“I’ve spoken to Adarabioyo” – Alex Iwobi reveals Chelsea star’s thoughts on choosing Nigeria over England
“I’ve spoken to him” – Alex Iwobi reveals Chelsea star’s thoughts on choosing Nigeria over England

Super Eagles midfielder Alex Iwobi has provided insight into Tosin Adarabioyo’s international future, revealing that the Chelsea defender is still weighing whether to represent Nigeria or England, Soccernet.ng reports.
With Nigerian heritage and having represented England at the youth level, Adarabioyo remains eligible to play for either nation, though he has yet to commit.
The Chelsea centre-back, who joined the club on a free transfer from Fulham over the summer, turned heads with standout performances last season.
However, Adarabioyo was left out of the England squad for this year’s European Championship, where England ultimately lost to Spain in the final.
This decision has given the Nigeria Football Federation renewed hope of securing the 27-year-old defender, particularly as the Super Eagles’ current lineup of centre-backs includes several players aged 30 or older, such as William Troost-Ekong, Semi Ajayi, Kenneth Omeruo, and Leon Balogun.
Iwobi, who played alongside Adarabioyo at Fulham, shared that he has already discussed the possibility of representing Nigeria with his former teammate.
According to Iwobi, Adarabioyo is currently focused on securing a regular role at Chelsea before deciding on his international future.
“He’s a great player, and I know his qualities, having played both with and against him,” Iwobi told Making of Champions as per Brila.
“We would love to have him on the team, but ultimately, it’s his decision.”
“I’ve spoken to him about playing for Nigeria, but he mentioned that he wants a team where he can have stability and secure a regular spot,” Iwobi added.
“At the end of the day, the choice is his. I’m sure he’s happy at Chelsea, a big club. As long as he’s enjoying his football, that’s what matters.”
Adarabioyo, who previously featured for England’s U19 team, has so far made just four Premier League appearances for Chelsea this season.
Chelsea, now sitting fifth in the league table, have had a promising start, winning five of their nine matches and drawing two.
https://soccernet.ng/2024/10/ive-spoken ... gland.html

Super Eagles midfielder Alex Iwobi has provided insight into Tosin Adarabioyo’s international future, revealing that the Chelsea defender is still weighing whether to represent Nigeria or England, Soccernet.ng reports.
With Nigerian heritage and having represented England at the youth level, Adarabioyo remains eligible to play for either nation, though he has yet to commit.
The Chelsea centre-back, who joined the club on a free transfer from Fulham over the summer, turned heads with standout performances last season.
However, Adarabioyo was left out of the England squad for this year’s European Championship, where England ultimately lost to Spain in the final.
This decision has given the Nigeria Football Federation renewed hope of securing the 27-year-old defender, particularly as the Super Eagles’ current lineup of centre-backs includes several players aged 30 or older, such as William Troost-Ekong, Semi Ajayi, Kenneth Omeruo, and Leon Balogun.
Iwobi, who played alongside Adarabioyo at Fulham, shared that he has already discussed the possibility of representing Nigeria with his former teammate.
According to Iwobi, Adarabioyo is currently focused on securing a regular role at Chelsea before deciding on his international future.
“He’s a great player, and I know his qualities, having played both with and against him,” Iwobi told Making of Champions as per Brila.
“We would love to have him on the team, but ultimately, it’s his decision.”
“I’ve spoken to him about playing for Nigeria, but he mentioned that he wants a team where he can have stability and secure a regular spot,” Iwobi added.
“At the end of the day, the choice is his. I’m sure he’s happy at Chelsea, a big club. As long as he’s enjoying his football, that’s what matters.”
Adarabioyo, who previously featured for England’s U19 team, has so far made just four Premier League appearances for Chelsea this season.
Chelsea, now sitting fifth in the league table, have had a promising start, winning five of their nine matches and drawing two.
https://soccernet.ng/2024/10/ive-spoken ... gland.html
- bret- hart
Re: “I’ve spoken to Adarabioyo” – Alex Iwobi reveals Chelsea star’s thoughts on choosing Nigeria over England
This guy is not serious. Even if he agrees to play for Nigeria, He will do us like Kevin Prince Boateng did Ghana.
Re: “I’ve spoken to Adarabioyo” – Alex Iwobi reveals Chelsea star’s thoughts on choosing Nigeria over England
Let me tell you, this guy is just waiting for an England call-up. He’s not weighing his options; his problem is simply that England hasn’t called him up yet. If they do, you’ll see how fast he reports to their camp. At the very least, he should be honest. Nigeria is his last option, just like Kevin Akpoguma from Germany. It’s the Nigerians with no self-respect who keep posting updates about him as if he’s about to play for the Super Eagles. He’s just another one who isn’t sincere. Tammy Abraham, Tomori, Eze… the list goes on.
I agree with you bro.highbury wrote: ↑Thu Oct 31, 2024 7:25 pm Let me tell you, this guy is just waiting for an England call-up. He’s not weighing his options; his problem is simply that England hasn’t called him up yet. If they do, you’ll see how fast he reports to their camp. At the very least, he should be honest. Nigeria is his last option, just like Kevin Akpoguma from Germany. It’s the Nigerians with no self-respect who keep posting updates about him as if he’s about to play for the Super Eagles. He’s just another one who isn’t sincere. Tammy Abraham, Tomori, Eze… the list goes on.
Exactly what has he done that is “insincere”?iworo wrote: ↑Thu Oct 31, 2024 8:06 pmI agree with you bro.highbury wrote: ↑Thu Oct 31, 2024 7:25 pm Let me tell you, this guy is just waiting for an England call-up. He’s not weighing his options; his problem is simply that England hasn’t called him up yet. If they do, you’ll see how fast he reports to their camp. At the very least, he should be honest. Nigeria is his last option, just like Kevin Akpoguma from Germany. It’s the Nigerians with no self-respect who keep posting updates about him as if he’s about to play for the Super Eagles. He’s just another one who isn’t sincere. Tammy Abraham, Tomori, Eze… the list goes on.
He said he was going to play for Naija and never turned up?
So ‘weighing one’s options’ is now insincerity?

Pray, tell.
About time we moved on from Adarabioyo!
Was he not the one who paid for Eguavoen to come and watch him play? He did that just attract the attention of Southgate.
Paid for?
All players have complimentary tickets which they can dash to whoever they like.
So he probably didn't pay shishi.
- danfo driver
I wonder if he was referring to flight ticket and bus ticket that Eguavoen used from Heathrow to Hammersmith. I dont think he needed to book hotel for Egu, as Egu stayed in his boys-quarters during the trip.
danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu Oct 31, 2024 11:19 pmI wonder if he was referring to flight ticket and bus ticket that Eguavoen used from Heathrow to Hammersmith. I dont think he needed to book hotel for Egu, as Egu stayed in his boys-quarters during the trip.

IT'S ENTIRELY HIS CHOICE...Let him do what's in his best interest. Ditto the NFF. This is not what will keep me awake at night.

- Undertaker
The guy has zero chance playing for England. I don't think Scotland,Wales, or Ireland will take him if England offers him to them!

- TonyTheTigerKiller
We should be looking at players much younger than a 27 year-old to replace the likes of Ekong, Ajayi and Omeruo. If we don’t make this World Cup, he’ll be 32 by the next World Cup

- packerland
You might be pushing it. Are guys like Tyrone Mings and Ezra Konsa who have represented England that much better than him? I said in another thread that he is a teaser and maybe we shouldn’t put much focus or resources in recruiting him, but anyday he declares that he is ready to play for Nigeria, we should welcome him with open hands. Of course he still has to meet certain club standards and willing to fight for the GWG.Undertaker wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 5:50 am The guy has zero chance playing for England. I don't think Scotland,Wales, or Ireland will take him if England offers him to them!![]()
- bret- hart
Dude is a bench warmer at Chelsea and is 27. The odds are not in his favor. Also, England always has a conveyor belt of young CBs and they sure do love the Caucasian ones. He will end up like Nedum Onuoha if he is not careful. Nigeria does not have issues getting Centre backs. He better learn from Fikayo Tomori.packerland wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:22 pmYou might be pushing it. Are guys like Tyrone Mings and Ezra Konsa who have represented England that much better than him? I said in another thread that he is a teaser and maybe we shouldn’t put much focus or resources in recruiting him, but anyday he declares that he is ready to play for Nigeria, we should welcome him with open hands. Of course he still has to meet certain club standards and willing to fight for the GWG.Undertaker wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 5:50 am The guy has zero chance playing for England. I don't think Scotland,Wales, or Ireland will take him if England offers him to them!![]()
Guy, 27 isn’t a spring chicken but for the here and now at that age, I’d take him.bret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:33 pmDude is a bench warmer at Chelsea and is 27. The odds are not in his favor. Also, England always has a conveyor belt of young CBs and they sure do love the Caucasian ones. He will end up like Nedum Onuoha if he is not careful. Nigeria does not have issues getting Centre backs.packerland wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:22 pmYou might be pushing it. Are guys like Tyrone Mings and Ezra Konsa who have represented England that much better than him? I said in another thread that he is a teaser and maybe we shouldn’t put much focus or resources in recruiting him, but anyday he declares that he is ready to play for Nigeria, we should welcome him with open hands. Of course he still has to meet certain club standards and willing to fight for the GWG.Undertaker wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 5:50 am The guy has zero chance playing for England. I don't think Scotland,Wales, or Ireland will take him if England offers him to them!![]()
He’s still younger than ALL our CDs apart from Bassey.
As for us not having issues with CDs, I don’t think you’re being realistic.
Apart from Ndah, the only other SE-level CDs that come to mind are Akpogima and Tourinarhiga, and both of them get small comma somehow.
Benjamin Frederick’s is still cutting his teeth at the top level and Ozonwafor has sunk beyond trace.
So we’re not exactly brimming with CD talent.
Notice I haven’t even bothered to mention the so-called next best thing on the horizon, Bamayi.
That’s because this is not a joking matter.
You forgot Gabriel Osho at AuxerreDamunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:43 pmGuy, 27 isn’t a spring chicken but for the here and now at that age, I’d take him.bret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:33 pmDude is a bench warmer at Chelsea and is 27. The odds are not in his favor. Also, England always has a conveyor belt of young CBs and they sure do love the Caucasian ones. He will end up like Nedum Onuoha if he is not careful. Nigeria does not have issues getting Centre backs.packerland wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:22 pmYou might be pushing it. Are guys like Tyrone Mings and Ezra Konsa who have represented England that much better than him? I said in another thread that he is a teaser and maybe we shouldn’t put much focus or resources in recruiting him, but anyday he declares that he is ready to play for Nigeria, we should welcome him with open hands. Of course he still has to meet certain club standards and willing to fight for the GWG.Undertaker wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 5:50 am The guy has zero chance playing for England. I don't think Scotland,Wales, or Ireland will take him if England offers him to them!![]()
Apart from Ndah, the only other SE-level CDs that come to mind are Akpogima and Tourinarhiga, and both of them get small comma somehow.
Benjamin Frederick’s is still cutting his teeth at the top level and Ozonwafor has sunk beyond trace.
Notice I haven’t even bothered to mention the so-called next best thing on the horizon, Bamayi.
True.Dammy wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 5:57 pmYou forgot Gabriel Osho at AuxerreDamunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:43 pmGuy, 27 isn’t a spring chicken but for the here and now at that age, I’d take him.bret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:33 pmDude is a bench warmer at Chelsea and is 27. The odds are not in his favor. Also, England always has a conveyor belt of young CBs and they sure do love the Caucasian ones. He will end up like Nedum Onuoha if he is not careful. Nigeria does not have issues getting Centre backs.packerland wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:22 pmYou might be pushing it. Are guys like Tyrone Mings and Ezra Konsa who have represented England that much better than him? I said in another thread that he is a teaser and maybe we shouldn’t put much focus or resources in recruiting him, but anyday he declares that he is ready to play for Nigeria, we should welcome him with open hands. Of course he still has to meet certain club standards and willing to fight for the GWG.Undertaker wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 5:50 am The guy has zero chance playing for England. I don't think Scotland,Wales, or Ireland will take him if England offers him to them!![]()
But how is he doing @ Auxerre?
He’s been off my radar for a while…
He’s playing well for themDamunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 7:41 pmTrue.Dammy wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 5:57 pmYou forgot Gabriel Osho at AuxerreDamunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:43 pmGuy, 27 isn’t a spring chicken but for the here and now at that age, I’d take him.bret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:33 pmDude is a bench warmer at Chelsea and is 27. The odds are not in his favor. Also, England always has a conveyor belt of young CBs and they sure do love the Caucasian ones. He will end up like Nedum Onuoha if he is not careful. Nigeria does not have issues getting Centre backs.packerland wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:22 pmYou might be pushing it. Are guys like Tyrone Mings and Ezra Konsa who have represented England that much better than him? I said in another thread that he is a teaser and maybe we shouldn’t put much focus or resources in recruiting him, but anyday he declares that he is ready to play for Nigeria, we should welcome him with open hands. Of course he still has to meet certain club standards and willing to fight for the GWG.Undertaker wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 5:50 am The guy has zero chance playing for England. I don't think Scotland,Wales, or Ireland will take him if England offers him to them!![]()
But how is he doing @ Auxerre?
He’s been off my radar for a while…
- bret- hart
Damunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:43 pmGuy, 27 isn’t a spring chicken but for the here and now at that age, I’d take him.bret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:33 pmDude is a bench warmer at Chelsea and is 27. The odds are not in his favor. Also, England always has a conveyor belt of young CBs and they sure do love the Caucasian ones. He will end up like Nedum Onuoha if he is not careful. Nigeria does not have issues getting Centre backs.packerland wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:22 pmYou might be pushing it. Are guys like Tyrone Mings and Ezra Konsa who have represented England that much better than him? I said in another thread that he is a teaser and maybe we shouldn’t put much focus or resources in recruiting him, but anyday he declares that he is ready to play for Nigeria, we should welcome him with open hands. Of course he still has to meet certain club standards and willing to fight for the GWG.Undertaker wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 5:50 am The guy has zero chance playing for England. I don't think Scotland,Wales, or Ireland will take him if England offers him to them!![]()
A 27 year old bench warmer at chelsea doing shakara is of no use to me. Let him wait for England. Also yest historically Nigeria has produced good rugged CBs. The issue now is that the NFF is useless and corrupt and thus our youth teams are not producing top quality CBs like before. The Flying Eagles is usually where our Defenders come out od but today its Bamayi and Tiaminu that gets called up. I would rather callup Vince Osuji, Fredriks and Nwainu than Adarabioyo. Other options are Torunagia and Udokhai. They are ready and available.
Tosin does not want to play for Nigeria….bret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 10:51 pmDamunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:43 pmGuy, 27 isn’t a spring chicken but for the here and now at that age, I’d take him.bret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:33 pmDude is a bench warmer at Chelsea and is 27. The odds are not in his favor. Also, England always has a conveyor belt of young CBs and they sure do love the Caucasian ones. He will end up like Nedum Onuoha if he is not careful. Nigeria does not have issues getting Centre backs.packerland wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:22 pmYou might be pushing it. Are guys like Tyrone Mings and Ezra Konsa who have represented England that much better than him? I said in another thread that he is a teaser and maybe we shouldn’t put much focus or resources in recruiting him, but anyday he declares that he is ready to play for Nigeria, we should welcome him with open hands. Of course he still has to meet certain club standards and willing to fight for the GWG.Undertaker wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 5:50 am The guy has zero chance playing for England. I don't think Scotland,Wales, or Ireland will take him if England offers him to them!![]()
A 27 year old bench warmer at chelsea doing shakara is of no use to me. Let him wait for England. Also yest historically Nigeria has produced good rugged CBs. The issue now is that the NFF is useless and corrupt and thus our youth teams are not producing top quality CBs like before. The Flying Eagles is usually where our Defenders come out od but today its Bamayi and Tiaminu that gets called up. I would rather callup Vince Osuji, Fredriks and Nwainu than Adarabioyo. Other options are Torunagia and Udokhai. They are ready and available.
He will not play for England (not good enough) either. SE should move on….
Tosin does not want to play for Nigeria….tried to use Nigeria interest to gain England call up…didn’t work.bret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 10:51 pmDamunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:43 pmGuy, 27 isn’t a spring chicken but for the here and now at that age, I’d take him.bret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:33 pmDude is a bench warmer at Chelsea and is 27. The odds are not in his favor. Also, England always has a conveyor belt of young CBs and they sure do love the Caucasian ones. He will end up like Nedum Onuoha if he is not careful. Nigeria does not have issues getting Centre backs.packerland wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:22 pmYou might be pushing it. Are guys like Tyrone Mings and Ezra Konsa who have represented England that much better than him? I said in another thread that he is a teaser and maybe we shouldn’t put much focus or resources in recruiting him, but anyday he declares that he is ready to play for Nigeria, we should welcome him with open hands. Of course he still has to meet certain club standards and willing to fight for the GWG.Undertaker wrote: ↑Fri Nov 01, 2024 5:50 am The guy has zero chance playing for England. I don't think Scotland,Wales, or Ireland will take him if England offers him to them!![]()
Jarred Braithwaite is back with the u-21s so we can conclude that Tosin will not play for England (not good enough) either. SE should move on….