Is Uyo a "no man's land"? Where's the homefield?

Where in Naijaria can we consider as being truly a homefield?

The Eagles are no longer invincible at home.
Both the 'home' team and the visiting team have darn near equal advantage when we play in Naijaria.

Are there no State Governments willing to invest in sports infrastructure as a tourist attraction?

At this rate, if we have a must win game, I believe our chances are even better when we play on the road.

Why don't we go back to playing in bland Abuja? It is not like our chances are worse or better there.

Every team now fancies their chances against us...

Re: Is Uyo a "no man's land"? Where's the homefield?

I get your point we did qualify using Uyo, I wish we can build a good stadium in PH or Lagos . i prefer both places for the SE. Eventually we will get it right alas Lagos back in the 80s and 90s

Lagos or Port Harcourt.

If you want us to fully go gangsta then we do Ibadan, Enugu, Benin or Kaduna.

YemiBrazil wrote: Wed Mar 26, 2025 4:03 pm Lagos or Port Harcourt.

yeap Enugu and Ibadan. I remember we took cameroon in 89 during the WCQs in Enugu, boom 2-0

Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Mar 26, 2025 4:04 pm

yeap Enugu and Ibadan. I remember we took cameroon in 89 during the WCQs in Enugu, boom 2-0
Why stop there, lets go to Bornu state, Maiduguri to be precise near Zambezi forest.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote: Wed Mar 26, 2025 10:14 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Mar 26, 2025 4:04 pm

Why stop there, lets go to Bornu state, Maiduguri to be precise near Zambezi forest.
I actually ran the data on this site, years ago. Port Harcourt had the best home record for the SE. It was not Lagos. Unfortunately, the stadium must meet requirements to host these games.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
olumide

Post by olumide »

Our poor play is a much bigger issue than the stadium, but it's undeniable that we have a poor home advantage. First of all, the atmosphere at the stadium is not intimidating at all. The one we faced in Kigali and what we will face in Johannesburg far outstrip anything coming out of a Nigerian stadium for an SE match. My girl is Congolese, so I follow their matches and while the stadium in Kinshasha is in worse condition than Uyo, it is a very difficult place to play. The crowd is on top of you and wants blood.

Beyond that, playing on a poor pitch in the heat of the afternoon makes no sense. Ndidi and others were clearly exhausted at the end of the match and this makes sense when we had to work hard to break Zimbabwe down and the temperatures were high. Why are we putting ourselves at that disadvantage?

Lagos of the 70s, 80s and 90s is not the same as today.
When was the last time the national team played in Lagos? That culture of intimidation is no longer there

Lagos, so by the time agberos throw pure water on Simon and Chukwueze their pineapple heads will sit up.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

Dammy wrote: Wed Mar 26, 2025 10:47 pm Lagos of the 70s, 80s and 90s is not the same as today.
When was the last time the national team played in Lagos? That culture of intimidation is no longer there
Exactly. Lagos is no longer as intimidating as it was. 😤
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
onovo

Post by onovo »

We lost to Guinea Bissau in Abuja, and Lost to CAR in Lagos. These Eagles don't have the champions mentality. They will still not inspire anywhere in Nigeria. Come to think of it, this is the worst qualification results ever recorded by any Eagles team since 1989. Even the teams that qualified for the 2014 under Keshi and 2018 under Rohr may not have supposedly high profile players, but they have a strong winning mentality. Even though the 2006 team did not qualify, they lost in style by the head to head rule. This set of Eagles have the weakest mentality of all generation of Eagles I have known since 1988. Is really bad.
Cellular wrote: Wed Mar 26, 2025 3:11 pm Where in Naijaria can we consider as being truly a homefield?

Both the 'home' team and the visiting team have darn near equal advantage when we play in Naijaria.

Are there no State Governments willing to invest in sports infrastructure as a tourist attraction?

At this rate, if we have a must win game, I believe our chances are even better when we play on the road.

Why don't we go back to playing in bland Abuja? It is not like our chances are worse or better there.

onovo wrote: Wed Mar 26, 2025 11:40 pm We lost to Guinea Bissau in Abuja, and Lost to CAR in Lagos. These Eagles don't have the champions mentality. They will still not inspire anywhere in Nigeria. Come to think of it, this is the worst qualification results ever recorded by any Eagles team since 1989. Even the teams that qualified for the 2014 under Keshi and 2018 under Rohr may not have supposedly high profile players, but they have a strong winning mentality. Even though the 2006 team did not qualify, they lost in style by the head to head rule. This set of Eagles have the weakest mentality of all generation of Eagles I have known since 1988. Is really bad.
Cellular wrote: Wed Mar 26, 2025 3:11 pm Where in Naijaria can we consider as being truly a homefield?

Y’all keep overlooking the fact that the gap between Nigeria and the so called minor African teams is shrinking every year. This is a significant factor that cannot be ignored.

In the past, we had an advantage because most of our players competed in highly organized and competitive leagues abroad, which helped them develop the so-called strong mentality. However, today, most African teams are on a relatively even playing field, making it much harder to win games as easily as in previous generations.

This is simply a fact, it has nothing to do with the notion that this current group of players lacks mental strength.

iworo wrote: Thu Mar 27, 2025 1:37 am
onovo wrote: Wed Mar 26, 2025 11:40 pm We lost to Guinea Bissau in Abuja, and Lost to CAR in Lagos. These Eagles don't have the champions mentality. They will still not inspire anywhere in Nigeria. Come to think of it, this is the worst qualification results ever recorded by any Eagles team since 1989. Even the teams that qualified for the 2014 under Keshi and 2018 under Rohr may not have supposedly high profile players, but they have a strong winning mentality. Even though the 2006 team did not qualify, they lost in style by the head to head rule. This set of Eagles have the weakest mentality of all generation of Eagles I have known since 1988. Is really bad.

Y’all keep overlooking the fact that the gap between Nigeria and the so called minor African teams is shrinking every year. This is a significant factor that cannot be ignored.

In the past, we had an advantage because most of our players competed in highly organized and competitive leagues abroad, which helped them develop the so-called strong mentality. However, today, most African teams are on a relatively even playing field, making it much harder to win games as easily as in previous generations.

This is simply a fact, it has nothing to do with the notion that this current group of players lacks mental strength.
Would you like to tell us about the fact of Ghana vs Comoros and Ghana vs Madagascar?

When you guys are ready to be honest, we will succeed.

The home-game advantage is completely gone because these players are mostly coming from Europe, and a lot more of them were born abroad and have never lived in Nigeria.

My controversial opinion would be to play our home games in North Africa. Yes, I know, shock! The pitches can be better, the climate is more conducive for the Europe-based lads, shorter flights for the players from Europe, more focused, less pressure from Nigerian politicians visiting the camp and making speeches, etc. We've done better on the road in the last few games in qualifying competitions.

danfo driver wrote: Thu Mar 27, 2025 1:38 am
iworo wrote: Thu Mar 27, 2025 1:37 am

Would you like to tell us about the fact of Ghana vs Comoros and Ghana vs Madagascar?

When you guys are ready to be honest, we will succeed.
What exactly is your point? What are you trying to say?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2026_FIFA ... AF_Group_I

Orion wrote: Thu Mar 27, 2025 3:28 am The home-game advantage is completely gone because these players are mostly coming from Europe, and a lot more of them were born abroad and have never lived in Nigeria.

My controversial opinion would be to play our home games in North Africa. Yes, I know, shock! The pitches can be better, the climate is more conducive for the Europe-based lads, shorter flights for the players from Europe, more focused, less pressure from Nigerian politicians visiting the camp and making speeches, etc. We've done better on the road in the last few games in qualifying competitions.
Another excuse!

This cowardly fanbase and their excuses! Keep dropping excuses for your sh1t shameless and cowardly players. Never ever have I seeing a fanbase that is so scared of the truth and will make up every excuse to hide the inadequacies of their sh1t players.

Like I told Iworo, the day you gusy decide to face the truth, we will be successful.

danfo driver wrote: Thu Mar 27, 2025 3:52 am
Orion wrote: Thu Mar 27, 2025 3:28 am The home-game advantage is completely gone because these players are mostly coming from Europe, and a lot more of them were born abroad and have never lived in Nigeria.

Another excuse!

This cowardly fanbase and their excuses! Keep dropping excuses for your sh1t shameless and cowardly players. Never ever have I seeing a fanbase that is so scared of the truth and will make up every excuse to hide the inadequacies of their sh1t players.

Like I told Iworo, the day you gusy decide to face the truth, we will be successful.
This seems like your coping mechanism. But at the end of the day, it’s just a game, man. No need for all that energy. Every team has good and bad days. It doesn’t make the fans or players cowards.
Kneedeep

Post by Kneedeep »

Kano with modest gate fees. Ijebu if we want to try something new.
Advocating rational thought since 1987

Kneedeep wrote: Thu Mar 27, 2025 6:21 am Kano with modest gate fees. Ijebu if we want to try something new.
was it not Kano where SE lost to Angola or something along those lines?
Kneedeep

Post by Kneedeep »

ANC wrote: Thu Mar 27, 2025 6:28 am
Kneedeep wrote: Thu Mar 27, 2025 6:21 am Kano with modest gate fees. Ijebu if we want to try something new.
I can't recall, what was the final score?
Advocating rational thought since 1987

Kneedeep wrote: Thu Mar 27, 2025 6:35 am
ANC wrote: Thu Mar 27, 2025 6:28 am
I can't recall, what was the final score?
my bad it was a draw.
https://www.footballdatabase.eu/en/matc ... ria-angola