Wahala dey : How many yellow cards are needed before a player gets suspended during CAF WC qualifiers? Teboho Mokoena

Abeg can someone confirm? I am confirming the bookings, for the games , SA vs Benin , SA vs Zimbabwe and the last match played SA vs Lesotho
Teboho Mokoena (booked 54 mins ) vs Benin- Match Day 1
Teboho Mokoena ( booked 52nd minute ) vs Zimbabwe -Match day 4
He played vs Lesotho(Match day 5 )
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Mon Mar 24, 2025 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: How many yellow cards are needed before a player gets suspended during CAF WC qualifiers? Teboho Mokoena

In the CAF (African) World Cup qualifiers, a player will be suspended for two yellow cards accumulated over the course of the qualification campaign. However, there is an important distinction: any yellow cards a player receives during the first round of qualifiers (the group stage) are cleared after the group stage. This means that if a player accumulates two yellow cards during the group stage, they would be suspended for one match, but their yellow card count would reset after the group stage.

For the later stages (such as the final playoff rounds), a player who receives another yellow card in those rounds may still face suspension, but the exact rules can depend on the competition and the specific circumstances set by CAF for that cycle of qualifiers.
Can someone else confirm this? bobo wasn't supposed to play vs Lesotho if this is accurate ooo

Re: How many yellow cards are needed before a player gets suspended during CAF WC qualifiers? Teboho Mokoena

http://score-origin.espn.com/soccer/lin ... eId/687183
He started here got booked
Got booked vs Benin
Match day 1

https://www.espn.com/soccer/lineups/_/gameId/687185
Got booked vs Zimbabwe
match day 4

https://www.espn.com/soccer/lineups/_/gameId/687186
Match day 5
started vs Lesotho

Re: Wahala dey : How many yellow cards are needed before a player gets suspended during CAF WC qualifiers? Teboho Mokoen

I don follow Chagpt yarn and these are the answers i received. Can we get some Naija journos to investigate or am i tripping
Teboho Mokoena received two yellow cards during the world cup qualifiers vs Benin and Zimbabwe. However he featured against Lesotho
Ah, I see what you're referring to! Teboho Mokoena received two yellow cards in the 2026 World Cup qualifiers against Benin and Zimbabwe. According to FIFA rules, when a player accumulates two yellow cards in separate matches during the qualification campaign, they are typically suspended for the next match.

However, in Mokoena’s case, he was available for the match against Lesotho because FIFA had implemented a "clean slate" rule for the final stages of qualification. This meant that yellow cards accumulated during the qualifiers would be wiped clean ahead of the final round of matches. As a result, even though Mokoena had two yellow cards, he was eligible to play against Lesotho.

This is a standard practice in many international competitions to ensure players aren't unnecessarily penalized for yellow cards accumulated early in the qualifying rounds.
Teboho should have been suspended for the football match against Lesotho since the qualifiers are still on goin g
You're right! Since the World Cup qualifiers were still ongoing at the time, the usual protocol would be that Teboho Mokoena should have been suspended for the match against Lesotho due to accumulating two yellow cards in separate matches (against Benin and Zimbabwe).

It seems there was a bit of confusion around this. FIFA typically enforces yellow card suspensions during ongoing qualifiers, unless specific rules or regulations come into play to modify that. If Mokoena was not suspended, there could be a few possible explanations:

1. **Error or Oversight**: It’s possible that there was an oversight in the enforcement of the suspension, and he was allowed to play due to an administrative error.

2. **Appeal or Review**: It’s also possible that there was some kind of appeal or review that allowed him to feature in the match against Lesotho despite the yellow cards.

3. **Rule Changes or Adjustments**: There could have been some specific adjustment made to the rule for that phase of the qualifiers. Sometimes, governing bodies like CAF (Confederation of African Football) or FIFA can make temporary changes to rules, especially if the qualifiers are running concurrently with other competitions or have a compressed schedule.

If you’re certain about the ongoing nature of the qualifiers, then it does seem unusual that Mokoena wasn’t suspended, unless one of the above factors was in play.

Re: Wahala dey : How many yellow cards are needed before a player gets suspended during CAF WC qualifiers? Teboho Mokoen

Hmmmmmmm

bret- hart wrote: Mon Mar 24, 2025 11:38 pmHmmmmmmm
am i tripping or what? Abi the rules have changed?

I'll stop cursing you out* if it's proven they've broken the rules.

* until the summer of 2026.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

The YeyeMan wrote: Mon Mar 24, 2025 11:59 pm I'll stop cursing you out* if it's proven they've broken the rules.

* until the summer of 2026.
Well we need to get the journos to investigate. I am going through Benin Rep as well . Except CAF changed the rules or what
Yellow Card South Africa

Teboho Mokoena (booked 54 mins ) vs Benin- Match Day 1
Teboho Mokoena ( booked 52nd minute ) vs Zimbabwe -Match day 4
Siyabonga Ngezana ( booked 56 min) vs Nigeria - Match day 3
Khuliso Mudau booked min 48) vs Nigeria
Aubrey Modiba ( booked min 32 ) vs Nigeria
Lyle Foster ( booked min 69 vs ) Lesotho

What is the protocol of reporting and who can report. Is it Lesotho that should report?

fabio wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 12:04 am What is the protocol of reporting and who can report. Is it Lesotho that should report?
i do not know, but if they broke the rules, Lesotho will get 3 points and a plus 3 GD. Who can we contact to confirm this ,NFF, etc or wetin

NFF needs to report this to FIFA ASAP. It may be a long shot but we have to try.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 12:09 am
fabio wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 12:04 am What is the protocol of reporting and who can report. Is it Lesotho that should report?
i do not know, but if they broke the rules, Lesotho will get 3 points and a plus 3 GD. Who can we contact to confirm this ,NFF, etc or wetin
It would be easier to message these two. They are in close contact with the NFF right now.
https://x.com/poojamedia?s=21&t=LFCU3YJC5DIKyaUU92bPAQ

https://x.com/kelechiafc?s=21&t=LFCU3YJC5DIKyaUU92bPAQ

Who reported the issue when we played Algeria in the 2016 WC qualifier?

:thumb: bigPork na so! Through your post I have now also learned you can appeal yellow cards after the fact. Our players received like 4 very harsh yellows the other night. Worth the appeal!
Make we sef dey watch our yansh o. If a whole RSA can miss this then imagine what NFF can miss. Imagine using a yahoo email to receive crucial FIFA notifications, and the only dude that checks it was sick when the match was played. And nobody deputized! If na to wear designer and fly first class, dem no go 4get.

Well done Bigporkey!
I’ve passed on the info to an ex-NFF chieftain for forwarding. :thumb:

Damunk wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 1:24 am
Well done Bigporkey!
I’ve passed on the info to an ex-NFF chieftain for forwarding. :thumb:
:thumb:

Actual booking vs Zimbabwe was min 50.58 on a foul on Zimbabwe's number 10 Andy Rinomhota
https://www.plus.fifa.com/en/player/abc ... yPoint=CTA

full match replay

foul was an elbow. received a yellow card min 53.56 for a foul on Benin's number 20 Jodel Dossou
https://www.plus.fifa.com/en/player/da5 ... yPoint=CTA

i have done my part, now make NFF go investigate or did CAF change the rules?

Wow. Interesting snooping BP. Some folks still have contact with KoC Abi? Doesn’t he have an in with NFF?

If players receives two yellow cards during two different matches, they will automatically be suspended from their team's subsequent match.
Is it possible to serve the suspension in a non-World Cup qualifier, like an AFCON qualifier? If not, they're in breach of the rules!

Orion wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:27 am
If players receives two yellow cards during two different matches, they will automatically be suspended from their team's subsequent match.
Is it possible to serve the suspension in a non-World Cup qualifier, like an AFCON qualifier? If not, they're in breach of the rules!
This is a grey area.

I remember when a Ghanaian player was red carded and recieved a 2 match ban from AFCON, and he missed first 2 games of the world cup in 2006.

It doesn't make sense that they would join the 2 competitions.

There was a break in this year's WCQ with afcon qualifying sandwiched in between. Not a fan of how they did that. They should have just finished one then moved on to the other.

Mokeana did not miss any of the afcon qualifiers sandwiched in between the WCQ.

He even got another yellow in the afcon qualifiers.

So he has not served any suspension.

From previous rules SA should be docked 3 points, same way we were in 2018.
Last edited by vancity eagle on Tue Mar 25, 2025 7:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:40 am
Orion wrote: Tue Mar 25, 2025 5:27 am
This is a grey area.

I remember when a Ghanaian player was red carded and recieved a 2 match ban from AFCON, and he missed first 2 games of the world cup in 2006.

It doesn't make sense that they would join the 2 competitions.

There was a break in this year's WCQ with afcon qualifying sandwiched in between. Not a fan of how they did that. They should have just finished one then moved on to the other.
I couldn't find info on it online but this is the answer I got from ChatGPT. I pray it's true...
No, yellow card suspensions in FIFA World Cup qualifiers do not carry over to AFCON qualifiers. The two tournaments are separate in terms of disciplinary rules. Players who receive yellow cards in World Cup qualifiers are typically only suspended for subsequent World Cup qualifier matches, not for AFCON qualifiers.

However, it’s important to note that each competition (World Cup qualifiers, AFCON qualifiers, and AFCON itself) operates under its own set of rules regarding suspensions. For instance, the AFCON itself has a separate yellow card system, so yellow cards accumulated during the qualifiers for AFCON only affect the AFCON tournament itself, not World Cup qualifiers.

In short, yellow cards are specific to the competition they're earned in.
NigerianDiamond

Post by NigerianDiamond »

I hope we are taking this matter seriously. This is not the time to be timid or act like it doesn't matter because I can bet it that if Nigeria were to be the one in this hole at this time, all our opponents would have contacted FIFA to seek redress. It's time to halt the race of South Africa through the boardroom. Moreover, they supported Libya maltreatment of our players last year. Aura for aura!!!