“He should resign” – Samson Siasia sends strong message to Eguavoen

Eguavoen's fourth spell in charge of the Super Eagles has met positive responses, as he's lost just one game.

Former Super Eagles head coach, Samson Siasia, has adviced Augustine Eguavoen to relinquish his position as the Interim manager of the Nigerian national team, Soccernet.ng reports.

Siasia, who recently served a FIFA coaching ban due to match-fixing allegations has set sights on a return to duties on the touchline, but he’s currently without a job.

Eguavoen took over the Super Eagles Interim coaching role in September after Finidi George was fired due to poor results in Nigeria’s 2026 FIFA World Cup campaign.

The 59-year-old heralded the Super Eagles to a place in the AFCON 2025 tournament in a brilliant run that saw them lose just a game. However, he’s met a pushback from Siasia in his bid to become the permanent head coach.

While Siasia advocates for a local manager over a foreign one, he believes Eguavoen cannot be a coach and a technical director at the same time.
“He cannot hold two positions at the same time. He should actually decide on which one to hold and leave the other.

We don’t want any foreign coach here because they are not coming to do anything. We have enough good materials at home that we should not be talking about hiring a foreign coach.

As for Austin Eguavoen’s future with the Super Eagles, I will suggest that we wait a while to see how the team will be. It is a very young team.

Eguavoen has a job already as the technical director. He should resign as Super Eagles manager and concentrate on his job,” the 59-year-old said in quotes revealed by Brila.
The Super Eagles will not be in action until March next year, and there have been no comments from the NFF about appointing a permanent head coach so far.

https://soccernet.ng/2024/12/he-should- ... avoen.html
Re: “He should resign” – Samson Siasia sends strong message to Eguavoen

Siasia is 100% right! How can 1 man be SE coach, technical director and Chan coach . That's a massive conflict of interest, quite simply greedy and manipulative.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Dec 08, 2024 10:22 pm Siasia is 100% right! How can 1 man be SE coach, technical director and Chan coach . That's a massive conflict of interest, quite simply greedy and manipulative.
Siasia shouldn't have said that. It makes it appears as if he was lobbying for the job himself. I still believe that Siasia or Eguavoen is better than any fraudulent foreign coach they're trying to promote.

highbury wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 1:16 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Dec 08, 2024 10:22 pm Siasia is 100% right! How can 1 man be SE coach, technical director and Chan coach . That's a massive conflict of interest, quite simply greedy and manipulative.
Siasia shouldn't have said that. It makes it appears as if he was lobbying for the job himself. I still believe that Siasia or Eguavoen is better than any fraudulent foreign coach they're trying to promote.
Siasia is a much better coach than Eguavoen but his only problem is that he lacks integrity and can no longer be trusted. unless he gets ja ob in the Npfl and does very well, he'll be a non factor in coaching..I'd actually give him the u20 job if he wants it. Imho,

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 1:31 am
Siasia is a much better coach than Eguavoen but his only problem is that he lacks integrity and can no longer be trusted. unless he gets ja ob in the Npfl and does very well, he'll be a non factor in coaching..I'd actually give him the u20 job if he wants it. Imho,
Is there a Nigerian who you'd recommend to be coach of the SE?

...gotta share the free wealth :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

highbury wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 2:11 am
Essien and the guy who took his team to Uefa cup will be good prospects after the WC if we qualify or for Afcon if we don't qualify for the WC. Definitely no 94 rejects, sadly we have very few options after the 94 set.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 3:35 am
Essien and the guy who took his team to Uefa cup will be good prospects after the WC if we qualify or for Afcon if we don't qualify for the WC. Definitely no 94 rejects, sadly we have very few options after the 94 set.
I will support him also. I prefer to equip and empower our own

highbury wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 4:52 am
Football is a global game, Nobody is stuck on nationalism or patriotism anymore. The national team is not a place to develope anybody, player or coach. It’s for the best available. The best clubs in the world and countries have FC. England, USA and others have FC. why are we dealing with coaches who have not earned the right to be SE coach in the name of patriotism?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 5:01 am
Football is a global game, Nobody is stuck on nationalism or patriotism anymore. The national team is not a place to develope anybody, player or coach. It’s for the best available. The best clubs in the world and countries have FC. England, USA and others have FC. why are we dealing with coaches who have not earned the right to be SE coach in the name of patriotism?
All World Cups have been won by local coaches. I have never lowered my standards—they must be the most competent available Nigerians. We can debate whether it’s Eguavoen, Siasia, Essien, or someone else. But I will NEVER accept the narrative that, in a country of over 200 million people, we don’t have competent coaches. I completely reject that idea. Just because neither you nor I know who they are doesn’t mean they don’t exist.

No foreign coach for Nigeria. Let England or the USA win the World Cup with a foreign coach, and then I might listen to you.

highbury wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 5:16 am

All World Cups have been won by local coaches. I have never lowered my standards—they must be the most competent available Nigerians. We can debate whether it’s Eguavoen, Siasia, Essien, or someone else. But I will NEVER accept the narrative that, in a country of over 200 million people, we don’t have competent coaches. I completely reject that idea. Just because neither you nor I know who they are doesn’t mean they don’t exist.

No foreign coach for Nigeria. Let England or the USA win the World Cup with a foreign coach, and then I might listen to you.
The reason why no FC has won the WC is because countries that have the talent to win the WC have a fully developed football program. League, players, infrastructure and coaches. Going outside for coaches will generally be a downgrade or equal to what they have. It has nothing to do with the nationality of any coach.

Nigeria has an underdeveloped football program. We cannot even put a decent pitch together let alone a league. Worse yet, our teams are not even in the top 30 in Africa anymore. The one thing we do have are players discovered in our youth system and diaspora that elevates our talent level to a potential top 10 talent in the world. To optimize our available talent we need the best coaching talent we can possibly have, we cannot have coaches who’s only knowledge of coaching is academic.

We have to be intentional about winning! Developing coaches and winning are 2 distinctly separate issues that we cannot conflate and hope for good results. You cannot hand over Osihmen, Lookman, Iwobi, Aina, Okoye, Troost and others to Ogunmodede, Ilechukwu and Eguaveon while expecting to beat the best teams. Ain’t gonna happen. You call yourself highbury not Onikan. I’m sure if you were to get sick you wouldn’t book a flight from London to UCH in Ibadan for treatment.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 6:44 am

The reason why no FC has won the WC is because countries that have the talent to win the WC have a fully developed football program. League, players, infrastructure and coaches. Going outside for coaches will generally be a downgrade or equal to what they have. It has nothing to do with the nationality of any coach.

Nigeria has an underdeveloped football program. We cannot even put a decent pitch together let alone a league. Worse yet, our teams are not even in the top 30 in Africa anymore. The one thing we do have are players discovered in our youth system and diaspora that elevates our talent level to a potential top 10 talent in the world. To optimize our available talent we need the best coaching talent we can possibly have, we cannot have coaches who’s only knowledge of coaching is academic.

We have to be intentional about winning! Developing coaches and winning are 2 distinctly separate issues that we cannot conflate and hope for good results. You cannot hand over Osihmen, Lookman, Iwobi, Aina, Okoye, Troost and others to Ogunmodede, Ilechukwu and Eguaveon while expecting to beat the best teams. Ain’t gonna happen. You call yourself highbury not Onikan. I’m sure if you were to get sick you wouldn’t book a flight from London to UCH in Ibadan for treatment.
Your first and last sentences say it all. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
It’s as simple as that.

Highbury has no real comeback on this matter and his argument is simply driven by sentiment - misplaced sentiment.
It’s all just a claim to being holier than the Pope.

See how one of the most perceptive breakdowns on this matter on CE by icee has been totally ignored by the black panthers because there really is no logical or factual argument to match.
It’s all about ‘slaves’, WOWOism and fake nationalism and the projection of those insecurities onto others.

A bit like what MAGAts do.

oh now you mix the standard of health care in Nigeria compared to those outside the country. You were the same person who called out danfo and myself for bringing politic/government into football. Now you bring in such into your discuss, hopefully you now agree the rot starts from the government and Nigerians who constantly elect poor leaders
Damunk wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 7:08 am

It’s as simple as that.

Highbury has no real comeback on this matter and his argument is simply driven by sentiment - misplaced sentiment.

See how one of the most perceptive breakdowns on this matter on CE by icee has been totally ignored by the black panthers because there really is no logical or factual argument to match.
It’s all about ‘slaves’, WOWOism and fake nationalism and the projection of those insecurities onto others.

For my understanding how is it a CONFLICT of interest?

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 11:34 am oh now you mix the standard of health care in Nigeria compared to those outside the country. You were the same person who called out danfo and myself for bringing politic/government into football. Now you bring in such into your discuss, hopefully you now agree the rot starts from the government and Nigerians who constantly elect poor leaders
Damunk wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 7:08 am Your first and last sentences say it all. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
It’s as simple as that.

My friend, e be like you never sabi weytin dem dey call analogy.
Check it.

You and your Oga, The DanfoDriver didn’t do that.
You directly introduced politics, implying Tinubu and Buhari are responsible for Nigeria’s football woes.

See the difference? :idea:
”If you don’t know, now you know. Figure? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Don’t embarrass yourself.

It’s as simple as that.

The statement in itself is a stupid statement.

The analogy should be, would a Naijarian patient prefer being treated (administered) by a Naijarian trained physician or a foreign non-Naijarian trained physician?

Would Doctor DaMunk have an issue with someone refusing you employment solely based on the fact that you are Naijarian and is perceived as being unqualified?

Would you prefer that they come to your place of employment, and overlook you in place for any physician who is not Naijarian? Pay them more for the same service you will render?

A job that is based on "Best Effort". :oops: :cry:

Well said! Thank you my brother.

Cellular wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 8:09 pm

It’s as simple as that.

The analogy should be, would a Naijarian patient prefer being treated (administered) by a Naijarian trained physician or a foreign non-Naijarian trained physician?

Would Doctor DaMunk have an issue with someone refusing you employment solely based on the fact that you are Naijarian and is perceived as being unqualified?

Would you prefer that they come to your place of employment, and overlook you in place for any physician who is not Naijarian? Pay them more for the same service you will render?

Coaches and Doctors do not operate in a vacuum. They require a competent team of other professionals and quality infrastructure to be successful. If someone gets sick and hires Dr Fauci to fly to Nigeria to operate on them at UCH, what you'd get is a top level surgeon who has done surgeries at the highest level. Margin of error is smaller but you'd still have the UCH factor in infrastructure. He could mitigate potential damage in preparation.

Now, imagine the best Dr you can find in Nigeria is good but rarely operates, he hasn't done it long enough for the patient to be totally comfortable and there're no results in his record to suggest the patient will come out alive. Infact, Dr Ogunmodede has only operated on 20 patients in 20yrs and 4 have died at UCH, there were even years between his operations. He did one in 2014 and 5 in 2021. Who would use pick?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 10:25 pm
It’s as simple as that.

Coaches and Doctors do not operate in a vacuum. They require a competent team of other professionals and quality infrastructure to be successful. If someone gets sick and hires Dr Fauci to fly to Nigeria to operate on them at UCH, what you'd get is a top level surgeon who has done surgeries at the highest level. Margin of error is smaller but you'd still have the UCH factor in infrastructure. He could mitigate potential damage in preparation.

Now, imagine the best Dr you can find in Nigeria is good but rarely operates, he hasn't done it long enough for the patient to be totally comfortable and there're no results in his record to suggest the patient will come out alive. Infact, Dr Ogunmodede has only operated on 20 patients in 20yrs and 4 have died at UCH, there were even years between his operations. He did one in 2014 and 5 in 2021. Who would use pick?
But you are making my point and contradicting yours.

Do you honestly believe that the best doctors will agree to work in Naijaria?

Do you agree that those who will agree to work in Naijaria are typically those who don't have options?

Why would anyone who is World Class be willing to work in such an organization abi na disorganization?

Only hustlers will come here to deal with disorganization.

But hey, if you and the NFF can get us someone who will overlook our organizational deficiencies, then please, sign us up for such a guy.

Cellular wrote: Mon Dec 09, 2024 10:49 pm
It’s as simple as that.

Do you agree that those who will agree to work in Naijaria are typically those who don't have options?

Why would anyone who is World Class be willing to work in such an organization abi na disorganization?

But hey, if you and the NFF can get us someone who will overlook our organizational deficiencies, then please, sign us up for such a guy.

We don't need the best in the world. We need skilled game and player managers with club and/or national team experience.

A coach can be very good, not a hustler and be willing to work in Nigeria despite the disorganization if he's motivated by success. Nigeria is a very attractive destination based on talent alone.

Those of you that believe in local coaches that have never managed at any appreciable level are yet to list the benefits of hiring LC besides cost. What are we to gain from this set of incompetent coaches?

Our best local SE ever are Keshi and Amodu. Ironically, both showed their quality in Africa before getting the SE job. Amodu was coach of Orlando Pirates and Keshi qualified Togo for the WC. You have to accomplish something to be SE coach.

Which local coach would Orlando Pirates or Togo even talk to these days?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Dec 10, 2024 12:18 am
It’s as simple as that.

We don't need the best in the world. We need skilled game and player managers with club and/or national team experience.

A coach can be very good, not a hustler and be willing to work in Nigeria despite the disorganization if he's motivated by success. Nigeria is a very attractive destination based on talent alone.

Those of you that believe in local coaches that have never managed at any appreciable level are yet to list the benefits of hiring LC besides cost. What are we to gain from this set of incompetent coaches?

Our best local SE ever are Keshi and Amodu. Ironically, both showed their quality in Africa before getting the SE job. Amodu was coach of Orlando Pirates and Keshi qualified Togo for the WC. You have to accomplish something to be SE coach.

You're funny. How did you guys treat the aforementioned coaches who coached these two teams? You hated them, you and your comrades even wished him death. Your King Van City spearheaded that effort. Now he has delegated those duties to you guys- Emir, Bret, Iworo, Dammy etc. :D He has done a fine job in recruitment :thumbs:

highbury wrote: Tue Dec 10, 2024 12:55 am
It’s as simple as that.

You're funny. How did you guys treat the aforementioned coaches who coached these two teams? You hated them, you and your comrades even wished him death. Your King Van City spearheaded that effort. Now he has delegated those duties to you guys- Emir, Bret, Iworo, Dammy etc. :D He has done a fine job in recruitment :thumbs:
Let Amodu RIP. Btw, we’re still waiting for your list of Nigerian coaches good enough for SE.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Dec 10, 2024 1:24 am
highbury wrote: Tue Dec 10, 2024 12:55 am
It’s as simple as that.

Let Amodu RIP. Btw, we’re still waiting for your list of Nigerian coaches good enough for SE.
Any coach in the NPFL. To list a few- Amuneke, Amokachi etc. Siasia, Oliseh, Essen...