Super Eagles Ditch AFCONQ, Leave Libya After 20 Hours in Airport

After 13 hours in a yeye airport.

fully support this decision. About time we called the useless Libyans' bluff.

Why would Libya allow Ghana and Sudan land in Benghazi and not Nigeria? We can afford to lose the 3 points while CAF may scramble to see what could be done...probably move the match to a nearby country or even UAE.

However, NFF should report this matter to CAF, FIFA and for whatever it's worth seek compensation for the travel cost incurred.

https://boldsportsng.com/stranded-super ... -confirms/
Last edited by anointed on Tue Oct 15, 2024 8:33 am, edited 3 times in total.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Re: SE May Have Resolved to Ditch Libya Match and Return Hone

Fantastic!!!
trae_z

Post by trae_z »

I'm just getting to know that the Libyans didn't receive a smooth welcome in Nigeria. This is inexcusable; the NFF should be ashamed.

However, two wrongs don't make a right. The NFF should calmly sort things out with the Libyan FA because a boycott would mean 3 points lost and fines. CAF should take note.

trae_z wrote: Mon Oct 14, 2024 8:24 am I'm just getting to know that the Libyans didn't receive a smooth welcome in Nigeria. This is inexcusable; the NFF should be ashamed.

However, two wrongs don't make a right. The NFF should calmly sort things out with the Libyan FA because a boycott would mean 3 points lost and fines. CAF should take note.

Mr. Emmanuel Ayanbunmi, NFF’s Assistant Director of Protocol, “We were only informed three hours before their arrival that they were landing in Port Harcourt, not Uyo as expected.

“On Monday, October 7th, I spoke at length with the LFF’s General Secretary, and he never indicated that the team would arrive the next day. We only found out an hour after they were airborne.

“If they travelled on buses without air conditioning, that’s entirely their own doing. We provided adequate security, and their complaints and threats do not concern us.”

https://www.pulsesports.ng/football/sto ... eration%20(NFF,leg%20taking%20place%20in%20Uyo.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Good! This is why it's good to win all games, you can afford to do things like this. They might not be safe in that stadium.

Can they play the game in a neutral ground?

If you believe the NFF about what happened with Libya in Nigeria then you’re a moron. Planes don’t divert themselves. Moreover, the Libyans couldn’t have decided to land in PH on their own because PH wasn’t in the equation for them.

This whole saga is squarely the fault of the NFF. If you slap someone without provocation and they retaliate by kicking you in the face, you don’t have any moral grounds to complain…

All actions have consequences. I hope Nigeria herself doesn’t get banned because of the mindless actions of an ignorant NFF🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Oct 14, 2024 9:57 am If you believe the NFF about what happened with Libya in Nigeria then you’re a moron. Planes don’t divert themselves. Moreover, the Libyans couldn’t have decided to land in PH on their own because PH wasn’t in the equation for them.

This whole saga is squarely the fault of the NFF. If you slap someone without provocation and they retaliate by kicking you in the face, you don’t have any moral grounds to complain…

All actions have consequences. I hope Nigeria itself doesn’t get banned because of the mindless actions of an ignorant NFF🤔❗️
You have obviously not been following what happened but posting angrily.

The Libyans chose to arrive earlier than scheduled. NFF was only informed when they were airborne. Their scheduled landing was for Uyo but they chose to go to PH, where the Libyan embassy had prepped road transportation for them.

Pls, I might have missed it...what did the NFF do wrong?

Meanwhile, Sudan and Ghana landed safely in the same Benghazi on Sunday. This is an indictment on the Libyans.

https://boldsportsng.com/double-standar ... ill-stuck/

anointed wrote: Mon Oct 14, 2024 10:04 am
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Oct 14, 2024 9:57 am If you believe the NFF about what happened with Libya in Nigeria then you’re a moron. Planes don’t divert themselves. Moreover, the Libyans couldn’t have decided to land in PH on their own because PH wasn’t in the equation for them.

All actions have consequences. I hope Nigeria itself doesn’t get banned because of the mindless actions of an ignorant NFF🤔❗️

The Libyans chose to arrive earlier than scheduled. NFF was only informed when they were airborne. Their scheduled landing was for Uyo but they chose to go to PH, where the Libyan embassy had prepped road transportation for them.

Why would the NFF mistreat Libya. We don't do things like that, they are not rivals, we have no history of antagonism, it was a relatively straight forward game. If anything happened it wasn't deliberate.

airwolex wrote: Mon Oct 14, 2024 10:07 am

Why would the NFF mistreat Libya. We don't do things like that, they are not rivals, we have no history of antagonism, it was a relatively straight forward game. If anything happened it wasn't deliberate.
What did the Libyans have to gain by flying to Port Harcourt? Why PH and not Abuja or Lagos? The NFF is obviously lying. For heaven’s sake, use the brain that God gave you🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Oct 14, 2024 10:17 am

What did the Libyans have to gain by flying to Port Harcourt? Why PH and not Abuja or Lagos? The NFF is obviously lying. For heaven’s sake, use the brain that God gave you🤔❗️
You need to prove that NFF was lying, not angry conjectures.

Why would the NFF mistreat Libya. We don't do things like that, they are not rivals, we have no history of antagonism, it was a relatively straight forward game. If anything happened it wasn't edeliberate.
There’s a ploy by SE opponents to capitalise on protocol hitches and magnify it . These teams expect to lose, so they start finding excuses before the match. South Africa did the same thing and the NFF needs to be ahead of the game when playing these countries,
Libya had a 3 hour delay at the airport and then you had their players sitting on the floor in online photos just to present negative optics.
Their response has been over the top with their government involved. This is highly unacceptable in this day and age!
I heard CAF are threatening us with sanctions if we don’t play the game! Do we not have any influence in African football anymore?

Fully supported. Do not sanction this stupidity. Boycott straight.

Dammy wrote: Mon Oct 14, 2024 11:35 am

Why would the NFF mistreat Libya. We don't do things like that, they are not rivals, we have no history of antagonism, it was a relatively straight forward game. If anything happened it wasn't edeliberate.
There’s a ploy by SE opponents to capitalise on protocol hitches and magnify it . These teams expect to lose, so they start finding excuses before the match. South Africa did the same thing and the NFF needs to be ahead of the game when playing these countries,
Libya had a 3 hour delay at the airport and then you had their players sitting on the floor in online photos just to present negative optics.
Their response has been over the top with their government involved. This is highly unacceptable in this day and age!
I heard CAF are threatening us with sanctions if we don’t play the game! Do we not have any influence in African football anymore?
So CAF approve of Libya’s behaviour ? I say to hell with the match let CAF do it’s worst

Make dem dey come home. Football is irrelevant under the circumstances.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

They never wanted to play. You could tell from their bizzarre tactics. This way, it's possible that a complaint and counter complaint is lodged. Depending on what happens we will be docked points and possibly worse which means they have a chance at qualifying. Well played Libya. I knew something was up during tha game.

anointed wrote: Mon Oct 14, 2024 7:56 am After 13 hours in a yeye airport.

fully support this decision. About time we called the useless Libyans' bluff.

Why would Libya allow Ghana and Sudan land in Benghazi and not Nigeria? We can afford to lose the 3 points while CAF may scramble to see what could be done...probably move the match to a nearby country or even UAE.

However, NFF should report this matter to CAF, FIFA and for whatever it's worth seek compensation for the travel cost incurred.

https://boldsportsng.com/stranded-super ... -confirms/
Bros, that would be a rash decision without collaboration from commissioner, embassy, etc. If Nigeria takes this action without collaboration CAF should corr we cyly ban Niger I a from the AFCON. you realize that these games ride on sponsorshi Whole these stories are heartwrenching, there issue far more steps to tale before determining whether a boycott iss a responsible action.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics