Nigeria- all 8 AFCON Finals – Wins & Losses"

Re: Nigeria- all 8 AFCON Finals – Wins & Losses"

That 1980 team na fire.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Sun Apr 20, 2025 10:50 pm That 1980 team na fire.
Lolly,

For some reason, I do not really rate that 1980 team. I know Nigeria won but except for that final, Nigeria struggled even in the warm up games because of the lack of a striker. Remember that Onyedika was recruited at the last minute when the team played a warm up with Rangers in Lagos. I no de feel that 1980 team at all! Remember the final game required the manager Gloria reshaping the lineup with Odegbami moving to a more central position where he exploded with two goals.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

We have lost three finals to Cameroon!
We have lost two finals in Abidjan!
We have won a final at home and lost a final away!
We have lost 5 finals out of 8?
Last edited by Undertaker on Tue Apr 22, 2025 1:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Of all the finals we lost the ones that I think got away for one reason or the other were 1988 (VAR would have ruled in favor of Nwosu) and 2023(4) (that was the begining of realising this team has little liver and cannot see a game through, however we had no business losing that game)

1984 was an asswhooping, Cameroon with Milla , Abega, Ebonque et all were solid in that period, their experience saw them manage that game well

1990 we probably had no business in the final but that was the tournament that made us Super Eagles (I think??) having recovered from A 1-5 loss in the first game to the the eventual winner (Yes, VAR may have also rule Ikpeba penalty in our favor, but Kanu missed as well)

2000. With 2 goals to Cameroon , a part of me says that was daring of them to come to Lagos and upset the apple cart, Ikpeba penalty aside, we were not steller in our PKs so I dont think it got away, id say it was a toss up

akamoke wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 9:10 pm Of all the finals we lost the ones that I think got away for one reason or the other were 1988 (VAR would have ruled in favor of Nwosu) and 2023(4) (that was the begining of realising this team has little liver and cannot see a game through, however we had no business losing that game)

1984 was an asswhooping, Cameroon with Milla , Abega, Ebonque et all were solid in that period, their experience saw them manage that game well

1990 we probably had no business in the final but that was the tournament that made us Super Eagles (I think??) having recovered from A 1-5 loss in the first game to the the eventual winner (Yes, VAR may have also rule Ikpeba penalty in our favor, but Kanu missed as well)

2000. With 2 goals to Cameroon , a part of me says that was daring of them to come to Lagos and upset the apple cart, Ikpeba penalty aside, we were not steller in our PKs so I dont think it got away, id say it was a toss up
Kindly edit!
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

Thanks for posting.

Watching this, its amazing how much I forget how Yekini looked like. Osimhen has his body! Its uncanny.

ANC wrote: Sun Apr 20, 2025 8:11 pm

Just look at the 110 effort by our players....compare it to effort level of most of our current players.

Man, the different is stark. I no get anything wey I wan add.... I tire.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Tue Apr 22, 2025 1:02 am
ANC wrote: Sun Apr 20, 2025 8:11 pm

Just look at the 110 effort by our players....compare it to effort level of most of our current players.

Man, the different is stark. I no get anything wey I wan add.... I tire.
yeap, it is.
They played like they truly believe they could beat anyone.

danfo driver wrote: Tue Apr 22, 2025 12:10 am Thanks for posting.

Watching this, its amazing how much I forget how Yekini looked like. Osimhen has his body! Its uncanny.
You are welcome, however, VO9 looks nothing like Yekini, not in style or physique, IMHO.

Babalawo wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 11:48 pm
akamoke wrote: Mon Apr 21, 2025 9:10 pm Of all the finals we lost the ones that I think got away for one reason or the other were 1988 (VAR would have ruled in favor of Nwosu) and 2023(4) (that was the begining of realising this team has little liver and cannot see a game through, however we had no business losing that game)

Kindly edit!
Thanks for the catch
The Ikpeba comment in 1990 was for 2000