Nigeria cry foul to FIFA over Lesotho, Zimbabwe playing in South Africa
SCORENigeria can exclusively report today that Nigeria have fired a strongly-worded protest to FIFA to complain that there is no fair play in the race for the qualifying ticket to the 2026 World Cup in Group C because both Lesotho and Zimbabwe are playing their home games in South Africa, who are also a direct rival.
Both Lesotho and Zimbabwe, who are in the same qualifying group as the Super Eagles, are playing their home games in the World Cup qualifiers in South Africa.
This effectively means that South Africa will now play their remaining four World Cup qualifying matches at home in South Africa in the real sense of it.
In September, Matchday 7 vs Lesotho (away) and Matchday 8 vs Nigeria (home) will all be played in South Africa.
The same applies in October for Matchday 9 (away) vs Zimbabwe and Matchday 10 (home) vs Rwanda.
Their away games were against the Super Eagles (1-1), Rwanda (lost 2-0) and Benin (won 2-0).
“This is against fair play as it gives South Africa an undue advantage to qualifying for the World Cup,” a top official told SCORENigeria
“The NFF are therefore asking that the forthcoming home games of Lesotho and Zimbabwe against South Africa be moved out of South Africa.”
South Africa lead Group C with 13 points from six matches, while Rwanda are second on eight points.
Benin are third with eight points, Nigeria fourth on seven points, Lesotho are fifth with six points, while Zimbabwe are bottom having only recorded four points.
https://scorenigeria.com.ng/exclusive-n ... th-africa/
Both Lesotho and Zimbabwe, who are in the same qualifying group as the Super Eagles, are playing their home games in the World Cup qualifiers in South Africa.
This effectively means that South Africa will now play their remaining four World Cup qualifying matches at home in South Africa in the real sense of it.
In September, Matchday 7 vs Lesotho (away) and Matchday 8 vs Nigeria (home) will all be played in South Africa.
The same applies in October for Matchday 9 (away) vs Zimbabwe and Matchday 10 (home) vs Rwanda.
Their away games were against the Super Eagles (1-1), Rwanda (lost 2-0) and Benin (won 2-0).
“This is against fair play as it gives South Africa an undue advantage to qualifying for the World Cup,” a top official told SCORENigeria
“The NFF are therefore asking that the forthcoming home games of Lesotho and Zimbabwe against South Africa be moved out of South Africa.”
South Africa lead Group C with 13 points from six matches, while Rwanda are second on eight points.
Benin are third with eight points, Nigeria fourth on seven points, Lesotho are fifth with six points, while Zimbabwe are bottom having only recorded four points.
https://scorenigeria.com.ng/exclusive-n ... th-africa/
Re: Nigeria cry foul to FIFA over Lesotho, Zimbabwe playing in South Africa
This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections
Bigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections
To me, Nigeria's complaint is ineffective considering our team. How many of our home games have we won? If we had taken care of home front against the likes of Lesotho, South Africa, and Zimbabwe, would we be complaining?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- danfo driver
This is irrelevant.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:11 pmBigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections
To me, Nigeria's complaint is ineffective considering our team. How many of our home games have we won? If we had taken care of home front against the likes of Lesotho, South Africa, and Zimbabwe, would we be complaining?
Highly irrelevant!!!danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:14 pmThis is irrelevant.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:11 pmBigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections
How so? Is the complaint here not about South Africa playing at home against group members. If "home" is that important to the complainants, how is it that the all important "home" has not proved to be an advantage for Nigeria? Unless, you are referring to South Africa playing at home while we are not as "irrelevant".danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:14 pmThis is irrelevant.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:11 pmBigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
So because the team has been crap , the nff should remain idle? For me I see nothing wrong with this from our federation.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:11 pmBigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections
If this if that. These are the past. Move on and figure out what to do next
At this stage all hands on deck. The NFF should have done this a while back. Why should SA play 7 home games out of 10 in a worldcup qualifying campaign. 7 freaking home games. All other caf teams with stadium issues are playing on neutral grounds. Zimbabwe and Lesotho both have home games. Let them go find a better ground outside south Africa.
We all know south Africa cheats, just like using ineligible players. Now what stops them from fixing the matches?
A kenya goalie was caught cheating in a 4-1 defeat to Cameroon
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.
- kash n' karry

Why is this a surprise the CAF president is Motsepe who happens to be a billionaire South African. He has probably given money to to the Lesotho FA to withdraw its complaint on South Africa's FIFA rule infringement in fielding an ineligible player to play.
If this home court advantage now given to South Africa is not rescinded as well as a 3 point deduction for South Africa breaking the rules - are not both treated accordingly, it will be time for Nigeria to pull out of these group stages altogether and not waste their time.
South Africa must be deducted 3 points, regardless of whether Lesotho wants that 3 points. ALSO those 2 games to be played in South Africa as an away game should be moved immediately or else FIFA has definitely been openly corrupted here !!

==================================================================
All i want is your hips, Natasha !!

- danfo driver
Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:49 pmHow so? Is the complaint here not about South Africa playing at home against group members. If "home" is that important to the complainants, how is it that the all important "home" has not proved to be an advantage for Nigeria?danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:14 pmThis is irrelevant.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:11 pmBigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections

- kash n' karry
Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:11 pmBigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections

Yeah but 2 wrongs don't make a right. I am actually surprised FIFA is not doing the needful here in
1. Sanctioning South Africa with 3 points deduction as FIFA had done to Nigeria & Ethiopia in past
2. Allowing away home games to be played in South Africa to provide an easier path for their qualification.
So where is the "FIFA fair play" here ? If FIFA do not do the needful, Nigeria should cut their losses and boycott the rest of the qualifiers for FIFA clearly anointing South Africa to lead the group to the World Cup !!
================================================================
Chance favors da prepared mnd. ALWAYS !!
...crooked foooools at the NFA crying crocodile to distract from their incompetence.
Nigeria sound foolish crying now, but this was ALWAYS ridiculous. There is no problem with those two playing the rest of their other home games in South Africa, but it makes no sense for South Africa to get two extra home matches against these teams.
Not to sound conspiratorial, but some of the movement amongst the southern African teams in this group is uncomfortable to me. Lesotho would be a point off a WC spot if they are correctly awarded three points for the Mokoena violation, and they "dropped their protest"? Why did these teams agree to this arrangement in the first place? Game could be in Morocco or someplace.
Lesotho is in South Africa. Where do u expect them to play?
Zimbabwe will agree to play in Ghana if Naija will pay for the related costs
Ghana no get stadium
I'm sorry. This makes no sense.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:11 pmBigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections
The complaint makes little sense. This is not the first time teams are not playing in their home country. That is a fact and Nigeria knows it. To be honest, CAF will probably throw such a complaint in the rubbish bin. This type of complaint is made to curry public sympathy as already demonstrated on this thread but the complainant already knows it won't go anywhere.aruako1 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 8:26 pmI'm sorry. This makes no sense.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:11 pmBigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections
Wake me up when the complaint goes beyond the media.
Of course we would - and should - be complaining.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:11 pmBigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections
We should have complained the moment this silly plan was announced.
DamunkDamunk wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 10:52 amOf course we would - and should - be complaining.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:11 pmBigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections
I believe the complaint will come to nought. The reality is this is per CAF's fixtures that began a few years ago following decisions not to play games at inadequate grounds. The teams decide best places to host their own games. Nigeria does not decide for Lesotho where to host its games. What Nigeria should have done is make an early offer to Lesotho to do so. Did not happen, apparently and South Africa possibly did. Water already passed under the bridge and the protest at this time is for public sympathy and nothing else. It is unlikely to move a needle. The protest that matters is that of using an ineligible player and not this one about playing location. It only matters for PR with Nigerian fans, nothing more. Obviously the PR is having the impact as shown on CE.
BTW, these types of CAF fixtures, as annoying as it is, did not start now and Morocco used to bear the brunt in the last few years. They did not lead to CAF changing the fixtures either.
A complaint about unfair home advantage makes sense every day of the week, irrespective of the home form of the team making it. That it has happened before does not mean that a complaint does not make sense.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 10:28 amThe complaint makes little sense. This is not the first time teams are not playing in their home country. That is a fact and Nigeria knows it. To be honest, CAF will probably throw such a complaint in the rubbish bin. This type of complaint is made to curry public sympathy as already demonstrated on this thread but the complainant already knows it won't go anywhere.aruako1 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 8:26 pmI'm sorry. This makes no sense.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:11 pmBigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections
Wake me up when the complaint goes beyond the media.
Even if CAF/FIFA turn down the protest, it does not mean that it doesn't make sense.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 11:38 amDamunkDamunk wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 10:52 amOf course we would - and should - be complaining.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:11 pmBigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections
I believe the complaint will come to nought. The reality is this is per CAF's fixtures that began a few years ago following decisions not to play games at inadequate grounds. The teams decide best places to host their own games. Nigeria does not decide for Lesotho where to host its games. What Nigeria should have done is make an early offer to Lesotho to do so. Did not happen, apparently and South Africa possibly did. Water already passed under the bridge and the protest at this time is for public sympathy and nothing else. It is unlikely to move a needle. The protest that matters is that of using an ineligible player and not this one about playing location. It only matters for PR with Nigerian fans, nothing more. Obviously the PR is having the impact as shown on CE.
BTW, these types of CAF fixtures, as annoying as it is, did not start now and Morocco used to bear the brunt in the last few years. They did not lead to CAF changing the fixtures either.
- danfo driver
Ugbowo said Uncle EII has turned into a trolling merchant and you guys thought he was joking.

- TonyTheTigerKiller
EII,Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:11 pmBigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections
I think it is a worthwhile protest. Certainly makes more sense than protesting SA’s purported fielding of an ineligible player against Lesotho, as some are advocating
- danfo driver
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Sun Mar 30, 2025 12:03 pmEII,Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:11 pmBigpoke,Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:03 pm This is what we should have done a while ago. Makes no sense. The southern African connections
I think it is a worthwhile protest. Certainly makes more sense than protesting SA’s purported fielding of an ineligible player against Lesotho, as some are advocating