Most Productive Strike Force for SE but Why is SE Not Dominant?

I believe Nigeria now has the most deadly duo of strikers in its footballing history -- Victor Osimhen and Ademola Lookman. Yet, the team is not winning big. Why is that? What exactly do you think is wrong with the team given the advanttages these individuals bring?

Here is their stats for avoidance of doubt:
Victor Osimhen
10 assists (0.25 per game)
23 goals (0.59 per game)
Years in NT (9 years/39 games/4 games annually
Goal Contribution = 0.85/game
)

Ademola Lookman
3 assists (0.11 per game)
8 goals (0.29 per game)
Years in NT (4 years/28 games/7 games annually)

An obvious reason is the frequent absence of Victor Osimhen from the field, usually on account of injuries. Bear in mind that NT engagements are usually a bit less than 10 games each year. Osihmen has yet to play a single game in the World Cup qualifiers. This is important given that he is a singular FORCE for Nigeria because his mere presence terrifies opponents. He does the business both on the ground and in the air.

Lookman is more cagey and crafty with extraordinary footwork but he, alone, cannot do the work.
Last edited by Enugu II on Sun Mar 16, 2025 2:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Most Productive Strike Force for SE but Why is SE Not Dominant?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I remember, 2 years ago, when we had the best list of strikers in the world. 8-9 if them were listed and CE, Twitter and the football world was in awe.

Then I remember when "we dont need Osimhen," and 'We have other strikers" happened!

Not only were we struggling to score more than 1 goal per game, we didnt go to a world cup.

Now, we are back to having the most productive strike force for SE! Yaaaayyyy! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

It's not about scoring goals. Who will feed them to score? Papa Mustapha Daniel? Taminu? Lol.
Fisayo who's already becoming an established midfielder was neglected. Chrisantus Uche who the world can see is a wonderful midfielder was neglected.
Over the years We've supported mediocrity but expect the best. It doesn't work that way.

As you said, we’ve not had both of them on the pitch for most of our qualifiers. And Osimhen’s back ups have not been good enough. Players like Boniface, Awoniyi, Onuachu, Sadiq have been poor.

Also the guys they rely upon to deliver assists like Iheanacho, Chukwueze, and in some games Moses have been below average. Even Iwobi does not get many assists.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

E2 you are part of the problem. Even Steve Wonder can see it's the midfield and rubbish coaches that we keep hiring that is the issue.

Football is a team sport, it’s not plug and play. A striker can score 30 goals for his team and still be unproductive for another team. Clubs have more time to practice and calibrate their tactics to suit their squad, national teams do not have that luxury. It took Vic 2yrs to win the best player in Italy, the next season saw a coaching change and his returns were not the same. Same in Gala, he’s much better now than he was when he moved there because the team is better and can supply him better.

We might have top strikers but we don’t have a team that can supply them as well as their club sides. The presence of top strikers only equals goals if the team helps create the chances, this is why we saw a better SE during Afcon. With Finidi and Eguavoen, we have 2 muppets who don’t know how to manage games and select players. It’s ludicrous to expect our striker to score at the same rate they do with their clubs.

bret- hart wrote: Sat Mar 15, 2025 6:01 pm E2 you are part of the problem. Even Steve Wonder can see it's the midfield and rubbish coaches that we keep hiring that is the issue.
Omo, Ray Charles can see it from heaven but Oga E2 no see am. The man just dey twist himself into all manner of shapes to defend what he know is wrong.

Which tourney's goals did you count for Ademola. He's got 13 goals and 5 assists in Serie A and another 5 & 2 in the UCL.

Most countries are well too aware of our attacking credentials so they park the bus and try to hit us on the counter. Where we shoot ourselves in the foot is our lack of fast transition in our build-ups. Our snail-speed Man United-styled build-ups allow the opponents to recover and outnumber us when we attack.

We need fast transitions. Even Mbappe was useless against Atletico until a fast break got him the space to outwit 2 defenders and a penalty.

The problem isn't unconnected with some of our players who come here to do what they won't do their clubs' shirts. They play like big men instead of business-like and do solos instead of teamwork with quick release of the ball to a more advanced player. The change will come when a coach is courageous enough and will call out individual and selfish displays and punish it.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

anointed wrote: Sat Mar 15, 2025 7:33 pm Which tourney's goals did you count for Ademola. He's got 13 goals and 5 assists in Serie A and another 5 & 2 in the UCL.

Most countries are well too aware of our attacking credentials so they park the bus and try to hit us on the counter. Where we shoot ourselves in the foot is our lack of fast transition in our build-ups. Our snail-speed Man United-styled build-ups allow the opponents to recover and outnumber us when we attack.

We need fast transitions. Even Mbappe was useless against Atletico until a fast break got him the space to outwit 2 defenders and a penalty.

The problem isn't unconnected with some of our players who come here to do what they won't do their clubs' shirts. They play like big men instead of business-like and do solos instead of teamwork with quick release of the ball to a more advanced player. The change will come when a coach is courageous enough and will call out individual and selfish displays and punish it.
SIGNED. Love that last paragraph. It defines a key issue that needs to be solved.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

It’s the lack of good offensive midfielders
onovo

Post by onovo »

deanotito wrote: Sat Mar 15, 2025 9:13 pm It’s the lack of good offensive midfielders
But some people are saying Iwobi is a creative midfielder :taunt: :taunt:

deanotito wrote: Sat Mar 15, 2025 9:13 pm It’s the lack of good offensive midfielders
hmm.. What about Step Mama Daniel? Thought they told us that he is the shizznit and that we should have been at the scrimmage they organized where he dazzled? no?

danfo driver wrote: Sat Mar 15, 2025 9:36 pm
hmm.. What about Step Mama Daniel? Thought they told us that he is the shizznit and that we should have been at the scrimmage they organized where he dazzled? no?

I’ve been seeing the name Baba Daniel or something on this forum for a few days now. I haven’t had the devotion to actually find out who it is

onovo wrote: Sat Mar 15, 2025 9:32 pm
I’ve been watching football almost all my life. I honestly haven’t seen a more confusing footballer as Iwobi. I still don’t know what to make of him. I don’t know what his best position is. I can’t explain him
onovo

Post by onovo »

I tire oh, the same people will say we don't have creative midfielders, the same people will clamour that Iwobi is our creative midfielder. What a paradox. Who is deceiving who ? I am currently watching an old match of Nigeria versus Gabon in 1994, see as Oliha and Oliseh dey move ball for midfield against African opposition, make I remove cerebral Okocha. Nah only Onyedika fit move ball like that for the current midfielders wen don play for us. Then one fans go convince me say Iwobi nah creative midfielder ? I dey laugh :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

deanotito wrote: Sat Mar 15, 2025 10:25 pm
I’ve been watching football almost all my life. I honestly haven’t seen a more confusing footballer as Iwobi. I still don’t know what to make of him. I don’t know what his best position is. I can’t explain him

Iwobi is a victim of Nigeria - his Uncle and bad coaching. There is a reason he never went for the No 10 shirt. Everyone already assumed he should be Okocha. he is not. And Nigerian coaches have often asked him to sacrifice himself. Like the AFCON, where he was asked to sacrifice himself and play as a DM and he was fantastic! If Iwobi was an asss hole and refused to sacrifice himself for the team, maybe Nigerians will respect him.

This season, he has been one of the best players in the EPl - he plays as a winger for Fulham. More in line with his natural ability - which is to attack.

lets see what Chelle has in store for him.
onovo

Post by onovo »

danfo driver wrote: Sat Mar 15, 2025 11:34 pm
Iwobi is a victim of Nigeria - his Uncle and bad coaching. There is a reason he never went for the No 10 shirt. Everyone already assumed he should be Okocha. he is not. And Nigerian coaches have often asked him to sacrifice himself. Like the AFCON, where he was asked to sacrifice himself and play as a DM and he was fantastic! If Iwobi was an asss hole and refused to sacrifice himself for the team, maybe Nigerians will respect him.

This season, he has been one of the best players in the EPl - he plays as a winger for Fulham. More in line with his natural ability - which is to attack.

Then why are we deceiving ourselves that Iwobi is a creative No. 10/ attacking midfielder we have in super eagles. When he is not creating anything. Why do we choose to deceive ourselves. Was this not how we kept lying to ourselves with a certain pot belli3d division 2 benchwarmer. If Iwobi wants to compete as a right winger then he better do so and make his position clear. But as an attacking pivotal midfielder, it is a mission dead on arrival in the super eagles.

So his best position is as a right winger?

deanotito wrote: Sun Mar 16, 2025 2:23 am

Dean,

I have a feeling that Chelle will not use traditional wingers for this game despite the fact that using such will help, especially with Osimhen's aerial threat. I feel, instead, that Chelle will flood the midfield with five ball-playing midfielders (including Iwobi) who will suffocate the middle making it impossible for Rwanda to operate. They will look to dominate possession and quickly win the ball back or force errors when it is lost. If Iwobi starts, he may do so centrally but it is conceivable that he may play wide in such a formation.

Enugu II wrote: Sun Mar 16, 2025 3:20 am

Dean,

I have a feeling that Chelle will not use traditional wingers for this game despite the fact that using such will help, especially with Osimhen's aerial threat. I feel, instead, that Chelle will flood the midfield with five ball-playing midfielders (including Iwobi) who will suffocate the middle making it impossible for Rwanda to operate. They will look to dominate possession and quickly win the ball back or force errors when it is lost. If Iwobi starts, he may do so centrally but it is conceivable that he may play wide in such a formation.
Well, we go see. I just would like to see a potent midfield. It’s been a minute

Not necessarily. His best position is a position where he has the freedom to attack. Fulham plays him on the right or on the left, where he has the space to attack. he is not saddled with the responsibility of dropping back to defend like a CDM or like a RWB like he played at Everton, a while back.

if Iwobi is given the space and freedom to attack, he will be decisive.

danfo driver wrote: Sun Mar 16, 2025 3:42 am

Not necessarily. His best position is a position where he has the freedom to attack. Fulham plays him on the right or on the left, where he has the space to attack. he is not saddled with the responsibility of dropping back to defend like a CDM or like a RWB like he played at Everton, a while back.

Danfo

Good point and he has somewhat played in that position out wide for Nigeria and as I recall now, he scored an important game winner from there. However, given the pace of a number of African teams it is left to be seen how consistently he will be effective from such a position for the SE.

Enugu II wrote: Sun Mar 16, 2025 12:41 pm
danfo driver wrote: Sun Mar 16, 2025 3:42 am

Danfo

Good point and he has somewhat played in that position out wide for Nigeria and as I recall now, he scored an important game winner from there. However, given the pace of a number of African teams it is left to be seen how consistently he will be effective from such a position for the SE.
I'd assume the game in Africa is faster and more intense in the EPL or comparable.