OKOYE may start v Benin Rep.

Maduka Okoye's early arrival in camp should give him the leg up as starter v Benin Rep given that his competitor has not arrived camp based on current reports. Earlier, my view was that he would not start until the second game during this window but it appears to me that based on camp arricals, Okoye should have the inside track to starting. Why has the No. 1 goalkeeper not yet in camp? That is the question.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: OKOYE may start v Benin Rep.

Enugu II wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 3:20 pm Maduka Okoye's early arrival in camp should give him the leg up as starter v Benin Rep given that his competitor has not arrived camp based on current reports. Earlier, my view was that he would not start until the second game during this window but it appears to me that based on camp arricals, Okoye should have the inside track to starting. Why has the No. 1 goalkeeper not yet in camp? That is the question.
Oga, but the No. 1 has not arrived late nor broken any camp rules. When is the deadline to arrive in camp? Why the haste to demote him?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 3:25 pm
Enugu II wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 3:20 pm Maduka Okoye's early arrival in camp should give him the leg up as starter v Benin Rep given that his competitor has not arrived camp based on current reports. Earlier, my view was that he would not start until the second game during this window but it appears to me that based on camp arricals, Okoye should have the inside track to starting. Why has the No. 1 goalkeeper not yet in camp? That is the question.
Oga, but the No. 1 has not arrived late nor broken any camp rules. When is the deadline to arrive in camp? Why the haste to demote him?
I believe they were supposed to arrive last night if you played Saturday. Game is in two days. My thoughts.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Good.

We are all but qualified.

Okoye needs to show us that he is over his jitteriness and is the goalie who does well in Serie A.

No harm here.

I’ve noticed that too. They're looking for ways to install Okoye as the number one. As long as Nwabali arrives before the first session, he should start. Aesthetically, they want Okoye to be in goal. I’ve also noticed how they’re trying to find faults in Nwabali, like accusing him of time-wasting and other nonsense.

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 4:08 pm Good.

We are all but qualified.

Okoye needs to show us that he is over his jitteriness and is the goalie who does well in Serie A.

No harm here.
No. Nwabali should man the post for the first game and Okoye for the second game. Qualification must be secured before we start experimenting

Uncle EII, isn't this what they call agenda post?

1naija wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 4:52 pm Uncle EII, isn't this what they call agenda post?
There is no post that does not have an agenda except when someone fails to think or has no goal prior to posting. Going by that, ALL my posts have an agenda.

For this particular post, the agenda is to generate controversial discussion and make CE lively. I hope you noticed how dead CE is these days.
Last edited by Enugu II on Tue Nov 12, 2024 5:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Enugu II wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 4:57 pm
1naija wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 4:52 pm Uncle EII, isn't this what they call agenda post?
There is no post that does not have an agenda except when someone fails to think or have a goal prior to posting. Going by that, ALL my posts have an agenda.

For this particular post, the agenda is to generate controversial discussion and make CE lively. I hope you noticed how dead CE is these days.
ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

highbury wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 4:43 pm
I’ve noticed that too. They're looking for ways to install Okoye as the number one. As long as Nwabali arrives before the first session, he should start. Aesthetically, they want Okoye to be in goal. I’ve also noticed how they’re trying to find faults in Nwabali, like accusing him of time-wasting and other nonsense.
Why shouldn't Okoye be in goal? He is currently the highest-ranking Nigerian goalkeeper. I ask again, why should he not be in goal?

ahidjo2 wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 5:33 pm
Why shouldn't Okoye be in goal? He is currently the highest-ranking Nigerian goalkeeper. I ask again, why should he not be in goal?
1) He shouldn't be in goal because Nwabali is our undisputed #1 goalie
2) Again, I tell you that Nwabali is our undisputed # 1 goalie
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

Nwabali hasnt conceded a single goal this afcon qualifiers. Eachtime when called upon he makes crucial saves. Okoye will be on the bench for a while. Nwabali has that spot on lockdown and have shoes no signs of giving it up.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?
trae_z

Post by trae_z »

yeah, Nwabali is late so I expect Okoye to start.
It's only fair and based on Team discipline.
Nwabali can start the second game.

The way see it is that Okoye has exercised lots of patience and discipline thus far playing a second fiddle when we all in our right mind know where our best in the world should be featuring. I know our political system has forced on us this pretend life style that's unsustainable. So how long do we want to pretend that Nwabali should be No 1 when our best is seating on the bench simply because we don't want to hurt Nwabali's feelings.
Last edited by jette1 on Tue Nov 12, 2024 7:32 pm, edited 3 times in total.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 7:25 pm The way see it is that Okoye has exercised lots of patience and discipline thus far playing a second fiddle when we all in our right mind know where our best in the world should be featuring. I know our political system has forced on us this pretend life style that's never unsustainable.
That is the problem with you people- because he plays in a more fancied league you lust after that instead of basing it on the performance of the players when called upon.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

jette1 wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 7:25 pm The way see it is that Okoye has exercised lots of patience and discipline thus far playing a second fiddle when we all in our right mind know where our best in the world should be featuring. I know our political system has forced on us this pretend life style that's unsustainable. So how long do we want to pretend that Nwabali should be No 1 when our best is seating on the bench simply because we don't want to hurt Nwabali's feelings.
The best goalkeeper for the SE is the one that has been playing well for the SE and has built a strong and fruitful partnership with our defenders. Everyone else should wait for their turn if the opportunity arises. This is not about feelings.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 8:22 pm
jette1 wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 7:25 pm The way see it is that Okoye has exercised lots of patience and discipline thus far playing a second fiddle when we all in our right mind know where our best in the world should be featuring. I know our political system has forced on us this pretend life style that's unsustainable. So how long do we want to pretend that Nwabali should be No 1 when our best is seating on the bench simply because we don't want to hurt Nwabali's feelings.
The best goalkeeper for the SE is the one that has been playing well for the SE and has built a strong and fruitful partnership with our defenders. Everyone else should wait for their turn if the opportunity arises. This is not about feelings.
Just like Tinubu has built strong partnership with all the criminals to force his turn so everyone should wait their turn; you are really smart. The pretend life goes on

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Incredible.
Who are ‘they’?

You really do have issues with skin color.
It’s always been obvious. Forever projecting.

Whaaat? “Aesthetics”.

Goalgetter wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 6:44 pm Nwabali hasnt conceded a single goal this afcon qualifiers. Eachtime when called upon he makes crucial saves. Okoye will be on the bench for a while. Nwabali has that spot on lockdown and have shoes no signs of giving it up.
Even his play out from the back is miles above Okoyes

Damunk wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 8:41 pm
Incredible.
Who are ‘they’?

You really do have issues with skin color.
It’s always been obvious. Forever projecting.

Whaaat? “Aesthetics”.
Na lie! Speak for yourself. I had already stated that some are favoring a player over another based on the club/country they play for instead of the player's performance for the National team when called upon. Na you dey see color. Don't drag me in your color war :D
ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

highbury wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 5:41 pm
Sorry sir, he is not undisputed unless there is a new meaning to that word. There is nothing to suggest that he is in any way better than Okoye. There is no coach that is worth his salt that will choose a south African based keeper ahead of Serie A starter irrespective of Nwabali's performance at AFCON. Nobody does that except sentimental Nigerians. Okoye conceded a goal against Tunisia and that was it but Nwabali conceded 8 in five straight games and nobody raised any eyebrow. Make una continue...

ahidjo2 wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 10:00 pm
highbury wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 5:41 pm
Sorry sir, he is not undisputed unless there is a new meaning to that word. There is nothing to suggest that he is in any way better than Okoye. There is no coach that is worth his salt that will choose a south African based keeper ahead of Serie A starter irrespective of Nwabali's performance at AFCON. Nobody does that except sentimental Nigerians. Okoye conceded a goal against Tunisia and that was it but Nwabali conceded 8 in five straight games and nobody raised any eyebrow. Make una continue...
Sorry, sir, but "undisputed" means that it is generally agreed upon that Nwabali is our #1. That’s why he has been our goalkeeper since AFCON. Can you deny that? Most people agree with this, which is why there’s no outcry when Nwabali is in goal. Isn’t that clear, unless you have an agenda?

Thankfully, you did state your agenda: a Serie A starter must start over a South African-based player without judging them on their performances for the national team. I like Okoye, and I support all our players, but the truth is, I don’t care what you do in your club—it’s about what you do for my national team. Being invited shows a player meets the quality standard for the team. Retention, however, is based on performance for the team.