Super Eagles coach lists key positions needed for new team

by Samm Audu April 2, 2025 6:17 am

Coach Eric Chelle has told SCORENigeria that he plans as soon as possible to freshen the Super Eagles with new players so as to bring more competition for places in the team.
For the recent 2026 World Cup qualifiers against Rwanda and Zimbabwe, the new Super Eagles coach called up Slavia Praha defender Igho Ogbu, Genk striker Tolu Arokodare, and Niger Tornadoes midfielder Papa Daniel, who were all yet to be capped at full international level.
He has now listed some key positions in the team he is shopping for ahead of the June international break, where the Super Eagles will play as many as three friendlies preparatory to the do-or-die World Cup qualifiers in September.
The positions he listed are goalkeeper, left fullback, central defender, box-to-box midfielder, right winger as well as a striker.
https://scorenigeria.com.ng/super-eagle ... -new-team/

by Samm Audu April 2, 2025 6:17 am

Coach Eric Chelle has told SCORENigeria that he plans as soon as possible to freshen the Super Eagles with new players so as to bring more competition for places in the team.
For the recent 2026 World Cup qualifiers against Rwanda and Zimbabwe, the new Super Eagles coach called up Slavia Praha defender Igho Ogbu, Genk striker Tolu Arokodare, and Niger Tornadoes midfielder Papa Daniel, who were all yet to be capped at full international level.
He has now listed some key positions in the team he is shopping for ahead of the June international break, where the Super Eagles will play as many as three friendlies preparatory to the do-or-die World Cup qualifiers in September.
The positions he listed are goalkeeper, left fullback, central defender, box-to-box midfielder, right winger as well as a striker.
https://scorenigeria.com.ng/super-eagle ... -new-team/
Re: Super Eagles coach lists key positions needed for new team
Every position is needed. So Osayi is good enough for right back?
Good enough for backup until we find someone else. I would still have him in the squad ahead of Remo Star’s Sodiq.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Get Chukwuemeka and Ugochukwu, Nwaneri will likely drag his feet for years unless England calls him. Add Atubolu, and Felix Agu, we're set for the wcq and Afcon.
If this is true, then what is wrong with Bruno? And what is wrong with Boniface, Sadiq, Arokodare?
I agree that we desperately need a right sided midfielder and a box-to-box midfielder. But I am sad for Chukwueze. The boy has not worked on his talent or may be we just overestimated his talent.
Drop Osayi. Bring in some one else younger than 23.
- danfo driver
The world does not end outside Osayi and Sodiq.
Why do you guys always bury your head in the sand? That was how you guys thought the world ended outside Uzoho and Akpeyi, anf for years, we paid the painful price. Same reason Nigerians think the world revolves around APC and PDP and their families are dying of hunger.

- danfo driver
if our team is selected on merit, these two will NOT be able to make the squad. That is the funnest thing about itEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Wed Apr 02, 2025 5:38 pm Get Chukwuemeka and Ugochukwu, Nwaneri will likely drag his feet for years unless England calls him. Add Atubolu, and Felix Agu, we're set for the wcq and Afcon.

Thats why I didnt respond to the Nwaneri thread. I laughed when I saw it and it just reminded me of the typical Nigerian. Always trying to kill an ant with a hammer. You are starving and you have jollof rice at home. Rather than eat the rice, you want to eat fried rice, so you are waiting until night so you can climb your neighbor's fence to steal their fried rice.
You selected a squad and left out quality midfielders like Onyeka, Chrisantus and Dele-Bashiru. 3 guys who are significantly better than the ones you invited and 3 guys who would have made a difference. Rather than eating that jollof (working on building with them), you think your problem is to go and get Nwaneri.

You could have saved some energy by just mentioning a couple of RBs who are ready for the SE.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed Apr 02, 2025 6:31 pmThe world does not end outside Osayi and Sodiq.
Why do you guys always bury your head in the sand? That was how you guys thought the world ended outside Uzoho and Akpeyi, anf for years, we paid the painful price. Same reason Nigerians think the world revolves around APC and PDP and their families are dying of hunger.![]()
Lolly wrote: ↑Wed Apr 02, 2025 7:03 pmYou could have saved some energy by just mentioning a couple of RBs who are ready for the SE.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed Apr 02, 2025 6:31 pmThe world does not end outside Osayi and Sodiq.
Why do you guys always bury your head in the sand? That was how you guys thought the world ended outside Uzoho and Akpeyi, anf for years, we paid the painful price. Same reason Nigerians think the world revolves around APC and PDP and their families are dying of hunger.![]()

- delisyomie don
- danfo driver

I dont really blame the players, honestly. Most of them arent good enough to be in our team, but we have media and fans who collect bribes from them and other fans who bury their heads deep in their sand and have zero clue. Thats why we had some fans asking us to go back for 37 year old Balogun. These brainless fans are simply incapable of seeing outside their small dark hole. They cant fathom it! If we listen to these people, Iheanacho and Musa will stll be on the team.
- danfo driver
Aribo on the bench for relegation-bound Southampton today. But we wasted a slot for him and denied Onyeka, Chrisantus and Dele-Bashiru the opportunity to help us.
The whole Osayi debate is one of the reasons why Nigeria is struggling. The continual advocate for average players. Osayi has done his best. Time to find a replacement.
Me I don tire for innit boys jare. I watch Aina try to execute a no look pass in a league game the other day and had to cringe. I miss the super eagles of even 10 yrs ago.
- danfo driver
While you are busy cringing, Man City, Chelsea and Liverpool have all contacted him for this summer. Dey there dey cringe.

- delisyomie don
You are very correct. People who keep saying 'Balogun' or 'Musa' can they ever ask themselves when we are going to move on? Can they not see what happened that equalized the goal against Ekkong? He is tired, and he has been on the national team since 2015.no more hunger, no more rugeddness he is expecting other teammate to stop the ball before he get to him, he is the last man defence so he could have figure it earler to go to the defender before he was taken for gari! I miss the days of no-nonsense defenders, Chid Nwanu, Gentle Giant, Taribo, Bright Omokaro.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed Apr 02, 2025 7:51 pm![]()
e sey na "post=pandemic Eagles"
I dont really blame the players, honestly. Most of them arent good enough to be in our team, but we have media and fans who collect bribes from them and other fans who bury their heads deep in their sand and have zero clue. Thats why we had some fans asking us to go back for 37 year old Balogun. These brainless fans are simply incapable of seeing outside their small dark hole. They cant fathom it! If we listen to these people, Iheanacho and Musa will stll be on the team.
thanks
‘Post pandemic boys”danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed Apr 02, 2025 7:51 pm![]()

Seriously though, the players are not to blame. The team have not been refreshed in a long time.Every time we change the coach, the new coach brings back the same players and sprinkles in some undeserving players from the so called local league. Ndidi and Iwobi were part of the 2018 WC MF, both started vs Zim in 2025. Yet we complain of a lackluster MF.
Danfo you're laughing but the guy spoke the uncomfortable truth many Nigerian fans are unwilling to tell themselves...I have resigned myself to the melancholic conclusion that this generation of SE players (save for a few warriors like Osimhen) are easily the worst we've had in over some decades now...like even the less fancied Ideye, Emenike and Efe Ambrose set were arguably more talented than this current ones even if most of the players from the 2013 AFCON winning squad didn't play for "top clubs" across Europe, granted those set were helped by world class/top players like Enyeama, Victor Moses and a prime Mikel Obi.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed Apr 02, 2025 7:51 pm![]()
So far the jury is still out on other upcoming players like Dele Bashiru, Onyeka, Onyedika, Tella, Arokodare and other fringe players cause this set haven't played for the Eagles for over a decade like the Ndidi’s, Aribo's and Iwobi's...so I'll give the aforementioned players a pass for now.
But you see the likes of Ndidi, Iwobi, Chukwueze, Ekong, Moses Simon etc? This shameless agbayas are the most senior players on this team and have played under different managers for over a decade and some change now, yet have largely underachieved. For the first time in our football history, we've failed to qualify for 2 back to back world cups with largely this set of players.
- bret- hart
Is Ndidi an innit boy?? He has been one of the worst players in the team for 4 years straight. Most goals we concede is because of him. Stop singing out the innit boys.
Aina is good but he needs competition, I can bet my life savings that there are academy boys in Beyond limits etc who are more skillful and well rounded on the ball than Aina in his position, na just useless scouting and laziness dey kill our football.bret- hart wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 5:17 pmIs Ndidi an innit boy?? He has been one of the worst players in the team for 4 years straight. Most goals we concede is because of him. Stop singing out the innit boys.
The only innit boys I'll give a pass right now are Dele-Bashiru and Aina, the rest can fock off at this point tbh
- danfo driver
There is a reason Okocha got tired of us and started lying about "losing his passport" and "missing his way to the hotel." The man was TIRED!! just wanted to retire and spend time with his children and wife. But Nigerians would not let him. They kept going back to beg him and even when he humiliated them by refusing to meet their NFF officials or forgetting his passport, Nigerians continues to humiliate themselves and beg and grovel! They just couldnt fathom life without him and buried their head in the sand. Its pathetic and embarrassing. Nigerian fans are like low quality men who cannot get a girl, so once they get one girl, they are ready to propose to her and marry her on the spot!delisyomie don wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 4:06 pmYou are very correct. People who keep saying 'Balogun' or 'Musa' can they ever ask themselves when we are going to move on? Can they not see what happened that equalized the goal against Ekkong? He is tired, and he has been on the national team since 2015.no more hunger, no more rugeddness he is expecting other teammate to stop the ball before he get to him, he is the last man defence so he could have figure it earler to go to the defender before he was taken for gari! I miss the days of no-nonsense defenders, Chid Nwanu, Gentle Giant, Taribo, Bright Omokaro.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed Apr 02, 2025 7:51 pm![]()

Guess what? JJ retired and left, did we die????!! No! Did we win a major tournament???!! YES!!!
Have some shame and dignity! Such and embarrassment of a fanbase. And the weirdest thing is how they always hold on to someone who is past it! Left to them, JayJay will still be playing for us today even after retirement.