened to the allocated funds by the Government/ NFA and who was responsible?
- TonyTheTigerKiller
You are in a better position than anyone else here to answer that question. Stop shielding your corrupt friends who are doing Nigeria a huge disservice
You have more corrupt friends than me going by your posts. I don’t have a single friend in government, not one.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Thu Jun 26, 2025 4:18 amYou are in a better position than anyone else here to answer that question. Stop shielding your corrupt friends who are doing Nigeria a huge disservice
Meanwhile, I think Siasia is the only one who can answer the question about the $250,000.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
You are a big, fat liarLolly wrote: ↑Thu Jun 26, 2025 8:42 amYou have more corrupt friends than me going by your posts. I don’t have a single friend in government, not one.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Thu Jun 26, 2025 4:18 amYou are in a better position than anyone else here to answer that question. Stop shielding your corrupt friends who are doing Nigeria a huge disservice
Meanwhile, I think Siasia is the only one who can answer the question about the $250,000.

Your unflinching support for Buhari and Tinubu says it all
My unflinching support for Buhari does not make me a friend. Even a dumbo like you should know that simple fact.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Thu Jun 26, 2025 2:03 pmYou are a big, fat liarLolly wrote: ↑Thu Jun 26, 2025 8:42 amYou have more corrupt friends than me going by your posts. I don’t have a single friend in government, not one.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Thu Jun 26, 2025 4:18 amYou are in a better position than anyone else here to answer that question. Stop shielding your corrupt friends who are doing Nigeria a huge disservice
Meanwhile, I think Siasia is the only one who can answer the question about the $250,000.![]()
Your unflinching support for Buhari and Tinubu says it all
Secondly, I don’t support Tinubu. Shine your eye.