The goal that ended our World Cup dream. Who is to blame?
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Re: The goal that ended our World Cup dream. Who is to blame?
Who was that defensive midfielder judging like he has $#% in his pant?
Boniface too was jugging.
The entire set of payers at the back... Each time those Zims had the ball, you could tell that they were more purposeful. This Nigerian team is one that will concede goals when the opponent brings the game to them... Of course, that also exposes the opponents. It was a cheezy goal to concede. So painful...
There is nothing to learn from someone who already agrees with you.
2030 FIFA World Cup

ournament details
Host countries Morocco
Portugal
Spain
Anniversary match hosts:
Argentina
Paraguay
Uruguay
Dates 8 June (in 63 months) – 21 July[1]
Teams 48 (from 6 confederations)
Venue(s) 20 (including centenary match hosts) (in 20 host cities)

Just look at Nwabali…chai Nigeria! What a shame!
what about Osayi, that was track backing and showing his number
Na the HB players wey dey de squad cause am. No be so?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
This is looking like a curse, this present generation of players might never experience a world cup again...at least the few likes of Iwobi have experienced a world cup in their life time.
- danfo driver
partially. if Papa Daniel was not a $#% player who failed in Turkey and has failed at every trial in backwater league and hasnt played a game in 5 weeks, maybe he would have come in and helped us.

With 3 minutes left in a game our coach subs on a Striker in search for another goal despite the facts Ndidi was clearly tired, while that right side of Osayi and Ekong were both shaky throughout the whole game. I can't point at individuals when our coaches game management was poor which was ironically the complete opposite in the previous game we played. He made 3 subs in the whole match two of the being Strikers while the likes of Aribo, Yusuf, Ogbu, Bruno, etc watched from the bench
I feel like Ahmed Musa is cursing us.
So long as he remains a "non playing captain" with ambitions of "one more WC" Nigeria will not smell that competition.
He and his NFF cronies are a black stain on our football.
Put it on the coach, who was looking for goals instead of defending what he already had.
The changes or the lack thereof killed SE. Siasia already did this error in 2011. 14 years later, a supposed FC did it again.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Thank you sir. The 5 coaches and assistants are to blame here. The players were tired and couldn’t hold shape. Yet, the coach made only two tactical changes. We needed an extra defender or midfielder come on for Osimhen.Sunset wrote: ↑Wed Mar 26, 2025 5:13 amWith 3 minutes left in a game our coach subs on a Striker in search for another goal despite the facts Ndidi was clearly tired, while that right side of Osayi and Ekong were both shaky throughout the whole game. I can't point at individuals when our coaches game management was poor which was ironically the complete opposite in the previous game we played. He made 3 subs in the whole match two of the being Strikers while the likes of Aribo, Yusuf, Ogbu, Bruno, etc watched from the bench
You invited Aribo, Ogbu, Yusuf, Bruno yet failed sub any of them even when your players were clearly worn out in the dying minutes...imagine an Onyeka fresh of the bench would have easily steadied that tiring midfield with his physicality and grit had he been invited...heck sub in Aribo and Ogbu to add more steel in the midfield/defence. Like so much decisions couldn't have gone more wrong at the same time, bringing on Boniface when the Zims were beginning to pile on pressure was just a utterly a brain-fart decision.Lolly wrote: ↑Wed Mar 26, 2025 7:48 amThank you sir. The 5 coaches and assistants are to blame here. The players were tired and couldn’t hold shape. Yet, the coach made only two tactical changes. We needed an extra defender or midfielder come on for Osimhen.Sunset wrote: ↑Wed Mar 26, 2025 5:13 amWith 3 minutes left in a game our coach subs on a Striker in search for another goal despite the facts Ndidi was clearly tired, while that right side of Osayi and Ekong were both shaky throughout the whole game. I can't point at individuals when our coaches game management was poor which was ironically the complete opposite in the previous game we played. He made 3 subs in the whole match two of the being Strikers while the likes of Aribo, Yusuf, Ogbu, Bruno, etc watched from the bench
Any regular Joe on this forum would have done a better job coaching these players to a comfortable win yesterday, and majority of us don't even have coaching licenses, just basic football minds.
Has the coach never heard of a counter attack.
All out attack is not the only way to build on a lead.
All he had to do was set up a defensive shape and we could still muster a few counters here and there.
All out attack is not the only way to build on a lead.
All he had to do was set up a defensive shape and we could still muster a few counters here and there.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
In a nutshell, in the last 3 mins, he needed to just emulate what Zimbabwe did the entire game.
...I was looking for that name to blame, why he was even included on the provisional listvancity eagle wrote: ↑Wed Mar 26, 2025 5:14 amI feel like Ahmed Musa is cursing us.
So long as he remains a "non playing captain" with ambitions of "one more WC" Nigeria will not smell that competition.
He and his NFF cronies are a black stain on our football.

Wey Iheanacho's name to blame too

If these were home based players I can survive the heartache.
But these are the euro professionals, social media crazed, money juggling, women handbag carrying, super stars CE and many Nigerians can't do without.
That goal is as cheap as the come.
- airwolex
No matter what lapses we had to that point, all Ekong had to do was be decisive and go for the ball, he was favorite. Nwabali could have reacted quicker but I'm sure he was expecting his captain to chicken out of the tackle.
...hind sight they say maybe 2020, I foresaw that goal or something bad coming as the Zim players were knocking that ball around and forward against none aggressive SE players. From the midfield to inside the box no Zimbabwe player was aggressively challenged. Home based players, yes, will be hash and rash at the advancing opponents. But these ones wan "save their bacon".