Page 1 of 3

Lookman and Osimhen displacement in 94 Eagles

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2025 1:05 am
by onovo
For the sake of discussion. If Lookman and Osimehn were in 94 Eagles World Cup team, which players in the starting line-up would they likely displace. IMHO, I think Osimhen would displace Amokochi easily as Yekini would likely hold his starting place in a two man striking force. For Lookman I think it would be a fiercst contest between him and Amunike. Ikpeba might be the one likely to sacrifice his place in 22 man list. Even that would be a tough decision for Westerhof. Thus, Efan Ekoku would be the most likely to be dropped instead. As lookman offers the versatility to not only compete with Amunike, but can also be a backup for Finidi. Please let me know your thought on which players both duo will displace.

Re: Lookman and Osimhen displacement in 94 Eagles

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2025 3:06 am
by Cellular
onovo wrote: Wed Feb 26, 2025 1:05 am For the sake of discussion. If Lookman and Osimehn were in 94 Eagles World Cup team, which players in the starting line-up would they likely displace. IMHO, I think Osimhen would displace Amokochi easily as Yekini would likely hold his starting place in a two man striking force. For Lookman I think it would be a fiercst contest between him and Amunike. Ikpeba might be the one likely to sacrifice his place in 22 man list. Even that would be a tough decision for Westerhof. Thus, Efan Ekoku would be the most likely to be dropped instead. As lookman offers the versatility to not only compete with Amunike, but can also be a backup for Finidi. Please let me know your thought on which players both duo will displace.
The only player from the present squad who can enter that team is probably Osimhen.

He can play in any genre.

Lookman is too slight for me to play in 94. He will be fighting for a spot with Siasia, Ekoku and Ikpeba.

BTW, I will take Aina as by RB over the other backmen who tried to play that spot.

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2025 3:30 am
by Enugu II
onovo wrote: Wed Feb 26, 2025 1:05 am For the sake of discussion. If Lookman and Osimehn were in 94 Eagles World Cup team, which players in the starting line-up would they likely displace. IMHO, I think Osimhen would displace Amokochi easily as Yekini would likely hold his starting place in a two man striking force. For Lookman I think it would be a fiercst contest between him and Amunike. Ikpeba might be the one likely to sacrifice his place in 22 man list. Even that would be a tough decision for Westerhof. Thus, Efan Ekoku would be the most likely to be dropped instead. As lookman offers the versatility to not only compete with Amunike, but can also be a backup for Finidi. Please let me know your thought on which players both duo will displace.
Onovo,

What a great question!! :thumbs: For me, I think Osihmen ahead of Yekini. Why? Osimhen is dangerous both in the air and on the ground. Yekini was not all that in the air, IMHO. As for Lookman, he would have made the team no doubt and possibly would start but I am not that confident that he would start ahead of Amokachi. Why? Amokachi did not provide a scoring option but was critical in winning the ball back. Lookman does win the ball as well but he does not have the steel that Amokachi provides. I would most likely compare Lookman to Siasia and not Amokachi. Think of Siasia at the peak of his game, that is what I compare Lookman to.

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2025 7:29 am
by Damunk
Aina miles better than Eguavoen.
Rufai in ‘94 was past his peak and both Nwabali and Okoye would have kept him out of not only the team, but probably the whole squad.

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2025 7:32 am
by Damunk
Enugu II wrote: Wed Feb 26, 2025 3:30 am
Onovo,

What a great question!! :thumbs: For me, I think Osihmen ahead of Yekini. Why? Osimhen is dangerous both in the air and on the ground. Yekini was not all that in the air, IMHO. As for Lookman, he would have made the team no doubt and possibly would start but I am not that confident that he would start ahead of Amokachi. Why? Amokachi did not provide a scoring option but was critical in winning the ball back. Lookman does win the ball as well but he does not have the steel that Amokachi provides. I would most likely compare Lookman to Siasia and not Amokachi. Think of Siasia at the peak of his game, that is what I compare Lookman to.
Kpom.

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2025 9:25 am
by onovo
Enugu II wrote: Wed Feb 26, 2025 3:30 am
Onovo,

I agree with you, Lookman and Siasia have similarity. Both are skillfull and sleek, have speed, offers attacking versatility as a supporting striker, winger, and attacking midfielder. How which Boniface can cook for the super eagles by adding grit and aggression to his game. We would have commentators comment like 94 some of which are "Nigeria has an explosive attack" "Attack, this where the Nigerians are dangerous" "There is so much firepower in these Nigerian attack." Nigeria national teams both youths/U-17, etc. has been known for parading great attacking players. I no know wether nah the monkey post when we dey play dey cause am

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2025 8:29 pm
by Lolly
Cellular wrote: Wed Feb 26, 2025 3:06 am
The only player from the present squad who can enter that team is probably Osimhen.

Lookman is too slight for me to play in 94. He will be fighting for a spot with Siasia, Ekoku and Ikpeba.

BTW, I will take Aina as by RB over the other backmen who tried to play that spot.
What do you have against backmen? :lol:

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2025 8:35 pm
by Lolly
Osimhen for Ekoku
Lookman for Siasia

I will also add…

Nwabali for Wilfred or Agu

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2025 8:50 pm
by Cellular
Lolly wrote: Wed Feb 26, 2025 8:29 pm
Cellular wrote: Wed Feb 26, 2025 3:06 am

What do you have against backmen? :lol:
That 94 team just couldn't field a competent Right Back. They had to deal with average and below average play from that position. In the end, it was what did them in.

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2025 10:14 pm
by bret- hart
Lookman replaces Ikpeba

Osimhen replaces Amockachi.

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2025 1:56 am
by Babalawo
bret- hart wrote: Wed Feb 26, 2025 10:14 pm Lookman replaces Ikpeba

A whole prince of Monaco na m una wan throway like Tissue paper.

I agree with Most of the Analysis. The only CF Osimhen wouldn’t displace on that team is Yekini.

Lookman on current form would bench Siasia

Aina for Eguavon.

+/- Ekong for Chidi Nwanu.

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2025 2:17 am
by bret- hart
Babalawo wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 1:56 am

I agree with Most of the Analysis. The only CF Osimhen wouldn’t displace on that team is Yekini.

Aina for Eguavon.

Ikpeba was never really that dude for Nigeria plus will never forget how he mumuishly put both hands over his head after scoring that PK vs Cameroon. Adebobo scored big goals vs Cameroon and Angola in the knockout rd and is just getting started.

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2025 2:28 am
by bret- hart

Aina for Eguavon.

SiaSia makes my team anyday of the week. Sleek, skillful, great finisher. I wish Boniface can model his game after his.

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2025 2:49 am
by ANC

Aina for Eguavon.

You must be kidding.

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2025 5:19 am
by deanotito
1994 was a controversial year for Yekini. Very controversial. The early part of the year (Afcon), he was FIRE. In the world cup, he was not...and he never really recovered.

So, its a hard one, but I would choose Yekini over Osimhen. Prime Yekini was better than Weah...much better.

Ademola Lookman....tough one too. I would start Finidi over him....My favorite Eagle of all time is Amokachi...so I'll still pick Amokachi over him. But if the choice is versus Siasia, I start Lookman. If the choice is versus Amunike, I choose Lookman, but its a close call.

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2025 5:32 am
by ANC
The more I think about, honestly, Lookman and VO9 would walk into that line up.
VO9 ahead of Yekini.
Lookman ahead of Amunike, Siasia.

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2025 6:08 am
ANC wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 2:49 am

Aina for Eguavon.

You must be kidding.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I almost cried and laughed at the same time. A Tottenham reject whose best days was playing for Watford in DIVISION 2???!!! But this is Mamalawo, a man whose deepest love is Div 2 players.

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2025 6:44 am
by Orion
Yekini, Amunike and Ikpeba also won the AFOY.

The players to be displaced would be Ekoku and possibly Siasia.

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2025 6:57 am
by Orion
Just look at the hard faces. These are tough and rugged players. :D

Nigeria will never be able to assemble a group of players like this again. The infrastructure we had to create these players is gone forever due to globalism.

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2025 7:01 am
by ANC
danfo driver wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 6:08 am

Aina for Eguavon.

You must be kidding.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I almost cried and laughed at the same time. A Tottenham reject whose best days was playing for Watford in DIVISION 2???!!! But this is Mamalawo, a man whose deepest love is Div 2 players.
:rotf: :rotf: man down :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2025 10:34 am
by onovo
ANC wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 5:32 am The more I think about, honestly, Lookman and VO9 would walk into that line up.
VO9 ahead of Yekini.
Lookman ahead of Amunike, Siasia.
I mostly agree with you. Lookman would definitely rival Amunike or Siasia at least he would drastically reduce their playing time with either of the duo confined to the bench in some games particularly our 94 game against Italy. But as for Yekini, I don't think Osimehn would displace him, rather Amokachi will be the person to sit on bench, as Osimhen has the potential to win ball particularly from opposition defence, create chances for team mates and score as well. Nah Amokachi Osimeh go bench.

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2025 10:36 am
by Babalawo

Aina for Eguavon.

You must be kidding.
I am sure you know the meaning of “+/-“?

Ekong of ANC 2024 was immense and would make it to the 94 team. This is not about club football but about achievements in the GWG.

But for the records since Amnesia is now rampant on CE

Chidi Nwanu
Personal information
Date of birth
1 January 1967 (age 58)
Place of birth
Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Height
1.78 m (5 ft 10 in)[1]
Position(s)
Centre-back
Senior career*
Years
Team
Apps
(Gls)
Enyimba
1984–1985
Spartans
1986–1989
ACB Lagos
1989–1990
Westerlo
1990–1991
K.T.H. Diest
(2)
1991–1993
Beveren
(4)
1993–1995
Anderlecht
(0)
1995–1996
Sint-Truiden
(0)
1996–1997
Anderlecht

(0)
1997–1998
RKC Waalwijk
(0)
International career
1989–1997
Nigeria

(0)
*Club domestic league appearances and goals
In 1988, while playing for ACB Lagos, Nwanu was declared unwanted by coach Patrick Ekeji. Nwanu went on to play in lower divisions in Belgium before he was picked up by Jupiler League side K.S.K. Beveren. After three seasons he was bought by R.S.C. Anderlecht, who won the league twice during his stay. Nwanu played very few matches; he retired after an unsuccessful spell in RKC Waalwijk.

Full name
William Paul Troost-Ekong[1]
Date of birth
1 September 1993 (age 31)[1]
Place of birth
Haarlem, Netherlands
Height
1.91 m (6 ft 3 in)[2]
Position(s)
Centre-back
Team information
Current team
Al-Kholood
Number
Youth career
2008–2010
Fulham
2010–2013
Tottenham Hotspur
Senior career*
Years
Team
Apps
(Gls)
2013–2015
Groningen
(0)
2014–2015
→ Dordrecht (loan)
(0)
2015–2017
Gent
(0)
2015–2016
→ Haugesund (loan)
(3)
2017–2018
Bursaspor
(3)
2018–2020
Udinese
(0)
2020–2023
Watford
(2)
→ Salernitana (loan)
(1)
2023–2024
PAOK
(0)
2024–
Al-Kholood
(2)
International career
Netherlands U19
(0)
Netherlands U20
(0)
Nigeria U23
(0)
2015–
Nigeria
(7)

I mean, I am not the type to talk down on any player, as a rule I never knock another man’s hustle, but with this we know who had a “better club career” and who has been a more decorated SE. So yes the 2024 ANC Ekong would displace Chidi Nwanu in the 1994 squad. My personal opinion.

This was how I stated Kelechi Iheanacho was one of most decorated strikers in the SE, the same mad man laughed and abused me until I provided the statistics and he fled tail in legs and didn’t comment again, like the Ekuke that he is.

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2025 12:30 pm
by Lolly

Aina for Eguavon.

Ekong can't replace the Chidi of 1994. He was out best defender at the World Cup.