Sadiq Starts For Valencia (2) vs Real Valladolid (1) (Sadiq scores)

Another start! :thumbs:
Last edited by danfo driver on Sat Mar 08, 2025 7:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Sadiq Starts For Valencia vs Real Valladolid

Sadiq Scores! Fantastic goal again. His first touch was Kanu-esque, esquisite, and killed the defender and then he slots in with determination!
Re: Sadiq Starts For Valencia (2) vs Real Valladolid (1) (Sadiq scores)

Nice to see Sadiq back in form again after injuries and loss of form he kept working hard. Chelle now has to pick 3 strikers, I don't envy him one bit

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 7:56 pm Nice to see Sadiq back in form again after injuries and loss of form he kept working hard. Chelle now has to pick 3 strikers, I don't envy him one bit
No, he doesnt have to pick 3 strikers. He can pick whatever number of strikers he likes, based on his formation and squad building.

I understand that you think about football 1 dimensionally, which is unfortunate.

Good to know the boys are firing well.

Osimhen
Dessers
Sadiq
Lookman
Tella.

danfo driver wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 8:06 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 7:56 pm Nice to see Sadiq back in form again after injuries and loss of form he kept working hard. Chelle now has to pick 3 strikers, I don't envy him one bit
No, he doesnt have to pick 3 strikers. He can pick whatever number of strikers he likes, based on his formation and squad building.

I understand that you think about football 1 dimensionally, which is unfortunate.
Nothing convinces a man faster than the sound of his own voice. Pls tell us, preferably, show us a 23 man squad list with more than No 9s. How many do you want 8 strikers?

danfo driver wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 7:32 pm Sadiq Scores! Fantastic goal again. His first touch was Kanu-esque, esquisite, and killed the defender and then he slots in with determination!
That was a poor first touch and I am assuming you are talking about Ogbona Kanu, he missed a handful of chances.
If he is judged on this match he doesn't deserve an invite .

danfo driver wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 7:32 pm Sadiq Scores! Fantastic goal again. His first touch was Kanu-esque, esquisite, and killed the defender and then he slots in with determination!
First touch was not Kanu-esque nothing! He didn’t handle the pass well but he was skillful enough with good pace to round the defender, outstretch and score. Even the commentators during the post match review said the same thing.

imehjunior wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 8:36 pm
That was a poor first touch and I am assuming you are talking about Ogbona Kanu, he missed a handful of chances.
That missed open header was a head scratcher, these are chances that as 6ft3+ striker you should be burying with ease.

I hope Sadiq does not scam his way to a call up.

What a goal! :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

What a control! What hustle! and what finish! :clap: :clap:

Kanu-esque!!! :thumbs:
Last edited by danfo driver on Sat Mar 08, 2025 8:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sadiq is a very awkward player and a handful for any defender. He has scored 4 crucial goals in 6 matches for Valencia and moved them out of the relegation zone to 16th in La Liga. That is impact!
Like every other striker he would miss chances and his goal today after the initial bad control sums him up. Not many strikers can score that type a goal after the mis-control.
Chelle has his work cut out!

Babalawo wrote: Sat Mar 08, 2025 8:43 pm
That missed open header was a head scratcher, these are chances that as 6ft3+ striker you should be burying with ease.
The sitter was even worse.

:lol: :lol: :lol: Nigerians are the cutest! :lol: :lol: :lol: So much bravado!

You actually think you have options? :lol: :lol: Your choices are sitting down on the bench in Leverkusen and Div 2 in England, and you think you have choices? For a better part of the last 7 years, you were humiliagted by Lesotho, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Benin, Kafanchan and Bunkpurugu :lol: and your strikers struggled to score more than 1 goal per match, and you think you have choices?? :lol: :lol: You twerked uncontrollably, asking osimhen to stay away because "we have other strikers!" Today, your other strikers couldnt even huff and puff against Lesotho, Benin, Kenya and SA and you are about to miss out on another World Cup, but you think you have choices? :lol: :lol:

I have NEVER seen a group of people so arrogant and so overestimating of their own worth. :oops:

Yen yen yen . . . he doent deserve an invite. Yet, Ahmed Musa, is your option. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Umar Sadiq has to be the biggest conundrum of football, I really can't place the guy

He doesn’t pass the eye test for me. And it must be a nightmare playing upfront with him because he keeps on running into other player’s space and rarely looks up when he has the ball. He is no different from Awoniyi and to a lesser extent Onuachu.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Sadiq is better than Dessers in SE.

fabio wrote: Sun Mar 09, 2025 10:27 am Sadiq is better than Dessers in SE.
If it ever comes down to these two as the last option, na to soak Chaplet inside water.

Based on current form, they have both earned and deserve their SE call up.

At this point, both Dessers and Sadiq are ahead of Boniface, who has been rooted to the BL bench since his altercation with his teammate. No minutes for him in BL’s last 2 matches

Dammy wrote: Sun Mar 09, 2025 11:01 am At this point, both Dessers and Sadiq are ahead of Boniface, who has been rooted to the BL bench since his altercation with his teammate. No minutes for him in BL’s last 2 matches
Perhaps, silent treatment by the Manager. In any case, it is left for him to fight back in training to regain his manager's trust.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Lolly wrote: Sun Mar 09, 2025 9:45 am He doesn’t pass the eye test for me. And it must be a nightmare playing upfront with him because he keeps on running into other player’s space and rarely looks up when he has the ball. He is no different from Awoniyi and to a lesser extent Onuachu.

There is something about Sadiq that I like. When he is on the field, his sole objective is to score. That is a trait he shares with Osimhen. The difference is that Sadiq can be ungainly with the ball but who cares? For me, it is the end product that matters.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Sun Mar 09, 2025 1:35 pm
Dammy wrote: Sun Mar 09, 2025 11:01 am At this point, both Dessers and Sadiq are ahead of Boniface, who has been rooted to the BL bench since his altercation with his teammate. No minutes for him in BL’s last 2 matches
Perhaps, silent treatment by the Manager. In any case, it is left for him to fight back in training to regain his manager's trust.

Give it up bro :biggrin:

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Enugu II wrote: Sun Mar 09, 2025 1:51 pm
Lolly wrote: Sun Mar 09, 2025 9:45 am He doesn’t pass the eye test for me. And it must be a nightmare playing upfront with him because he keeps on running into other player’s space and rarely looks up when he has the ball. He is no different from Awoniyi and to a lesser extent Onuachu.

There is something about Sadiq that I like. When he is on the field, his sole objective is to score. That is a trait he shares with Osimhen. The difference is that Sadiq can be ungainly with the ball but who cares? For me, it is the end product that matters.
This has been explained several times over the years. Sadiq started off even more ungainly than he is now. Back then he looked like a new born donkey in a stable trying to figure its legs out. He didn’t have the physical strength either, and he was forever landing on his butt.

Today, he is so much more physically stronger and stable, but he still has those long legs. His gait therefore seems awkward. It’s just a mirage. Kanu had the same problem at some point. It’s just their leg:torso ratio, and in Sadiq’s case, how he naturally seems to stoop forward when moving.

He’s had more than his fair share of injuries, and I think the press has been a little harsh and unfair to him. I still maintain that regarding first touch and close ball control, he is better than Osimhen & Awoniyi. Maybe not Boniface. So all those comments focussing on his ‘poor first touch’ to score that goal yesterday are just observers exercising their right to confirm their biases.
I’m not sure it was that bad a first touch tbh.

And as for accuracy of long distance shooting, I don’t think anyone can touch him….except maybe Orban. :idea:

Here’s a reminder of his abilities, but I also agree that for us, what counts are his exploits in the GWG.